DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “An laparoscopic ultrapolar” in line 1 should be amended to --A laparoscopic ultrapolar--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “near the first end” in claims 3 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shadduck et al. (US 2014/0303611).
Regarding claim 1, Shadduck discloses a laparoscopic ultrapolar electrosurgery device (see Fig. 1A) comprising: a handpiece member (see handle 104, Fig. 1A) having a first end, a second end (see proximal and distal ends of 104, Figs. 1A), and at least one of an activation element for cutting and an activation element for coagulation (see [0019]); a return electrode (see metal sleeve 170 and metal body 185 functioning as a second polarity electrode; [0022], Figs. 2A-3) comprising a conductive hollow tubular member (see metal sleeve 170 and dielectric material 186, Figs. 2A-2C, [0021]-[0022]) having a first end (see distal end of metal sleeve 170), a second end contained within the first end of the handpiece member (see proximal end of sleeve 170 fixed within the handle 104, [0021]), and a conductive appendage extending from the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see metal distal body 185, Figs. 2A-3); an active electrode (see active electrode 120, Figs. 1A-3) contained within the handpiece member (see proximal portion 149 of electrode 120 extending into the handle 104 to the actuator 146; [0017], Fig. 1A) and the conductive hollow tubular member (see Fig. 3) wherein at least a portion of the active electrode extends beyond the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see exposed distal end of electrode 120 extending past 170, Figs. 2A-2C); and an insulating material contained between a distal most point of the conductive appendage of the return electrode and the portion of the active electrode extending beyond the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see non-conductive ceramic body 175 extending between the active electrode’s extension beyond the conductive tube and the conductive appendage, [0022], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Shadduck further discloses a non-conductive guide member (see reduced diameter proximal end 177 of non-conductive ceramic body 175 mating with bore 180 of sleeve 170; [0022], Fig. 3) contained within at least a portion of the conductive hollow tubular member (see reduced diameter proximal end 177 with bore 180 of sleeve 170 such that it is contained within 170; [0022], Fig. 3) to support the portion of the active electrode that extends beyond the conductive hollow tubular member of the return electrode (see connection of reduced diameter proximal end 177 with bore 180 of sleeve 170 that enables support of the distal end of electrode 120 extending past 170; Figs. 1A-3).
Regarding claim 3, Shadduck further discloses wherein the non-conductive guide member extends across an inner diameter of the conductive hollow tubular member near the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see transverse dimension of 177 extending across both ends of an inner diameter of 170 within its bore 180; [0022], Fig. 3) to create two channels along opposing sides of the non-conductive guide member that are contiguous with an interior of the conductive hollow tubular member that surrounds the active electrode contained within the conductive hollow tubular member (see upper and lower portions of the lumen formed by 177 contiguous with the bore 180 of 170 and surrounding the medial portion of active electrode 120, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Shadduck further discloses wherein the portion of the active electrode that extends beyond the conductive hollow tubular member of the return electrode comprises a curve shaped member (see conductive hook having a curved shape in Fig. 1C, [0020]).
Regarding claim 5, Shadduck further discloses wherein the conductive appendage of the return electrode comprises a curve shaped member (see curved notch 200, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Shadduck further discloses an exhaust port connected to the conductive hollow tubular member so that the conductive hollow tubular member may also function as a smoke evacuation channel (see quick-connect 162 that connects the hollow lumen 132 extending within 170 which enables 170 to function as a smoke evacuation channel; [0016], Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shadduck.
Regarding claim 7, Shadduck discloses an laparoscopic ultrapolar electrosurgery device (see Fig. 1A) comprising: a handpiece member (see handle 104, Fig. 1A) having a first end and a second end (see proximal and distal ends of 104, Figs. 1A); a return electrode comprising a conductive hollow tubular member (see metal sleeve 170 and metal body 185 functioning as a second polarity electrode; [0022], Figs. 2A-3) having a first end (see distal end of metal sleeve 170), a second end contained within the first end of the handpiece member (see proximal end of sleeve 170 fixed within the handle 104, [0021]), and a conductive appendage extending from the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see metal distal body 185, Figs. 2A-3); an active electrode (see active electrode 120, Figs. 1A-3) contained within the handpiece member (see proximal portion 149 of electrode 120 extending into the handle 104 to the actuator 146; [0017], Fig. 1A) and suspended within an interior of the conductive hollow tubular member (see Fig. 3) so that at least a portion of the active electrode extends beyond the first end of conductive hollow tubular member to create an open space contained between the conductive appendage of the return electrode and the portion of the active electrode extending beyond the first end of the conductive hollow tubular member (see exposed distal end of electrode 120 extending past 170 and creating an open space between metal distal body 185 and the portion of 120 extending past 170, Figs. 2A-2C); a non-conductive guide member (see non-conductive ceramic body 175, [0022], Fig. 3) having a proximal end contained within at least a portion of the conductive hollow tubular member of the return electrode (see proximal end 177, Fig. 3) such that at least a portion of the active electrode is capable of moving through the non-conductive guide member (see distal and medial portions of electrode 120 that are capable of moving through ceramic body 175; [0017] and [0023], Figs. 1A-3); and an actuator contained within the handpiece member and in communication with the active electrode to move the active electrode toward the conductive appendage of the return electrode when the device is activated for at least one of cutting and coagulation (see upper and lower portions of the lumen formed by 177 contiguous with the bore 180 of 170 and surrounding the medial portion of active electrode 120, Fig. 3). Shadduck fails to disclose the non-conductive guide member having a non-cylindrical shape contained within at least a portion of the conductive hollow tubular member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the proximal end of the non-conductive member contained within the conductive hollow tubular member into any non-cylindrical shape that would have established a mating connection with the bore 180 of sleeve 170 as disclosed in Shadduck [0022] such as C-shaped sections, for example. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See MPEP 2144(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Shadduck further discloses a foot switch in communication with the device to activate the device to perform at least one of cutting and coagulation (see footswitch 168, [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, Shadduck further discloses wherein the handpiece member further comprises a hollow area contained therein such that an interior of the conductive hollow tubular member and at least a portion of the hollow area contained within the handpiece together form a smoke evacuation channel (see hollow lumen 132 extending contained within the interior of 170 and handle 140 that allows negative pressure source to provide suction through the device; [0016], Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Shadduck further discloses a connection member for connecting the actuator to a smoke evacuation device for simultaneously activating smoke evacuation when at least one of cutting and coagulation is activated (see quick-connect 162 on the handle 104 for at least indirectly connecting the actuator 146 and the negative pressure source, [0016], Fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Shadduck further discloses the additional limitations of these claims under the same rationale as that provided for claims 3 and 6 above.
Regarding claim 12, Shadduck further discloses wherein the active electrode comprises a curve shaped member (see conductive hook having a curved shape in Fig. 1C, [0020]) connected to a conductive rod member (see medial portion 142 of electrode 120, Figs. 1A and 3, see also electrode 120 being a wire in [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Shadduck discloses the limitations of claim 7, however Shadduck fails to specifically teach wherein the curve shaped conductive member comprises a U shaped conductive member or a V shaped conductive member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the curved conductive member into a U shaped conductive member or a V shaped conductive member in order to establish the optimal hook shape for the particular tissue geometry being treated. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See MPEP 2144(IV)(B).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shadduck in view of Onuma (US 2016/0135835).
Regarding claim 14, Shadduck discloses the limitations of claim 7, however Shadduck fails to disclose wherein the actuator comprises a solenoid.
Onuma, in an analogous treatment device, teaches wherein the actuator comprises a solenoid (see [0128], [0130]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator as disclosed by Shadduck to comprise a solenoid in light of Onuma since such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of one known motion-inducing element for another known motion-inducing element in order to produce the predictable result of motorizing the actuator.
Double Patenting
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,204. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,204 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: McClurken et al. (US 2006/0100619) discloses a device having a curved active electrode that is movable, a return electrode having an appendage, and an insulative platform disposed between the electrodes.
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794