DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-10, drawn to a shaving aid, classified in A61Q9/02
II. Claims 11-16, drawn to a hair removal device comprising shaving aid comprising azoxystrobin, classified in B26B21/22.
III. Claims 17-18, drawn to a hair removal device comprising shaving aid comprising strobilurin, classified in B26B/21/22.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related product. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different design and components. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and II are directed to related product. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different design and components. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
A different field of search is required.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
During a telephone conversation with Andrea Velarde on 09/02/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of invention group I, claims 1-10. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-18 are pending, claims 1-10 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is continuation of US patent application 17551982, filed on 12/15/2021; which claims priority from US provisional application 63/131374, filed on 12/29/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 and 05/20/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the matrix polymer is ethylene vinyl acetate”, however, ethylene vinyl acetate is a monomer instead of polymer. Thus, the scope and boundary of claim is unclear. This is indefinite. For compact prosecution purpose, ethylene vinyl acetate is examiner as polyethylene vinyl acetate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (US20160143836) in view of Johnson et al. (US20210401710).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Hayes et al. teaches A skin engaging member Suitable for use in a hair removal device, said skin engaging member comprising ethyl vinyl acetate having a low level of vinyl acetate and a water soluble polymer (abstract). The skin engaging member of the present invention is Suitable for use on a hair removal device (such as a razor), said skin engaging member consists of one or more layers of a shaving aid material, which can be of a polymeric material. The shaving aids of the present invention are formed of a polymeric matrix comprising a water Soluble polymer and a water-insoluble polymer comprising ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA). In one embodiment, the EVA is selected to have a '% vinyl acetate (% VA) of about 10% to about 18% (page 1. [0010, 0012]). In one embodiment, the skin engaging member comprises a solid polymeric matrix having a melting temperature from about 95° C. to about 205° C., said matrix comprising a water-insoluble polymer material comprising ethylene vinyl acetate and combined with a water-soluble polymer material and other optional adjunct or secondary ingredients. Suitable water soluble polymers which can be used in accordance with the present invention include, but are not limited to, one or more of a polyethylene oxide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyacrylamide, polyhydroxymethacrylate, polyvinyl imidazoline, polyethylene glycol (page 2, [0023, 0025]). In one embodiment, the shaving aid is made at a controlled temperature such as below 130° C (page 2, [0027]). Various skin care actives (“actives') which are commonly used for topical application can also be used from about 0.01% to about 50% in the skin engaging member as a neat product and/or in an encapsulate, or as a coating. Skin active agent includes fatty alcohol, fatty acid, Antimicrobial and Anti-fungal agent (page 4, [0040, 0043-0044]; page 6, [0053). The process of making includes blending, mixing, solidifying after in a fluid or flowable form (page 7-8, [0065-0069]). The razor has a removal head (page 7, [0061]).
Johnson et al. teaches personal care composition comprising azoxystrobin (abstract). The personal care composition is in the form of shave preparation (page 9, [0103)). Azoxystrobin is a solid material having low solubility in water and has anti-fungal activity (page 2, [0021]; page 10, [0109-0113]). The azoxystrobin containing product may be a liquid, solid or powder or combinations (page 8, [0090]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Hayes et al. is that Hayes et al. do not expressly teach azoxystrobin. This deficiency in Hayes et al. is cured by the teachings of Johnson et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hayes et al., as suggested by Johnson et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix because azoxystrobin is a suitable antifungal skin active. Under guidance from Hayes et al. teaching antifungal skin active in the shaving aid polymeric matrix; Johnson et al. teaching azoxystrobin as antifungal active in shave preparation; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8, the combination of prior art teaches a solid shaving aid polymeric matrix comprising polyethylene vinyl acetate (matrix polymer) and polyethylene oxide (lubricant according to applicant’s specification, since no other lubricant is required, polyethylene oxide is 100% and at least 50%) as well as antifungal active azoxystrobin (solid as evidenced by Johnson et al.). Since Hayes et al. teaches blending, mixing, solidifying after in a fluid or flowable form, azoxystrobin is considered being incorporated into (at least partly within) solid polyethylene oxide (lubticant).
Regarding claim 6, Hayes et al. teaches polyethylene vinyl acetate, which has a glass transition temperature less than 130ºC according to applicant’s specification (page 28, line 24-26).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Hayes et al. teaches fatty alcohol and fatty acid, which are regarded as non-polymeric matrix according to applicant’s specification. stearyl alcohol is a common fatty alcohol, stearic acid is a known common fatty acid, it is obvious to have stearyl alcohol and or stearic acid. Both stearyl alcohol and stearic acid have melting points of less than 100ºC.
Regarding claim 10, Hayes et al. teaches skin care active including antimicrobial and antifungal agent from about 0.01% to about 50%, since antifungal azoxystrobin is skin care active, it is obvious to have azoxystrobin from 0.01% to 50%, encompassing applicant’s claimed amount.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (US20160143836) in view of Johnson et al. (US20210401710), as applied for the above 103 rejection for claims 1-10, further in view of Wang et al. (US20140090254).
In arguendo that stearic alcohol and stearic acid are not obvious from fatty alcohol, it is still obvious to have stearyl alcohol and stearic acid according to the following discussion.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Hayes et al. and Johnson et al. teaching have already been discussed in the above 103 rejection and are incorporated herein by reference.
Wang et al. teaches A skin engaging shaving aid (abstract). Fatty alcohol or fatty acid emollients include saturated and unsaturated higher alcohols, especially C12-C30 fatty alcohols and fatty acids, especially lauric, myristic, palmitic, stearic, arachidic or behenic ([0034]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Hayes et al. is that Hayes et al. do not expressly teach stearyl alcohol and stearic acid. This deficiency in Hayes et al. is cured by the teachings of Wang et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hayes et al., as suggested by Wang et al., and produce the instant invention.
Regarding claim 9, under guidance from Hayes et al. teaches fatty alcohol and fatty acid, Wang et al. teaching C12-C30 fatty alcohols and fatty acids such as stearic acid in shaving aid composition, it is obvious to have C18 fatty alcohol (stearyl alcohol) and stearic acid, both stearyl alcohol and stearic acid have melting points of less than 100ºC.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10682778 in view of Johnson et al. (US20210401710)). The reference patent teaches razor comprising a removal head and shaving matrix comprising polyethylene vinyl acetate and polyethylene oxide and skin care active, in view of Johnson et al. teaching azoxystrobin as antifungal active in shave preparation; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10898425 in view of Johnson et al. (US20210401710)). The reference patent teaches razor comprising a removal head and shaving matrix comprising polyethylene vinyl acetate and polyethylene oxide (claim 5), in view of Johnson et al. teaching azoxystrobin as antifungal active in shave preparation; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10773405 in view of Hayes et al. (US20160143836) and Johnson et al. (US20210401710)). The reference patent teaches razor comprising a removal head and shaving matrix comprising polyethylene oxide and water insoluble polymer, in view of Hayes et al. teaching water insoluble polymer polyethylene vinyl acetate; Johnson et al. teaching azoxystrobin as antifungal active in shave preparation; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11872711 in view of Johnson et al. (US20210401710)). The reference patent teaches razor comprising a removal head and shaving matrix comprising polyethylene vinyl acetate (claim 18) and polyethylene oxide (claim 1), in view of Johnson et al. teaching azoxystrobin as antifungal active in shave preparation; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include azoxystrobin as skin active agent in razor shaving aid polymeric matrix and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12194126. The reference patent teaches razor comprising a removal head and shaving matrix comprising polyethylene vinyl acetate (claim 5) and polyethylene oxide (claim 3) and azoxystrobin, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613