DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 24-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 of the claim ends with a period. It should end with a comma Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11, 24, 27-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (US 2016/0199106). Regarding claim 1, Fischer et al. disclose a surgical instrument, comprising a body (see figure below) with a proximal-facing surface (see figure below), a distal-facing surface (see figure below), as well as opposed first (see figure below) and second (see figure below) lateral ends extending therebetween; a first arm (11) extending proximally from the proximal-facing surface of the body, the first arm being laterally offset from a center of the body toward the first lateral end of the body (figure 3); and a second arm (20) extending distally from the distal-facing surface of the body, the second arm being laterally offset from the first arm toward the second lateral end of the body (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Fischer et al. disclose the first arm is longer than the second arm (figures 2, 3).
Regarding claim 3, Fischer et al. disclose the body includes a first shoulder (see figure below) formed along the proximal-facing surface between the first arm and the center of the body, the first shoulder facing the second lateral end (see figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Fischer et al. disclose a handle (14) disposed at a proximal end of the first arm (figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Fischer et al. disclose a proximal portion of the first arm includes at least one flat surface (24, figure 3) configured for applying torque to the first arm (if one so applies torque/rotating force to the flat surface).
Regarding claim 9, Fischer et al. disclose the proximal portion of the first arm includes a circumferential groove (see figure below) disposed distal to the at least one flat surface.
Regarding claim 11, Fischer et al. disclose the body includes a sidewall with a length extending between the proximal-facing surface and the distal-facing surface, the length being configured to limit rotation of the instrument when the instrument is disposed between opposed arms of a second surgical instrument (e.g. 4, ¶43).
Regarding claim 24, Fischer et al. disclose a surgical instrument, comprising a body (see figure below) with a proximal-facing surface (see figure below), a distal-facing surface (see figure below), as well as opposed first (see figure below) and second (see figure below) lateral ends extending therebetween; a first arm (11) extending proximally from the body, the first arm being laterally offset from a center of the body toward the first lateral end of the body (figure 3); and a second arm (20) extending distally from the body, the second arm being laterally offset from the first arm toward the second lateral end of the body (figure 3), wherein the body includes a first shoulder (see figure below) formed along the proximal-facing surface between the first arm and the center of the body, the first shoulder facing the second lateral end (figure 3).
Regarding claim 27, Fischer et al. disclose a proximal portion of the first arm includes at least one flat surface (24) configured for applying torque to the first arm (if one so applies torque/rotating force to the flat surface).
Regarding claim 28, Fischer et al. disclose the proximal portion of the first arm includes a circumferential groove (see figure below) disposed distal to the at least one flat surface.
Regarding claim 30, Fischer et al. disclose a surgical instrument, comprising a body (see figure below) with a proximal-facing surface (see figure below), a distal-facing surface (see figure below), as well as opposed first (see figure below) and second (see figure below) lateral ends extending therebetween a first arm (11) extending proximally from the body, the first arm being laterally offset from a center of the body toward the first lateral end of the body (figure 3); and a second arm (20) extending distally from the body, the second arm being laterally offset from the first arm toward the second lateral end of the body (figure 3), wherein the second arm includes a proximal end (see figure below) fixed to the distal-facing surface of the body and a longitudinal axis extending from the distal-facing surface of the body parallel to a proximal-distal axis of the body (figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 29 and 31are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. (US 2016/0199106).
Regarding claims 10, 29 and 31 Fischer et al. disclose a distal portion of the second arm includes a single bulbous protrusion (19, figure 3) extending in a direction that is perpendicular to an axis extending between the opposed first and second lateral ends and perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the second arm (figure 3). However, Fischer et al . fail to expressly teach more than one protrusion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to construct the distal portion of the second arm to include a second protrusion therefore making protrusions extending from the second arm in a direction that is perpendicular to an axis extending between the opposed first and second lateral ends and perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the second arm. The second protrusion extending from the opposite face of the second arm to allow for position of the protrusion to either side of the tulip (4), since it is known that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and the resultant device would yield the ability to position the second arm to the “left” or right” of the tulip (4) where it is received within for use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, 12 and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619