DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 25 June 2026. Claims 1-24 are currently pending. Accordingly, claims 1-24 are examined herein.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Applicant' s amendments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the
claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Subject Matter Eligibility
With regard to the previously pending 35 USC 101 rejection of record, filed 28 January 2026, it is noted that the newly amended claims require that the single-stranded target RNA comprises one or more modified nucleotides (see Claims 1 and 12). Because the instant specification teaches that the term “modified nucleotide” is limited to nucleotides comprising modifications on the sugar, phosphate group, or in the nucleotide base including pseudouridine and N1-methyl-pseudouridine (Instant specification; pg. 22-23). Thus, the claimed method and composition are eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the phrase “[…] the one or more modified nucleotides include a nucleotide have a modification on […]”. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “[…] the one or more modified nucleotides include a nucleotide having a modification on […]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 11, it is noted that the claim limits the contacting step to exclude contacting the target RNA, the Argonaute, or the guide with a single-stranded binding protein (see Claim 11). Because it is clear that the single stranded binding protein refers to a different single stranded binding protein when compared to the Argonaute (i.e., “a single-stranded binding protein” vs “the Argonaute”), it is clear that the claim is referring to a different single-stranded binding protein when compared to the Argonaute protein. However, because the Argonaute protein itself is itself a protein that can bind to a single-stranded target RNA (see Claim 1), the language referring to the single-stranded binding protein of claim 11 (i.e., excluding contacting the target RNA with a single-stranded binding protein) appears to be inconsistent with the scope of claim 1 (i.e., a claim wherein a single-stranded binding protein, the Argonaute, contacts the target RNA). Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “a second single-stranded binding protein”.
Regarding claim 16, it is noted that the claim limits the composition such that it is free of any single-stranded binding protein (see Claim 16). Because it is clear that the single stranded binding protein refers to a different single stranded binding protein when compared to the Argonaute, but the Argonaute protein itself is itself a protein that can bind to a single-stranded target RNA (see Claim 12), the language referring to the single-stranded binding protein of claim 16 appears to be inconsistent with the scope of claim 12. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “any second single-stranded binding protein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, it is noted that the newly recited limitations present in section (b)(i) and (b)(ii) of the claims recites that the single-stranded RNA comprises “an artificial sequence” (see Claims 1 and 12). It is noted that the instant specification does not provide an explicit definition for what it means for an RNA molecule to comprise “an artificial sequence”. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the claimed “artificial sequence” does not possess any specific different nucleotide structure when compared to a naturally occurring single-stranded target RNA’s nucleotide sequence, as described by Li below. Because the limitation appears to refer to the method by which the RNA molecule was created, the limitation is not interpreted as further limiting the structure of the claimed single-stranded target RNA comprising one or more modified nucleotides (i.e., the presence of the one or more modified nucleotides renders the single-stranded target RNA artificial).
Li is directed towards a study concerned with the characterization of a programmable pAgo nuclease with RNA target preference from Mucilaginibacter paludis (Abstract). Li teaches the use of a novel Argonaute protein, termed “MbpAgo” that is derived from Mucilaginibacter paludis (i.e., Li teaches the use of an MpaAgo) (Abstract). Li teaches that the MbpAgo prefers to cleave target RNA sequences over target DNA sequences through the use of a DNA guide sequence that guides the MbpAgo to a target RNA of interest (i.e., the MpaAgo of Li directed to an artificial target RNA through the use of a guide that comprises a sequence that is complementary to a sequence within the target RNA, wherein the guide can complex with the MbpAgo to form an Argonaute:guide complex) (Abstract). Li teaches that the MbpAgo’s ability to cleave RNA was tested via single-stranded nucleic acid cleavage assays and the Argonaute was able to cleave single-stranded RNA targets, but not double-stranded RNA targets, to generate cleavage products (i.e., the MbpAgo is able to cleave target ssRNA) (pg. 5236; see Supplementary Figure S8D). Li teaches that the target RNA comprised a 5’-FAM label attached to a 5’ adenosine at the 5’ end of the RNA molecule (see Supplementary Table 2).
Li does not explicitly teach or suggest that the single-stranded target RNA comprises one or more modified nucleotides (Claim 1). Li does not explicitly teach or suggest that the one or more modified nucleotides include a nucleotide have a modification on its sugar, a modification on its phosphate group, a modification on its nucleotide base, or combinations thereof (Claim 23).
It is noted that the instant specification teaches that the term “modified nucleotide” refers to a nucleotide that has a modification in the sugar, phosphate group, or nucleotide base of a sequence (pg. 22-23).
Huang is drawn towards a study concerned with the synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5 fluorescein- and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription (Abstract). Huang teaches that an RNA molecule of interest can be modified such that it comprises a 5’ modification comprising a linker on a 5’ adenosine (i.e., a modified nucleotide) is acceptable for transcription initiation and linking of a 5’-FAM label to the 5’ adenosine of the RNA molecule (pg. 1564-1565; see Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the 5’ adenosine and 5’-FAM label of Li for the modified 5’ adenosine and 5’-FAM label of Huang because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both the natural and modified 5’ adenosine bases were known to have the same function in the art, namely the ability to linked to a 5’-FAM label that can label an RNA molecule, one would have expected that the substitution of the 5’ adenosine and 5’-FAM label of Li for the 5’ adenosine and 5’-FAM label of Huang to have predictably resulted in a target RNA that could be cleaved by the MbpAgo and successfully resulted in the detection of the cleavage products.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Li teaches that the MbpAgo was able to generate ssRNA fragments that could be detected and analyzed (pg. 5236; see Supplementary Figure S8D).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches that the analysis of the ssRNA cleavage products is accomplished via gel electrophoresis (i.e., analysis by electrophoretic analysis) (pg. 5236; see Supplementary Figure S8D).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, the claims are interpreted as being directed towards a different, unclaimed single-stranded binding protein. Li does not teach or suggest contacting the target RNA with, or utilizing, a different single-stranded binding protein other than the MbpAgo.
Regarding claims 13-14, Li teaches that the ssRNA cleavage reaction can be performed in a reaction buffer comprising HEPES (pg. 5227).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches that the ssRNA cleavage reaction took place in a mixture comprising 800 nM MbpAgo was mixed with 400 nM gDNA or gRNA, and incubated for 10 min at 37°C for guide loading in buffer RB [10 mM HEPES–NaOH (pH 7.5), 100 mM NaCl, and 5% glycerol] with 5 mM MnCl2 (i.e., the ssRNA reaction mixture did not comprise a whole cell or a cell extract) (pg. 5227).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches that the target ssRNA, MpaAgo, and guide can be in an aqueous buffer (i.e., in aqueous form) (pg. 5227).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570) as applied to claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (PG Pub No. WO 2018/112336 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Huang renders obvious claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 as described above.
Li further teaches that MbpAgo is a unique programmable nuclease with a strong preference for RNA targets and can potentially be used in RNA manipulations such as RNA targeting, antiviral and nucleic acid detection (pg. 5237). Li teaches that guides can be synthetically created and designed to target RNA of interest (pg. 5227).
Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the single-stranded target RNA comprises at least 5000 nucleotides (Claim 3). Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the target RNA is an lncRNA (Claim 6). Li in view of Huang
Nakanishi is drawn towards a study concerned with compositions, systems, and methods for cleaving RNA molecules (Abstract). Nakanishi teaches the use of a yeast Argonaute protein that can utilize a heterologous, single-stranded DNA oligonucleotide guide molecule that is complementary to a target RNA sequence and can induce cleavage of the target RNA sequence (pg. 2). Nakanishi teaches that the target molecule can be an lncRNA from a cancer cell or tumor (pg. 30). Nakanishi teaches that the target RNA can be 5,000 nucleotides in length (pg. 30). Nakanishi teaches that targeting RNA associated with cancer can provide a new therapeutic strategy for treating RNA-based diseases such as cancer (pg. 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the target RNA of Li for a target lncRNA that comprises at least 5,000 nucleotides in length and is derived from cancer, as described by Nakanishi, because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both Li and Nakanishi teach the use of Argonaute proteins to edit target RNA, one would have expected that utilizing the MbpAgo of Li to edit the target RNA of Nakanishi would have predictably resulted in the successful editing of the target lncRNA. Additionally, because Nakanishi teaches that the targeting of the lncRNA molecule with Ago proteins is an advantageous way to provide a therapeutic benefit, one would have been motivated to have done so.
Claim(s) 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570) as applied to claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 above, and further in view of Beverly ("Label-free analysis of mRNA capping efficiency using RNase H probes and LC-MS: M. Beverly et al." Analytical and bioanalytical chemistry 408.18 (2016): 5021-5030).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Li in view of Huang renders obvious claims 1-2 and 9-17 as described above.
Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the one or more modified nucleotides includes a 5’ cap (Claim 4) selected from an m7Gppp cap (Claim 22).
Beverly is drawn towards a study concerned with the utilization of a 5’ RNA cap that can be utilized to detect cleavage of an RNA molecule (Abstract). Beverly teaches that as research into using mRNA for therapeutic purposes increases, there is a need for methods that can characterize IVT-synthesized mRNA that do not require labeling or altering the mRNA (pg. 5022). Beverly teaches that a 5’ terminal m7GpppG (i.e., an m7Gppp cap termed “Cap 0”) can be attached to an RNA of interest and, following cleavage of the RNA by RNase H, the mass difference between the cleaved RNA fragments can be detected and fragments containing the Cap 0 can be identified and the orientation of the Cap 0 determined (i.e., Beverly teaches that Cap 0 can be utilized to detect the presence of RNA cleavage fragments) (pg. 5026-5027; see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the labeling method rendered obvious by Li in view of Huang for the labeling method comprising the use of an m7Gppp cap as taught by Beverly because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both Li and Beverly teach that the 5’-FAM motif and the m7Gppp cap can be utilized to analyze RNA cleavage products that were cleaved by enzymes capable of RNA cleavage, one would have expected that utilizing the m7Gppp cap within the target RNA of Li to have predictably resulted in the generation of RNA cleavage products that could be detected by mass spectrometry following their cleavage by the MbpAgo.
Claim(s) 5, 18-20, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570) as applied to claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (PG Pub No. WO 2018/112336 A1), Fasching (PG Pub No. WO 2024/108016 A2, published 23 May 2024), and Sullivan (PG Pub No. US 2024/0115691 A1, published 11 April 2024).
Regarding claims 5, 18-20, and 24, Li in view of Huang renders obvious claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 as described above.
Li further teaches that guides can be synthetically created and designed to target RNA of interest (pg. 5227). Li teaches that the guides can be designed and utilized in the clearance of RNA viruses (Abstract).
Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the guide has a sequence selected from SEQ ID NO: 10 (Claims 5 and 18). Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the one or more modified nucleotides in a pseudouridine (Claim 24).
Nakanishi is drawn towards a study concerned with compositions, systems, and methods for cleaving RNA molecules (Abstract). Nakanishi teaches the use of a yeast Argonaute protein that can utilize a heterologous, single-stranded DNA oligonucleotide guide molecule that can be designed to be complementary to a target RNA sequence (i.e., the guide molecule is complementary to a guide-recognition sequence within the target RNA) and can induce cleavage of the target RNA sequence (pg. 2). Nakanishi teaches that the Argonaute protein’s guide DNA could be designed to be 10-16 nucleotides in length and each of the guide RNA’s cleavage efficiencies could be successfully tested (pg. 6; see FIGs. 4A-4E).
Fasching is drawn towards an invention concerned with the use of CRISPR-associated (Cas) proteins (Abstract). Fasching teaches the use of a guide nucleic acid that can direct a CRISPR complex to a target nucleic acid of interest via hybridization with the target nucleic acid ([0004]). Fasching teaches that the guide nucleic acid molecule may be 16 nucleotides in length ([00185]). Fasching teaches that the guide nucleic acid molecules can be designed and made to provide desired functions and target nucleic acids of interest ([00322]). Fasching teaches that the target nucleic acid can comprise a pathogenic mRNA sequence from a pathogenic virus responsible for the onset of a disease or infection in order to treat the disease or infection ([00226]). Fasching teaches that the pathogenic virus may be selected from Sindbis virus ([00226]). Fasching teaches that uridines present in the RNA of the disclosure may be substituted for pseudouridine and considered 100% identical to the uridine in that both bases are 100% complementary to the same base ([0094]).
Sullivan is drawn towards a study concerned with nucleic acid molecules encoding viral replication proteins (Abstract). Sullivan teaches the use of a SINV mRNA molecule (i.e., a Sindbis virus mRNA molecule ([0217])) that comprises a region that is complementary to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 10 (pg. 149-152; see SEQ ID NO: 104 in previously attached sequence alignment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to modify the guide molecule of Li such that it comprised the claimed SEQ ID NO: 10 and was 16 nucleotides in length in order to deplete a pathogenic mRNA molecule derived from a Sindbis virus, as described by Nakanishi, Fasching, and Sullivan. Fasching teaches that there had been a recognized need in the art to target pathogenic mRNA from a Sindbis virus in order to treat an infection. Because Sullivan teaches that the region complementary to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 10 is within a viral Sindbis RNA sequence that is of finite length, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there was a finite number of potential Argonaute target guide DNA sites that could be generated within the viral Sindbis sequence of Sullivan. Because Nakanishi teaches that the cleavage efficiency of different Argonaute guides DNA can tested and screened following the administration of the Argonaute, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected to be able to pursue the potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the target RNA such that it comprised pseudouridine because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because Fasching teaches that uridines present in a target RNA that is targeted through the use of a nucleic acid may be substituted for pseudouridines and considered 100% identical to the uridine in that both bases are 100% complementary to the same base, because both bases are complementary to the same base, one would have expected that modifying the target RNA such that it comprised pseudouridine to have still resulted in the successfully and predictably resulted in cleavage of the target RNA because the guide could still bind to the RNA.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches that the ssRNA cleavage reaction can be performed in a reaction buffer (i.e., a kit) comprising HEPES (pg. 5227).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches that the target ssRNA, MpaAgo, and guide can be in an aqueous buffer (i.e., in aqueous form) (pg. 5227).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570) as applied to claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (PG Pub No. WO 2018/112336 A1) and Desnoyers (The EMBO journal 28.11 (2009): 1551-1561).
Regarding claims 7-8, Li in view of Huang renders obvious claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 as described above.
Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the single-stranded RNA is a polycistronic template comprising at least five guide recognition sequences (Claim 7). Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that at least one of the cleavage products comprises an IVT template (Claim 8).
Nakanishi is drawn towards a study concerned with compositions, systems, and methods for cleaving RNA molecules (Abstract). Nakanishi teaches the use of a yeast Argonaute protein that can utilize a heterologous, single-stranded DNA oligonucleotide guide molecule that is complementary to a target RNA sequence (i.e., the guide molecule is complementary to a guide-recognition sequence within the target RNA) and can induce cleavage of the target RNA sequence (pg. 2). Nakanishi teaches that a target RNA molecule may be contacted with at least 5 Argonaute:guide complexes and that the primary limiting feature of the number of Argonaute polypeptide:guide complexes which can be bound to the target RNA is the number of distinct ssDNA guide molecule which can bind to the target RNA (i.e., Nakanishi teaches that the target RNA molecule may comprise at least five guide recognition sequences) (pg. 35-36).
Desnoyers is drawn towards a study concerned with the degradation of iscRSUA polycistronic mRNA (Abstract). Desnoyers teaches that iscRSUA mRNA encodes multiple genes, including iscR, iscS, iscU, and iscA (i.e., iscRSUA is an IVT template) (Abstract, pg. 1557; see Figure 8). Desnoyers teaches that in low iron conditions, iscS, iscU, and iscA can be degraded and cleaved by RNA degradosomes following binding of a small regulatory RNA molecule, RyhB (Abstract, pg. 1557; see Figure 8). Desnoyers teaches that the degradation of the polycistronic mRNA is advantageous in low-iron conditions because the degradation allows for the expression of an iscR protein that allows for generation of Fe-S clusters in a low-iron environment (pg. 1557; see Figure 8). Desnoyers teaches that in cells that do not express RyhB, Fe-S clusters are not generated in low iron environments which results in an iron shortage within the cells (pg. 1558).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the target RNA of Li for a polycistronic template, as described by Desnoyers, and modify the polycistronic template to comprise at least five guide recognition sequences, as described by Nakanishi, because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, respectively.
Regarding the substitution of the target RNA, because Li teaches that MbpAgo can cleave target RNA while Desnoyers teaches the use of a polycistronic target RNA that is beneficial to cleave, one would have expected that cleaving the polycistronic RNA of Desnoyers with the MbpAgo to have predictably resulted in the same beneficial result described in Desnoyers wherein the iscR protein is expressed. Additionally, because Desnoyers teaches that the degradation is beneficial in low iron environments, one would have been motivated to have done so.
Regarding the modification of the polycistronic template to comprise at least five guide Ago recognition sequences, one or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that since Nakanishi teaches that multiple Argonaute guides can be utilized by multiple different Argonaute proteins in order to cleave a single RNA molecule, one would have expected that modifying the guide DNAs to be complementary to the polycistronic target RNA would have resulted in the successful cleavage at multiple sites across the polycistronic target RNA. Additionally, because Desnoyers teaches that cleaving the polycistronic mRNA results in the beneficial expression of the iscR protein, one would have expected that the degradation of the mRNA through the use of multiple Argonaute guides to have predictably resulted in the expression of the protein because Nakanishi teaches that multiple guides can be utilized by multiple Argonaute proteins in order to cleave a singular RNA molecule.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Nucleic acids research 50.9 (2022): 5226-5238) in view of Huang ("Synthesis of adenosine derivatives as transcription initiators and preparation of 5′ fluorescein-and biotin-labeled RNA through one-step in vitro transcription." Rna 9.12 (2003): 1562-1570) as applied to claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (PG Pub No. WO 2018/112336 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Li in view of Huang renders obvious claims 1-2, 9-17, and 23 as described above.
Li in view of Huang does not teach or suggest that the guide comprises a nucleotide sugar modification (Claim 21).
However, the applicable teachings of Nakanishi are discussed above as applied to claims 5, 7-8, 18-20, and 24 as discussed above. Nakanishi further teaches that the Argonaute guide may comprise a chemically modified ribose (i.e., a chemically modified sugar) (pg. 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the Argonaute guide of Li for an Argonaute guide comprising a chemically modified ribose as described by Nakanishi because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both Li and Nakanishi teaches the use of Argonaute proteins that can utilize DNA guides to cleave an RNA molecule of interest, one would have expected that utilizing the Argonaute guide comprising a chemically modified sugar within the method and composition of Li to have predictably resulted in the successful cleavage of the target RNA comprising the 5’-FAM label and detecting the label following cleavage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that Li cannot be credited with disclosing cleavage of target RNA molecules disclosed by Applicant, for example, at 2:13-30; 6:27 - 7:2; 21:18-26; 22:30 - 23:3; 28:29 - 29:1; 37:5 - 36:21; FIGS 4A-4D; and SEQ ID NO:1 (Remarks; pg. 6-7).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the specific cleavage events and structures described in the instant specification) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Insofar as Applicant’s arguments are applicable to the newly recited rejections of record necessitated by amendment, Applicant alleges that restating Nakanishi’s intended use of its Argonaute is no more than an assertion that its Argonaute was known to be used and does not constitute a motivation to modify Li in the alleged manner wherein the Argonaute is able to cleave long RNAs (Remarks; pg. 8).
This argument is not found persuasive because MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. Because Nakanishi teaches that Argonaute proteins can be utilized to cleave RNA molecules that are at least 5,000 nucleotides in length, one would have expected that the Argonaute protein of Li could have performed the same function because both proteins are Argonaute proteins that perform the same function (i.e., RNA cleavage) through the same mechanism (i.e., through the use of a DNA guide). Additionally, MPEP 2144 teaches that the references do not have to explicitly suggest to combine the teachings. Rather, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness requires a clear articulation of a rationale for combining the teachings of the references, and such rationale has been provided in the rejection above as applied to claims 3 and 6 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE T REGA/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636