DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Pursuant to the applicant’s response filed 23 June 2026, the amendments to the claims have been entered into the application. By this amendment, no claims have been added or cancelled, and claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application. The rejections are maintained by the examiner and the arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 13-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by World Intellectual Property Office Document WO 2020/123878 by Parker (Parker).
Regarding claim 1, Parker discloses an assembly for directing gas to an action of a firearm (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated), comprising: a barrel (533) defining a bore configured to guide a projectile (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated), the barrel having a plurality of barrel gas ports (539) and a groove formed therein (541), each of the plurality of barrel gas ports being in fluid communication between the bore and the groove (See at least Paragraph 0037); and at least one gas block (511) configured to align with an axial location of the groove along a length of the barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated), the at least one gas block having a gas block gas port (521) formed therein and configured to fluidically communicate with the plurality of barrel gas ports via the groove (See at least Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 2, Parker further discloses wherein the groove has a width in an axial direction along the length of the barrel, wherein the width is greater than a diameter of the plurality of barrel gas ports (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 3, Parker further discloses wherein the groove extends around an entirety of a circumference of the barrel (See at least Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 5, Parker further discloses wherein the plurality of barrel gas ports are positioned at radially spaced positions about a circumference of the barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 6, Parker further discloses wherein the barrel comprises a single piece barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 7, Parker further discloses wherein the single piece barrel is formed as the single piece barrel from a block of material having no discontinuities along the bore (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 8, Parker discloses a barrel (533) for a firearm (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated), the barrel comprising: an inner surface defining a bore configured to guide a projectile; an outer surface (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated); a groove (541) defined in the outer surface about at least a portion of a circumference of the barrel (See at least Paragraph 0038); and a plurality of barrel gas ports defined between the inner surface and the groove (539), wherein each of the plurality of barrel gas ports has an entrance defined by the inner surface of the barrel, wherein the plurality of barrel gas ports are radially spaced about an axis of the barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 9, Parker further discloses wherein the groove has a width in an axial direction along a length of the barrel, wherein the width is greater than a diameter of the plurality of barrel gas ports (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 10, Parker further discloses wherein the groove extends around an entirety of the circumference of the barrel (See at least Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 13, Parker further discloses wherein the plurality of barrel gas ports are radially spaced regularly about the circumference of the barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 14, Parker further discloses wherein the barrel comprises a single piece barrel (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 16, Parker further discloses a firearm comprising the barrel of claim 8 (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 17, Parker discloses an assembly for a firearm (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated), the assembly comprising: a gas block (511) defining a gas block gas port (521); and a barrel (533) defining a bore (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated) the barrel comprising: means for permitting gas to exit the bore via multiple flow paths at a single axial location along the bore (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated); and means for combining the multiple flow paths upstream of the gas block gas port (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 18, Parker further discloses wherein the barrel is a single piece barrel formed from a block of material and having no discontinuities along the bore (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 19, Parker further discloses wherein the means for combining the multiple flow paths upstream of the gas block gas port comprise means for facilitating semi-automatic operation of the firearm (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 20, Parker further discloses wherein the barrel further defines a step from a first diameter of the barrel to a second diameter of the barrel, wherein an internal diameter of the gas block corresponds to the first diameter, and where the gas block is configured to slide over the barrel at the first diameter and stops at the step to the second diameter to align the gas block gas port with the means for combining the multiple flow paths (See at least Figures 30-31, clearly illustrated).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent 817,197 issued to Smith (Smith).
Regarding claim 8, Smith discloses a barrel (4) for a firearm (See at least Figure 1a, clearly illustrated), the barrel comprising: an inner surface defining a bore configured to guide a projectile; an outer surface (See at least Figure 1a, clearly illustrated); a groove (18) defined in the outer surface about at least a portion of a circumference of the barrel (See at least Page 2 Lines 1-30); and a plurality of barrel gas ports defined between the inner surface and the groove (19), wherein each of the plurality of barrel gas ports has an entrance defined by the inner surface of the barrel (See at least Figure 1a, clearly illustrated), wherein the plurality of barrel gas ports are radially spaced about an axis of the barrel (See at least Figure 1a, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 15, Smith further discloses wherein the plurality of barrel gas ports are spaced apart longitudinally along an axis of the barrel (See at least Figure 1a, clearly illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Parker discloses the claimed invention except for the groove not extending around an entirety of a circumference of the barrel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the groove extend partially around the circumference of the barrel, since applicant has not disclosed that having such an arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a groove that extends around the entire circumference of the barrel.
Regarding claim 12, Parker discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of barrel gas ports are radially spaced irregularly about the circumference of the barrel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have irregular spacing of the plurality of barrel gas ports about the circumference of the barrel, since applicant has not disclosed that having such an arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with regularly spacing of the plurality of barrel gas ports.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,365,945 or 11,747,101 in view of Parker or Smith. The claims in the current application are broader in scope and fully encompassed by the issued claims with some minor exceptions that are clearly disclosed in the identified references. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of the issued patents with the teachings of the references. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to make a more complete firearm assembly and/or utilize known alternative arrangements of components having a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Parker does not disclose the barrel having a plurality of barrel gas ports and a groove formed therein as found in claim 1 or similar details in the other independent claims, rather Parker discloses a barrel extension, the examiner offers the following: The claims are not specific enough to negate the use of a barrel extension to teach the claimed elements once the device is assembled as shown in at least Figures 30-31. Additionally, the applicant’s specification does not provide a narrowed definition of the term barrel that would prevent the reference from being used to reject the claimed elements as indicated by the examiner. The examiner notes that the definition of “barrel” is the tube on a firearm through which the bullet/projectile is propelled, which would mean that the assembled elements shown in Parker would meet the claimed limitation of a “barrel”. Therefore, the rejections are deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641