Claims 1, 9, 10-11, 17, and 21 are amended. Claims 13-16 are withdrawn. Claim 19 is cancelled. Claim 22 is newly added. Claims 1-12, 17-18, and 20-22 are currently under review.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues that Lim does not teach “a compensation electrode layer having a mesh shape and electrically connected to the driving voltage wire”. The Applicant further argues that figure 6 of Lim discloses mesh auxiliary lines only extend in one direction and do not have a mesh shape.
The Office disagrees. Paragraph 190 of the specification indicates that the compensation electrode CPE may have a mesh shape but does not further describe the mesh structure. Figures 10 and 11 shows a compensation electrode CPE structure, however it only applies to the first embodiment. Figure 12 is a plan view of the compensation electrode layer according to another example. The specification is silent as to the compensation electrode CPE structure with respect to figure 19. Lim teaches in paragraphs 11 and 152 “a mesh-shaped line” and in paragraph 25 that “Each of the first mesh auxiliary line and the second mesh auxiliary line may include a main line portion extending in the second direction and a sub-protruding portion protruding from the main line portion … The sub-protruding portion of the second mesh auxiliary line may overlap a portion of the corresponding second power line and the second mesh connection hole”. Therefore the mesh shaped line having a main line and sub-protruding portions of Lim meets the limitations of “a compensation electrode layer having a mesh shape and electrically connected to the driving voltage wire”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 17 (and their dependents claims 2-10, 12, 17-18, and 20-22) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitations indicate “wherein the compensation electrode layer includes a first portion extending in a first direction and a second portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the second portion overlaps the driving voltage wire extending in the second direction” however the specification is completely silent as to the structure of the compensation electrode layer with respect to figure 19. Therefore for the purposes of examination, the Office will interpret the claim limitations indicate “wherein the compensation electrode layer includes a first portion extending in a first direction and a second portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the second portion overlaps the driving voltage wire extending in the second direction” simply as “wherein the compensation electrode overlaps the driving voltage wire”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0160148 A1) hereinafter referred to as Lim.
With respect to Claim 1, Lim discloses a display panel (fig. 2; ¶73-74), comprising: a substrate (figs. 3 and 15-16, item 110; ¶84); a driving element (figs. 5 and 15, item T1) disposed on the substrate; a first switch element (figs. 5 and 16, item T5) disposed on the substrate; a driving voltage wire (figs. 5 and 16, item VDL) electrically connected to the first switch element (fig. 5, via item PC2); and a compensation electrode layer (figs. 6 and 15-16, item MASL comprising items MASL1 and MASL2) having a mesh shape (fig. 6; ¶25; ¶152) and electrically connected to the driving voltage wire (¶147, “The mesh auxiliary lines MASL may include first mesh auxiliary lines MASL1 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the first power lines VDL, and second mesh auxiliary lines MASL2 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second power lines VRFL”), wherein the driving voltage wire and the compensation electrode layer are disposed in different layers (figs. 15-16; ¶137; ¶147), wherein the compensation electrode layer includes a first portion extending in a first direction and a second portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the second portion overlaps the driving voltage wire extending in the second direction (fig. 15, item MASL1 overlaps item VDL; ¶196, “FIG. 15 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line G-G′ of FIG. 11. FIG. 16 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line H-H′ of FIG. 11”).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Lim discloses further comprising: a first planarization layer (figs. 15-16, item 125; ¶197, an interlayer insulating layer can also serve as a planarization layer) disposed on the driving element and the first switch element (figs. 15-16); and a second planarization layer (figs. 15-16, item 126; ¶197) disposed on the driving voltage wire, wherein the compensation electrode layer is disposed on the second planarization layer (figs. 15-16).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Lim discloses further comprising: a third planarization layer (figs. 15-16, item 127; ¶197) disposed on the compensation electrode layer (figs. 15-16).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Lim discloses further comprising: a metal pattern (figs. 12-14,item ACE2; ¶217, “The first power line VDL may extend in the first direction DR1 and may overlap the capacitor electrode CAE. As a result, the second pixel capacitor (e.g., PC2 in FIG. 5) may be provided by an overlapping area between the capacitor electrode CAE and the first power line VDL”; ¶226, “the second auxiliary connection electrode ACE2 may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the capacitor electrode CAE through a third auxiliary connection hole ACCH3, and may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second electrode D5 of the fifth transistor T5 through a fourth auxiliary connection hole ACCH4”) connected between the first switch element (figs. 5 and 12, item T5) and the driving voltage wire (figs. 5 and 14, item VDL, via the capacitor); and an electrode pattern (fig. 15, item VDCE) configured to penetrate the first planarization layer (fig. 15, item 125) and to be connected to a source-drain electrode pattern of the driving element (fig. 5, via connections thru item T6), wherein the driving voltage wire is configured to penetrate the first planarization layer and to be connected to the metal pattern (figs. 14, items ACE2, VDCE, VDL).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated, Lim discloses wherein the compensation electrode layer (fig. 15, item MASL1; fig. 16, items MASL1 and MASL2) is configured to penetrate the second planarization layer (fig. 15, item 126 via MCH11 and fig. 16, item 126 via MCH2) and to be electrically connected to the driving voltage wire (fig. 15, item VDL; fig. 16, item VRFL).
With respect to Claim 11, Lim discloses a display panel (fig. 2; ¶73-74), comprising: a substrate (figs. 3 and 15-16, item 110; ¶84); a driving element (figs. 5 and 15, item T1) disposed on the substrate; a first switch element (figs. 5 and 16, item T5) disposed on the substrate; a driving voltage wire (figs. 5 and 16, item VDL) electrically connected to the first switch element (fig. 5, via item PC2); and a compensation electrode layer (figs. 6 and 15-16, item MASL comprising items MASL1 and MASL2) electrically connected to the driving voltage wire (¶147, “The mesh auxiliary lines MASL may include first mesh auxiliary lines MASL1 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the first power lines VDL, and second mesh auxiliary lines MASL2 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second power lines VRFL”), wherein the driving voltage wire and the compensation electrode layer are disposed in different layers (figs. 15-16; ¶137; ¶147), wherein the compensation electrode layer is disposed to overlap the driving element and the first switch element (figs. 15-16), wherein the compensation electrode layer includes a first portion extending in a first direction and a second portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the second portion overlaps the driving voltage wire extending in the second direction (fig. 15, item MASL1 overlaps item VDL; ¶196, “FIG. 15 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line G-G′ of FIG. 11. FIG. 16 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line H-H′ of FIG. 11”).
With respect to Claim 22, claim 11 is incorporated, Lim discloses wherein the compensation electrode layer has a mesh shape including at least one aperture region (fig. 6; ¶147).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Ka et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0287937 A1) hereinafter referred to as Ka.
With respect to Claim 17, Lim teaches a display device (fig. 1; ¶72-73), comprising: a display panel (fig. 2; ¶73-74); a data driver (figs. 3 and 6, item 200; ¶163) configured to drive the display panel; and scan write lines, scan write signals, and gate control signals are configured to drive the display panel, wherein the display panel includes: a substrate (figs. 3 and 15-16, item 110; ¶84); a driving element (figs. 5 and 15, item T1) disposed on the substrate; a first switch element (figs. 5 and 16, item T5) disposed on the substrate; a first planarization layer (figs. 15-16, item 125; ¶197, an interlayer insulating layer can also serve as a planarization layer) disposed on the driving element and the first switch element (figs. 15-16); a driving voltage wire (figs. 5 and 16, item VDL) electrically connected to the first switch element (fig. 5, via item PC2); a metal pattern (figs. 12-14,item ACE2; ¶217, “The first power line VDL may extend in the first direction DR1 and may overlap the capacitor electrode CAE. As a result, the second pixel capacitor (e.g., PC2 in FIG. 5) may be provided by an overlapping area between the capacitor electrode CAE and the first power line VDL”; ¶226, “the second auxiliary connection electrode ACE2 may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the capacitor electrode CAE through a third auxiliary connection hole ACCH3, and may be connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second electrode D5 of the fifth transistor T5 through a fourth auxiliary connection hole ACCH4”) connected between the first switch element (figs. 5 and 12, item T5) and the driving voltage wire (figs. 5 and 14, item VDL, via the capacitor); an electrode pattern (fig. 15, item VDCE) configured to penetrate the first planarization layer (fig. 15, item 125) and to be connected to a source-drain electrode pattern of the driving element (fig. 5, via connections thru item T6); and a compensation electrode layer (figs. 6 and 15-16, item MASL comprising items MASL1 and MASL2) electrically connected to the driving voltage wire (¶147, “The mesh auxiliary lines MASL may include first mesh auxiliary lines MASL1 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the first power lines VDL, and second mesh auxiliary lines MASL2 connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the second power lines VRFL”), wherein the driving voltage wire and the compensation electrode layer are disposed in different layers (figs. 15-16; ¶137; ¶147), wherein the driving voltage wire is configured to penetrate the first planarization layer and to be connected to the metal pattern (figs. 14, items ACE2, VDCE, VDL), wherein the compensation electrode layer includes a first portion extending in a first direction and a second portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the second portion overlaps the driving voltage wire extending in the second direction (fig. 15, item MASL1 overlaps item VDL; ¶196, “FIG. 15 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line G-G′ of FIG. 11. FIG. 16 is a schematic cross-sectional view taken along line H-H′ of FIG. 11”).
Lim does not explicitly indicate a gate driver configured to drive the display panel.
Ka teaches a display device (fig. 1; ¶53), comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, item 300; ¶53); a data driver (figs. 1-2, item 400; ¶55) configured to drive the display panel; and gate drivers (fig. 1, item 500a and 500b; ¶55) configured to drive the display panel.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Lim, such that a gate driver is configured to drive the display panel, as taught by Ka so as to provide common means to provide scan write lines, scan write signals, and gate control signals to the display device.
With respect to Claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated, Lim teaches wherein the display panel further includes: a second planarization layer (figs. 15-16, item 126; ¶197) disposed on the driving voltage wire, and wherein the compensation electrode layer is disposed on the second planarization layer (figs. 15-16).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 18 is incorporated, Lim teaches wherein the compensation electrode layer (fig. 15, item MASL1; fig. 16, items MASL1 and MASL2) is configured to penetrate the second planarization layer (fig. 15, item 126 via MCH11 and fig. 16, item 126 via MCH2) and to be electrically connected to the driving voltage wire (fig. 15, item VDL; fig. 16, item VRFL).
With respect to Claim 21, claim 17 is incorporated, Lim teaches wherein the compensation electrode layer has a mesh shape including at least one aperture region (fig. 6; ¶147).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 6, none of the prior art teaches further comprising: an anode electrode connected to the electrode pattern; an emission layer disposed on the anode electrode; a cathode electrode disposed on the emissive layer; and a connecting electrode portion disposed in the same layer as the compensation electrode layer and configured to connect the electrode pattern and the anode electrode.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621