DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The provisional application PRO 63/554,127 filed on 02/15/2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference number mentioned in the description: the RF chain 1109, in paragraph [0143] is not shown in Fig. 11.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1112 in Fig. 11.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
In paragraphs [0005 and 0066], the specification recites, “signal to interference ration (SIR) measurement”. However, the word, “ration” appears to be a mistake.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation, "One or more computer-readable storage media storing instructions" in Line [1] of claim 12 encompasses signals per se. In Para. [0194] of the specification, the instant application recites, “one or more computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed on a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations comprising those of a method described in or related to any of the preceding examples,” which clearly includes propagating electromagnetic waves. The further recitation of “instructions” in claim 12 only serves to limit the content carried by the electromagnetic waves. As understood in light of the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 12 encompasses signals which are not within one of the four statutory categories of invention. See MPEP 2106.03 I. It is suggested that claim 12 be amended to recite a “non-transitory” computer readable medium to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huitao Liu (US 20080188194 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu, in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (US 20230189382 A1), hereinafter referenced as Haustein.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Liu teaches an apparatus comprising: a receiver; a transmitter; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the receiver and the transmitter (Fig. 1, Para. [0017-0018]-Liu discloses a wireless system 100 with a mobile device 103 and a base transceiver station BTS 120 having a cellular antenna transceiver 101 in communication with a mobile device 103 ... The mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120. The mobile device 103 includes a controller 117, such as a microprocessor, microcontroller or similar data processing device that executes program instructions stored in a memory 104. Para. [0005]-Liu discloses determining a signal quality for a wireless signal received by a wireless device according to a signal strength and a signal to interference ratio of the received wireless signal. The wireless device provides a signal quality indication corresponding to the determined signal quality to a user of the wireless device. The signal quality indication may be provided on a display of the wireless device ... the wireless device compares the received signal strength to a signal strength threshold value and then determines the signal quality according to the received signal to interference ratio) and configured to:
determine a frequency band combination configured for a user equipment (UE) (Para. [0013]-Liu discloses wireless devices map the received signal strength to the number of bars directly. For example, a GSM (Global System for Mobile Communications) handset may display full bars when the received signal level on the broadcast control channel (BCCH) is above a certain level, such as -70 dBm. The number of bars displayed will gradually decrease as the received signal strength becomes weaker. In general, this is acceptable as a service quality indication for air interface technologies using narrow band frequency division duplex (FDD) signals, since each channel is defined by a certain width of the radio frequency. Even though the channels are also sometimes shared among users in the frequency domain, there is only one user using a specific channel at any given time. Fig. 1, Para. [0018]-Liu discloses the mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120);
perform, based on a trigger, a measurement associated with the frequency band combination (Fig. 1, Para. [0018]-Liu discloses the mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120. Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Para. [0013]-Liu discloses service quality indication for air interface technologies using narrow band frequency division duplex (FDD) signals, ... each channel is defined by a certain width of the radio frequency ... channels are also sometimes shared among users in the frequency domain),
the trigger includes at least one of: a determination that an inter-cell measurement is within a measurement range from a reference sensitivity (REFSENS) measurement of the receiver, or a change to a configuration of the receiver (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio), and
the measurement includes at least one of a maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) measurement or a signal to interference ratio (SIR) measurement (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Fig. 1, Para. [0022]-Liu discloses the receiver 113 determines the signal strength (RSCP or other measurement) and the signal to interference ratio of the received signal and provides that information to the controller 117. In other embodiments, those determinations are made by the receiver in conjunction with other functionality. For example, some of the signal processing functionality utilized to determine the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio may be performed in the controller 117 or other DSP functionality coupled to receiver 113. Both the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio are utilized by the controller 117 to determine an appropriate signal quality indication. Based on this signal quality, a signal quality indication is selected, and control information is sent to the display device in the user interface 108 to display the selected signal quality indication).
Liu fails to explicitly teach report, based on a transmission by the transmitter, the measurement.
However, Haustein teaches report, based on a transmission by the transmitter, the measurement (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Liu and Haustein are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on SIR, with a motivation to report the measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches a method (Fig. 1, Para. [0017-0018]-Liu discloses a wireless system 100 with a mobile device 103 and a base transceiver station BTS 120 having a cellular antenna transceiver 101 in communication with a mobile device 103 ... The mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120. The mobile device 103 includes a controller 117, such as a microprocessor, microcontroller or similar data processing device that executes program instructions stored in a memory 104. Para. [0005]-Liu discloses determining a signal quality for a wireless signal received by a wireless device according to a signal strength and a signal to interference ratio of the received wireless signal. The wireless device provides a signal quality indication corresponding to the determined signal quality to a user of the wireless device. The signal quality indication may be provided on a display of the wireless device ... the wireless device compares the received signal strength to a signal strength threshold value and then determines the signal quality according to the received signal to interference ratio) comprising:
configuring a frequency band combination for a user equipment (UE) (Para. [0013]-Liu discloses wireless devices map the received signal strength to the number of bars directly. For example, a GSM (Global System for Mobile Communications) handset may display full bars when the received signal level on the broadcast control channel (BCCH) is above a certain level, such as -70 dBm. The number of bars displayed will gradually decrease as the received signal strength becomes weaker. In general, this is acceptable as a service quality indication for air interface technologies using narrow band frequency division duplex (FDD) signals, since each channel is defined by a certain width of the radio frequency. Even though the channels are also sometimes shared among users in the frequency domain, there is only one user using a specific channel at any given time. Fig. 1, Para. [0018]-Liu discloses the mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120);
the trigger includes at least one of: a determination that an inter-cell measurement is within a measurement range from a reference sensitivity (REFSENS) measurement of a receiver of the UE, or a change to a configuration of the receiver (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio), and
the measurement includes at least one of a maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) measurement or a signal to interference ratio (SIR) measurement (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Fig. 1, Para. [0022]-Liu discloses the receiver 113 determines the signal strength (RSCP or other measurement) and the signal to interference ratio of the received signal and provides that information to the controller 117. In other embodiments, those determinations are made by the receiver in conjunction with other functionality. For example, some of the signal processing functionality utilized to determine the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio may be performed in the controller 117 or other DSP functionality coupled to receiver 113. Both the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio are utilized by the controller 117 to determine an appropriate signal quality indication. Based on this signal quality, a signal quality indication is selected, and control information is sent to the display device in the user interface 108 to display the selected signal quality indication).
Liu fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the UE based on a trigger, a measurement associated with the frequency band combination, performing, based on the measurement, an action associated with the frequency band combination.
However, Haustein teaches receiving, from the UE based on a trigger, a measurement associated with the frequency band combination (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])),
performing, based on the measurement, an action associated with the frequency band combination (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Liu and Haustein are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on SIR, with a motivation to receive the measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu further teaches the inter-cell measurement includes a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed while uplink transmission using at least one frequency band of the frequency band combination is deactivated (Fig. 1, Para. [0025-0026]-Liu discloses signal quality for idle and active modes may be calculated in the same way, but may have different actual values. In idle mode the base transceiver station 120 (see FIG. 1) transmits a constant power signal over the Common Pilot Channel (CPICH). The handset in idle mode can use this signal to measure the received signal strength and the signal to interference ratio ... the signal quality indication may be determined using the received signal strength and the signal to interference ratio for operation in idle mode. Para. [0012]-Liu discloses a typical basis for the visual indication has been received signal strength. The visual indication can give a user an indication of service quality and availability both in idle mode and during an active service session (voice, data, etc.)) and
no downlink signal is scheduled on the frequency band combination by a base station for the UE (Fig. 1, Para. [0025-0026]-Liu discloses signal quality for idle and active modes may be calculated in the same way, but may have different actual values. In idle mode the base transceiver station 120 (see FIG. 1) transmits a constant power signal over the Common Pilot Channel (CPICH). The handset in idle mode can use this signal to measure the received signal strength and the signal to interference ratio ... the signal quality indication may be determined using the received signal strength and the signal to interference ratio for operation in idle mode. Para. [0012]-Liu discloses a typical basis for the visual indication has been received signal strength. The visual indication can give a user an indication of service quality and availability both in idle mode and during an active service session (voice, data, etc.)).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 2,
Liu further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine that a difference between RSSI measurement and the REFSENS measurement is smaller than a predefined threshold value (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Fig. 1, Para. [0022]-Liu discloses the receiver 113 determines the signal strength (RSCP or other measurement) and the signal to interference ratio of the received signal and provides that information to the controller 117. In other embodiments, those determinations are made by the receiver in conjunction with other functionality. For example, some of the signal processing functionality utilized to determine the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio may be performed in the controller 117 or other DSP functionality coupled to receiver 113. Both the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio are utilized by the controller 117 to determine an appropriate signal quality indication. Based on this signal quality, a signal quality indication is selected, and control information is sent to the display device in the user interface 108 to display the selected signal quality indication),
at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is performed based on the difference being smaller than the predefined threshold value (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Fig. 1, Para. [0022]-Liu discloses the receiver 113 determines the signal strength (RSCP or other measurement) and the signal to interference ratio of the received signal and provides that information to the controller 117. In other embodiments, those determinations are made by the receiver in conjunction with other functionality. For example, some of the signal processing functionality utilized to determine the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio may be performed in the controller 117 or other DSP functionality coupled to receiver 113. Both the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio are utilized by the controller 117 to determine an appropriate signal quality indication. Based on this signal quality, a signal quality indication is selected, and control information is sent to the display device in the user interface 108 to display the selected signal quality indication).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 17 respectively,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the measurement is reported to a base station, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: cause a first indication of the change to the configuration of the receiver to be sent to the base station; and process a second indication of performing the measurement, wherein the second indication is received from the base station based on the first indication, and wherein at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is performed based on the second indication.
However, Haustein teaches the measurement is reported to a base station (Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])), and
the processing circuitry is further configured to: cause a first indication of the change to the configuration of the receiver to be sent to the base station (Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])); and
process a second indication of performing the measurement (Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])),
the second indication is received from the base station based on the first indication (Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])), and
at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is performed based on the second indication (Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: cause periodic SIR measurements for the frequency band combination to be reported periodically.
However, Haustein teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: cause periodic SIR measurements for the frequency band combination to be reported periodically (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Fig. 23b, Para. [0425]-Haustein discloses the measurement reporting can be configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, depending also on the measurement resource type (periodic/semi-persistent or aperiodic). Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Haustein is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on SIR, with a motivation for periodic measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu further teaches the SIR measurement is reported aperiodically based on the trigger (Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Fig. 1, Para. [0022]-Liu discloses the receiver 113 determines the signal strength (RSCP or other measurement) and the signal to interference ratio of the received signal and provides that information to the controller 117. In other embodiments, those determinations are made by the receiver in conjunction with other functionality. For example, some of the signal processing functionality utilized to determine the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio may be performed in the controller 117 or other DSP functionality coupled to receiver 113. Both the signal strength and the signal to interference ratio are utilized by the controller 117 to determine an appropriate signal quality indication. Based on this signal quality, a signal quality indication is selected, and control information is sent to the display device in the user interface 108 to display the selected signal quality indication); while
Haustein also teaches the SIR measurement is reported aperiodically based on the trigger (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Fig. 23b, Para. [0425]-Haustein discloses the measurement reporting can be configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic, depending also on the measurement resource type (periodic/semi-persistent or aperiodic). Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that the frequency band combination is to be activated, wherein the measurement is performed based on the MAC CE.
However, Haustein teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that the frequency band combination is to be activated (Para. [0428]-Haustein discloses UE is informed of aperiodic transmission instance by means of DCI while the activation/deactivation of semi-persistent resource transmission done using MAC Control Element. Para. [0112]-Haustein discloses example of a radio resource which comprise, alternatively or in addition, same resource blocks and/or subcarriers and slots/symbol. That is, as a resource, embodiments may incorporate one or more of at least one frequency bandwidth part (BWP), at least one resource block, at least one subcarrier and/or at least one time-domain slots/symbols),
the measurement is performed based on the MAC CE (Para. [0428]-Haustein discloses UE is informed of aperiodic transmission instance by means of DCI while the activation/deactivation of semi-persistent resource transmission done using MAC Control Element. Para. [0112]-Haustein discloses example of a radio resource which comprise, alternatively or in addition, same resource blocks and/or subcarriers and slots/symbol. That is, as a resource, embodiments may incorporate one or more of at least one frequency bandwidth part (BWP), at least one resource block, at least one subcarrier and/or at least one time-domain slots/symbols).
Haustein is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on MACCE, with a motivation for MSD measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu further teaches the at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is generated based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed on a downlink carrier bandwidth corresponding to at least a frequency band of the frequency band combination (Para. [0027-0028]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio ... In active mode, a channel is dedicated to the handset. There is a target Ec/No, which is a ratio of signal power to noise spectral density times bandwidth, for both downlink and uplink. The value of the true Ec/No is compared to the target at a rate of about 1.5 KHz and the transmitted energy is adjusted).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu further teaches the at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is generated based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed on one or more configured bandwidth parts corresponding to at least a frequency band of the frequency band combination (Para. [0027-0028]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio ... In active mode, a channel is dedicated to the handset. There is a target Ec/No, which is a ratio of signal power to noise spectral density times bandwidth, for both downlink and uplink. The value of the true Ec/No is compared to the target at a rate of about 1.5 KHz and the transmitted energy is adjusted); while
Haustein also teaches the at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is generated based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed on one or more configured bandwidth parts corresponding to at least a frequency band of the frequency band combination (Para. [0407]-Haustein discloses when CLI-RSSI measurement resource is configured within active BWP [0408] the subcarrier spacing for CLI-RSSI measurement resource configuration can be same or different from the subcarrier spacing of active BWP. UE shall perform CLI-RSSI measurement with the SCS of the active BWP).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is generated based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed on symbols that are unassociated with a downlink reference signal configured for the UE.
However, Haustein teaches the at least one of the MSD measurement or the SIR measurement is generated based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement performed on symbols that are unassociated with a downlink reference signal configured for the UE (Para. [0402]-Haustein discloses CLI-RSSI measurement in which the UE measures the total received power observed over RSSI resources. RSSI measurements represent the linear average of the total received power (in [W]) observed only in certain OFDM symbols of measurement time resource(s), in the measurement bandwidth, over N number of resource blocks from all sources, including co-channel serving and non-serving cells, adjacent channel interference and thermal noise).
Haustein is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on RSSI performed on symbols, with a motivation for SIR measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the measurement is reported in a measurement report to a base station.
However, Haustein teaches the measurement is reported in a measurement report to a base station (Para. [0019]-Haustein discloses measurement collection triggers can be event-triggered (e.g. M1) or they can be the end of the measurement collection period (e.g. M3-M9) [TS 37.320]. Para. [0713-0719]-Haustein discloses UE is measuring, evaluating AND reporting ... an effective SIR, … a worst case SIR, ... a best case SIR, ... an average/weighted SIR, ... a SIR above a threshold, ... aSIR below a threshold. Figs. 1-2, Para. [0254]-Haustein discloses the device 10 and/or the device 20 may be configured for at least one of generating and sending a report instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to measure and report at least one parameter, and/or generating and sending a logging instruction signal to a further device of the wireless communication network so as to indicate a request to log at least one parameter. That is, device 10 and/or device 20 may be configured for not only receiving the report instruction signal 28 and/or the logging instruction signal 32 but also for transmitting a respective signal. For example, device 10 and/or device 20 may determine, based on internal and/or external evaluation, that additional information and/or measurement is necessary for generating the report and/or that other devices have to assist device 10, 20, respectively. (See also Para. [0139 0166 and 0760])).
Liu and Haustein are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with device configured for measuring and reporting in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Haustein on SIR, with a motivation to report the measurement, and guarantee a bidirectional wireless communication network, (Haustein, Para. [0070]).
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huitao Liu (US 20080188194 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu, in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (US 20230189382 A1), hereinafter referenced as Haustein, and further in view of Ye Liu (US 20240365250 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ye_Liu.
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: process radio resource control (RRC) signaling associated with configuring or reconfiguring the UE, wherein the MSD measurement is performed based on the RRC signaling.
However, Ye_Liu teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: process radio resource control (RRC) signaling associated with configuring or reconfiguring the UE (Para. [0117]-Ye_Liu discloses the first configuration information may be carried in radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) signaling, for example, may be carried in a [fddMsdReduction] {fdd Maximum Sensitivity Degradation Reduction} information element (information element, IE) of the RRC signaling),
the MSD measurement is performed based on the RRC signaling (Para. [0117]-Ye_Liu discloses the first configuration information may be carried in radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) signaling, for example, may be carried in a [fddMsdReduction] {fdd Maximum Sensitivity Degradation Reduction} information element (information element, IE) of the RRC signaling).
Ye_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with new radio (new radio, NR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Ye_Liu on RRC signaling, with a motivation for MSD measurement, and ensure reduction in the impact of sensitivity degradation on network coverage performance, (Ye_Liu, Para. [0005]).
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huitao Liu (US 20080188194 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu, in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (US 20230189382 A1), hereinafter referenced as Haustein, and further in view of Xuanbing LIU et al. (US 20260067012 A1), hereinafter referenced as Xuanbing_Liu.
Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12,
Liu further teaches the operations further comprise: performing an over the air (OTA) MSD measurement associated with the frequency band combination (Para. [0013]-Liu discloses service quality indication for air interface technologies using narrow band frequency division duplex (FDD) signals, since each channel is defined by a certain width of the radio frequency. Fig. 1, Para. [0018]-Liu discloses the mobile device 103 includes an antenna 111 coupled to receiver 113 for receiving radio frequency transmission signals from/to the BTS 120. Para. [0027]-Liu discloses if the received signal strength {receiver config} is above a threshold (here receiver sensitivity+3 dB), the received signal strength is assumed not to impact the quality of service significantly. Instead, the quality of service is determined {measured} according to the signal to interference ratio. Note that if the received signal strength is below the receiver sensitivity, 0 bars are displayed. However, if the received signal strength is below the threshold but still above the receiver sensitivity, the number of bars is reduced as the signal strength has impact on quality of service to 3 even for the highest signal to interference ratio. Para. [0013]-Liu discloses service quality indication for air interface technologies using narrow band frequency division duplex (FDD) signals, ... each channel is defined by a certain width of the radio frequency ... channels are also sometimes shared among users in the frequency domain).
Liu fails to explicitly teach determining that the MSD measurement is within a predefined measurement range from the OTA MSD measurement.
However, Xuanbing_Liu teaches determining that the MSD measurement is within a predefined measurement range from the OTA MSD measurement (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information).
Xuanbing_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication technologies, dealing with Maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Xuanbing_Liu on MSD, with a motivation for OTA measurement, and ensure how the terminal reports information related to the MSD, (Xuanbing_Liu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Haustein and Xuanbing_Liu teaches the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 14,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the MSD measurement is reported based on the MSD measurement being within the predefined measurement range from the OTA MSD measurement.
However, Xuanbing_Liu teaches the MSD measurement is reported based on the MSD measurement being within the predefined measurement range from the OTA MSD measurement (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information).
Xuanbing_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication technologies, dealing with Maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Xuanbing_Liu on OTA MSD measurement, with a motivation for MSD measurement, and ensure how the terminal reports information related to the MSD, (Xuanbing_Liu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the operations further comprise: performing an over the air (OTA) MSD measurement associated with the frequency band combination; and causing the OTA MSD measurement to be reported.
However, Xuanbing_Liu teaches the operations further comprise: performing an over the air (OTA) MSD measurement associated with the frequency band combination (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information); and
causing the OTA MSD measurement to be reported (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information).
Xuanbing_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication technologies, dealing with Maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Xuanbing_Liu on OTA MSD measurement, with a motivation for frequency-band-based MSD measurement reporting, and ensure how the terminal reports information related to the MSD, (Xuanbing_Liu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Haustein teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising:
Liu fails to explicitly teach causing an over the air (OTA) MSD measurement to be performed at the UE; determining the OTA MSD measurement; and determining an accuracy of the MSD measurement based on the OTA MSD measurement.
However, Xuanbing_Liu teaches causing an over the air (OTA) MSD measurement to be performed at the UE (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information);
determining the OTA MSD measurement (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information); and
determining an accuracy of the MSD measurement based on the OTA MSD measurement (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information).
Xuanbing_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication technologies, dealing with Maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Xuanbing_Liu on OTA MSD measurement, with a motivation to determine MSD measurement accuracy, and ensure how the terminal reports information related to the MSD, (Xuanbing_Liu, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Haustein and Xuanbing_Liu teaches the method of claim 18,
Liu fails to explicitly teach the accuracy is determined based on a comparison of the MSD measurement and the OTA measurement, and wherein the action is performed based on the accuracy.
However, Xuanbing_Liu teaches the accuracy is determined based on a comparison of the MSD measurement and the OTA measurement (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information), and
the action is performed based on the accuracy (Para. [0140]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses OTA test refers to testing MSD information including antenna performance (which may be referred to as OTA based MSD or radiated MSD by using an OTA (over the air) method. A corresponding lower MSD mechanism may be introduced to the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD, and the network may configure whether the terminal reports the OTA based MSD or the radiated MSD. Para. [0211]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses MSD capability is used for indicating that the terminal has the target MSD capability or the capability that has lower MSD than the MSD value defined by the protocol. The MSD defined by the protocol may be maximum sensitivity degradation or a reference sensitivity exception respectively specified for CA or DC in a related protocol. (See also Claim [1]). Para. [0007]-Xuanbing_Liu discloses receiving, by the network side device, MSD information reported by a terminal, where the MSD information includes at least one of the following: a first MSD capability, a target MSD value, power class information, band information, bandwidth information, frequency range information, MSD type information).
Xuanbing_Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication technologies, dealing with Maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu in view Haustein to incorporate the teachings of Xuanbing_Liu on OTA MSD measurement, with a motivation to determine MSD measurement accuracy, and ensure how the terminal reports information related to the MSD, (Xuanbing_Liu, Para. [0003]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Paul Marinier (US 20040242161 A1)-discloses having the WTRU measure and report the Received Signal Code Power (RSCP) … having the WTRU measure and report the ISCP measured in the candidate time slots … the WTRU reports the SIR of the existing connection…. …Fig. 1-2
Markus Neumann (US 20130107870 A1)-discloses reported receiver parameter may be for instance a Signal to Noise (S/N) ratio or a Signal to Interference Ratio (SIR). If these ratios are large, there might be allowed a comparatively large self interference within the described communication end device … reducing self interference within a communication end device can be used in a beneficial manner for any type of receiver, which (a) exhibits a high sensitivity and which (b) is sensitive for burst mode transmitter signals, whereby the receiving information may be coded in particular by the use of large coded data blocks …. …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472