DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 filed on 12/05/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 12/05/2024 and 07/25/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “A” in FIG. 7.
Specification
The specification filed on 12/05/2024 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “configured to at least one of (i) supply energy… or (ii) change a setting” should read “configured to perform at least one of (i) supplying energy… or (ii) changing a setting.”
In claim 10, “(i) supply energy… and (ii) change a setting” should read “(i) supplying energy… and (ii) changing a setting.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rechtiene et al. (US 2020/0044447 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rechtiene discloses a system for energy management, the system comprising:
a utility server providing a load shape ([0041]: “load shape can be provided from central computer system 105 to ECSS 102”; [0020]: “Communications of data between the ECSSs 102 and the computer system 105 may be through wireless connections, wires, power lines, or any combination thereof in network 104. Computer system 105 may, for example, be located at a facility that is operated by the electric utility”);
an aggregator in communication with the utility server ([0013]: “the energy control and storage systems at multiple customer sites may be available as an aggregated market asset to provide locational energy services, such as demand response, smart grid automation systems, and outage mitigation”; [0059]: “computer system 402 can also exchange data with energy control and storage systems (ECSSs) 102A-102D at customer sites 101A-101D, respectively”; [0062]: “energy stored in devices 404 can be sold to a broader electricity market connected to EDS 400 as an aggregated asset when electricity prices are higher,” where an ECSS corresponds to an aggregator);
a plurality of buildings ([0018]: “Utility customer sites 101A, 101B, 101C, and 101D also include on-site power generation systems 103A, 103B, 103C, and 103D (collectively referred to herein as on-site power generation systems 103), respectively. Utility customer sites 101 may be, for example, residential, businesses, or a combination thereof”);
a plurality of assets associated with the plurality of buildings, at least one of the assets being an energy storage device ([0027]: “ECSS 102 includes an energy storage device (e.g., a battery) that can store energy received from the EDS 201 and from the on-site generation system 103”; [0040]: “ECSS 102 can communicate with and control other power assets at customer site 101, such as smart thermostats and circuits inside the customer's premise”);
wherein the aggregator is configured to at least one of (i) supply energy from the energy storage device to satisfy the load shape ([0051]: “If the load shape indicates that ECSS 102 should provide excess power to EDS 201, then ECSS 102 can provide any excess power from OSPGS 103 and/or energy storage device 309 to EDS 201. If, for example, energy storage device 309 is full or near full, CU 310 can cause power controller 308 and energy monitor 306 to provide energy stored in energy storage device 309 to EDS 201 to help satisfy the power needs of EDS 201 as indicated by the load shape”) or (ii) change a setting of an asset to satisfy the load shape ([0040]: “The ECSS 102 can directly control these power assets based on a load shape received from the utility, for example, by adjusting the temperature setting of a smart thermostat at different times of the day to achieve power savings”).
Regarding claim 2, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator includes a plurality of aggregators (FIG. 1 and [0060]: “Computer system 402 can, for example, generate an adjusted load shape for each of the ECSSs 102A-102D that is based on the load shape for the local EDS received from computer system 105, the energy stored in one or more of storage devices 404, and/or the data received from one or more of ECSSs 102A-102D”).
Regarding claim 6, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the assets include a plurality of energy storage devices ([0059]: “ECSSs 102A-102D can provide data to computer system 402 that indicates, for example, the amount of excess power being generated by on-site power generation systems 103A-103D, the amount of power stored in ECSSs 102A-102D”).
Regarding claim 7, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 6
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator discharges the plurality of energy storage devices to satisfy the load shape requested by the utility server ([0064]: “Computer system 402 monitors the power stored and generated at sites 101A-101D using data received from ECSSs 102A-102D, respectively. Computer system 402 can cause PCS 403 to provide power that is stored in storage devices 404 to EDS 400, for example, in response to a load shape received from central computer system 105 indicating that EDS 400 needs more power generation”).
Regarding claim 8, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 7
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator charges the plurality of energy storage devices after satisfying the load shape requested by the utility server ([0048]: “the load shape can indicate an ideal time for energy storage device 309 to charge using power from EDS 201. If the load shape is greater than the expected or actual power demand from energy consuming devices 203 at certain hours of the day, ECSS 102 can cause storage device 309 to store charge from EDS 201 during these hours”).
Regarding claim 9, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator changes a setting of an asset to satisfy the load shape ([0040]: “ECSS 102 can directly control these power assets based on a load shape received from the utility, for example, by adjusting the temperature setting of a smart thermostat at different times of the day to achieve power savings”).
Regarding claim 10, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator performs both (i) supply energy from the energy storage device to satisfy the load shape ([0051]: “If the load shape indicates that ECSS 102 should provide excess power to EDS 201, then ECSS 102 can provide any excess power from OSPGS 103 and/or energy storage device 309 to EDS 201. If, for example, energy storage device 309 is full or near full, CU 310 can cause power controller 308 and energy monitor 306 to provide energy stored in energy storage device 309 to EDS 201 to help satisfy the power needs of EDS 201 as indicated by the load shape”) and (ii) change a setting of an asset to satisfy the load shape ([0040]: “The ECSS 102 can directly control these power assets based on a load shape received from the utility, for example, by adjusting the temperature setting of a smart thermostat at different times of the day to achieve power savings”).
Regarding claim 11, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the aggregator is configured to manage energy usage of one or more of the plurality of buildings and/or the plurality of assets to satisfy the load shape requested by the utility server ([0065]: “a computing unit in the energy control and storage system receives a load shape indicating power that varies in response to changing conditions that affect the electric distribution system. In operation 505, the computing unit controls power exchanged between the on-site power generation system, the energy storage device, the load, and the electric distribution system through the energy monitor based on the power indicated by the load shape”).
Regarding claim 12, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene further discloses wherein the utility server, the aggregator, the plurality of buildings and the plurality of assets are arranged in a multilevel architecture (Fig. 4 and [0013]: “energy storage at one or more customer sites may be provided through the electric distribution system to other customer sites”; [0059]: “computer system 402 can also exchange data with energy control and storage systems (ECSSs) 102A-102D at customer sites 101A-101D, respectively. ECSSs 102A-102D can provide data to computer system 402 that indicates, for example, the amount of excess power being generated by on-site power generation systems 103A-103D, the amount of power stored in ECSSs 102A-102D, the power demands of the energy consuming devices 203 at the customer sites 101A-101D, and/or the loads on the EDS at the customer sites 101A-101D”).
Regarding claim 16, Rechtiene discloses a method for energy management, the method comprising:
obtaining a load shape from a utility server ([0041]: “load shape can be provided from central computer system 105 to ECSS 102”; [0020]: “Communications of data between the ECSSs 102 and the computer system 105 may be through wireless connections, wires, power lines, or any combination thereof in network 104. Computer system 105 may, for example, be located at a facility that is operated by the electric utility”;
at an aggregator, initiating at least one of (i) supplying energy from an energy storage device to satisfy the load shape ([0051]: “If the load shape indicates that ECSS 102 should provide excess power to EDS 201, then ECSS 102 can provide any excess power from OSPGS 103 and/or energy storage device 309 to EDS 201. If, for example, energy storage device 309 is full or near full, CU 310 can cause power controller 308 and energy monitor 306 to provide energy stored in energy storage device 309 to EDS 201 to help satisfy the power needs of EDS 201 as indicated by the load shape”) or (ii) changing a setting of an asset to satisfy the load shape ([0040]: “The ECSS 102 can directly control these power assets based on a load shape received from the utility, for example, by adjusting the temperature setting of a smart thermostat at different times of the day to achieve power savings”).
Regarding claim 17, Rechtiene discloses a computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer program including instructions for causing a processor to implement a process for energy management ([0092]: “embodiments of the present invention can be implemented using hardware, software, a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing program instructions, or a combination thereof”), the process comprising:
obtaining a load shape from a utility server ([0041]: “load shape can be provided from central computer system 105 to ECSS 102”; [0020]: “Communications of data between the ECSSs 102 and the computer system 105 may be through wireless connections, wires, power lines, or any combination thereof in network 104. Computer system 105 may, for example, be located at a facility that is operated by the electric utility”);
at an aggregator, initiating at least one of (i) supplying energy from an energy storage device to satisfy the load shape ([0051]: “If the load shape indicates that ECSS 102 should provide excess power to EDS 201, then ECSS 102 can provide any excess power from OSPGS 103 and/or energy storage device 309 to EDS 201. If, for example, energy storage device 309 is full or near full, CU 310 can cause power controller 308 and energy monitor 306 to provide energy stored in energy storage device 309 to EDS 201 to help satisfy the power needs of EDS 201 as indicated by the load shape”) or (ii) changing a setting of an asset to satisfy the load shape ([0040]: “The ECSS 102 can directly control these power assets based on a load shape received from the utility, for example, by adjusting the temperature setting of a smart thermostat at different times of the day to achieve power savings”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rechtiene et al. (US 2020/0044447 A1), in view of Hakim et al. (US 2008/0281663 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene does not explicitly teach “wherein the load shape includes a width and a height.”
Hakim further teaches wherein the load shape includes a width and a height ([0043]: “Specifications for the dispatch event include the amount of power desired during the event and the duration of the dispatch event”; FIG. 3B and [0049]: “The first request is for 7.2 kW for 3 hours starting at time t, and the second request is for 10.8 kW, lasting for 1 hour, to begin at t+3 hours”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Rechtiene to incorporate the teachings of Hakim so as to include the load shape including a width and a height. Doing so would allow a load shape specified in terms of width/duration and height/magnitude, with the aim of optimizing energy dispatch for distributed resources (Hakim, [0004]: “work scheduling includes, e.g., scheduling of discharge and curtailment events. However, known solutions are poorly applicable for determining optimal schedules for distributed energy resources, such as distributed consumer electrical power generation devices and distributed power storage devices such as batteries in consumer power control appliances… Known solutions for scheduling discharge and curtailment events are particularly inapplicable to distributed energy resources where the quantity of such resources is relatively large and where the discharge capability varies for each unit”; [0013]: “the invention provides a computerized method for dispatching energy from distributed resources in a discharge event so that the energy stored in individual devices is levelized”).
Regarding claim 4, Rechtiene in view of Hakim teaches the system of claim 3
Rechtiene does not explicitly teach “wherein the energy storage device is discharged to satisfy the width and the height of the required load shape.”
Hakim further teaches wherein the energy storage device is discharged to satisfy the width and the height of the required load shape ([0058]: “Resources are selected to fulfill the power and duration requirements of the dispatch request. Referring to FIG. 5, in one embodiment, discharge intervals I(i) are scheduled for the number of participating storage devices (N)”).
Regarding claim 5, Rechtiene in view of Hakim teaches the system of claim 3.
Rechtiene does not explicitly teach “wherein the load shape is scheduled in real time or in advance to satisfy the width and height of the required load shape.”
Hakim further teaches wherein the load shape is scheduled in real time or in advance to satisfy the width and height of the required load shape ([0072-0073]: “Dispatch events may be requested in advance of the time of the desired dispatch… It is therefore desirable to re-evaluate the accomplishability of a utility-commanded dispatch event repeatedly between the time the dispatch request is initially made and the start of the dispatch event”).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rechtiene et al. (US 2020/0044447 A1), in view of Ruiz et al. (US 2011/0204720 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
While Rechtiene teaches the utility server, the aggregator, the plurality of buildings and the plurality of assets arranged in a network ([0019]: “Each of the energy control and storage systems (ECSSs) 102 are connected through a network 104 to a central computer system 105”), Rechtiene does not explicitly identify the network architecture as mesh.
Ruiz further teaches wherein the utility server, the aggregator, the plurality of buildings and the plurality of assets are arranged in a mesh architecture ([0103]: “system 10 may include a mesh network. Mesh network may include a building/parking area, a plurality of RF-enabled devices, a controller system, a network, and a workstation (e.g., a desktop computer, a personal digital assistant, a laptop, etc.)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Rechtiene to incorporate the teachings of Ruiz so as to include the utility server, the aggregator, the plurality of buildings and the plurality of assets being arranged in a mesh architecture. Doing so would allow assets to connect through nodes in a mesh network with the aim of providing redundant and agile communications (Ruiz, [0104]: “Using a plurality of low-power and multi-function or reduced function wireless devices distributed around a building/parking area and configured in a mesh network in conjunction with the electrical demand response system 10, a redundant, agile, and cost-effective communications/energy system for building management systems may be provided to improve energy management”).
Regarding claim 14, Rechtiene discloses the system of claim 1.
Rechtiene does not explicitly teach “wherein the energy storage device is configured to power a first unit of an air conditioning system.”
Ruiz further teaches wherein the energy storage device is configured to power a first unit of an air conditioning system ([0132]: “a battery pack 602 may be embedded into residential air conditioning system 600 for the purpose of running the air conditioning system 600 during peak demand times”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Rechtiene to incorporate the teachings of Ruiz so as to include the energy storage device being configured to power a first unit of an air conditioning system. Doing so would allow an air conditioning unit to operate during peak demand with the aim of reducing grid load without sacrificing user comfort (Ruiz, [0131]: “a power utility may provide a demand reduction program where consumers receive a rate incentive if the power utility can automatically turn off their air conditioner during peak electrical demand times. This takes the air conditioner off the electric grid, reducing the utilities electric load at the expense of the customer's comfort. If the air conditioner came with a battery pack prepackaged in the unit, which provides power to the air conditioner during demand reduction periods, the power utility could get the same effect without effecting consumer comfort and the consumer could get the same rate incentives”).
Regarding claim 15, Rechtiene in view of Ruiz teaches the system of claim 14.
Rechtiene does not explicitly teach “wherein the first unit is an outdoor unit of the air conditioning system.”
Ruiz further teaches wherein the first unit is an outdoor unit of the air conditioning system (FIG. 16 and [0132]: “The battery pack 602 may be sized to provide enough power to operate condenser unit 604 (e.g., compressor and fan 606) and furnace/evaporator unit 608 (e.g., fan 610)”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0006944 A1: Aggregates multiple distributed energy resources into a virtual power plant to provide a utility-requested power level response
US 2003/0171851 A1: Manages energy across a complex multi-building context to meet a requested magnitude and duration of load reduction
US 2014/0094979 A1: Uses a battery system together with managed loads, discharging the battery and reducing load as necessary to maintain target peak load
US 2015/0346741 A1: Controls thermostatic electric loads during utility demand response events using building load profiles to produce a balanced load trajectory
US 2011/0231320 A1: Controls charging and discharging of distributed batteries and loads such as heating and air conditioning
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117