DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination dated June 15, 2026. Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on June 8, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated June 15, 2026, Examiner; maintains the previous claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) with updates to correspond to the limitations being moved to dependent claims; and maintains the previous prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references; see Response at p. 8. Because no specific arguments are presented and Examiner has indicated below how the prior art of record discloses each and every limitation, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Examiner notes that the previous Final Rejection dated April 29, 2026 used Ucar rather than Oh to disclose sharing AI models between proximate vehicles which include sensor data capable of being used to make traffic light predictions. Additionally, Examiner used Oh rather than Ucar to disclose the traffic light prediction. The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 were over Ucar in view of Oh—meaning that Oh was used to modify Ucar to make up the deficiencies of Ucar. Examiner is unsure why Applicant is arguing against prior art not used for the corresponding limitations for each of Ucar and Oh in the remarks filed on June 15, 2026 at least at p. 8. Because the prior art used to disclose or teach each contended limitation is different than what is argued, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the previous rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that the term “proximate,” found in several claims, is definite in view of at least [0062] of the original disclosure of the instant application.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. a received off-vehicle aggregation artificial intelligence model… in claims 2, 9, and 16. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at [0053]-[0055] and [0059] of the instant specification: a non-specific neural network structure implemented via a processor (also in the body of the claim) and including an aggregation technique or equivalent of those described in [0055] of the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0250656 (hereinafter, “Ucar”; previously of record) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0276594 (hereinafter, “Oh”; previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ucar discloses A method, comprising:
performing by at least one processor on a first vehicle (see at least [0003]):
transmitting a first Vehicle Artificial Intelligence (VAI) model associated with the first vehicle to a second vehicle proximate to the first vehicle and a roadway intersection of a geographic region (see at least Fig. 3, [0003], [0005], and [0022]; the local machine learning model (i.e., a first VAI) and the aggregated locally trained machine learning model (i.e., received off-vehicle AAI) which may be aggregated locally or via a remote cloud/edge server and is distributed to at least one other connected vehicle in addition to the vehicle. Examiner notes that the Fig. 3 example includes each micro-cloud containing a roadway intersection of a geographic region and the macro-cloud containing multiple roadway intersections);
receiving a second VAI model associated with the second vehicle (see at least [0004]; at least one additional locally trained model from the at least one additional connected vehicle (i.e., second vehicle) may be received and included in the aggregation);
aggregating the first VAI model with a second VAI model with the second VAI model to create an aggregated model (see at least [0015], [0017], and [0026]; all local models of the group corresponding to the micro cloud are aggregated and disseminated, and being part of the group requires being in V2V communication with one another), wherein the aggregated VAI model comprises current sensor data that was sampled by the first or second vehicle and provided to at least one of the first or second VAI model to perform a prediction (see at least [0015], [0017], [0022], and [0026]; all local models of the group corresponding to the micro cloud are aggregated and disseminated, and being part of the group requires being in V2V communication with one another. Examiner notes that at least [0022] indicates that this process may be performed at a vehicle or at an edge server or centralized cloud); and
performing a traffic light prediction at the roadway intersection, by the aggregated VAI model, by at least one of changing speed, changing direction, changing acceleration, continuing with no changes, or updating an infotainment system, of the first vehicle (see at least [0015], [0022], [0042], [0056], [0062], [0066], and [0070]; information may include, for example, traffic control devices/traffic lights, and the vehicle may be controlled based on the locally trained machine learning model (i.e., the first VAI model) results).
Ucar does not explicitly teach that the aggregated locally trained machine learning model (i.e., the first VAI model) is used for traffic light prediction. However, Ucar does disclose that the locally trained machine learning model (i.e., the first VAI model) may be trained dependent on the particular task/application of interest; see at least Ucar at [0042]. Oh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the neural network may be a model for predicting traffic lights for a trajectory planning of a vehicle; see at least Oh at [0023].
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses a processor, memory, and non-transitory computer-readable medium at least at [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 2, Ucar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses updating the first VAI model based on a received off-vehicle AAI model, wherein a received off-vehicle Aggregation Artificial Intelligence (AAI) model is configured to aggregate the second VAI model (see at least [0003] and [0022]; the local machine learning model (i.e., a first VAI) and the aggregated locally trained machine learning model (i.e., received off-vehicle AAI) which may be aggregated locally or via a remote cloud/edge server).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Ucar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses at least one off-vehicle processor configured to aggregate at least one VAI model into an Aggregation Artificial Intelligence (AAI) model (see at least Fig. 2 and [0022]; the cloud/edge server (i.e., off-vehicle processor) may be configured to aggregate different local machine learning models (i.e., at least one VAI model) into the aggregated locally trained machine learning model).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Ucar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses performing by at least one off-vehicle processor:
receiving a plurality of on-vehicle VAI models from a plurality of vehicles (see at least Fig. 2 and [0022]; models from multiple vehicles may be acquired at, for example, the cloud/edge server);
aggregating the plurality of on-vehicle VAI models into an off-vehicle Aggregation Artificial Intelligence (AAI) model (see at least Fig. 2 and [0022]; the local VAI models may be aggregated at, for example, the cloud/edge server); and
transmitting the aggregated off-vehicle AAI model to at least one of the plurality of vehicles (see at least Fig. 2 and [0022]; the aggregated model may be transmitted to one or more of the vehicles).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Ucar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses performing by at least one off-vehicle processor:
receiving a plurality of on-vehicle VAI models, wherein each VAI model comprises at least one sensor measurement (see at least [0029]-[0030]; the quality of sensor data is taken into account when aggregating the models which necessarily requires local sensor measurements for each model); and
aggregating the plurality of on-vehicle VAI models based on at least one of a number of models in the plurality of on-vehicle VAI models, a number of parameters in each of the plurality of on-vehicle VAI models, or a number of sensor inputs for each of the plurality of on-vehicle VAI models (see at least [0029]-[0030]; the parameters and sensor inputs may be used when global aggregation is implemented).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Ucar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Ucar discloses updating the off-vehicle AAI model upon receiving at the first VAI model, wherein an off-vehicle Aggregation Artificial Intelligence (AAI) model is implemented on at least one off-vehicle processor communicatively coupled to at least one communications network (see at least Fig. 2, [0022], and [0036]; the cloud/edge server (i.e., off-vehicle processor) may be in connected to the vehicles via a communication network, and the cloud/edge server may be used for the model aggregation).
Claim 14 is rejected for essentially the same reasoning as claim 7.
Additional Relevant Art (previously of record)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0242129 which relates to a central cloud server aggregating sensor data from a plurality of vehicles and facilitating back and forth communication
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666