DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 and 03/18/2026 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an end of the boom adapter " in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 only recites “a trailing arm adapter”. For examination purposes, "an end of the boom adapter” has been construed as “an end of the trailing arm adapter”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Winckler et al. (US 12522078 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Winckler teaches (Fig. 1-8): A rail connector assembly for connecting a mobile machine (10) to an electrically-conducting rail system (Fig. 1), the rail connector assembly comprising: a boom assembly (40), including a main boom (arm 42) and a trailing arm adapter (lift joint 62; Fig. 3), wherein a first end (inboard end 44) of the main boom (42) is configured to be coupled to the mobile machine (10)(Fig. 1), wherein a second end (outboard end 46) of the main boom (42) opposite to the first end is coupled to the trailing arm adapter (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the trailing arm adapter (62) includes an angled portion that extends at a non-zero angle from a longitudinal axis of the main boom (42)(Fig. 2); a trailing arm assembly (linkage 50), wherein the trailing arm assembly is pivotably coupled to an end of the boom adapter (62)(Fig. 3), wherein the trailing arm assembly (50) includes a first arm (upper link 54) and a second arm (lower link 52)(Fig. 3), wherein the first arm (54) is coupled to the trailing arm adapter (62) and includes at least one straight portion and at least one angled portion (annotated Fig. 3 below) , and wherein the second arm (52)is rotatable relative to the first arm (54)(rotatable at fold joint 56; Fig. 3); and a contactor assembly (72), wherein the contactor assembly is coupled to an end of the trailing arm assembly (50)(Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the angled portion of the trailing arm adapter extends at a non-zero angle from the longitudinal axis of the main boom (annotated Fig. 3 below and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Winckler teaches (Fig. 1-8): An electrically-powered mobile machine (10), the electrically-powered mobile machine comprising: a machine frame (12)(Fig. 1); a motor (24) configured to operate a function of the mobile machine (Fig. 1); and a connector assembly (Fig. 1) coupled to a portion of the machine frame (12) via a boom adapter (pivot 44), wherein the connector assembly is configured to connect to an electrically-conductive rail (30) for supplying electrical energy to the motor (Fig. 1), wherein the rail connector assembly includes: a boom assembly (40), including a main boom (arm 42) and a trailing arm adapter (lift joint 62; Fig. 3), wherein a first end (inboard end 44) of the main boom (42) is configured to be coupled to the mobile machine (10) via the boom adapter (Fig. 1), wherein a second end (outboard end 46) of the main boom (42) opposite to the first end is coupled to the trailing arm adapter (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the trailing arm adapter (62) includes an angled portion that extends at a non-zero angle from a longitudinal axis of the main boom (42)(Fig. 2); a trailing arm assembly (linkage 50), wherein the trailing arm assembly is pivotably coupled to an end of the trailing arm adapter (62)(Fig. 3), wherein the trailing arm assembly (50) includes a first arm (upper link 54) and a second arm (lower link 52)(Fig. 3), wherein the first arm (54) is coupled to the trailing arm adapter (62) and includes at least one straight portion and at least one angled portion (annotated Fig. 3 below) , and wherein the second arm (52)is rotatable relative to the first arm (54)(rotatable at fold joint 56; Fig. 3); and a contactor assembly (72), wherein the contactor assembly is coupled to an end of the trailing arm assembly (50)(Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the angled portion of the trailing arm adapter extends at a non-zero angle from the longitudinal axis of the main boom (annotated Fig. 3 below and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the electrically-powered mobile machine (1) includes an operator cabin (Fig. 1), and wherein the main boom (42) is coupled to a side of the machine frame at a position below or behind the operator cabin (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): a storage device (battery 26) for storing electrical energy (Fig. 1), wherein the connector assembly (40) includes one or more cables (electrical cabling 36) electrically connecting the contactor assembly to the storage device (Fig. 1; col. 4, lines 18-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winckler et al. (US 12522078 B2), in view of Ohman et al. (US 20190210467 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Winckler does not explicitly teach that the first arm is formed of fabricated steel, and wherein the second arm is formed of aluminum.
However, Ohman teaches an alternate rail connector assembly for energy transfer, wherein (Fig. 1): a current collector arm (150) may be of a lightweight and strong material such as stainless steel or aluminum (para. 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first arm with steel and the second arm with aluminum, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.07. Forming the second current collector arm with aluminum would provide higher electrical conductivity and less weight, and forming the first arm with steel would provide improved mechanical durability and toughness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-13, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and if all rejections in view of 35 USC § 112 second paragraph are overcome.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3 and its depending claim(s) 4-6, the prior art fails to teach the first arm includes a first straight portion, a first angled portion, a second straight portion, and a second angled portion. While Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the trailing arm assembly (50) includes a first arm (upper link 54) and a second arm (lower link 52)(Fig. 3), wherein the first arm (54) is coupled to the trailing arm adapter (62) and includes at least one straight portion and at least one angled portion (annotated Fig. 3 below), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Winckler such that the first arm has a second straight portion and a second angled portion in addition to the first straight and angled portions. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 7 and its depending claim(s) 8, the prior art fails to teach the second arm includes a taper from a proximal portion to a distal portion. While Winckler further teaches (Fig. 1-8): the trailing arm assembly (50) includes a first arm (upper link 54) and a second arm (lower link 52)(Fig. 3), wherein the second arm (52)is rotatable relative to the first arm (54)(rotatable at fold joint 56; Fig. 3), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Winckler such that the second arm has a taper from a proximal portion to a distal portion. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
Claims 11 and its depending claims 12-13 recite “the first arm includes a first straight portion, a first angled portion, a second straight portion, and a second angled portion, wherein the first straight portion is pivotably coupled to the trailing arm adapter, and wherein the second arm is rotatably coupled to the second angled portion via a trailing arm actuator”, and is allowable for the same reasons as claims 3-6 above.
Claim 16 recites “the second arm includes a taper from a proximal portion to a distal portion”, and is allowable for the same reasons as claims 7-8 above.
Claim 18 and its depending claims 19-20 recite “a first arm and a second arm, wherein the first arm is coupled to the trailing arm adapter, wherein the first arm includes a first straight portion, a first angled portion, a second straight portion, and a second angled portion, and wherein the second arm is rotatable relative to the first arm”, and are allowable for the same reasons as claims 3-6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of a rail connector assembly with collector arms for dynamic energy transfer: US-20170166071-A1, US-20240157852-A1, US-20250109574-A1, US-20250376048-A1, US-12614896-B2, DE-102015005843-A1.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615