DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Laughton et al., US PGPub 2020/0317472.
Regarding claim 1, Laughton et al. discloses a guide device (A) for an elevator system (see abstract), comprising: a bracket (B); a plurality of rollers (C,D) mounted onto the bracket (B); wherein, at least one of the plurality of rollers (C,D) is mounted onto the bracket (B) through a damping device (see fig 1-2), the damping device (as described above) comprising: an oscillating rod (50), wherein a first end (80) of the oscillating rod (50) is rotatably mounted (via 90) onto the bracket (B), a second end (opposite 80) of the oscillating rod (50) is provided with a first notch (110), and the roller (D) is mounted onto the oscillating rod (50); a guide pin (114), wherein the guide pin (114) is mounted (via 95) onto the bracket (B)and passes through the first notch (110) of the oscillating rod (50); and one or more friction members (112), mounted onto the oscillating rod (50) and in frictional contact (due to elastomeric / rubber surface) with the guide pin (114) during oscillation of the oscillating rod (50.
Regarding claim 10, Laughton et al. discloses the guide device according to claim 1, wherein the bracket (B) comprises a base (8) and one or more columns (12,14) extending from the base (8), the first end (80) of the oscillating rod (50) is rotatably mounted (via 90) onto the base (8), and the guide pin (114) is connected (via 95) to the column (12) in a manner substantially parallel (see fig 2) to the base (8).
Regarding claim 13, Laughton et al. discloses the guide device according to claim 10, wherein the guide device (A) further comprises a limit pin (100) connected to the column (12) in parallel with the guide pin (114), where the limit pin (100) passes through a second through-hole (93) on the oscillating rod (50), and the limit pin (110) comprises a stopper (106) that limits a maximum extent of the oscillating rod (50) oscillating away from the guide rail (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Laughton et al. discloses the guide device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of rollers (C,D) comprise a first roller and a second roller (D’s) arranged side by side (see fig 1), and a third roller (C) with a rotation plane perpendicular (see fig 1) to those of the first roller and the second roller (D’s), where all of the first roller (D on right in fig 5), the second roller (D on left in fig 5), and the third roller (C) are mounted onto the bracket (B) through the damping device (as described above).
Regarding claim 15, Laughton et al. discloses an elevator system, comprising: an elevator car (see [0002]) and the guide device (as described above) according to claim 1, connected to the elevator car for guiding the elevator car to move along the elevator guide rail (see [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laughton et al..
Regarding claim 11, Laughton et al. discloses the guide device according to claim 10, wherein the guide pin (114) comprises a first end (end in contact with 12) and a second end (end with 118) opposite to each other (see fig 2), and a guide pin body (column body of 114) between the first end (as described above) and the second end (as described above), where the first end (as described above) of the guide pin (114) is fixed (via 95) to the column (12). Laughton et al. disclose a spring (68) but not in the specified location. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to provide the spring in the specified location since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to align with spring (68) with the guide pin (114) in order to increase the leverage acting on the spring and damping precision of the oscillating rod.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 7-9, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the reasons identified in the Office Action dated 4/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Laughton’s resilient member (112) is a stop member and does not read on the friction member claimed in lines 11-12 of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Laughton discloses a friction members (112), mounted onto the oscillating rod (50) and in frictional contact (due to elastomeric / rubber surface) with the guide pin (114) during oscillation of the oscillating rod (50). Specifically, 112 is mounted onto the rod (50) via recess 110. It is also in frictional contact with the guide pin 114. In [0045], 112 is described a gripping the guide pin (114). The grip is due to friction between the pin 112 and the friction member 112. Therefore friction member 112 reads on the disputed limitation and Applicants argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654