DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No 18/192,275, filed on 3/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,066. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements claimed in the current application are also found in the claims of the ‘066 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brigham (US 2020/0280140), hereinafter Brigham.
Regarding claim 1 Brigham discloses an antenna array (e.g., paragraph 0006) comprising: a plurality of antenna array elements (e.g., Fig. 4B, at the antenna elements shown in the X and Y axis; see also paragraph 0043); and a dielectric layer (e.g., paragraphs 0032 and 0052) formed at a specified spacing from the antenna array elements (Fig. 4B, at 17; see also paragraph 0043), wherein one or more conductive elements are disposed on a first side and a second side of the dielectric layer (the X and Y axis are aligned on different sides), respectively, and wherein the one or more conductive elements on the first side of the dielectric layer are orthogonally disposed to the one or more conductive elements on the second side of the dielectric layer (e.g., Fig. 4B shows this feature; see also paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 2 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein a distance between the antenna array elements and the dielectric layer is determined based on an operating wavelength of the antenna array elements(e.g., paragraph 0004 “over the desired operational frequency band”; also note inherent to antennas).
Regarding claim 3 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the one or more conductive elements are arranged parallel to one side of the antenna array elements (e.g., Fig. 4B at the elements shown; see also paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 5 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the operating wavelength of the antenna array elements is in a free space (e.g., paragraph 0004 “over the desired operational frequency band”; also note this characteristic is inherent to antennas).
Regarding claim 6 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the one or more conductive elements have a form of continuous straight conductive elements (e.g., Fig. 4B at the elements shown; see also paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 8 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the antenna array is a dual-polarized antenna array (e.g., paragraph 0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brigham.
Regarding claim 4 Brigham further discloses the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the one or more conductive elements have the form of multiple rectangular or oval elements (e.g., Fig. 4B at the elements shown; see also paragraph 0043), and wherein the one or more conductive elements are arranged in rows spaced apart at a specific distance (e.g., Fig. 4B at the elements shown; see also paragraph 0043),
Brigham does not explicitly disclose wherein while the distance between the one or more conductive elements in one row does not exceed a half of the operating wavelength of the antenna array elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to while the distance between the one or more conductive elements in one row does not exceed a half of the operating wavelength of the antenna array elements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brigham in view of Deleniv et al., (US 2020/0287266), hereinafter Deleniv.
Regarding claim 7 Brigham does not explicitly disclose the antenna array of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is implemented on a multilayer printed circuit board with different thickness and dielectric permittivity.
Deleniv discloses wherein the dielectric layer is implemented on a multilayer printed circuit board with different thickness and dielectric permittivity (e.g., paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to wherein the dielectric layer is implemented on a multilayer printed circuit board with different thickness and dielectric permittivity, and apply the teaching of Deleniv wherein the dielectric layer is implemented on a multilayer printed circuit board with different thickness and dielectric permittivity (e.g., Deleniv, paragraph 0024), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yun (US 2020/0021015) also teaches wherein the dielectric layer is implemented on a multilayer printed circuit board with different thickness and dielectric permittivity.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845