DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0312539) in view of Martini (US Patent No. 7,314,083).
In reference to claim 1, Glass discloses a method of performing a downhole wash procedure in an offshore well in a region of casing having perforations or other openings, the method comprising:
passing a washing tool 10 (par. 0049, Figs. 1 and 2) down the casing to the region with perforations or openings (par. 0049), the washing tool 10 having a plurality of nozzles 24/36 (Figs. 3 and 4) and being connected to a supply of wash fluid (par. 0049, from coiled tubing 12);
delivering wash fluid through the nozzles 24/36 whilst rotating the washing tool 10 and translating (par. 0063) the washing tool 10 in an axial direction with respect to the casing, such that wash fluid is forced through the perforations and pulses of pressure are created in an annulus between the casing and the rock formation of the wellbore (Figs. 1 and 2).
Glass fails to discloses that whilst delivering wash fluid, the translational movement of the washing tool is in a downward (distal) direction only.
Martini discloses translating the washing tool 100 in a downward direction only (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to translate the washing tool in a downward direction with a reasonable expectation of success so that deposits obstructing the bore can be cleaned out.
In reference to claim 2, Martini discloses that the wash fluid is delivered in a single downward (distal) pass of the washing tool 100 (Fig. 1).
In reference to claim 3, Glass discloses translating the washing tool 10 at “1.0 to 2.5 feet per minute” (par. 0061). In combination with Martini, this would result in downward movement of 1.0 to 2.5 feet/min.
In reference to claim 5, Glass discloses that, whilst delivering wash fluid, the perpendicular distance from an outlet of each nozzle 36 to an interior wall of the casing is from “0.5-2.5 inches” (par. 0024).
In reference to claim 10, Glass discloses that the washing tool 10 has six nozzles 24/26 (Fig. 3), each having an approximately circular orifice with a diameter of 6/32 inch (par. 0058, “.19 inches”).
In reference to claim 13, Martini discloses that the rotation speed of the wash tool is 60 r.p.m. (claims 12 and 16).
In reference to claim 14, Glass discloses that the rate of movement is “1.0 to 2.5 feet per minute” (par. 0061). In combination with Martini, this would result in downward movement of 1.0 to 2.5 feet/min.
In reference to claim 18, Glass discloses that the washing tool 10 has six nozzles 24/26 (Fig. 3), each having an approximately circular orifice with a diameter of 6/32 inch (par. 0058, “.19 inches”).
In reference to claim 19, Glass discloses that wash fluid is delivered through a plurality of nozzles selected from approximately 6 nozzles (Fig. 3).
Claim 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0312539) in view of Martini (US Patent No. 7,314,083) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zublin (US Patent No. 4,441,557).
In reference to claims 7 and 15, Glass fails to disclose the density of the wash fluid.
Zublin discloses using wash fluid that is 8.3 to 8.7 pounds per gallon (col. 10, lines 24-26). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a wash fluid with a density of 8.3 to 8.7 pounds per gallon with a reasonable expectation of success as this wash fluid is known in the art to be effective for cleaning boreholes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent entirely anticipate the claims of the present invention.
Conclusion
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
11/04/25