Flow Through Pressure Sensor
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 and 09/15/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21 and 29, the limitations “a first pressure transducer coupled to the first reservoir, the first pressure sensing face being disposed on the first side” and “a second pressure transducer coupled to the second reservoir, the second pressure sensing face being disposed on the second side” is unclear how the “pressure sensing faces” and “sides” relate to the pressure transducers and the reservoirs. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitations as “a first pressure transducer coupled to the first reservoir, the first pressure transducer havinga first pressure sensing face being disposed on a first side of the first reservoir” and “a second pressure transducer coupled to the second reservoir, the second pressure transducer havinga second pressure sensing face being disposed on a second side of the second reservoir”. Further, the limitation “the second pressure sensor being positioned between the first reservoir and the second reservoir” is unclear if the second pressure sensor refers to the prior second pressure transducer or the prior second pressure sensing face or both. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as “the second pressure transducer being positioned between the first reservoir and the second reservoir”. The dependent claims are likewise rejected and interpreted.
Claim 26 refers to “the pressure sensor assembly as defined by claim 26”. The examiner interprets the limitation as “the pressure sensor assembly as defined by claim 25”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuzawa (US 20030172744; “Matsuzawa”).
Regarding claim 21, Matsuzawa discloses, in figure 8, a pressure sensor assembly (10E), comprising: a first reservoir (21) located in a bypass (20) to a primary flow path (131) and having a first side (not enumerated, see fig. 8, examiner notes diaphragm 31 forms a first side of the primary chamber); a first pressure transducer (31, 71) coupled to the first reservoir (21), a first pressure sensing face (31) being disposed on the first side (see previous comment); a second reservoir (25) located in the bypass (20) to the primary flow path (131) and having a second side (not enumerated, see fig. 8, examiner notes diaphragm 32 forms a second side of the secondary chamber), wherein the first reservoir (21) and the second reservoir (25) are fluidly coupled (see fig. 8) via a fluid coupling (35); a second pressure transducer (32, 72) coupled to the second reservoir (25), a second pressure sensing face (32) being disposed on the second side (see previous comment), the second pressure transducer (32, 72) being positioned between (see fig. 8) the first reservoir (21) and the second reservoir (28); and a first restrictor (40) disposed in the fluid coupling (35) between the first (21) and second reservoir (25).
Regarding claim 22, Matsuzawa discloses, in figure 8, an inlet path (132) fluidly coupling (see fig. 8) the primary flow path (131) to the first reservoir (21); and an outlet path (133) fluid coupling (see fig. 8) the second reservoir (25) to the primary flow path (131).
Regarding claim 23, Matsuzawa discloses, in figure 8, a second restrictor (135) in the primary flow path (131), the inlet path (132) being coupled to the primary flow path (131) on a first side (see fig. 8) of the second restrictor (135) and the outlet path (133) being coupled to the primary flow path (131) on a second side (see fig. 8) of the second restrictor (135).
Regarding claim 24, Matsuzawa discloses, in figure 8, the inlet path (132), the first reservoir (21), the fluid coupling (35), the second reservoir (25), and the outlet path (133) (examiner notes that the limitation, “are configured to direct gas flowing through the pressure sensor assembly (10E) to sweep the first pressure sensing face (31) and the second pressure sensing face (32)” is a functional language type limitation. Applicant is reminded that functionality must be distinguished from the prior art structure's inherent functionality. In the instant case, Matsuzawa’s pressure sensor assembly (10E) can sweep the first pressure sensing face (31) and the second pressure sensing face (32), See MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 29, Matsuzawa discloses, in figure 8, a pressure sensor assembly (10E), comprising: a first reservoir (21) located in a primary flow path (131) and having a first side (not enumerated, see fig. 8, examiner notes diaphragm 31 forms a first side of the primary chamber); a first pressure transducer (31, 71) coupled to the first reservoir (21), a first pressure sensing face (31) being disposed on the first side (see previous comment); a second reservoir (25) located in the primary flow path (131) and having a second side (not enumerated, see fig. 8, examiner notes diaphragm 32 forms a second side of the secondary chamber), wherein the first reservoir (21) and the second reservoir (25) are fluidly coupled (see fig. 8) via the primary flow path (131); a second pressure transducer (32, 72) coupled to the second reservoir (25), a second pressure sensing face (32) being disposed on the second side (see previous comment), the second pressure transducer (32, 72) being positioned between (see fig. 8) the first reservoir (21) and the second reservoir (28); and a first restrictor (135) disposed in the fluid coupling (131) between the first (21) and second reservoir (25).
Claim 29-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lull (US 20190235533; "Lull").
Regarding claim 29, Lull discloses, in figures 1-3, a pressure sensor assembly (5), comprising: a first reservoir (105) located in a primary flow path (15) and having a first side (not enumerated, examiner notes Lull’s absolute pressure membrane is formed on a side of the transducer assembly cavity); a first pressure transducer (125) coupled to the first reservoir (105), a first pressure sensing face (115) being disposed on the first side (see previous comment); a second reservoir (see fig. 3, examiner notes Lull’s pressure port forms a fluid reservoir at the downstream side of the differential pressure transducer) in the primary flow path (15) and having a second side (not enumerated, examiner notes Lull’s downstream differential pressure membrane is formed on a side of the fluid reservoir at the downstream side of the differential pressure transducer), wherein the first reservoir (105) and the second reservoir (see previous comment) are fluidly coupled (see fig. 1) via the primary flow path (15); a second pressure transducer (130) coupled to the second reservoir (see previous comment), a second pressure sensing face (135) being disposed on the second side (see previous comment), the second pressure transducer (130) being positioned between the first reservoir (105) and the second reservoir (see previous comment); and a first restrictor (40) disposed in the fluid coupling (15) between the first (105) and second reservoir (see previous comment).
Regarding claim 30, Lull discloses, in figures 1-3, the second pressure transducer (130) is a differential pressure transducer (¶ 0039, “differential pressure transducer”) and further comprises a third pressure sensing face (120) disposed on a third side (not enumerated, see fig. 3, examiner notes Lull’s differential pressure membrane is formed on a side of the transducer assembly cavity) of the first reservoir (105).
Regarding claim 31, Lull discloses, in figures 1-3, the first pressure sensing face (115) and the third pressure sensing face (120) are on opposite sides (see Lull’s fig. 3) of the first reservoir (105).
Regarding claim 33, Lull discloses, in figures 1-3, the first pressure transducer (125) and the second pressure transducer (130) each comprise a semiconductor based transducer (¶ 0039, “transducer assembly cavity 105 may be media isolated and filled with a silicone oil”), an oil bath (see previous comment) and an isolation diaphragm (¶ 0039, “a flexible corrugated metal diaphragm”), in which the oil bath transfers pressure from the isolation diaphragm to the semiconductor based transducer (see fig 3, ¶ 0039, Lull is constructed with an isolation seal at pressure port 110, the examiner contends as fluid pushes on the isolation seal, pressure increases in the oil filled cavity transmitting, this pressure is transmitted through Lull’s corrugated diaphragms to the piezoresistive sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lull (US 20190235533; "Lull") in view of Yasuda (US 20190204857; “Yasuda”).
Regarding claim 21, Lull discloses, in figures 1-3, a pressure sensor assembly (5), comprising: a first reservoir (105) located in a bypass (15) and having a first side (not enumerated, examiner notes Lull’s absolute pressure membrane is formed on a side of the transducer assembly cavity); a first pressure transducer (125) coupled to the first reservoir (105), a first pressure sensing face (115) being disposed on the first side (see previous comment); a second reservoir (see fig. 3, examiner notes Lull’s pressure port forms a fluid reservoir at the downstream side of the differential pressure transducer) located in the bypass (15) and having a second side (not enumerated, examiner notes Lull’s downstream differential pressure membrane is formed on a side of the fluid reservoir at the downstream side of the differential pressure transducer), wherein the first reservoir (105) and the second reservoir (see previous comment) are fluidly coupled (see fig. 1) via a fluid coupling (15); a second pressure transducer (130) coupled to the second reservoir (see previous comment), a second pressure sensing face (135) being disposed on the second side (see previous comment), the second pressure transducer (130) being positioned between the first reservoir (105) and the second reservoir (see previous comment); and a first restrictor (40) disposed in the fluid coupling (15) between the first (105) and second reservoir (see previous comment).
Lull fails to explicitly disclose first and second reservoirs located in a bypass to a primary flow path.
Yasuda teaches, in figure 1, a first reservoir (see fig. 2, examiner notes Yasuda depicts a conduit section connecting branch flow paths to the upstream side pressure sensor, the examiner construes this section of conduit to be a reservoir) located in a bypass (BL) to a primary flow path (ML) and a second reservoir (see fig. 2, examiner notes Yasuda depicts a conduit section connecting branch flow paths to the downstream side pressure sensor, the examiner construes this section of conduit to be a reservoir) located in the bypass (BL) to the primary flow path (ML).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yasuda’s pressure control scheme using a plurality of parallel mass flow controllers as a deployment of Lull’s mass flow controller since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so increases utilization and market of the assembly.
Regarding claim 25, Lull and Yasuda disclose, in Lull’s figures 1-3, the second pressure transducer (Lull (130)) is a differential pressure transducer (Lull, ¶ 0039, “differential pressure transducer”) and further comprises a third pressure sensing face (Lull (120)) disposed on a third side (not enumerated, see fig. 3, examiner notes Lull’s differential pressure membrane is formed on a side of the transducer assembly cavity) of the first reservoir (Lull (105)).
Regarding claim 26, Lull and Yasuda disclose, in Lull’s figures 1-3, the first pressure sensing face (Lull (115)) and the third pressure sensing face (Lull (120)) are on opposite sides (see Lull’s fig. 3) of the first reservoir (Lull (105)).
Regarding claim 28, Lull and Yasuda disclose, in Lull’s figures 1-3, the first pressure transducer (Lull (125)) and the second pressure transducer (Lull (130)) each comprise a semiconductor based transducer (Lull, ¶ 0039, “transducer assembly cavity 105 may be media isolated and filled with a silicone oil”), an oil bath (see previous comment) and an isolation diaphragm (Lull, ¶ 0039, “a flexible corrugated metal diaphragm”), in which the oil bath transfers pressure from the isolation diaphragm to the semiconductor based transducer (see fig 3, ¶ 0039, Lull is constructed with an isolation seal at pressure port 110, the examiner contends as fluid pushes on the isolation seal, pressure increases in the oil filled cavity transmitting, this pressure is transmitted through Lull’s corrugated diaphragms to the piezoresistive sensors).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 and 32 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Levine (US 20120308409) discloses a fluid flow meter with sequential reservoirs having pressure sensors.
Stumpf (US 20220107212) discloses a differential flow through meter.
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855