DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-2, 13-16 are rejected.
Claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 13-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference (Fatemi et al. (US Pat. No.: 10,940,771 B1: hereinafter “Fatemi”)) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fatemi et al. (US Pat. No.: 10,940,771 B1: hereinafter “Fatemi”).
Consider claims 1, 14-15:
Fatemi teaches an electric vehicle (Fig. 1 elements 10, 13, “a vehicle”), a vehicle controller (Fig. 1 element 50, “…the controller 50 is configured to execute instructions embodying a method 100…”), a method of controlling a battery of a vehicle (See Fatemi, e.g., “…An electric propulsion system includes a polyphase rotary electric machine that imparts motor torque to a load, a traction power inverter module (“TPIM”) connected to the electric machine, a reconfigurable energy storage system (“RESS”) connected to the TPIM, and a controller. The RESS has multiple battery modules and a switching circuit. The battery modules are connectable in a series-connected (“P-connected”) configuration at a first/low battery voltage level, and a series-connected (“S-connected”) configuration at a second/high battery voltage level that exceeds the first voltage. The controller determines power losses of the electric propulsion system at the first and second battery voltage levels, receives a commanded output torque and output speed of the electric machine, and selects the S-connected or P-connected configuration based on the predetermined power loss and commanded output torque and speed…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80) including a plurality of wheels (Fig. 1 elements 10, 13, “a vehicle”), a driving motor configured to supply a driving force to the plurality of wheels (Fig. 1 elements 10-50, “a polyphase rotary electric machine that imparts motor torque to a load”), and a controller configured to control power supply to the driving motor or charging by the driving motor (See Fatemi, e.g., “…the controller to simultaneously increase drive cycle efficiency and performance relative to a baseline operation of the electric powertrain system conducted exclusively at the first/low voltage level…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80), the method comprising: determining, by the controller, a plurality of operation sections based on reference data including learning data obtained during driving of the vehicle (See Fatemi, e.g., “…B104 entails receiving a commanded output torque…indicative of an operator-requested or autonomously-requested output torque level from the electric machine 12…the controller 50 next determines whether the commanded torque from block B104 is less than the calibrated maximum torque of the electric machine 12 at the second/high voltage level…with Sc2 and Sc3 representing Scenarios 2 and 3…block B116 when such a condition is true…block B113 when the commanded output torque exceeds the maximum torque at the second/high voltage level. Execution of block B112 effectively enables the controller 50 to decide whether to operate in what is referred to below as Scenario 3, i.e., a maximum/unlimited performance mode, or in the more limited performance mode of Scenario 2, with Scenario 2 possibly occurring when experiencing limited thermal capability or a fault or other limitation of the cooling system 11C…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80); selecting, by the controller, one among a first battery or a second battery based on an operation section in which an operation point of the driving motor is located among the plurality of operation sections (See Fatemi, e.g., “…with Sc2 and Sc3 representing Scenarios 2 and 3…block B116 when such a condition is true…block B113 when the commanded output torque exceeds the maximum torque at the second/high voltage level. Execution of block B112 effectively enables the controller 50 to decide whether to operate in what is referred to below as Scenario 3, i.e., a maximum/unlimited performance mode, or in the more limited performance mode of Scenario 2, with Scenario 2 possibly occurring when experiencing limited thermal capability or a fault or other limitation of the cooling system 11C…Block B114 includes selecting the parallel-connected (“P-CONN”)…transitioning the RESS 11…a control action occurring via the controller 50 and operation of the switching control circuit 15. Operation of the electric propulsion system 10 thereafter proceeds at the first/low voltage level V…in order to minimize power losses under the stated conditions…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80); and controlling power supply or charging using the selected first or second battery (See Fatemi, e.g., “…transitioning the RESS 11…to the series-connected (“S-CONN”) configuration of FIG. 2B. As with block B114, such a control action occurs via operation of the controller 50 and the switching control circuit 15. Operation of the electric propulsion system 10 thereafter proceeds at the second/high voltage level V…at least 500V to 800V in the above-noted non-limiting example, to minimize power losses under the stated conditions, with the electric machine…powering the set of road wheels 16 as part of the method 100…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80), wherein the plurality of operation sections are multiple areas defined by a torque and a revolutions per minute (RPM) of the driving motor (See Fatemi, e.g., “…relative torque vs. speed performance the three scenarios when operating at the second/high voltage…enabled by the S-connected configuration…Scenario 3 (trace Sc3) provides a maximum drive performance mode. Scenario 3 may be a default mode in some embodiments, and commanded to provide a peak torque of close to 350 Nm in the non-limiting…This peak torque level is maintained up to a speed of about 10,000-12,000 RPM. Peak torque thereafter decreases toward the uppermost end of the speed range, e.g., to about 220 Nm at 16,000 RPM. Scenario 3 (trace Sc3) may be reached from block B112…and may correspond to an absence of faults or limitations in the RESS 11 or the cooling system 11C…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80).
Consider claims 2, 16:
Fatemi teaches everything claimed as implemented in the rejection of claims 1, 15 above. In addition, Fatemi teaches wherein the plurality of operation sections are set according to at least one of an equal power reference line, an equal accelerator pedal sensor (APS) reference line, and a revolutions per minute (RPM) reference line based on the reference data (See Fatemi, e.g., “…relative torque vs. speed performance the three scenarios when operating at the second/high voltage…enabled by the S-connected configuration…Scenario 3 (trace Sc3) provides a maximum drive performance mode. Scenario 3 may be a default mode in some embodiments, and commanded to provide a peak torque of close to 350 Nm in the non-limiting…This peak torque level is maintained up to a speed of about 10,000-12,000 RPM. Peak torque thereafter decreases toward the uppermost end of the speed range, e.g., to about 220 Nm at 16,000 RPM. Scenario 3 (trace Sc3) may be reached from block B112…and may correspond to an absence of faults or limitations in the RESS 11 or the cooling system 11C…” of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fatemi in view of MA et al. (WO 2017206479 A1: hereinafter “WHITFIELD”).
Consider claim 13:
Fatemi teaches everything claimed as implemented in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, Fatemi teaches “An electric propulsion system includes a polyphase rotary electric machine that imparts motor torque to a load, a traction power inverter module (“TPIM”) connected to the electric machine, a reconfigurable energy storage system (“RESS”) connected to the TPIM, and a controller. The RESS has multiple battery modules and a switching circuit. The battery modules are connectable in a series-connected (“P-connected”) configuration at a first/low battery voltage level, and a series-connected (“S-connected”) configuration at a second/high battery voltage level that exceeds the first voltage. The controller determines power losses of the electric propulsion system at the first and second battery voltage levels, receives a commanded output torque and output speed of the electric machine, and selects the S-connected or P-connected configuration based on the predetermined power loss and commanded output torque and speed…”, of Abstract, Col. 1:40-Col. 3:45, Col. 6:1-Col. 11:45, and Fig. 1 elements 10-50, Figs. 3-4 steps 100-B116, Figs. 4-7 elements 55-80. However, Fatemi does not explicitly teach further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery.
In an analogous field of endeavor, MA teaches further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery (See MA, e.g., “…a first battery system (101), wherein the first battery system (101)is fixedly mounted in a vehicle; a battery base (102), a second battery system being removably connected via the battery base (102); and a control device (103) for controlling the first battery system (101) and/or the second battery system so same supply power to the vehicle. Also provided are a vehicle having the above power supply system, and a method and device for controlling the power supply system of the vehicle. By means of the above power supply system, the vehicle not only supports the supplying of power to same by a fixed battery, but also supports the supplying of power to same by a removable portable battery. As such, the removable battery can be removed from the battery base and taken with a user for charging if it is inconvenient for the user to charge the fixed battery…”, of Abstract, Pages 12, 22-25, Figs. 1-3 elements 100-302).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…An electric propulsion system includes a polyphase rotary electric machine that imparts motor torque to a load, a traction power inverter module (“TPIM”) connected to the electric machine, a reconfigurable energy storage system (“RESS”) connected to the TPIM, and a controller. The RESS has multiple battery modules and a switching circuit. The battery modules are connectable in a series-connected (“P-connected”) configuration at a first/low battery voltage level, and a series-connected (“S-connected”) configuration at a second/high battery voltage level that exceeds the first voltage. The controller determines power losses of the electric propulsion system at the first and second battery voltage levels, receives a commanded output torque and output speed of the electric machine, and selects the S-connected or P-connected configuration based on the predetermined power loss and commanded output torque and speed…”, as disclosed in Fatemi with “further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery”, as taught in MA with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly “…controlling a power supply system of a vehicle, which can solve the problem of difficulty in charging a vehicle in the prior art…”, of Page 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further, the prior art on record fails to teach or suggest either in singularity or in combination the claimed subject matter, therefore, claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to as being allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tu et al. (US Pat. No.: 12,459,375 B2) teaches “The present invention discloses an optimized energy allocation method and system for an electric vehicle and an electric vehicle. The method includes step (1) detecting remaining charge levels of a first super-capacitor and a second super-capacitor, determining whether the remaining charge levels of the first super-capacitor and the second super-capacitor are greater than a preset threshold value, and if so, proceeding to step (2); step (2) acquiring a topographic map of a road ahead by means of an electric horizon system, predicting whether there is a continuous slope ahead, and if so, proceeding to step (3); and step (3) according to a continuous slope value ahead, predicting a braking force allocation proportion when carrying out braking ahead, allocating current power outputs of the first super-capacitor and the second super-capacitor in advance according to the braking force allocation proportion, and returning to step (1).”
Heath et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0332926 A1) teaches “Intelligent eco mode optimization in a battery electric vehicle (BEV) includes collecting data from one or more systems of a vehicle in which the vehicle includes a battery. A predicted route is generated based on the collected data. The collected data includes a navigation map for a portion of a vehicle transportation network. A state of the vehicle is determined based on the collected data and the predicted route. A drive mode is determined, using a decision-making model, for the vehicle based on the state of the vehicle and the predicted route. The drive mode is either a first drive mode having a first acceleration curve or a second drive mode have a second acceleration curve and the second drive mode reduces a rate of discharge of the battery as compared to the first drive mode. The vehicle is set to use the drive mode.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667