DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-2, 13-16 are rejected.
Claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-12, 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims are replete with abbreviations such as “APS”, “RPM”. The applicants are requested to spell out or define them to avoid any confusions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olin et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0074416 A1: hereinafter “Olin”).
Consider claims 1, 14-15:
Olin teaches an electric vehicle (Fig. 1 element 10, “electric vehicles (EVs)”), a vehicle controller (Fig. 2 elements 100-128, “The system includes a processor and a memory”), a method of controlling a battery of a vehicle (See Olin, e.g., “…determining a vehicle energy consumption profile for a vehicle based on at least historical data indicating energy consumption of the vehicle for at least a portion of a route…determining a current state of charge of a vehicle battery of the vehicle…determining, for the most probable path, a route energy consumption profile based on the at least one route characteristic of the portion of the most probable path and the vehicle energy consumption profile…calculating an estimated remaining charge for the vehicle battery at an end of the most probable path based on the state of charge of the vehicle battery and the route energy consumption profile…determining whether the estimated remaining charge for the vehicle battery is within a vehicle battery charge range; in response to a determination that the estimated remaining charge is less than a lower limit of the vehicle battery charge range…determining a target vehicle speed profile based on the at least one route characteristic, the vehicle energy consumption profile, and the state of charge of the vehicle battery…generating an indication; and providing the indication…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010) including a plurality of wheels (Fig. 1 element 10, “electric vehicles (EVs)”), a driving motor configured to supply a driving force to the plurality of wheels (Figs. 1-2 elements 10-128), and a controller configured to control power supply to the driving motor or charging by the driving motor (See Olin, e.g., “…When the vehicle 10 includes one or more electric motors, a vehicle battery and/or fuel cell provides energy to the electric motors to turn the wheels 22…the vehicle 10 may employ regenerative braking which uses the one or more electric motors of the vehicle 10 as a generator to convert kinetic energy lost due to decelerating back into stored energy in the battery…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010), the method comprising: determining, by the controller, a plurality of operation sections (e.g., the profile containing route segmentation, speed, average speed, target torque split, acceleration deceleration, and braking etc., of Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010) based on reference data including learning data obtained during driving of the vehicle (See Olin, e.g., “…At 308, the method 300 determines profiles for a target vehicle speed and/or a target toque split…determines profiles for a target vehicle speed and/or a target torque split based on the vehicle parameters, the route characteristics, the energy consumption profile of the vehicle 10, other information received…The profiles of the target vehicle speed and/or target vehicle torque split correspond to a vehicle speed and/or a torque split that, when achieved by the vehicle 10, provide an optimum, or improved energy consumption efficiency of the vehicle 10…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010); selecting, by the controller (e.g., “…determine, for the selected route, a route energy consumption profile (e.g., which may represent the predicted energy usage for the route) based on the at least one route characteristic of the portion of the selected route and the vehicle energy consumption profile…”, of Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010), one among a first battery or a second battery based on an operation section in which an operation point of the driving motor is among the plurality of operation sections (See Olin, e.g., “…determines profiles for a target vehicle speed and/or a target torque split based on the vehicle parameters, the route characteristics, the energy consumption profile of the vehicle 10, other information received…The profiles of the target vehicle speed and/or target vehicle torque split correspond to a vehicle speed and/or a torque split that, when achieved by the vehicle 10, provide an optimum, or improved energy consumption efficiency of the vehicle 10…determines a vehicle energy consumption profile. For example, the PAC 124 determines the energy consumption profile for the vehicle 10 using the vehicle parameters and/or other route characteristics…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010); and controlling power supply or charging using the selected first or second battery (See Olin, e.g., “…the method 500 determines a vehicle energy consumption profile…determines the energy consumption profile for the vehicle 10 using the vehicle parameters and/or other route characteristics, such as historical route characteristics associated with routes previously traversed by the vehicle, route characteristics associated with routes previously traversed by similar vehicles (e.g., from the remote computing device 132 and/or the V2X communication module 130, other suitable route characteristics…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010).
Consider claims 2, 16:
Olin teaches everything claimed as implemented in the rejection of claims 1, 15 above. In addition, Olin teaches wherein the plurality of operation sections are set according to at least one of an equal power reference line, an equal APS reference line, and an RPM reference line based on the reference data (e.g., the profile containing route segmentation, speed, average speed, target torque split, acceleration deceleration, and braking etc., of Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olin in view of MA et al. (WO 2017206479 A1: hereinafter “WHITFIELD”).
Consider claim 13:
Olin teaches everything claimed as implemented in the rejection of claim 1 above. In addition, Olin teaches “…determines profiles for a target vehicle speed and/or a target torque split based on the vehicle parameters, the route characteristics, the energy consumption profile of the vehicle 10, other information received…The profiles of the target vehicle speed and/or target vehicle torque split correspond to a vehicle speed and/or a torque split that, when achieved by the vehicle 10, provide an optimum, or improved energy consumption efficiency of the vehicle 10…determines a vehicle energy consumption profile. For example, the PAC 124 determines the energy consumption profile for the vehicle 10 using the vehicle parameters and/or other route characteristics…” of Abstract, ¶ [0006]-¶ [0008], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0044], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0123], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0172], and Fig. 2 elements 10-128, Figs. 3-4 elements 200-250, Figs. 5-12 steps 300-1010. However, Olin does not explicitly teach further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery.
In an analogous field of endeavor, MA teaches further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery (See MA, e.g., “…a first battery system (101), wherein the first battery system (101)is fixedly mounted in a vehicle; a battery base (102), a second battery system being removably connected via the battery base (102); and a control device (103) for controlling the first battery system (101) and/or the second battery system so same supply power to the vehicle. Also provided are a vehicle having the above power supply system, and a method and device for controlling the power supply system of the vehicle. By means of the above power supply system, the vehicle not only supports the supplying of power to same by a fixed battery, but also supports the supplying of power to same by a removable portable battery. As such, the removable battery can be removed from the battery base and taken with a user for charging if it is inconvenient for the user to charge the fixed battery…”, of Abstract, Pages 12, 22-25, Figs. 1-3 elements 100-302).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…determining a vehicle energy consumption profile for a vehicle based on at least historical data indicating energy consumption of the vehicle for at least a portion of a route…determining a current state of charge of a vehicle battery of the vehicle…determining, for the most probable path, a route energy consumption profile based on the at least one route characteristic of the portion of the most probable path and the vehicle energy consumption profile…calculating an estimated remaining charge for the vehicle battery at an end of the most probable path based on the state of charge of the vehicle battery and the route energy consumption profile…determining whether the estimated remaining charge for the vehicle battery is within a vehicle battery charge range; in response to a determination that the estimated remaining charge is less than a lower limit of the vehicle battery charge range…determining a target vehicle speed profile based on the at least one route characteristic, the vehicle energy consumption profile, and the state of charge of the vehicle battery…generating an indication; and providing the indication…”, as disclosed in Olin with “further comprising determining that the second battery is detachably connected and added to a power system including the first battery”, as taught in MA with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly “…controlling a power supply system of a vehicle, which can solve the problem of difficulty in charging a vehicle in the prior art…”, of Page 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further, the prior art on record fails to teach or suggest either in singularity or in combination the claimed subject matter, therefore, claims 3-12, 17-20 are objected to as being allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tu et al. (US Pat. No.: 12,459,375 B2) teaches “The present invention discloses an optimized energy allocation method and system for an electric vehicle and an electric vehicle. The method includes step (1) detecting remaining charge levels of a first super-capacitor and a second super-capacitor, determining whether the remaining charge levels of the first super-capacitor and the second super-capacitor are greater than a preset threshold value, and if so, proceeding to step (2); step (2) acquiring a topographic map of a road ahead by means of an electric horizon system, predicting whether there is a continuous slope ahead, and if so, proceeding to step (3); and step (3) according to a continuous slope value ahead, predicting a braking force allocation proportion when carrying out braking ahead, allocating current power outputs of the first super-capacitor and the second super-capacitor in advance according to the braking force allocation proportion, and returning to step (1).”
Heath et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0332926 A1) teaches “Intelligent eco mode optimization in a battery electric vehicle (BEV) includes collecting data from one or more systems of a vehicle in which the vehicle includes a battery. A predicted route is generated based on the collected data. The collected data includes a navigation map for a portion of a vehicle transportation network. A state of the vehicle is determined based on the collected data and the predicted route. A drive mode is determined, using a decision-making model, for the vehicle based on the state of the vehicle and the predicted route. The drive mode is either a first drive mode having a first acceleration curve or a second drive mode have a second acceleration curve and the second drive mode reduces a rate of discharge of the battery as compared to the first drive mode. The vehicle is set to use the drive mode.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667