DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/970,173. Claims 1-8 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024, 5/29/2025 and 4/17/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “a vehicle lower side” should be changed to - -the vehicle lower side- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, line 12, “a vehicle lower side”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NISHIKAWA et al. (US 5,501,289).
Regarding Claim 1, NISHIKAWA et al. discloses a battery mounting structure in a frame vehicle (Figs. 1-5), the battery mounting structure comprising: a vehicle body frame (Fig. 3) including a pair of right and left side rails (5) extending in a vehicle front and rear direction (Fig. 3), a first cross member (6) coupling vehicle front-side parts of the side rails to each other in a vehicle width direction (Fig. 3), and a second cross member (7) coupling vehicle rear-side parts of the side rails to each other in the vehicle width direction (Fig. 3); a sub-frame (Fig. 5) including a first frame (19) extending in the vehicle front and rear direction at a central part of the vehicle body frame in the vehicle width direction (Fig. 5) and a second frame (middle element (20) shown in Fig. 5) extending in the vehicle width direction at a central part of the first frame in the vehicle front and rear direction (Fig. 5), the sub-frame being provided between the first cross member and the second cross member (Figs. 2, 3 and 5); and a battery pack (Fig. 4) supported on the sub-frame from a vehicle lower side (Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIKAWA et al. (US 5,501,289).
Regarding Claim 7, NISHIKAWA et al. discloses the battery mounting structure according to Claim 1, described in detail above, but does not disclose the first frame is higher in stiffness than the second frame. Note, a difference in “stiffness” between two elements may be caused by either a different material selection between the elements or a result effective variable (e.g., element thickness varying between the two elements when a common material is used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery mounting structure of NISHIKAWA et al. with the first frame higher in stiffness than the second frame, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery mounting structure of NISHIKAWA et al. with the first frame higher in stiffness than the second frame, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ISHIZAKI et al. (US 2024/0322339 A1) discloses a battery pack assembly (see Fig. 3).
KANG et al. (US 2023/0144195 A1) discloses a vehicle center frame module (see Fig. 3).
INAMI et al. (US 2023/0094304 A1) discloses an electric vehicle body structure with raised center frame (see Fig. 2).
KLOMBERG et al. (US 2021/0129651 A1) discloses a battery system for a vehicle (see Fig. 7).
TANAKA (US 2020/0215895 A1) discloses a vehicle lower structure assembly (see Fig. 2).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655