DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 1 recites “a frame” which is not disclosed in the specification. Claims 7 and 12 refer to a “cup holder assembly including a removable lid”, that is not disclosed in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cup holder assembly including a removable lid” (claims 7 and 12), “base assembly having a mounting mechanism” and “frame” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: base assembly [114], the reference number 114 dis not in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being taught by Smith (US 2023/0086257).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a convertible car seat (juvenile seat, fig. 1) comprising: an outer shell (seat bottom [12], para 19; fig. 1) having a seat portion (child receiving space, para. 19), a back portion (seat back [14], fig. 1; para 20), and a receiving port (central portion [46], para. 24; fig. 4); a base assembly having a mounting mechanism (mount aperture [46] fig. 4; para. 22); a frame (sidewall [72, 56] fig. 4, 6, and 7); and a cup holder assembly including an engagement member (para. 24), the engagement member configured to selectively couple to the outer shell via the receiving port (fig. 4; para. 24).
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 1 and further teaches an insertion peg (insert mount [50], fig. 4, 9, and 10; para 30) connected to a flex portion (cup holder support [18] fig. 9; para 24), a tab portion (retainer tabs [42,44], fig. 5; para. 24) and a releasing portion (lateral portions [49,51], fig. 5; para. 24).
Regarding claim 8, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 1, and further teaches a second cup holder assembly (cup holders [20]: fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 1, and further teaches the convertible car seat is configured to be installed in a vehicle (para. 21).
Regarding claim 10, Smith teaches a cup holder assembly configured to be removably coupled to a car seat (para. 20), the cup holder assembly comprising: a receptacle formed by a bottom surface (cup holder support [18], insert floor [58]; fig. 4) and sidewalls (sidewalls [56,72], figs. 4, 6, and 7); and an engagement member (mount ring [40], retainer tabs [42,44] figs. 4, 5, 9 and 10; para. 23), wherein the engagement member includes: an insertion peg (insert mount [50], fig. 4, 9, and 10; para 30), a flex portion attached to the insertion peg at a distal end of the engagement member (cup holder support [18] fig. 9; para 24), a tab portion (retainer tabs [42,44], fig. 5; para. 24), and a releasing portion (lateral portions [49,51], fig.5; para. 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Asano (US 7,461,436).
Regarding claim 3, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 2, but fails to disclose the tab portion being ramp-shaped. Asano teaches an engagement member with a ramp-shaped tab portion (fig. 2A-3B, 5 [4A, 4B]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the alternative conventional method of attaching the cupholders to the outer shell using the engagement member taught by Asano to enable the cupholder to be repeatedly mounted and disengaged through one touch operation (Asano, col. 1, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 4, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 2, but fails to disclose receiving port includes a ramp press, the ramp press configured to engage the tab portion thereby causing the flex portion to flex towards the insertion peg. Asano discloses a mounting structure for use in a vehicle and further teaches a receiving port (engaging hole [9] fig. 6: col. 4, lines 56-61; col. 6, lines 58-62) including a ramp press, the ram press configured to engage the tab portion thereby causing the flex portion to flex towards the insertion peg (col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 2; figs. 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cupholder of Smith the vehicle mounting structure taught by Asano to enable the cupholder to be repeatedly mounted and disengaged through one touch operation (Asano, col. 1, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 5, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 3, and further teaches the receiving port (cup holder support [18], fig. 4) including a channel (mount aperture [88], figs. 9 and 10) configured to receive and house the tab portion (insert mount [50], figs. 9 and 10) when the cup holder assembly is coupled to the convertible car seat (para. 30).
Regarding claim 6, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 5, and further teaches the cup holder assembly is removably coupled to the convertible car seat (juvenile seat, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 2, but fails to disclose the tab portion is ramp-shaped. Asano discloses a mounting structure for use in a vehicle and further teaches a ramp-shaped tab portion (fig. 2A-3B, 5 [4A, 4B]) .It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cupholder of Smith the vehicle mounting structure taught by Asano to enable the cupholder to be repeatedly mounted and disengaged through one touch operation (Asano, col. 1, lines 48-50).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Herman et al. (US 6,412,861).
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 1, but fails to disclose the cup holder assembly including a removable lid. Herman teaches a cup holder including a removable lid (removable lid is shaped so as to fit on and seal to the upper lip of a cup; Herman col. 3, lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cup holder of Smith with the removable lid taught by Herman to prevent beverage spillage.
Regarding claim 12, Smith teaches the invention as discussed in reference to claim 10, but fails to disclose the cup holder assembly includes a removable lid. Herman teaches a cup holder including a removable lid (removable lid is shaped so as to fit on and seal to the upper lip of a cup; Herman col. 3, lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cup holder of Smith with the removable lid taught by Herman to prevent beverage spillage.
Conclusion
csm
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636