DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No additional information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted for consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in REPUBLIC of INDIA on 10/24/2024.
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 6,-7, 9-10, 12, 14, 17, and 20 are amended.
No claims are withdrawn from consideration.
No claims are cancelled.
No claims are added.
Claims 1, 9, and 17, are independent claims.
Claims 1-20 will be examined.
This Final Office action is in response to the “Amended Claims” and “Applicant Arguments/Remarks” dated 07/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments and amended claims, filed 07/16/2026 with respect to claims 1-20, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s) TEAGUE, US 20180017973, and previously disclosed prior art reference(s) ALLEN, KETCHELL, VIEHAUSER, YE, LOVELAND, and SPADER. The grounds for rejection in view of amended claims are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 16-17, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLEN et al., US 20170199269, herein further known as Allen, in view of TEAGUE, US 20180017973, herein further known as Teague, further view of KETCHELL, III, US 20190145794, herein further known as Ketchell.
Regarding claim 1, Allen discloses a drone to navigate within a building (¶¶ [0085], [0091], [0097], [0135], [0142], UAV deployed inside building), comprising: identifying the drone's point of origin (¶¶ [0044], [0047], [0049-0050], navigate from the point of origin); identifying the drone's point of destination (¶¶ [0044], [0047], [0049-0050], navigate to the point of destination); identifying locations of structures (¶ [0086], 3-dimensional definitions of the operating environment (e.g., a CAD model of a building)) and the drone localization devices within the building (¶¶ [0005], known locations of transmitters that are transmitting at least two signals of a plurality of signals, [0051-0052], [0084], FM broadcast transmitters, [0085], other signals of opportunity…); determining a route for the drone from the point of origin to the point of destination (¶¶ [0083], navigation from the point of origin to the destination, enabling the UAV 140 to travel along the intended path); identifying drone localization devices (¶¶ [0005], [0051], [0084], [0085]); a) issuing flight commands to the drone to navigate from the point of origin along the route to the point of destination (¶ [0136], instructions for navigating the UAV from a point of origin to a destination, see also claim 12); b) monitoring location of the drone using the drone localization devices as the drone travels along the route (¶¶ [0009], determining a location of a UAV, see also FIG. 2, [0017], analyzing a relationship between a receiver and locations, see also FIG. 6C, [0050], [0052], [0057], [0083], approximate the location during navigation); and repeating steps a) - c) (¶ [0051], autonomous operation of UAV requires repeating the steps, [0083], UAV 140 is travelling along an intended path… one or more navigation operations (e.g., turns, stops, etc.) to be performed to maintain the UAV 140's path of travel).
However, Allen does not explicitly state localization devices associated with the route; the drone localization devices are external to the drone, and wherein a current location of the drone is determined offboard the drone by the drone localization devices; c) issuing, from offboard the drone, flight commands based on current location that was determined offboard the drone by the drone localization devices; the drone reaches the destination.
Teague teaches localization devices associated with the route (¶¶ [0034-0037], series of quality WWAN regions 150, see also FIG 1, [0059], processor 392, in conjunction with the network interface 396, may form radio frequency (RF) communication beams using the antennas 399, see also FIG. 3 and FIG. 4); the drone localization devices are external to the drone (¶¶ [0034-0035], [0056-0062], ground station 390), and wherein a current location of the drone is determined offboard the drone by the drone localization devices (¶¶ [0062], [0065], [0067], regional surveys 443 by may reflect available information about an area in which the drone is located, [0078], ground station 390 or the server 410, (i.e. offboard), see also FIG. 4); c) issuing, from offboard the drone (¶ [0078], ground station 390 or the server 410, (i.e. offboard), see also FIG. 4), flight commands (¶¶ [0051], [0062-0063], navigational commands 441, move the drone efficiently and effectively) based on current location (¶¶ [0062], [0065], [0067]) that was determined offboard the drone (¶ [0078]) by the drone localization devices (¶¶ [0034-0037], series of quality WWAN regions 150, see also FIG 1, [0059], processor 392, in conjunction with the network interface 396).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate into Allen the localization devices associated with the route; the drone localization devices are external to the drone, and wherein a current location of the drone is determined offboard the drone by the drone localization devices; c) issuing, from offboard the drone, flight commands based on current location that was determined offboard the drone by the drone localization devices as taught by Teague.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Teague for the reasons stated in Teague paragraph [0002], more robust methods and systems for availability and reliability of network connectivity important for safe drone operation.
Furthermore, Ketchell teaches the drone reaches the destination (¶¶ [0023-0024], fully autonomous vehicles/devices/drones while travelling a course [0044], provide a more optimal method for reaching the destination).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the drone reaches the destination as taught by Ketchell.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Ketchell for the reasons stated in Ketchell paragraph [0025], more robust methods and systems that can be used to improve the performance of how people and products get to their destination, regardless of the mode of transportation.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Allen discloses further drone localization devices include at least one wireless communication device (¶¶ [0010-0011], [0019], [0048-0064], [0071-0077]), and the step of monitoring location of the drone (¶¶ [0009], determining a location of a UAV, see also FIG. 2, [0017], analyzing a relationship between a receiver and locations, see also FIG. 6C, [0050], [0052], [0057], [0083], approximate the location during navigation) further includes wireless triangulation using the at least one wireless communication device (¶ [0076], determined using the law of sines and triangulation).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Allen discloses further route is determined based on one or more of: travel distance along the route from the drone's point of origin to the point of destination; availability of drone localization devices along the route; any known obstacles and restricted areas within the building (¶ [0086], an obstacle (e.g., a wall, a ceiling, a floor, a shelf, etc.) within the operating environment); and an overall layout or floor plan of the building.
Furthermore, Ketchell teaches an overall layout or floor plan of the building (¶ [0039] [0050], interactive map, [0045], disclosed systems and methods can be referenced in the form of a map, providing an additional resource to navigation services).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the overall layout or floor plan of the building as taught by Ketchell.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Ketchell for the reasons stated in Ketchell paragraph [0025], more robust methods and systems that can be used to improve the performance of how people and products get to their destination, regardless of the mode of transportation.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Allen discloses further issuing flight commands (¶ [0136], instructions for navigating the UAV from a point of origin to a destination, see also claim 12) is performed without using or accessing global positioning system (GPS) resources of the drone (¶ [0051], UAVs may be deployed in environments where GPS navigation techniques are not feasible, such as within buildings).
Regarding claim 9, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 1. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 9 can clearly perform the methods of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 4. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 12 can clearly perform the methods of claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 5. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 13 can clearly perform the methods of claim 5. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 8. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 16 can clearly perform the methods of claim 8. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 17, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 1. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 17 can clearly perform the methods of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 4. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 20 can clearly perform the methods of claim 4. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell, in view of VIEHAUSER, US 20240354962, herein further known as Viehauser.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Allen discloses further drone localization devices include at least one camera (¶¶ [0052], [0085], wireless optical signal), and the step of monitoring location of the drone (¶¶ [0009], determining a location of a UAV, see also FIG. 2, [0017], analyzing a relationship between a receiver and locations, see also FIG. 6C, [0050], [0052], [0057], [0083], approximate the location during navigation).
However, Allen does not explicitly state monitoring location visually using one of the at least one security camera, an orientation and position.
Viehauser teaches monitoring location visually using one of the at least one security camera, an orientation and position (¶¶ [0047], [0099], [0108], [0167], [0183], claim 10, pose of the object in the camera coordinate system, [0140], any suitable electronic device (such as security systems, (i.e. security camera))).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the monitoring location visually using one of the at least one security camera, an orientation and position as taught by Viehauser.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Viehauser for the reasons stated in Viehauser paragraph [0058], more robust systems and techniques to further increase efficiency in multi-target scenarios which enables tracking of multiple objects.
Regarding claim 10, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 10 can clearly perform the methods of claim 2. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 18 can clearly perform the methods of claim 2. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell, further in view of VIEHAUSER, US 20240354962, herein further known as Viehauser, further in view of YE et al., CN 112288165, herein further known as Ye.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Allen discloses further drone localization devices identifying an object or person in proximity to the route and issuing flight commands to the drone (¶¶ [0005], known locations of transmitters that are transmitting at least two signals of a plurality of signals, [0051-0052], [0084], FM broadcast transmitters, [0085], other signals of opportunity…) (¶¶ [0009], determining a location of a UAV, see also FIG. 2, [0017], analyzing a relationship between a receiver and locations, see also FIG. 6C, [0050], [0052], [0057], [0083], approximate the location during navigation) (¶ [0136], instructions for navigating the UAV from a point of origin to a destination, see also claim 12).
However, Allen does not explicitly state security camera and avoid the object or person.
Viehauser teaches security camera (¶¶ [0047], [0099], [0108], [0167], [0183], claim 10, pose of the object in the camera coordinate system, [0140], any suitable electronic device (such as security systems, (i.e. security camera))).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the security camera as taught by Viehauser.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Viehauser for the reasons stated in Viehauser paragraph [0058], more robust systems and techniques to further increase efficiency in multi-target scenarios which enables tracking of multiple objects.
Furthermore, Ye teaches avoid the object or person (page 24, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the avoid the object or person as taught by Ye.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Ye for the reasons stated in Ye more robust system and method wherein robots and drones can be used for safer interacting with the goods or other objects in the warehouse.
Regarding claim 11, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 3. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 11 can clearly perform the methods of claim 3. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 3. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 19 can clearly perform the methods of claim 3. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 6, and 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell, in view of LOVELAND et al., US 20180130196, herein further known as Loveland.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
However, Allen does not explicitly state authenticating the drone with a building management system prior to navigation within the building, wherein authenticating the drone further includes disabling at least one feature of the drone to prevent the drone engaging in unauthorized activity while in the building.
Loveland teaches authenticating the drone with a building management system prior to navigation within the building, wherein authenticating the drone further includes disabling at least one feature of the drone to prevent the drone from engaging in unauthorized activity while in the building (¶¶ [0101], [0174], specific instructions authorize disabling based upon zone).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the authenticating the drone with a building management system prior to navigation within the building, wherein authenticating the drone further includes disabling at least one feature of the drone to prevent the drone engaging in unauthorized activity while in the building as taught by Loveland.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Loveland for the reasons stated in Loveland paragraph [0054], more robust methods and systems which allow hazards to be eliminated from the flight plan to produce a safer path for automated imagery and data capture.
Regarding claim 14, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 6. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 14 can clearly perform the methods of claim 6. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell, in view of SPADER et al., US 20230116402, herein further known as Spader.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Allen, Teague, and Ketchell disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
However, Allen does not explicitly state route is divided into segments between waypoints, further comprising monitoring remaining portions of the route while the drone is traveling on the route, and modifying portions of the route in response to a determination that a route segment is blocked or inaccessible.
Ketchell teaches route is divided into segments between waypoints, further comprising monitoring remaining portions of the route while the drone is traveling on the route (¶ [0040]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the route is divided into segments between waypoints, further comprising monitoring remaining portions of the route while the drone is traveling on the route as taught by Ketchell.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Ketchell for the reasons stated in Ketchell paragraph [0025], more robust methods and systems that can be used to improve the performance of how people and products get to their destination, regardless of the mode of transportation.
Furthermore, Spader teaches modifying portions of the route in response to determination that a route segment is blocked or inaccessible (¶ [0182], update the navigation path to circumvent the closed door).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Allen the modifying portions of the route in response to determination that a route segment is blocked or inaccessible as taught by Spader.
One would be motivated to modify Allen in view of Spader for the reasons stated in Spader paragraph [0005],more robust method and system for reduction in the time and/or labor costs.
Regarding claim 15, all limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 7. The system/apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 15 can clearly perform the methods of claim 7. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRY C BUSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666