DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the film is a film formed by laminating a cast polypropylene film and a biaxially oriented polypropylene film, and wherein the filter member is configured by being attached to a surface on a side of the cast polypropylene film” (claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muramatsu et al. (US 2005/0089347; “Muramatsu”).
Regarding claim 1, Muramatsu discloses a toner container 40 (Fig. 1 [0032]) comprising:
a pouch 42 configured to store toner 46 (Fig. 2A [0032]), the pouch being formed of a film (sheet; [0036]) and having an opening portion (portion of 42 that fits into cap unit 45; see Fig. 1 [0037]); and
a nozzle 51 attached to the opening portion of the pouch 42 and provided with a discharge port 52 for discharging the toner stored in the pouch outside the toner container (Fig. 1 [0037]),
wherein a filter member 47 configured to allow air to pass through and prevent the toner from passing through is provided at a part of the pouch (Figs. 1-2 [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, wherein the filter member 47 is provided at a position near an end portion of the pouch, and nearer to an end portion on an opposite side to the opening portion than to the opening portion in an aligning direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2A) of the pouch and the nozzle (see annotated Fig. 2A below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End portion of the pouch (on back vertical wall of pouch))]
Regarding claim 3, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, wherein the pouch has a foldable gusset portion (top wall of pouch), and wherein the filter member 47 is provided on the gusset portion (see annotated Fig. 2A above).
Regarding claim 6, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, further comprising a cap 45 configured to be attachable to and detachable from the nozzle 51 to cover around the nozzle (Fig. 1 [0037]), wherein the cap has a surface (bottom, flat surface of 45) extending in a (horizontal) direction intersecting with an aligning (vertical) direction of the pouch and the nozzle in a state where the cap is attached to the nozzle (Fig. 2A), and wherein the toner container is configured to stand without support when the surface of the cap is brought into contact with a horizontal plane (see Fig. 2A; as the toner container is formed with symmetry about a vertical axis, it surely will stand without support when all contents are balanced).
Regarding claim 8, Muramatsu discloses an image forming apparatus (not shown; [0003]) comprising an attachment portion 50 to which the nozzle of the toner container according to claim 1 is attachable, wherein, in a state where the nozzle is attached to the attachment portion, the filter member 47 is located above the nozzle (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu (US 2005/0089347) in view of Mulford et al. (US 2019/0193896; “Mulford”).
Regarding claim 4, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, wherein the filter member has a sheet shape (see Fig. 2A)
Muramatsu is silent regarding a seal layer provided on one surface of the filter member, and wherein the filter member is configured in such a manner that the seal layer is heat welded on a surface of the pouch.
Mulford is analogous art as it teaches applying a filter member/patch vent 100 to various pouches 110/200/300 (Figs. 1-3 [0022-0023]). Further, the filter member 100 has a sheet shape and a seal layer (layer of the filter contacting a wall of the pouch) provided on one surface of the filter member, which is configured in such a manner that the seal layer is heat welded (heat sealed) on a surface of the pouch ([0023]).
As Muramatsu is silent regarding a seal layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to turn to Mulford to determine specifics in attaching the filter to the pouch, and to configure the filter member with a seal layer and in such a manner that the seal layer is heat welded on a surface of the pouch. This would have been obvious since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this instance, the predictable results would be the successful attachment of the filter to the pouch in order for the filter to function as intended.
Regarding claim 7, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a film-shaped seal member an end of which is fixed to the pouch, and movable between a first position to cover the filter member and a second position to expose the filter member.
Mulford is analogous art as it teaches applying a filter member/patch vent 100 to various pouches 110/200/300 (Figs. 1-3 [0022-0023]). Further, the filter member 100 includes a film-shaped seal member 410 an end of which is fixed to the pouch (via adhesive layer 430), and movable between a first position to cover the filter member and a second position to expose the filter member (Mulford Fig. 5 [0024-0025, 0031]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu (US 2005/0089347) in view of Bilal (BOPP VS CPP Films).
Regarding claim 5, Muramatsu discloses the toner container according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the film is a film formed by laminating a cast polypropylene film and a biaxially oriented polypropylene film, and wherein the filter member is configured by being attached to a surface on a side of the cast polypropylene film.
Muramatsu discloses that the film of pouch 42 may comprise of a plurality of laminated sheet materials made of resin such as polyethylene or nylon or paper such that air does not flow into or out of the toner container 42 ([0036]).
Bilal teaches that biaxially oriented polypropylene film (BOPP) is a very important flexible packaging material with a wide range of applications. BOPP has high tensile strength, impact strength, and rigidity, and good transparency. Further, it is usually produced by a multi-layer composite method (i.e., laminated) in order to obtain a better overall performance, and compounding with cast polypropylene film (CPP) will obtain high gas and moisture barriers and transparency. BOPP also has good printing adaptability and is often used as the surface layer of composite film. (See highlighted sections of Bilal included herewith.)
Based on the teachings of Bilal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the film by laminating a cast polypropylene film and a biaxially oriented polypropylene film. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain flexible packaging material that has the desired characteristics of both BOPP and CPP, such as good printing adaptability and good moisture resistance (Bilal).
It would have further been obvious to attach the filter member to a surface on a side of the cast polypropylene film. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure that the filter member was secured to the inner layer of the pouch having good stiffness and easy heat sealing to attach the filter member, while the BOPP layer was used as the outer surface layer to receive printing and obtain exquisite appearance (Bilal).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 included herewith and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852