DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishiyama et al (US 2002/0187833).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-8: Nishiyama et al discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to carry out a nurture game that includes a plurality of turns, the program causing the computer to carry out: processing for enabling a player to select a plurality of commands including at least a first type command and a second type command, in a preset turn of the plurality of turns (see paragraph [0012], showing virtual character raised as described above is raised by the game player who enters commands through keys, etc., and thus can be raised like a-lovely pet as a so-called virtual pet. Since such a virtual pet can be kept in a portable raising simulation gaming machine); processing for obtaining a predetermined parameter on the basis of the fact that the first type command has been selected (see paragraph [0011], showing the game player selects a meal, gives it to the pet, and keeps the pet company by entering commands through key input means based on the requests, image data of the character responsive to the raising simulation result of the above-mentioned key input, etc., is determined by the control means from image data of a number of characters stored in the memory as if the virtual character grew in response to the care, and the determined image data is displayed on a display); processing for enabling the player to obtain at least a part of a plurality of rewards that bring benefits advantageous to the player, by consuming the predetermined parameter, on the basis of the fact that the second type command has been selected (see paragraph [0011], showing the game player selects a meal, gives it to the pet, and keeps the pet company by entering commands through key input means based on the requests, image data of the character responsive to the raising simulation result of the above-mentioned key input, etc., is determined by the control means from image data of a number of characters stored in the memory as if the virtual character grew in response to the care, and the determined image data is displayed on a display); processing for determining a plurality of rewards that can be newly obtained by the player, on the basis of the fact that said reward has been obtained by the player (see paragraph [0087], showing image data is assigned as the first raising history data in the embodiment, but to raise a combative athlete, A to X hierarchical combative sport data pieces as power or life point levels can also be assigned as the first raising history data. Showing points could be awarded for raising a character); processing for making one or more benefits that correspond to said reward obtained by the player, occur at a predetermined timing (see paragraph [0087], showing image data is assigned as the first raising history data in the embodiment, but to raise a combative athlete, A to X hierarchical combative sport data pieces as power or life point levels can also be assigned as the first raising history data. The combative sport data may be leveled up from A or B to C or D in response to the raising time of the combative athlete (containing the number of play times)); and processing for ending the currently executed turn and making a transition to a next turn, when a preset turn end condition including at least that the first type command has been selected is established (see figures 4 and 5; paragraph [0088], showing FIG. 5 shows an example of raising progress with the raising history data as the image data, as described above. The raising progress example-will be discussed with reference to FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The game player chooses favorite egg A between two eggs A and B displayed on the second display means 6 by operating the operation means 3A (first step). A timer (counter)--not shown--starts counting the play time with the choice point in time as the reference and after the expiration of a predetermined time interval, the chosen egg A changes to character C (second step). Whether the egg A changes to character C or D can be automatically determined using a random number at the choice time of the egg A or B (for example, male or female) or can be determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A by the time the egg A changes to the egg C. When the character C changes to E, whether C changes to E, F, or K is determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A in response to "meal," "play" request made by the character C (third step)).
Regarding claim 2: Nishiyama et al discloses wherein the benefits include: a first benefit that occurs in the turn in which the player obtains; and a second benefit that occurs in a preset particular turn after the turn in which the player obtains (see figures 4 and 5; paragraph [0088], showing FIG. 5 shows an example of raising progress with the raising history data as the image data, as described above. The raising progress example-will be discussed with reference to FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The game player chooses favorite egg A between two eggs A and B displayed on the second display means 6 by operating the operation means 3A (first step). A timer (counter)--not shown--starts counting the play time with the choice point in time as the reference and after the expiration of a predetermined time interval, the chosen egg A changes to character C (second step). Whether the egg A changes to character C or D can be automatically determined using a random number at the choice time of the egg A or B (for example, male or female) or can be determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A by the time the egg A changes to the egg C. When the character C changes to E, whether C changes to E, F, or K is determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A in response to "meal," "play" request made by the character C (third step)). Where the meal and play are construed as benefits).
Regarding claim 3: Nishiyama et al discloses wherein, in the processing for enabling the player to obtain said reward, the plurality of rewards that can be obtained by the player are individually displayed in detail display fields in an identifiable manner, and wherein the detail display fields each include a first display region in which the first benefit is displayed and a second display region in which the second benefit is displayed (see paragraph [0087], showing image data is assigned as the first raising history data in the embodiment, but to raise a combative athlete, A to X hierarchical combative sport data pieces as power or life point levels can also be assigned as the first raising history data. Showing points could be awarded for raising a character).
Regarding claim 4: Nishiyama et al discloses wherein the benefits are classified into a first benefit and a second benefit, wherein, in the processing for enabling the player to obtain said reward, the plurality of rewards that can be obtained by the player are individually displayed in detail display fields in an identifiable manner, and wherein the detail display fields each include a first display region in which the first benefit is displayed and a second display region in which the second benefit is displayed (see figures 4 and 5; paragraph [0088], showing FIG. 5 shows an example of raising progress with the raising history data as the image data, as described above. The raising progress example-will be discussed with reference to FIG. 4 and FIG. 5. The game player chooses favorite egg A between two eggs A and B displayed on the second display means 6 by operating the operation means 3A (first step). A timer (counter)--not shown--starts counting the play time with the choice point in time as the reference and after the expiration of a predetermined time interval, the chosen egg A changes to character C (second step). Whether the egg A changes to character C or D can be automatically determined using a random number at the choice time of the egg A or B (for example, male or female) or can be determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A by the time the egg A changes to the egg C. When the character C changes to E, whether C changes to E, F, or K is determined by the game player who operates the operation means 3A in response to "meal," "play" request made by the character C (third step)). Where the meal and play are construed as benefits).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaguchi et al discloses game program and information processing device; Sogabe discloses game system and computer readable storage medium.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715