DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 includes the limitation “the visual information is detachably attached to the probe”. It is unclear the manner in which the visual information is to be attached to the probe. It is the interpretation of the office that the visual information claimed is virtual information displayed on a screen and as such physically cannot be detached from the physical structure that is the probe. For the purposes of this office action, visual information which can be removed in any manner will be considered analogous to the limitation in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (US 20240057976 A1) in view of Nikou (US 20240081784 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McLaughlin teaches an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0005] performing ultrasound imaging includes collecting ultrasound information of a subject region in response to ultrasound pulses transmitted toward the subject region; [0032] allow doctors to more easily diagnose diseases and provide treatments for the diseases based on their diagnoses)
an ultrasonic probe that transmits and receives ultrasonic waves ([0051] At step 202, ultrasound information of a subject region is collected; [0048] transducer 110 can be an array transducer that includes an array of transmitting and receiving elements for transmitting and receiving ultrasound waves)
a simulated ultrasonic image generator that generates a simulated ultrasonic image simulating ultrasonic waves emitted from by using ultrasonic waves received by the ultrasonic probe and based on different-device information on ultrasonic irradiation of the different device ([0059] At step 204, one or more ultrasound images of at least a portion of the subject region are formed from the reflectivity information. Ultrasound images formed at step 204 can be generated from the reflectivity information using an applicable technique. Specifically, B-Mode ultrasound images can be formed from the reflectivity information through one or more applicable B-Mode imaging techniques. Examples of B-Mode imaging techniques include a fundamental imaging technique, a fundamental spatial compounding imaging technique, a harmonic imaging technique, a harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique, a fundamental and harmonic compounding imaging technique, and a fundamental and harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique)
an image combiner that combines the ultrasonic image generated by the ultrasonic image generator and the simulated ultrasonic image generated by the simulated ultrasonic image generator ([0060] At step 206, the one or more ultrasound images are modified based on the complementary information to the reflectivity information to generate one or more enhanced ultrasound images. Specifically, the ultrasound images can be modified to present information related to the subject region in a more clear and accurate manner; [0076] FIG. 7 is a composite image 700 including the B-Mode phantom and the sound speed map 600 overlaid with the mean propagation speed value removed)
and a hardware processor that outputs a composite image obtained by combining by the image combiner ([0047] a display 116, such as a computer monitor, may display ultrasound images created by the image processor 112 and/or images using data stored in the cine memory 114).
McLaughlin fails to teach a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus.
However, Nikou teaches a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0058] the Display 125 overlays image information collected from various modalities (e.g., CT, MRI, X-ray, fluorescent, ultrasound, etc.) collected pre-operatively or intra-operatively to give the surgeon various views of the patient's anatomy as well as real-time conditions).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a different device other than an ultrasound diagnostic device such as an X-Ray, CT, or MRI device to aid in diagnosis in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, McLaughlin fails to teach an ultrasonic bone fracture treatment device.
However, Nikou teaches an ultrasonic bone fracture treatment device ([0041] Resection Equipment 110 (not shown in FIG. 1) performs bone or tissue resection using, for example, mechanical, ultrasonic, or laser techniques).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to utilize resection equipment that provides ultrasonic treatment to bone in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009])
Regarding claim 3, McLaughlin teaches the information includes at least one or more of a waveform, an intensity, and an irradiation range of ultrasonic waves to be emitted ([0108] FIG. 13A shows a grey-scale map reprinting the sound speed as a function of both horizontal and vertical (range) positions. FIG. 13B shows the horizontal averaged sound speed as a function range, including a horizontally averaged accumulated sound speed from the transducer up to the range value).
McLaughlin fails to teach a different device.
However, Nikou teaches a different device ([0058] the Display 125 overlays image information collected from various modalities (e.g., CT, MRI, X-ray, fluorescent, ultrasound, etc.) collected pre-operatively or intra-operatively to give the surgeon various views of the patient's anatomy as well as real-time conditions).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a different device other than an ultrasound diagnostic device such as an X-Ray, CT, or MRI device to aid in diagnosis in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, McLaughlin teaches a transmitter that generates a transmission signal simulating an ultrasonic wave of the different device based on the different-device information ([0059] Ultrasound images formed at step 204 can be generated from the reflectivity information using an applicable technique).
Regarding claim 5, McLaughlin teaches a receiver that generates, from an ultrasonic wave received by the ultrasonic probe, a reception signal simulating an ultrasonic wave of the different device based on the different-device information ([0071] At step 360, a B-Mode image is generated based on the backscatter from the Tx/Rx sequence. At step 370, the B-Mode image is adaptively processed using the sound speed map)
Regarding claim 6, McLaughlin teaches the image combiner combines the ultrasonic image and the simulated ultrasonic image based on irradiation range information of the ultrasonic waves in the different-device information ([0060] At step 206, the one or more ultrasound images are modified based on the complementary information to the reflectivity information to generate one or more enhanced ultrasound images. Specifically, the ultrasound images can be modified to present information related to the subject region in a more clear and accurate manner).
Regarding claim 7, McLaughlin teaches a display part that displays the composite image output by the hardware processor on a screen ([0071] At step 380, the processed image is displayed).
Regarding claim 8, McLaughlin teaches the ultrasonic probe is provided with visual information visually indicating a size of an ultrasonic irradiator of the different device ([0105] As illustrated in FIG. 11A, the zeroth region can be a portion of the subject 1120 between the transducer 1110 and the ROI 1130. The ROI 1130 is subdivided into sub-image regions that each having the same dimensions (e.g., being defined by a uniform grid), with characteristic size Δr).
Regarding claim 9, McLaughlin fails to teach the ultrasonic probe is provided with a posture acquirer that acquires information on a posture of the ultrasonic probe.
However, Nikou teaches the ultrasonic probe is provided with a posture acquirer that acquires information on a posture of the ultrasonic probe ([0190] The position data for the transducer assembly 10 can include orientation and location information for the transducer assembly 10, for example, although other types of positioning information can also be included. In some examples, a spatial tracking device (not shown) is coupled to the transducer assembly 10 and is configured to track the orientation and location of the transducer assembly 10. The position data can be obtained by the spatial tracking device using a reference (not shown) at a known location relative to the transducer assembly 10).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to track the orientation of the ultrasound transducer assembly with a tracking device in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, McLaughlin teaches the visual information is detachably attached to the ultrasonic probe ([0076] FIG. 7 is a composite image 700 including the B-Mode phantom and the sound speed map 600 overlaid with the mean propagation speed value removed)
Regarding claim 11, McLaughlin teaches an ultrasonic diagnostic method ([0005] performing ultrasound imaging includes collecting ultrasound information of a subject region in response to ultrasound pulses transmitted toward the subject region; [0032] allow doctors to more easily diagnose diseases and provide treatments for the diseases based on their diagnoses)
ultrasonic image generating that is generating an ultrasonic image by using ultrasonic waves received by an ultrasonic probe ([0051] At step 202, ultrasound information of a subject region is collected; [0048] transducer 110 can be an array transducer that includes an array of transmitting and receiving elements for transmitting and receiving ultrasound waves)
simulated image generating that is generating a simulated ultrasonic image simulating an irradiation signal of ultrasonic waves emitted by using the ultrasonic waves received by the ultrasonic probe and based on different-device information on ultrasonic irradiation of the different device ([0059] At step 204, one or more ultrasound images of at least a portion of the subject region are formed from the reflectivity information. Ultrasound images formed at step 204 can be generated from the reflectivity information using an applicable technique. Specifically, B-Mode ultrasound images can be formed from the reflectivity information through one or more applicable B-Mode imaging techniques. Examples of B-Mode imaging techniques include a fundamental imaging technique, a fundamental spatial compounding imaging technique, a harmonic imaging technique, a harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique, a fundamental and harmonic compounding imaging technique, and a fundamental and harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique)
combining that is combining the generated ultrasonic image and the generated simulated ultrasonic image ([0060] At step 206, the one or more ultrasound images are modified based on the complementary information to the reflectivity information to generate one or more enhanced ultrasound images. Specifically, the ultrasound images can be modified to present information related to the subject region in a more clear and accurate manner; [0076] FIG. 7 is a composite image 700 including the B-Mode phantom and the sound speed map 600 overlaid with the mean propagation speed value removed)
and outputting that is outputting a composite image obtained by combining ([0047] a display 116, such as a computer monitor, may display ultrasound images created by the image processor 112 and/or images using data stored in the cine memory 114)
McLaughlin fails to teach a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus.
However, Nikou teaches a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0058] the Display 125 overlays image information collected from various modalities (e.g., CT, MRI, X-ray, fluorescent, ultrasound, etc.) collected pre-operatively or intra-operatively to give the surgeon various views of the patient's anatomy as well as real-time conditions).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a different device other than an ultrasound diagnostic device such as an X-Ray, CT, or MRI device to aid in diagnosis in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, McLaughlin teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to perform ultrasonic image generating ([0005] performing ultrasound imaging includes collecting ultrasound information of a subject region in response to ultrasound pulses transmitted toward the subject region)
ultrasonic image generating that is generating an ultrasonic image by using ultrasonic waves received by an ultrasonic probe ([0051] At step 202, ultrasound information of a subject region is collected; [0048] transducer 110 can be an array transducer that includes an array of transmitting and receiving elements for transmitting and receiving ultrasound waves)
simulated image generating that is generating a simulated ultrasonic image simulating an irradiation signal of ultrasonic waves emitted by using the ultrasonic waves received by the ultrasonic probe and based on different-device information on ultrasonic irradiation of the different device ([0059] At step 204, one or more ultrasound images of at least a portion of the subject region are formed from the reflectivity information. Ultrasound images formed at step 204 can be generated from the reflectivity information using an applicable technique. Specifically, B-Mode ultrasound images can be formed from the reflectivity information through one or more applicable B-Mode imaging techniques. Examples of B-Mode imaging techniques include a fundamental imaging technique, a fundamental spatial compounding imaging technique, a harmonic imaging technique, a harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique, a fundamental and harmonic compounding imaging technique, and a fundamental and harmonic spatial compounding imaging technique)
combining that is combining the generated ultrasonic image and the generated simulated ultrasonic image ([0060] At step 206, the one or more ultrasound images are modified based on the complementary information to the reflectivity information to generate one or more enhanced ultrasound images. Specifically, the ultrasound images can be modified to present information related to the subject region in a more clear and accurate manner; [0076] FIG. 7 is a composite image 700 including the B-Mode phantom and the sound speed map 600 overlaid with the mean propagation speed value removed)
and outputting that is outputting a composite image obtained by combining ([0047] a display 116, such as a computer monitor, may display ultrasound images created by the image processor 112 and/or images using data stored in the cine memory 114)
McLaughlin fails to teach a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus.
However, Nikou teaches a different device different from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0058] the Display 125 overlays image information collected from various modalities (e.g., CT, MRI, X-ray, fluorescent, ultrasound, etc.) collected pre-operatively or intra-operatively to give the surgeon various views of the patient's anatomy as well as real-time conditions).
McLaughlin and Nikou are considered analogous because they both disclose ultrasonic diagnostic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a different device other than an ultrasound diagnostic device such as an X-Ray, CT, or MRI device to aid in diagnosis in order to isolate the shape and location, or outline, of bone tissue (Nikou [0009]).
Conclusion
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797