Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig 5 has . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3, objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 uses . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 10-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, for claim 1, Conklin teaches A method for remotely directing an executor to perform actions, the method comprising:
establishing, by a first electronic device associated with an instructor, a connection with a second electronic device associated with the executor, (spec [0017] and fig 1, components 12, 14, 28, 36 and 38; “The wireless communication devices (28 and 36) are configured to enable the computing devices (12 and 14) to wirelessly connect via a local peer-to-peer connection (e.g., local bi-directional peer-to-peer wireless connection). Thus, the sender computing device 12 and the receiver computing device 14 may be in wireless communication via a local peer-to-peer wireless connection 38.”)
rendering a first user interface on the first electronic device, wherein the first user interface includes a first set of user interface elements overlaid on the stream rendered on the first electronic device, wherein the first set of user interface elements enables the instructor to control the second electronic device; (spec [0048] and figs 1 and 5-7, components 510 and 610; “shown in FIG. 1. The window 510 and the application program window 610 corresponding to the sender computing device are displayed.”)
generating one or more commands based on reception of one or more inputs from the instructor via the one or more user interface elements of the first set of user interface elements; and (spec [0045]-[0046], figs 5-6, components 501; “A selection input 516 of one of the receiver computing devices in the list 502 is also shown in FIG. 5. In the depicted example, the selection input is implemented via a cursor which may be associated with an input device, such as a mouse.” and “An application program window 610 is also shown in FIG. 6. The application program window 610 corresponds to a drawing application program in the depicted example. However, other types of application programs may be displayed in via one or more windows in other examples.”, the buttons 506 is the input, device-discovery window 501 is a set of user interface elements and the application program window 610 is the command)
However, Conklin fails to teach controlling the second electronic device for execution of the one or more commands, wherein the control involves at least one of managing one or more functionalities of the second electronic device, overlaying one or more instruction elements on the feed, or overlaying a reaction of the instructor on the feed, wherein the one or more instruction elements direct the executor to perform one or more actions in the real-world location.
wherein the connection enables rendering a stream on the first electronic device, and wherein the rendering is based on a feed of a real-world location that is captured by a camera of the second electronic device and rendered on the second electronic device;
Fieldman teaches controlling the second electronic device for execution of the one or more commands, wherein the control involves at least one of managing one or more functionalities of the second electronic device, overlaying one or more instruction elements on the feed, or overlaying a reaction of the instructor on the feed, (column 38, lines 22-24; “and at step 2360 functionalities, such as software process(es) and modules, are triggered to initiate and/or facilitate administration of an assessment module.”) wherein the one or more instruction elements direct the executor to perform one or more actions in the real-world location. (column 38, lines 3-10; “at step 2320 the battery life of the XR device is communicated to a network server so that there is documented record of how much battery the assessed user had at beginning assessment which might lead to instructing the user to more fully charge the device before beginning the assessment or could be used to resolve any dispute as to whether an assessed user intentionally turned off the XR device during the assessment;”)
wherein the connection enables rendering a stream on the first electronic device, and (column 29, lines 28-32 and fig 16A; “FIG. 16A shows an example of the second user viewing the assessment record of the first user from a first-person perspective. It will be appreciated that the second user is “looking through the eyes” of the first user in a replay-type viewing of the first user's recorded assessment experience.”, the first user is the executor and the second user is the instructor) wherein the rendering (column 29, lines 36-48 and fig 16A; “FIG. 16A also shows “hands” of the first user as captured through hand-tracking data during administration of the assessment module in phantom, and further shows the second user interacting with a virtual tablet (or, “VR tablet”) 1600 for manipulating the assessment record, including adding a new branching point to record first feedback information at the database in association with the assessment record by interacting with feedback control input 1605, such as an “add feedback” button, on the VR tablet 1600. As shown, the second user can be provided with the option to pause, skip forward or backward, and/or jump to flags or segments within the assessment record.”) is based on a feed of a real-world location that is captured by a camera of the second electronic device and rendered on the second electronic device; (column 38, lines 10-13 and lines 42-46 and figs 16A, 23 and 24, components 2330 and 2450; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,” and “At step 2450, the assessment record/recording may be accessed, such as by one or more of another evaluating user (e.g. instruction/tutor) or the assessed user or other additional users to provide feedback or review the assessment record.”, the XR device is the second electronic device where a real-world location is recorded, in which the instructor could review the assessment record using their device)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other, and the person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the prior art in order to allow an instructor to direct the actions of an executor.
For claim 15, Conklin teaches A first electronic device for remotely directing an executor to perform actions, the first electronic device comprising:
a processor operable to: (spec [0012] and fig 1, components 12 and 16; “As illustrated the sender computing device 12 includes a processor 16 and memory 18.”)
The rest of the claim 15’s limitations are recitations of claim 1’s limitations and are rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the executor is one of a human or a robot, and wherein the executor functions as an avatar of the instructor. (Fieldman; fig 14B; shows a human executor as an avatar)
Regarding claim 5, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein
the reception of the one or more inputs via the one or more user interface elements and the overlaying of the one or more instruction elements or the reaction on the feed is synchronized, and (Fieldman; column 30, lines 56-59 and fig 17C, component 1780; “FIG. 17C also shows tutor notes 1780 written by the tutor (as tutor avatar 1480) (synchronously or asynchronously), which can be helpful when demonstrating concepts to a student.”)
the reception of the one or more inputs via the one or more user interface elements and the managing of the one or more functionalities of the second electronic device is synchronized. (Fieldman; column 38, lines 10-18 and column 39, 10-12; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user, and possibly also the user's face, expressions and eyes during the assessment; at step 2340 the microphone of the assessed user's XR device may be activate to monitor and/or document sounds, talking and like noises associated with the user and/or the real world environment near the user during the assessment;” and “At step 2710, the inputs are monitored and captured for an assessed user being monitored in real-time while an assessment record is being created.”, real-time monitoring means synchronously monitoring)
Regarding claim 10, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein captured one or more inputs comprises a touch input, a gesture input, or a voice input. (Conklin; spec [0025]; “Next at 303 the method includes at an input device, providing selection input to the sender computing device through an input device associated with the sender computing device. The selection input is a selection of a receiver computing device included in the list of the plurality of identified receiver computing devices. The input device may be a mouse, touch-pad, track-pad, keyboard, touch-screen, microphone, camera, a combination thereof, etc.,”)
Regarding claim 11, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises rendering a second user interface on the first electronic device,
wherein the second user interface includes a second set of user interface elements that are operable to receive a set of inputs, depict a set of executors available for selection, depict information associated with an executor who is selected from the set of executors and will be directed to perform the one or more actions, (Conklin; spec [0042]; “A list 502 of a plurality of identified receiver computing devices 504 is shown the window 501 (e.g., device-discovery window).”) depict a current state of charge of a battery of the second electronic device, and depict specifications associated with the second electronic device, and (Fieldman; column 38, lines 3-10; “at step 2320 the battery life of the XR device is communicated to a network server so that there is documented record of how much battery the assessed user had at beginning assessment which might lead to instructing the user to more fully charge the device before beginning the assessment or could be used to resolve any dispute as to whether an assessed user intentionally turned off the XR device during the assessment;”)
wherein the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is established based on the reception of the set of inputs. (Conklin; spec [0045]; “A selection input 516 of one of the receiver computing devices in the list 502 is also shown in FIG. 5. In the depicted example, the selection input is implemented via a cursor which may be associated with an input device, such as a mouse.”)
Regarding claim 14, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the first user interface is a customizable user interface, and wherein the first set of user interface elements includes those user interface elements that have been selected by the instructor from a list of user interface elements. (column 14, lines 19-27; “Parameters of the XR learning environment 100 can be set by a user such as a student, tutor, instructor, or administrator, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B. FIG. 3A shows an example parameters palette 310 that may be displayed to a user within the XR learning environment 100, and FIG. 3B shows an example parameters feedback message 320 that may be displayed to a user informing the user that an instructor has already set parameters for the XR learning environment 100.”)
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Lapointe, et al. (US 20210377331 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the rendering of the stream on the first electronic device is based on reception of the feed transmitted by the second electronic device, wherein the rendering of the stream on the first electronic device is synchronized with the rendering of the feed on the second electronic device, and (Fieldman; column 14, lines 50-54, column 29, lines 28-32 and fig 16A; “In one aspect, the system can be operable for facilitating learning sessions within the XR learning environment 100 such as a lecture, a synchronous or asynchronous review session, or for administering an assessment module within a virtual testing environment of the XR learning environment.” and “FIG. 16A shows an example of the second user viewing the assessment record of the first user from a first-person perspective. It will be appreciated that the second user is “looking through the eyes” of the first user in a replay-type viewing of the first user's recorded assessment experience.”, the first user is the executor and the second user is the instructor)
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach a minimum bit-rate of the rendered stream is adjusted based on one or more of bandwidth, latency, and packet-loss associated with the connection.
Lapointe teaches wherein at least one of a frame-rate, a maximum bit-rate, and a minimum bit-rate of the rendered stream is adjusted based on one or more of bandwidth, latency, and packet-loss associated with the connection. (spec [0020]; “The premise of the media stream synchronizer is to use timestamps to order and synchronize the media essence where an IP packet (e.g., video or audio content) has been lost, or in some cases added, during transmission to the video production facility 101.”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. The method using Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system can be combined with Lapointe’s media stream synchronizer for dealing for packet loss according to known methods to predictably yield synchronization because packet loss could occur during a video conference. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce lagging of video conferences.
Regarding claim 3, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claims 1, wherein the connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is a Peer-to-Peer (P2P) connection, and (Conklin; spec [0010]; “A local peer-to-peer wireless connection between a sender computing device and a receiver computing device is described herein, which enables the receiver computing device to provide expanded display as well as interactive capabilities to the sender computing device.”)
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach wherein the reception of the feed by the first electronic device and the transmission of the feed by the second electronic device is carried out using one of a Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) through Web Real-Time Communication (RTC) channels, a Hyper-Text Transport Protocol version-2 (HTTP/2), or a Quick User datagram protocol Internet Connections (QUIC) protocol.
Lapointe teaches wherein the reception of the feed by the first electronic device and the transmission of the feed by the second electronic device is carried out using one of a Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) through Web Real-Time Communication (RTC) channels, a Hyper-Text Transport Protocol version-2 (HTTP/2), or a Quick User datagram protocol Internet Connections (QUIC) protocol. (specs [0037]-[0038] and fig 1, component 100; “the PTS value is derived from real-time transport protocol (“RTP”) header information included in the compressed video data.” and “Moreover, in an exemplary aspect, the system 100 employs the WebRTC (Web Real-Time Communication) specification/framework that provides web browsers with real-time communication (RTC).”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. The method using Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system can be combined with Lapointe’s RTP (Real-time Transport Protocol) through WebRTC (Web Real-Time Communication) using known methods because a video conference would involve network protocols such as RTP. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow audio and video over IP networks using a P2P (Peer-to-Peer) connection.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Briggs, et al. (US 12101525 B1) and Allen (US 20240406677 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the first set of user interface elements comprises:
a second user interface element that indicates the current state of charge of the battery of the second electronic device; (Fieldman; column 38, lines 3-10; “at step 2320 the battery life of the XR device is communicated to a network server so that there is documented record of how much battery the assessed user had at beginning assessment which might lead to instructing the user to more fully charge the device before beginning the assessment or could be used to resolve any dispute as to whether an assessed user intentionally turned off the XR device during the assessment;”)
a third user interface element that is operable to receive an input to terminate the connection; (Conklin; spec [0046] and fig 6, components 500 and 602; “As shown, a button 602 may be provided in the GUI 500 to enable a user to disconnect the sender computing device from the selected receiver computing device.”)
a fourth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to record the feed rendered on the second electronic device; (Fieldman; column 38, lines 10-13; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,”, the XR device is the second electronic device)
a fifth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to control a speaker of the second electronic device; (Fieldman; column 40, lines 40-47; “In some embodiments, users can turn off and on particular audio streams of particular users, such as when watching a feedback branch recording with multiple users appearing in the recording, so that multiple audio streams are not heard at once or are not recorded again when a particular user wants to record a feedback recording where their speaking audio stream or another audio stream is intended to be most relevant.”)
a seventh user interface element that is operable to receive an input to retrieve location information of the second electronic device, wherein (column 38, lines 10-13 and lines 42-46 and figs 16A, 23 and 24, components 2330 and 2450; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,”, the XR device is the second electronic device where a real-world location is recorded)
an eighth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to control a field-of-view of the camera of the second electronic device; (Fieldman; column 45, lines 14-19; “In various embodiments when a user focuses on just a specific thing in an XR 3-D video recording that thing could be zoomed or enlarged for making it easier to view—focusing on hands and calculator and the XR video enlarges those to that a user just sees those things in the recording.”)
a tenth user interface element (Fieldman; fig 16A, component 1605; depicts an instructor using a touch input) and an eleventh user interface element, (Fieldman; column 31, lines 4-10; “The system can also capture, at a spatial orientation measurement device in communication with the second XR device of the second user, second spatial orientation data captured during review of the assessment record and the assessment module. In some embodiments, the second spatial orientation data includes head-tracking data and/or hand-tracking data.”) wherein each of the tenth user interface element and the eleventh user interface element is operable to receive an input to control an orientation of the second electronic device; (Fieldman; column 51, lines 21-25; “a user could walk with feet in physical world, scoot with gestures, teleport, or touch on tablet the segment that the assisting user wants to interact with and then interact with the question and board location.”)
a twelfth user interface element operable to receive an input to direct the executor to physically move towards a certain direction; and (Fieldman; column 51, lines 21-25; “a user could walk with feet in physical world, scoot with gestures, teleport, or touch on tablet the segment that the assisting user wants to interact with and then interact with the question and board location.”, the executor is directed to walk to the direction of the board)
a thirteenth user interface element operable to receive a voice input to control the second electronic device. (Fieldman; column 42, lines 49-53; “In one example, a teacher might say “take me to when a student circled A” and the teacher then jumps in the XR assessment recording right to the XR 3-D clip of 10 seconds before and 10 seconds after that the user was doing before and after A was circled by the user.”)
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach a first user interface element that indicates a duration of the connection;
a sixth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to transmit an emoji to the second electronic device, wherein the emoji is to be overlaid on the feed rendered on the second electronic device;
the location information is retrieved by accessing a map application installed on the second electronic device;
a ninth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to direct the executor to rotate the second electronic device towards a certain direction by a certain angle;
Briggs teaches a first user interface element that indicates a duration of the connection; (column 13, lines 32-36 and fig 4C, components 440, 442 and 446; “For example, in some embodiments, the event overlay 442 for the event video stream window 440 may include a dynamically updated score board element 444 and a dynamically updated timer element 446 associated with the event.”)
a sixth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to transmit an emoji to the second electronic device, wherein the emoji is to be overlaid on the feed rendered on the second electronic device; (column 11, lines 41-47 and fig 4A, components 400 and 416; “The emoji actuator 416 may be used to submit emojis within the video communication session. For example, a user may select the emoji actuator 416 to generate a list of emojis which may then be shared and displayed within the user interface 400 to a plurality of users in the video communication session for a predetermined period of time.”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system and GUI with Fieldman’s XR system and set of inputs according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing and input commands to instruct the executor, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. Additionally, the person having ordinary skill in the art could include Briggs’ timer and emoji actuator to Conklin’s connection, since they involve video conferencing. The person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add Briggs’ timer to keep track of the time and Briggs’ emoji actuator to allow giving feedback.
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman in further view of Briggs fails to teach the location information is retrieved by accessing a map application installed on the second electronic device;
a ninth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to direct the executor to rotate the second electronic device towards a certain direction by a certain angle;
Allen teaches a seventh user interface element that is operable to receive an input to retrieve location information of the second electronic device, wherein the location information is retrieved by accessing a map application installed on the second electronic device; (spec [0263] and fig 6L, component 643; “the user interface associated with the maps application includes a selectable indication for sharing an estimated time of arrival (ETA) at the first destination with the second user, such as selectable indication 643 as shown in FIG. 6L.” and “For example, the electronic device transmits location information of the electronic device to the second electronic device that causes the second electronic device to display a visual indication (e.g., a notification) indicating the user's ETA at the first destination.”)
a ninth user interface element that is operable to receive an input to direct the executor to rotate the second electronic device towards a certain direction by a certain angle; (spec [0278], fig 6CC and components 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system and GUI with Fieldman’s XR system and set of inputs according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing and input commands to instruct the executor, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. Additionally, the person having ordinary skill in the art could include Briggs’ timer and emoji actuator to Conklin’s connection, since they involve video conferencing. Furthermore, the person having ordinary skill in the art can add Allen’s directions on a mapping application for finding a device to Conklin’s windows because they involve the use of cellphones communicating with each other. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow virtual tourism for the instructor.
Regarding claim 7, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more commands are generated based on reception of the one or more inputs from the instructor via one or more of the third user interface element, (Conklin; spec [0046] and fig 6; “As shown, a button 602 may be provided in the GUI 500 to enable a user to disconnect the sender computing device from the selected receiver computing device.”) the fourth user interface element, (Fieldman; column 38, lines 10-13; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,”, the XR device is the second electronic device) the fifth user interface element, (Fieldman; column 40, lines 40-47; “In some embodiments, users can turn off and on particular audio streams of particular users, such as when watching a feedback branch recording with multiple users appearing in the recording, so that multiple audio streams are not heard at once or are not recorded again when a particular user wants to record a feedback recording where their speaking audio stream or another audio stream is intended to be most relevant.”) the seventh user interface element, (column 38, lines 10-13 and lines 42-46 and figs 16A, 23 and 24, components 2330 and 2450; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,” and “At step 2450, the assessment record/recording may be accessed, such as by one or more of another evaluating user (e.g. instruction/tutor) or the assessed user or other additional users to provide feedback or review the assessment record.”, the XR device is the second electronic device where a real-world location is recorded, in which the instructor could review the assessment record using their device) the eighth user interface element, (Fieldman; column 45, lines 14-19; “In various embodiments when a user focuses on just a specific thing in an XR 3-D video recording that thing could be zoomed or enlarged for making it easier to view—focusing on hands and calculator and the XR video enlarges those to that a user just sees those things in the recording.”) the tenth user interface element, (fig 16A, component 1605; depicts an instructor using a touch input) the eleventh user interface element, (column 31, lines 4-10; “The system can also capture, at a spatial orientation measurement device in communication with the second XR device of the second user, second spatial orientation data captured during review of the assessment record and the assessment module. In some embodiments, the second spatial orientation data includes head-tracking data and/or hand-tracking data.”) the twelfth user interface element, and (column 51, lines 21-25; “a user could walk with feet in physical world, scoot with gestures, teleport, or touch on tablet the segment that the assisting user wants to interact with and then interact with the question and board location.”, the executor is directed to walk to the direction of the board) the thirteenth user interface element; (Fieldman; column 42, lines 49-53; “In one example, a teacher might say “take me to when a student circled A” and the teacher then jumps in the XR assessment recording right to the XR 3-D clip of 10 seconds before and 10 seconds after that the user was doing before and after A was circled by the user.”)
wherein the one or more functionalities of the second electronic device include a screen-recorder controlled based on the input received via the fourth user interface element, (Fieldman; column 38, lines 10-13; “at step 2330 external and/or internal cameras of the XR device can be activated to monitor and/or document the external real world environment of the assessed user,”, the XR device is the second electronic device) the speaker controlled based on the input received via the fifth user interface element, (Fieldman; column 40, lines 40-47; “In some embodiments, users can turn off and on particular audio streams of particular users, such as when watching a feedback branch recording with multiple users appearing in the recording, so that multiple audio streams are not heard at once or are not recorded again when a particular user wants to record a feedback recording where their speaking audio stream or another audio stream is intended to be most relevant.”) the camera controlled based on the input received via the eighth user interface element; (Fieldman; column 45, lines 14-19; “In various embodiments when a user focuses on just a specific thing in an XR 3-D video recording that thing could be zoomed or enlarged for making it easier to view—focusing on hands and calculator and the XR video enlarges those to that a user just sees those things in the recording.”)
the executor to perform an action of physically moving towards a direction; (column 51, lines 21-25; “a user could walk with feet in physical world, scoot with gestures, teleport, or touch on tablet the segment that the assisting user wants to interact with and then interact with the question and board location.”, the executor is directed to walk to the direction of the board)
wherein the first instruction element is overlaid based on reception of an input via one of the ninth user interface element, the tenth user interface element, the eleventh user interface, or the thirteenth user interface element; (Fieldman; fig 16A, component 1605; depicts an instructor using a touch input (the tenth user interface element))
wherein the second instruction element is overlaid based on reception of the input via the twelfth user interface element; and (Fieldman; column 51, lines 21-25; “a user could walk with feet in physical world, scoot with gestures, teleport, or touch on tablet the segment that the assisting user wants to interact with and then interact with the question and board location.”, the executor is directed to walk to the direction of the board)
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach the ninth user interface element,
a location sensor controlled based on the input received via the seventh user interface element, and
wherein the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed include a first instruction element that directs the executor to perform an action of rotating the second electronic device, and a second instruction element that instructs the executor to perform an action of physically moving towards a direction;
wherein the reaction of the instructor is overlaid on the feed based on reception of the input via the sixth user interface element.
Allen teaches the ninth user interface element, (spec [0278], fig 6CC and components 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
a location sensor controlled based on the input received via the seventh user interface element, and (spec [0168] and fig 5B, components 500 and 532; “Personal electronic device 500 optionally includes various sensors, such as GPS sensor 532,”)
wherein the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed include a first instruction element that directs the executor to perform an action of rotating the second electronic device, and (spec [0278], fig 6CC and components 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”) a second instruction element that instructs the executor to perform an action of physically moving towards a direction; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “For example, the user interface that is associated with the proximity finding feature for locating the first destination (e.g., the location of the second user) includes a first visual indicator (e.g., an arrow) that indicates a direction in which the second electronic device (e.g., associated with the second user) is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device displays an arrow pointed in the direction where the second user is determined to be located relative to the electronic device based on location information provided by the second electronic device and/or a server in communication with the second electronic device)”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other, and then add Allen’s directions on a mapping application for finding a device to Conklin’s windows because they involve the use of cellphones communicating with each other. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow virtual tourism for the instructor.
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman in further view of Allen fails to teach wherein the reaction of the instructor is overlaid on the feed based on reception of the input via the sixth user interface element.
Briggs teaches wherein the reaction of the instructor is overlaid on the feed based on reception of the input via the sixth user interface element. (column 11, lines 41-47 and fig 4A, components 400 and 416; “The emoji actuator 416 may be used to submit emojis within the video communication session. For example, a user may select the emoji actuator 416 to generate a list of emojis which may then be shared and displayed within the user interface 400 to a plurality of users in the video communication session for a predetermined period of time.”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other, and then add Allen’s directions on a mapping application for finding a device to Conklin’s windows because they involve the use of cellphones communicating with each other. Moreover, Briggs’ emoji actuator can be added to Conklin’s GUI, because they both involve connections between users. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow giving feedback.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Allen (US 20240406677 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach receiving, from the second electronic device at a first instant, information indicating a current state of the second electronic device;
detecting a partial execution of the one or more commands, wherein the detection is based on a determination of a match between the current state and an intermediate expected state;
controlling, upon detection of partial execution, the second electronic device to dynamically update the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed;
receiving, from the second electronic device at a second instant, information indicating the current state of the second electronic device;
detecting a complete execution of the one or more commands, wherein the detection is based on a determination of a match between the current state and a final expected state, wherein the second electronic device is detected to be in the final expected state based on a performance of the one or more actions by the executor; and
controlling, upon detection of complete execution, the second electronic device to remove the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed.
Allen teaches receiving, from the second electronic device at a first instant, information indicating a current state of the second electronic device; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
detecting a partial execution of the one or more commands, wherein the detection is based on a determination of a match between the current state and an intermediate expected state; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
controlling, upon detection of partial execution, the second electronic device to dynamically update the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
receiving, from the second electronic device at a second instant, information indicating the current state of the second electronic device; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
detecting a complete execution of the one or more commands, wherein the detection is based on a determination of a match between the current state and a final expected state, wherein the second electronic device is detected to be in the final expected state based on a performance of the one or more actions by the executor; and (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
controlling, upon detection of complete execution, the second electronic device to remove the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed. (spec [0287]; “In some embodiments, in response to detecting the location of the electronic device within the second threshold distance of the first destination, the electronic device displays, via the display generation component, the arrival user interface (e.g., arrival user interface 660 as shown in FIG. 6U) associated with the maps application for the first destination (e.g., as described previously above).”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. Additionally, Allen discloses tracking the state of a second electronic device and checking if the command is followed or not. Combining Conklin’s computer system with Heylocate.mobi using known methods would predictably yield instructions for movement because Conklin’s computer system involves sending instructions. The person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to command that an executor move towards a desired location.
Regarding claim 9, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1,
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach wherein the one or more commands comprises a command to rotate the second electronic device by a first angle;
wherein the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed includes an instruction element indicating that the second electronic device is required to be rotated by the first angle;
wherein the partial execution of the command is detected when the current state indicates that the second electronic device has been rotated by a second angle that is less than the first angle;
wherein the instruction element is updated based on the partial execution and an updated instruction element is overlaid on the feed to indicate that the second electronic device is required to be rotated by an angle that is a difference between the first angle and the second angle;
wherein the complete execution of the command is detected when the current state indicates that the second electronic device has been rotated by the first angle; and
wherein the updated instruction element is removed based on the detection of the complete execution.
Allen teaches wherein the one or more commands comprises a command to rotate the second electronic device by a first angle; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
wherein the one or more instruction elements overlaid on the feed includes an instruction element indicating that the second electronic device is required to be rotated by the first angle; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
wherein the partial execution of the command is detected when the current state indicates that the second electronic device has been rotated by a second angle that is less than the first angle; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
wherein the instruction element is updated based on the partial execution and an updated instruction element is overlaid on the feed to indicate that the second electronic device is required to be rotated by an angle that is a difference between the first angle and the second angle; (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
wherein the complete execution of the command is detected when the current state indicates that the second electronic device has been rotated by the first angle; and (spec [0278] and fig 6CC, component 673; “the electronic device changes an appearance of the first visual indicator (e.g., rotating the arrow) to indicate a direction in which the second electronic device is located relative to the electronic device (e.g., as the electronic device is rotated towards or away from the direction of the second electronic device, the display is updated to reflect the change in the direction of the second electronic device relative to the electronic device). For example, when the device rotates towards the second electronic device (e.g., the front of the electronic device is rotated towards the second electronic device), the arrow rotates to point towards the top of the electronic device (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user) and/or the first indicator moves towards the first indicator (e.g., in accordance with the position of the second user). Thus, the first indicator (e.g., the arrow) are updated “live” to be pointed towards the location corresponding to the second user.”)
wherein the updated instruction element is removed based on the detection of the complete execution. (spec [0287]; “In some embodiments, in response to detecting the location of the electronic device within the second threshold distance of the first destination, the electronic device displays, via the display generation component, the arrival user interface (e.g., arrival user interface 660 as shown in FIG. 6U) associated with the maps application for the first destination (e.g., as described previously above).”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. Additionally, Heylocate.mobi discloses rotating a second electronic device and checking if the command is followed or not. Combining Conklin’s computer system with Heylocate.mobi using known methods would predictably yield instructions for rotation because Conklin’s computer system involves sending instructions. The person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to command that an executor rotates towards a desired angle.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1) as applied to claim(s) 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Pulipaty, et al. (US 20230027115 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according claim 11, wherein the set of inputs are indicative of a selection of the executor from a set of executors at a set of real-world locations,
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to teach a selection of timings for a session, an instruction to start the session, a feedback about the session, and an instruction to perform a monetary transaction for initiating the session, and wherein the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is sustained for a duration of the session.
Pulipaty teaches a selection of timings for a session, an instruction to start the session, a feedback about the session, and an instruction to perform a monetary transaction for initiating the session, and wherein the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is sustained for a duration of the session. (spec [0024]; “In exemplary embodiments, the one or more events 116 may describe an occurrence associated with one or more records 114. In embodiments, the one or more events 116 may describe a combination of time and physical location (latitude, longitude, address, etc.), time and digital location (phone call, web conference, etc.), a transaction (financial exchange, etc.), a contract (roles and timing of a contract, etc.), and the like. The one or more events 116 may have varying durations, e.g., from less than a second to years.”)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. Additionally, Pulipaty details when a session could start, a transaction for starting the session, the method of communication of a session and the duration, therefore what Pulipaty teaches can be applied to Conklin’s computer system for collaboration. The person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add details to the sessions.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conklin, et al. (US 20150334139 A1) in view of Fieldman (US 11990059 B1) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Xiao, et al. (US 20200353832 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Conklin in view of Fieldman teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
the stream rendered on the first electronic device for detection of predefined objects of interest in one or more frames of the stream; (Fieldman; column 29, lines 28-32 and fig 16A; “FIG. 16A shows an example of the second user viewing the assessment record of the first user from a first-person perspective. It will be appreciated that the second user is “looking through the eyes” of the first user in a replay-type viewing of the first user's recorded assessment experience.”, the first user is the executor and the second user is the instructor)
wherein execution of the command requires at least one of overlaying an instruction element on the feed or managing a functionality of the second electronic device; and (Fieldman; column 38, lines 22-24; “and at step 2360 functionalities, such as software process(es) and modules, are triggered to initiate and/or facilitate administration of an assessment module.”)
control the second electronic device for enabling execution of the command, wherein the second electronic device is controlled to direct the executor to follow an instruction as indicated in the instruction element or manage the functionality for execution of the command. (Fieldman; column 38, lines 22-24; “and at step 2360 functionalities, such as software process(es) and modules, are triggered to initiate and/or facilitate administration of an assessment module.”)
However, Conklin in view of Fieldman fails to explicitly teach applying a machine learning model on a stream to detect objects.
receive a command based on an output of the machine learning model,
Xiao teaches applying a machine learning model on a stream to detect objects. (spec [0045] and figs 1 and 4, components 110, 400, 402 and 407; “Driving assistance system 400 includes a deep neural network (DNN) that includes a front-end convolutional neural network (CNN) 402 to detect a designated object from sensor data, e.g., image data, coupled sequentially to a back-end recurrent neural network (RNN) to track the designated object and to output commands 407 including steering commands, braking commands, transmission commands, switching-off motor commands, etc. Each of these commands can be forwarded to respective subsystems of vehicle 110 to control their respective functions, e.g., braking, powertrain and steering. For one example, steering control system 105 can receive steering commands from RNN 406 to output steering signals such as forward, backward, stop, velocity, yaw direction, yaw velocity, etc. to steering subsystems of vehicle 110 to perform respective functions in order to autonomously steer or maneuver vehicle 110 to a designated object for coupling, e.g., wireless charging pad.”, the driving assistance system will function as the first electronic device and the vehicle will function as the second electronic device)
receive a command based on an output of the machine learning model, (spec [0045] and figs 1 and 4, components 110, 400, 402 and 407; “Driving assistance system 400 includes a deep neural network (DNN) that includes a front-end convolutional neural network (CNN) 402 to detect a designated object from sensor data, e.g., image data, coupled sequentially to a back-end recurrent neural network (RNN) to track the designated object and to output commands 407 including steering commands, braking commands, transmission commands, switching-off motor commands, etc. Each of these commands can be forwarded to respective subsystems of vehicle 110 to control their respective functions, e.g., braking, powertrain and steering. For one example, steering control system 105 can receive steering commands from RNN 406 to output steering signals such as forward, backward, stop, velocity, yaw direction, yaw velocity, etc. to steering subsystems of vehicle 110 to perform respective functions in order to autonomously steer or maneuver vehicle 110 to a designated object for coupling, e.g., wireless charging pad.”, the driving assistance system will function as the first electronic device and the vehicle will function as the second electronic device)
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system according to known methods to predictably yield a method involving a connection between an instructor and an executor, wherein the instructor sees what the executor is doing, because Conklin’s computer system and Fieldman’s XR system both are similar to a concept of an instructor and an executor who are connected to each other. The method using Conklin’s computer system with Fieldman’s XR system can be combined with Xiao’s neural network to predicably yield commands using machine learning. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to automate creating commands.
Conclusion
/IRVING NMN SHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/TAMMY GODDARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611