Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner has incorporated Kaloroumakis US 2016/0149943 to meet the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson US 2021/0160275 in view of Weith US 2017/0359220 in view of Kaloroumakis US 2016/0149943.
As per claim 1, Anderson teaches A system comprising: a processor configured to: detect a file payload in a monitored session at a security platform;
Anderson teaches proxy a portion of the monitored session to assemble the file payload using an external processing unit; [0040][0050][0051] (teaches a traffic exporter such as a router or firewall)
Anderson teaches send the assembled file payload to a plurality of cloud-based security services for analysis based on a security policy; [0032][0040][0050][0051][0052][0057] (teaches network traffic analysis by exporting data to the cloud for a traffic analysis service)
Anderson teaches and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0053] (mitigation actions including blocking or dropping traffic)
Anderson teaches filter policies for selection of traffic data for analysis.
Weith supplementally teaches perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0025]-[0028] [0031][0039] (teaches security policy data and policies for security data analysis, and mitigation actions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it more clearly articulates flexible and configurable security policies.
Kaloroumakis teaches wherein the file payload includes a file type wherein the file type includes
platform, wherein the file payload includes a file type, wherein the file type includes one or more
of the following: JavaScript (JS) files, Windows Portable Executable (PE), and/or
Word/Portable Document Format (PDF) documents, wherein the file type includes a first
file type, a second file type, or a first and second file types; wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services includes a first cloud-based security service and a second cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the first file type, send the file payload to the first cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the second file type, send the file type to the second cloud-based security service; and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis. [0030][0032][0045][0048] [0050][0051][0055][0059] (teaches a “cloud network” of classification sensors including “file analyzers”; where the file analyzer determines which service based on content and metadata to use/subscribes; including PDF/JAR/PE32/MS Word file types; teaches that some files may only use certain security services, such as PE Scanner for PS32 file type; getting results of security services; tagged as potentially malicious and performing remedial action; quarantine, deletion, alerting user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current invention to use the teaching of Kaloroumakis with the prior art because it improves security. [0008][0009]
As per claim 2, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located in a cloud network of a security service provider. [0051] (teaches cloud service)
As per claim 3, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located on-premises of an enterprise customer. [0051] (teaches could be on local network)
Weith teaches the network is an enterprise network [0026][0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective security for companies.
As per claim 4, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis on the assembled file payload. [0052] (multiple security analysis, exfiltration, malware, audit)
Weith additionally teaches a plurality of distinct types of security analysis [0027][0028] (malware, spam, content filter, data leakage/exfiltration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides more comprehensive security.
As per claim 6, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson teaches wherein the performing of the remedial action comprises to: block the assembled file payload to prevent the assembled file payload from being sent to an original destination. [0053] (mitigation actions including blocking or dropping traffic)
Weith supplementally teaches preventing payload from being sent to an original destination [0028] [0118](deny distribution)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective and user friendly security.
As per claim 7, The system recited in claim 1, Weith teaches wherein the performing of the remedial action comprises to: allow the assembled file payload to be sent to an original destination. [0028] (allows distribution of the file payload)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective and user friendly security.
As per claim 8, The system recited in claim 1, Weith teaches wherein the performing of the remedial action comprises to: send a modified version of the assembled file payload to an original destination. [0028] (distributing a cleaned version of the file payload)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective and user friendly security.
As per claim 11, Anderson teaches a method, comprising: detecting a file payload in a monitored session at a security platform; and proxy a portion of the monitored session to assemble the file payload using an external processing unit; [0040][0050][0051] (teaches a traffic exporter such as a router or firewall)
Anderson teaches send the assembled file payload to a plurality of cloud-based security services for analysis based on a security policy; [0032][0040][0050][0051][0052][0057] (teaches network traffic analysis by exporting data to the cloud for a traffic analysis service)
Anderson teaches and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0053] (mitigation actions including blocking or dropping traffic)
Anderson teaches filter policies for selection of traffic data for analysis.
Weith supplementally teaches perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0025]-[0028] [0031][0039] (teaches security policy data and policies for security data analysis, and mitigation actions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it more clearly articulates flexible and configurable security policies.
Kaloroumakis teaches wherein the file payload includes a file type wherein the file type includes
platform, wherein the file payload includes a file type, wherein the file type includes one or more
of the following: JavaScript (JS) files, Windows Portable Executable (PE), and/or
Word/Portable Document Format (PDF) documents, wherein the file type includes a first
file type, a second file type, or a first and second file types; wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services includes a first cloud-based security service and a second cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the first file type, send the file payload to the first cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the second file type, send the file type to the second cloud-based security service; and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis. [0030][0032][0045][0048] [0050][0051][0055][0059] (teaches a “cloud network” of classification sensors including “file analyzers”; where the file analyzer determines which service based on content and metadata to use/subscribes; including PDF/JAR/PE32/MS Word file types; teaches that some files may only use certain security services, such as PE Scanner for PS32 file type; getting results of security services; tagged as potentially malicious and performing remedial action; quarantine, deletion, alerting user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current invention to use the teaching of Kaloroumakis with the prior art because it improves security. [0008][0009]
As per claim 12, The method of claim 11, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located in a cloud network of a security service provider. [0051] (teaches cloud service)
As per claim 13, The method of claim 11, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located on-premises of an enterprise customer. [0051] (teaches could be on local network)
Weith teaches the network is an enterprise network [0026][0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective security for companies.
As per claim 14, The method of claim 11, Anderson teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis on the assembled file payload.
[0052] (multiple security analysis, exfiltration, malware, audit)
Weith additionally teaches a plurality of distinct types of security analysis [0027][0028] (malware, spam, content filter, data leakage/exfiltration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides more comprehensive security.
As per claim 16, Anderson teaches A computer program product, the computer program product being embodied in a tangible non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for: detecting a file payload in a monitored session at a security platform; and proxy a portion of the monitored session to assemble the file payload using an external processing unit; [0040][0050][0051] (teaches a traffic exporter such as a router or firewall)
Anderson teaches send the assembled file payload to a plurality of cloud-based security services for analysis based on a security policy; [0032][0040][0050][0051][0052][0057] (teaches network traffic analysis by exporting data to the cloud for a traffic analysis service)
Anderson teaches and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0053] (mitigation actions including blocking or dropping traffic)
Anderson teaches filter policies for selection of traffic data for analysis.
Weith supplementally teaches perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis and based on the security policy; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0025]-[0028] [0031][0039] (teaches security policy data and policies for security data analysis, and mitigation actions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it more clearly articulates flexible and configurable security policies.
Kaloroumakis teaches wherein the file payload includes a file type wherein the file type includes
platform, wherein the file payload includes a file type, wherein the file type includes one or more
of the following: JavaScript (JS) files, Windows Portable Executable (PE), and/or
Word/Portable Document Format (PDF) documents, wherein the file type includes a first
file type, a second file type, or a first and second file types; wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services includes a first cloud-based security service and a second cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the first file type, send the file payload to the first cloud-based security service, wherein in the event that the file type corresponds to the second file type, send the file type to the second cloud-based security service; and perform a remedial action based on results of the analysis. [0030][0032][0045][0048] [0050][0051][0055][0059] (teaches a “cloud network” of classification sensors including “file analyzers”; where the file analyzer determines which service based on content and metadata to use/subscribes; including PDF/JAR/PE32/MS Word file types; teaches that some files may only use certain security services, such as PE Scanner for PS32 file type; getting results of security services; tagged as potentially malicious and performing remedial action; quarantine, deletion, alerting user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current invention to use the teaching of Kaloroumakis with the prior art because it improves security. [0008][0009]
As per claim 17, The computer program product recited in claim 16, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located in a cloud network of a security service provider. [0051] (teaches cloud service)
As per claim 18, The computer program product recited in claim 16, Anderson teaches wherein the external processing unit is located on-premises of an enterprise customer. [0051] (teaches could be on local network)
Weith teaches the network is an enterprise network [0026][0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides effective security for companies.
As per claim 19, The computer program product recited in claim 16, Anderson teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis on the assembled file payload. [0052] (multiple security analysis, exfiltration, malware, audit)
Weith additionally teaches a plurality of distinct types of security analysis [0027][0028] (malware, spam, content filter, data leakage/exfiltration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Weith with the prior art because it provides more comprehensive security.
Claim(s) 5, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson US 2021/0160275 in view of Weith US 2017/0359220 in view of Harris US 2010/0083380
As per claim 5, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson and Weith fail to teach the following:
Harris teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis in parallel on the assembled file payload. [0063] (parallel distinct security analysis operations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Harris with the prior art because it is more efficient for security.
As per claim 15, The method of claim 11, Anderson and Weith fail to teach the following:
Harris teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis in parallel on the assembled file payload. [0063] (parallel distinct security analysis operations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Harris with the prior art because it is more efficient for security.
As per claim 20, The computer program product recited in claim 16, Anderson and Weith fail to teach the following:
Harris teaches wherein the plurality of cloud-based security services perform a plurality of distinct types of security analysis in parallel on the assembled file payload.
[0063] (parallel distinct security analysis operations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Harris with the prior art because it is more efficient for security.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson US 2021/0160275 in view of Weith US 2017/0359220 in view of Rowett US 2005/0216770.
As per claim 9, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson and Weith fail to teach the following:
Rowett teaches wherein the performing of the remedial action comprises to: send a modified version of the assembled file payload to an original destination, wherein the modified version of the assembled file payload includes an added watermark. [0174] (teaches adding a watermark to content/files after processing by intrusion detection system)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Rowett with the prior art because it more clearly informs the user of security procedures.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson US 2021/0160275 in view of Weith US 2017/0359220 in view of Ward US 2011/0252474
As per claim 10, The system recited in claim 1, Anderson and Weith fail to teach the following:
Ward teaches wherein performing of the remedial action comprises to: send an encrypted version of the assembled file payload to an original destination. [0040] (teaches sending an encrypted file to target)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Ward with the prior art because it protects the recipient from malware.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439