Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard to proper grammatical form. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “gathered on one side in a width direction of the developer flow path”. The term “width direction” is a relational term that must be tied to some structure or orientation to be given definite meaning. It is unclear whether width direction is referring to the width of the flow path (left-right direction) as viewed in , for example, fig.13 and 17; or if it means the width direction of the path cross section when viewed along a conveyor shaft direction. As such, the Office is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 introduces “an upstream-side transport portion” (USTP for discussion herein) and “a downstream-side transport portion” (DSTP). It is unclear from the wording of claim 7 and the specification if the USTP and the DSTP are portions of one contiguous shaft/screw or entirely separate shafts/screws. The dependent claims and specification do not particularly clarify this issue as it appears in some sections to mean the former and in other to mean the latter. The dependent claims do not clarify this point as they appear to reference entirely different sections of the invention. As a result, the Office is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: by what structure, method or means the transport speeds are controlled differently. This issue is exacerbated by the lack of clarity in claim 7 which makes it unclear if the two portions are on a shared shaft or different shafts.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
Claim 11 sets forth that “each of the upstream-side transport portion and the downstream-side transport portion transports a developer by rotating about a rotary shaft” and then recites differing rotational speeds. It is unclear how the two can rotate at different speeds while rotating about the same rotary shaft. Some manner of structural relationship or means to allow this claim to be clear appears to be omitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021).
Regarding claim 1, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: an image carrier (fig.1&2, inside #32 and #100, respectively, drum not shown; para.0039); a developing device that applies a developer to the image carrier (fig.2&3, #400 via #420; para.0052); and a supplying device that supplies a developer to the developing device, the supplying device having a developer flow path (see fig.16) along which a developer that moves toward the developing device passes, the supplying device being configured such that a gas that has flowed from the developing device to the supplying device passes along the developer flow path toward an upstream side in a movement direction of a developer (see fig.16, #AFP direction).
Regarding claim 2, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the developer flow path is provided so as to extend in a direction intersecting a vertical direction (fig.16, #TFP extends horizontally along #450), wherein a transport portion that transports a developer to a downstream side by rotating about a rotary shaft provided along the developer flow path is provided in the developer flow path (fig.16, #430), and wherein, in a cross-section of the developer flow path, an area of an upper side portion of an inner side region that is a region on an inner side of an inner peripheral surface of the developer flow path is larger than an area of a lower side portion of the inner side region (fig.16, in the area of #454, the upper portion is larger than the lower portion projecting toward indicator #480), the upper side portion being a portion located on an upper side of a horizontal line extending along the cross-section and passing through a rotation center of the transport portion, the lower side portion being a portion located on a lower side of the horizontal line (see fig.16).
Regarding claim 3, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, in the cross-section of the developer flow path, part of a portion of the inner peripheral surface of the developer flow path, the portion being located on the upper side of the horizontal line, protrudes in a direction away from the rotation center (fig.16, see portion of upper part of #454 projecting up toward indicator #480).
Regarding claim 4, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, in the developer flow path, a developer is transported in a state of being gathered on one side in a width direction of the developer flow path (fig.16, gathers under #456 in bottom portion #454), and wherein, in the cross-section of the developer flow path, part of the inner peripheral surface of the developer flow path, the part being located on another side in the width direction of the developer flow path and being located on the upper side of the horizontal line, protrudes in a direction away from the rotation center (fig.5, part of path projecting toward #456).
Regarding claim 5, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus wherein a transport portion that transports a developer to a downstream side by rotating about a rotary shaft (fig.16, #434) provided along the developer flow path is provided in the developer flow path (fig.5, inside #502; fig.16, #430), and wherein a first gap and a second gap that differs from the first gap in terms of position in a rotation direction of the transport portion and that is larger than the first gap are provided between an outer peripheral portion of the transport portion and an inner peripheral surface of the developer flow path (fig.5, see gap from conveyor to #456 vs. gap from conveyor to lower 2/3s of the path wall).
Regarding claim 6, Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2015/0220021) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the developer flow path is provided so as to extend in a direction intersecting a vertical direction (fig.16, #TFP extends horizontally along #450), and wherein the second gap that is a larger gap is located above a rotation center of the transport portion, and the first gap that is a smaller gap is located below the rotation center of the transport portion (fig.5&16, gap at #454 projecting toward #456 and area near #480 is located above, lower gap is below #434).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) in view of Ariizumi et al. (US Pub.2018/0335722).
Regarding claim 7, Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: an image carrier (fig.1, #2); a developing device that applies a developer to the image carrier (fig.1, #4); and a supplying device that supplies a developer to the developing device (fig.1, #7), the supplying device having a developer flow path (fig.2&3, #7 having #44 in #8) along which a developer that moves toward the developing device passes (fig.8, arrows along #43), the supplying device including a transport portion that is provided in the developer flow path and that transports a developer in the developer flow path to a downstream side (see fig.3&8, #43a1 transporting along #B1), the supplying device being configured such that a gas that has flowed from the developing device to the supplying device passes along the developer flow path toward an upstream side in a transport direction of a developer (fig.8, see #E1), wherein, as the transport portion, an upstream-side transport portion and a downstream-side transport portion are provided (fig.3, #43a1 and #43a2, respectively), the upstream-side transport portion being located on the upstream side in the transport direction of a developer (fig.3, see location of #43a1 relative to #B1 direction), the downstream-side transport portion being located on the downstream side of the upstream-side transport portion in the transport direction (fig.3, see location of #43a2 relative to #B1 direction).
Regarding claim 8, Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) teach an image forming apparatus wherein a gas flow path along which the gas that has passed along the developer flow path toward the upstream side in the transport direction of a developer passes is further provided (fig.8, see path of #E1), the gas flow path being provided so as to branch from the developer flow path (fig.8, through #45d), the gas flow path branching on the downstream side of the upstream-side transport portion in the transport direction of a developer and on the upstream side of a downstream-side end portion in the transport direction of a developer (fig.8, see location of #45d relative to #43a1 and #43a2, see also fig.3), the downstream-side end portion being an end portion of the downstream-side transport portion and being an end portion located on the downstream side in the transport direction of a developer (fig.8, see structure relative to fig.3 direction #B1).
Regarding claim 9, Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) teach an image forming apparatus wherein, at a portion where the upstream-side transport portion is provided, an entirety of a cross-section of the developer flow path is filled with a developer (fig.8, near #45d0 some developer may flow up and out as well indicating full, additionally upstream of #44b the developer fills the path), and wherein, on the downstream side of the portion, where the upstream-side transport portion is provided and where the entirety of the cross-section of the developer flow path is filled with a developer, in the transport direction of a developer, the gas flow path branches from the developer flow path (fig.8, at #45d, #E1 branches from large arrow and main developer flow path along #43).
However, Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) is silent as to the transporting capacity of the upstream and downstream-side transport portions.
Regarding claim 7, Ariizumi et al. (US Pub.2018/0335722) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) with a transport portion in a developer flow path (fig.3, #14 in #12) wherein, as the transport portion, an upstream-side transport portion (fig.3&4, #14b) and a downstream-side transport portion (fig.3&4, #14c) are provided, the upstream-side transport portion being located on the upstream side in the transport direction of a developer, the downstream-side transport portion being located on the downstream side of the upstream-side transport portion in the transport direction (see fig.3, relative to direction #R5), the downstream-side transport portion having a developer transporting capacity larger than a developer transporting capacity of the upstream-side transport portion (para.0043&0045 and see relation in fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the unexplained downstream-side transport portion of Kita et al. (US Pub.2020/0166872) by using the relational configuration that has a larger transport capacity as in Ariizumi et al. (US Pub.2018/0335722) in order to enhance and maintain the flow of developer through the port (para.0047).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Currently no art is presented due to the language concerning speed differences; however, no distinctly allowable subject matter can be pointed to with the current state of the claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US Pub.2020/0192247) disclose a developer transport apparatus that has an air flow path that branches from a developer delivery path.
Leemhuis et al. (US Pub.2013/0170863) is comparable to the primary reference cited above.
Contact Information
/LKR/
1/6/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852