DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with the benefit of a prior-filed application with the priority of September 30, 2022 for PCT/CN2022/123344.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant(s) are reminded that optional or conditional elements do not narrow the claims because they can always be omitted. See e.g. MPEP §2106 II C: "Language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [Emphasis in original.]"; and In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006) "As a matter of linguistic precision, optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted." In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006)(where the Federal Circuit affirmed the Board's claim construction of "further including that said wall may be smooth, corrugated, or profiled with increased dimensional proportions as pipe size is increased" since "this additional content did not narrow the scope of the claim because these limitations are stated in the permissive form 'may.'").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0187990). Hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a communications apparatus (network function, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the communications apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element (network function implementing at least a part of AMF (access and mobility and management function), Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]) and the communications apparatus comprises a processor and a memory (the network function implementing at least a part of base station includes processing circuitry (PC) that includes one or more processors, and local storage unit, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (the PC includes a programmable processor, and a computer program product (CPP) that includes a computer readable medium (CRM) storing a computer program (CP) comprising computer readable instructions (CRI), Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of (the CRI of computer program is configured such that when executed by PC, the CRI causes network function to perform steps described herein, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]):
transmitting first information to a first network device (the AMF transmits message including information regarding eDRX mode (“Paging eDRX information”) for NR UEs and/or Red Cap NR UEs via NG Application Protocol (NGAP), where the NGAP message including the Paging eDRX information is a NGAP paging message, an Initial Context Setup Request message, a Handover Request message, a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message, and UE context modification message, paragraphs [0059], [0060]), wherein the first information indicates whether a first terminal device supports a first capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving and the UE is NR RedCap UE).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the transmitting first information to a first network device comprises:
transmitting the first information to the first network device by using an initial context setup request message or a second paging message (the AMF transmits message including information regarding eDRX mode (“Paging eDRX information”) for NR UEs and/or Red Cap NR UEs via NG Application Protocol (NGAP), where the NGAP message including the Paging eDRX information is a NGAP paging message, an Initial Context Setup Request message, a Handover Request message, a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message, and UE context modification message, paragraphs [0059], [0060], [0062]), wherein the initial context setup request message or the second paging message comprises a first information element (IE), the first information is carried in the first IE, and the first IE is a user equipment (UE) radio paging information IE (the AMF transmits the Paging eDRX information to the BS in the case where the NGAP message is one of an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the list of information elements included in the Initial Context Setup Request includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 3, paragraphs [0062], [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the first capability comprises at least one of following:
a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and/or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a PDSCH and/or a PUSCH, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, or a network energy saving capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving (i.e. network energy saving) and the UE is NR RedCap UE).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the communications apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of:
receiving second information transmitted by a third network device by using a UE radio capability info indication message (the first network function receives a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs from a second network function, where the first network function is a non-anchor gNB, the second network function is an anchor gNB, the received message is a gNB paging message, and triggered by downlink signaling and data, the anchor gNB transmitted the gNB paging message toward the non-anchor gNB via Xn interface, paragraphs [0099], [0104]), wherein the second information indicates whether the first terminal device supports the first capability (the first network function receives a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs from a second network function, where the first network function is a non-anchor gNB, the second network function is an anchor gNB, the received message is a gNB paging message, and triggered by downlink signaling and data, the anchor gNB transmitted the gNB paging message toward the non-anchor gNB via Xn interface, paragraphs [0099], [0104]; the first capability of the UE is power saving (i.e. network energy saving) and the UE is NR RedCap UE),
wherein the UE radio capability info indication message comprises a second information element IE, the second information is carried in the second IE, and the second IE is a UE radio paging information IE (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0187990), and further in view of Wei Bao (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0163841). Hereinafter Chen and Bao.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a communications apparatus (network function, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the communications apparatus is a first network device (network function implementing at least a part of base station, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]) and the communications apparatus comprises a processor and a memory (the network function implementing at least a part of base station includes processing circuitry (PC) that includes one or more processors, and local storage unit, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (the PC includes a programmable processor, and a computer program product (CPP) that includes a computer readable medium (CRM) storing a computer program (CP) comprising computer readable instructions (CRI), Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of (the CRI of computer program is configured such that when executed by PC, the CRI causes network function to perform steps described herein, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]):
receiving first information or third information (the AMF transmits message including information regarding eDRX mode (“Paging eDRX information”) for NR UEs and/or Red Cap NR UEs via NG Application Protocol (NGAP), where the NGAP message including the Paging eDRX information is a NGAP paging message, an Initial Context Setup Request message, a Handover Request message, a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message, and UE context modification message, paragraphs [0059], [0060]),
wherein the first information indicates whether a first terminal device supports a first capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving and the UE is NR RedCap UE);
wherein the third information is transmitted by a second network device (the first network function receives a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs from a second network function, where the first network function is a non-anchor gNB, the second network function is an anchor gNB, the received message is a gNB paging message, and triggered by downlink signaling and data, the anchor gNB transmitted the gNB paging message toward the non-anchor gNB via Xn interface, paragraphs [0099], [0104]).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose “the third information indicates any one of following: whether the second network device allows access by a terminal device that supports a first capability, whether the second network device supports a terminal device that supports the first capability, whether the second network device allows access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, or whether the second network device supports a terminal device that does not support the first capability.”
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for the motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the receiving first information comprises:
receiving the first information transmitted by an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element by using an initial context setup request message or a second paging message (the AMF transmits message including information regarding eDRX mode (“Paging eDRX information”) for NR UEs and/or Red Cap NR UEs via NG Application Protocol (NGAP), where the NGAP message including the Paging eDRX information is a NGAP paging message, an Initial Context Setup Request message, a Handover Request message, a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message, and UE context modification message, paragraphs [0059], [0060], [0062]), wherein the initial context setup request message or the second paging message comprises a first information element (IE), the first information is carried in the first IE, and the first IE is a user equipment (UE) radio paging information IE (the AMF transmits the Paging eDRX information to the BS in the case where the NGAP message is one of an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the list of information elements included in the Initial Context Setup Request includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 3, paragraphs [0062], [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the receiving first information comprises:
receiving the first information transmitted by a second network device by using a third paging message (the first network function receives a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs from a second network function, where the first network function is a non-anchor gNB, the second network function is an anchor gNB, the received message is a gNB paging message, and triggered by downlink signaling and data, the anchor gNB transmitted the gNB paging message toward the non-anchor gNB via Xn interface, paragraphs [0099], [0104]), wherein the third paging message comprises a first IE, the first information is carried in the first IE, and the first IE is a UE radio paging information IE (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the first capability comprises at least one of following:
a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and/or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a PDSCH and/or a PUSCH, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, or a network energy saving capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving (i.e. network energy saving) and the UE is NR RedCap UE).
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of:
determining a paging policy based on the first information (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes Paging Priority in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 5, but Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining a paging policy based on the first information comprises:
determining, based on the first information and whether the first network device allows access by a terminal device that supports the first capability, whether to transmit a first paging message for the first terminal device.
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for transmitting the paging message. The motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 6, but Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining, based on the first information and whether the first network device allows access by a terminal device that supports the first capability, whether to transmit a first paging message for the first terminal device comprises:
if the first terminal device supports the first capability and the first network device does not allow access by a terminal device that supports the first capability, determining not to transmit the first paging message for the first terminal device; or
if the first terminal device supports the first capability and the first network device allows access by a terminal device that supports the first capability, determining to transmit the first paging message for the first terminal device.
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for transmitting the paging message. The motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 5, but Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining a paging policy based on the first information comprises:
determining, based on the first information and whether the first network device allows access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, whether to transmit a first paging message for the first terminal device.
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for transmitting the paging message. The motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 8, but Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining, based on the first information and whether the first network device allows access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, whether to transmit a first paging message for the first terminal device comprises:
if the first terminal device does not support the first capability and the first network device does not allow access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, determining not to transmit the first paging message for the first terminal device; or
if the first terminal device does not support the first capability and the first network device allows access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, determining to transmit the first paging message for the first terminal device.
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for transmitting the paging message. The motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the receiving third information comprises:
receiving the third information transmitted by the second network device by using at least one of following messages:
an Xn setup request message, an Xn setup response message, or an access network node configuration update message (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]),
wherein the message comprises a serving cell information IE, and the third information is carried in a broadcast information IE for a reduced capability terminal that is comprised in the serving cell information IE (the paging message includes Paging Cell List and Paging Cell Item IEs in Table 8, paragraphs [0074] – [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 1, Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of:
determining, based on the third information, a proper target cell for a second terminal device in a handover and paging process (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is a Handover Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 11, but Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second terminal device supports the first capability, or the second terminal device does not support the first capability.
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for transmitting the paging message. The motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses a communications apparatus (network function, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the communications apparatus is a second network device (network function implementing at least a part of BS or AMF, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]) and the communications apparatus comprises a processor and a memory (the network function implementing at least a part of base station includes processing circuitry (PC) that includes one or more processors, and local storage unit, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (the PC includes a programmable processor, and a computer program product (CPP) that includes a computer readable medium (CRM) storing a computer program (CP) comprising computer readable instructions (CRI), Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform a method of (the CRI of computer program is configured such that when executed by PC, the CRI causes network function to perform steps described herein, Fig. 12, paragraph [0106]):
transmitting first information or third information to a first network device (the AMF transmits message including information regarding eDRX mode (“Paging eDRX information”) for NR UEs and/or Red Cap NR UEs via NG Application Protocol (NGAP), where the NGAP message including the Paging eDRX information is a NGAP paging message, an Initial Context Setup Request message, a Handover Request message, a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message, and UE context modification message, paragraphs [0059], [0060]),
wherein the first information indicates whether a first terminal device supports a first capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving and the UE is NR RedCap UE).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the third information indicates any one of following: whether the second network device allows access by a terminal device that supports a first capability, whether the second network device supports a terminal device that supports the first capability, whether the second network device allows access by a terminal device that does not support the first capability, or whether the second network device supports a terminal device that does not support the first capability.”
Bao discloses a first radio access network device sends third information to a core network device and/or a second radio access network device (such as an anchor base station), where the third information indicates a terminal type of a terminal that the first radio access network device forbids or allows to camp, and the first radio access network device indicates that the terminal type supported by the first radio access network device is a RedCap terminal, but the terminal type of the paged terminal that is indicated by the core network device or the second radio access network device to the first radio access network device is a 1rx RedCap terminal (paragraphs [0094], [0169]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Bao before him or her, to incorporate the radio access network device forbids or allows to camp based on the terminal type as taught by Bao, to improve the network function of Chen for the motivation of avoiding unnecessary power consumption caused by wake-up of a non-paged terminal by the paging message (paragraph [0092] of Bao).
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 17, Chen discloses wherein the transmitting first information to a first network device comprises:
transmitting the first information to the first network device by using a third paging message (the first network function receives a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs from a second network function, where the first network function is a non-anchor gNB, the second network function is an anchor gNB, the received message is a gNB paging message, and triggered by downlink signaling and data, the anchor gNB transmitted the gNB paging message toward the non-anchor gNB via Xn interface, paragraphs [0099], [0104]), wherein the third paging message comprises a first information element (IE), the first information is carried in the first IE, and the first IE is a user equipment (UE) radio paging information IE (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 17, Chen discloses wherein the first capability comprises at least one of following:
a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and/or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability for a PDSCH and/or a PUSCH, having only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, a RedCap terminal that has only a 5 MHz baseband bandwidth capability, or a network energy saving capability (the first network function (e.g. AMF) transmits a message including power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs to a second network function (e.g. gNB), where the message is an Initial Context Setup Request message, where the power saving information is used for transmitting a paging message towards a UE from the second network function, paragraphs [0095] – [0098]; the first capability of the UE is power saving (i.e. network energy saving) and the UE is NR RedCap UE).
Regarding claim 20, Chen and Bao disclose the communications apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the transmitting third information to a first network device comprises:
transmitting the third information to the first network device by using at least one of following messages:
an Xn setup request message, an Xn setup response message, or an access network node configuration update message (the anchor gNB formulates RAN paging message that includes the Paging eDRX Information and transmit the RAN paging message(s) to other non-anchor gNB(s) via XnAP interface in the case that RAN paging area covers multiple gNBs, where the list of information elements included in the RAN paging message includes UE Radio Capability for Paging in Table 9, paragraphs [0076] – [0078]),
wherein the message comprises a serving cell information IE, and the third information is carried in a broadcast information IE for a reduced capability terminal that is comprised in the serving cell information IE (the paging message includes Paging Cell List and Paging Cell Item IEs in Table 8, paragraphs [0074] – [0075]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alireza BABAEI (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0235339) – the wireless device transmits measurement information comprising first information associated with a first cell of a second base station to the first base station and based on the measurement configuration parameters, receives an RRC reconfiguration message comprising configuration parameters of the first cell from the first base station, based on: an indication from the first base station to the second base station that the wireless device is of the first type, and wireless devices of the first type being admitted by the second base station, and transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating successful completion of an RRC connection reconfiguration to the second base station
XIN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0417811) – the network device determines that a type of a first terminal device is a first type, sends a handover request message that includes first indication information including identifier information of the first type, and receives a handover acknowledgment message or a handover preparation failure message
Soenghun KIM (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0121457) – monitoring paging includes receiving a first message including first paging cycle and second paging cycle from the AMF, receiving a second message including third paging cycle and fourth paging cycle from the base station, receiving a system information including an information related to the support of extended DRX, determining a reference DRX cycle, monitoring paging occasion based on the reference DRX cycle and receiving a paging
KHLASS et al (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0274926) – receiving information indicating a bandwidth supported by a user device, and transmitting a message based on the bandwidth supported by the user device to the user device
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468