DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/05/2024 and 05/05/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12183359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of US 12183359 are narrower and anticipated all recited limitations in claims 1-20 of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12183359 in view of Liu (US 20220310107 A1).
Regarding claims 1-13: claims 1, 3-13, and 16 of US 12183359 teach most of recited limitations of claims 1-13 of the instant application accept the beam former is the a minimum variance distortionless response (MVDR) beamformer.
Liu teaches a wind noise reduction system comprising:
a beamformer configured to generate a beamformed signal based on a first microphone signal and a second microphone signal (Fig. 1: Mic 1-140, Mic 2 -142, MVDR beamformer 110, and beamformer signal 128);
a wind detector configured to generate a wind detection signal (Fig. 2: Wind detector 114); and
a voice mixer configured to generate an output voice signal based on the beamformed signal, a wind microphone signal, and the wind detection signal (Fig. 1: beamformer signal 128, wind microphone signal 120, Voice mixer 124, and output voice signal 126);
wherein the beamformer is a minimum variance distortionless response (MVDR) beamformer (Fig. 1: MVDR beamformer 110).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Walters’ beamformer with Liu’s MVDR beamformer. The motivation is to provide the better voice beamformer which is the MVDR beamformer that reserves voice signal and cancel most of noise signal.
Regarding claims 14-20: claims 2-7 and 12 of US 12183359 in view of Liu teach the corresponding wind noise reduction system that also support these corresponding method recited in claims 14-20 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 20: these claims recited “a high pass filter configured to filter the beamformed signal prior to the beamformed signal being received by the dynamic voice mixer” and “the beamformed signal is filtered by a high pass filter prior to the beamformed signal being received by the dynamic voice mixer”.
However, the Specification only disclosures only wind microphone signal is filtered by a high-pass filter but not beamformed signal is filtered by a high-pass filter (Fig. 6-7 and para [0050]). There is no description is provided by the Specification for the claimed “a high pass filter configured to filter the beamformed signal prior to the beamformed signal being received by the dynamic voice mixer” and “the beamformed signal is filtered by a high pass filter prior to the beamformed signal being received by the dynamic voice mixer”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters et al. (US 20120253798 A1 – Cited IDS) in view of Liu (US 20220310107 A1 – Cited IDS).
Regarding claim 1: Walters teaches a wind noise reduction system (Fig. 1: In-ear headset 10 and para [0002]-[0003]) comprising:
a beamformer configured to generate a beamformed signal based on a first microphone signal and a second microphone signal (Fig. 2: microphone(s) 104 and para [0029] and [0030]: inherently microphone(s) 104 in combination with a beamformer imply that microphones 104 including at least two microphones);
a comparator configured to generate a comparison signal based on the beamformed signal and a wind microphone signal (Fig. 2: Wind microphone signal 108/118, beamformed signal 110/120, and Adaptive filter 122; para [0005], [0017], [0029], and [0030]: disclosing wind microphone signal 108 and beamformed signal 110; and para [0019], [0021], and [0022]: disclosing Adaptive filter 122 working as a comparator to produce comparator signal alpha); and
a dynamic voice mixer configured to generate an output voice signal based on the beamformed signal, the wind microphone signal, and the comparison signal (Fig. 2: scaling blocks 124 and 126 in combination with Summer 132 reads on the claimed Dynamic voice mixer; and para [0018] and [0022]: since filter or comparator 122 is an adaptive filter, the voice mixer is a dynamic voice mixer).
Walters teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1 but does not teach the beamformer is a minimum variance distortionless response (MVDR) beamformer.
Liu teaches a wind noise reduction system comprising:
a beamformer configured to generate a beamformed signal based on a first microphone signal and a second microphone signal (Fig. 1: Mic 1-140, Mic 2 -142, MVDR beamformer 110, and beamformer signal 128);
a wind detector configured to generate a wind detection signal (Fig. 2: Wind detector 114); and
a voice mixer configured to generate an output voice signal based on the beamformed signal, a wind microphone signal, and the wind detection signal (Fig. 1: beamformer signal 128, wind microphone signal 120, Voice mixer 124, and output voice signal 126);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Walters’ beamformer with Liu’s MVDR beamformer. The motivation is to provide the better voice beamformer which is the MVDR beamformer that reserves voice signal and cancel most of noise signal.
Regarding claim 2: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, wherein the comparison signal is further based on a beamformed energy level of the beamformed signal and a wind energy level of the wind microphone signal (Walters’ para [0021]).
Regarding claim 3: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, wherein the output voice signal is a blend of the beamformed signal and the wind microphone signal (Walters’ para [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 4: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 3, wherein a ratio of the wind microphone signal to the beamformed signal in the output voice signal corresponds to the comparison signal (Walters’ para [0018]-[0020]: scaling factor alpha and (1-alpha) calculated by filter 122 represent the ratio of the wind microphone signal to the beamformed signal in the output voice signal).
Regarding claim 5: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 4, wherein the ratio of the wind microphone signal to the beamformed signal in the output voice signal is frequency dependent (Walters’ para [0006], [0026], and [0027]).
Regarding claim 7: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, further comprising: a first microphone corresponding to the first microphone signal; a second microphone corresponding to the second microphone signal; and a wind microphone corresponding to the wind microphone signal (Walters’ Fig. 2: wind microphone 102 and microphone(s) 104; and para [0029] and [0030]: inherently disclosing microphone(s) 104 in combination with a beamformer imply that microphones 104 including at least two microphones and each the individual microphone 102 and 104 generating the corresponding microphone signal).
Regarding claim 8: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, wherein the first microphone signal, the second microphone signal, and the wind microphone signal are frequency domain signals (Walters’ para [0006] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 9: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, wherein the first microphone signal, the second microphone signal, and the wind microphone signal are time domain signals (Walters’ para [0006] and [0026]: all microphone signals originally in the form of time domain signals then converted to frequency domain signal for comparison and mixing).
Regarding claim 10: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, further comprising an equalizer configured to filter the beamformed signal prior to the beamformed signal being received by the comparator and the dynamic voice mixer (Walters’ Fig. 2: Equalizer 116 and para [0017]).
Regarding claims 13-18: the wind noise reduction system discussed in claims 1, 7, and 2-5 also supports these corresponding method claims.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters et al. (US 20120253798 A1 – Cited IDS) in view of Liu (US 20220310107 A1 – Cited IDS), as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Korhonen (Wind noise management in hearing aids – August 2021 – Cited IDS).
Regarding claim 6: Walters in view of Liu teaches the wind noise reduction system of claim 1, wherein the output voice signal corresponds to the wind microphone signal at a low frequency range (Walters’ para [0027]: low-pass filter is applied to the wind-sensitive microphone signal 118).
Walters in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose what the specific range of low frequency is.
Korhonen teaches a hearing aids with a wind noise management wherein the output voice signal corresponds to the wind microphone signal at a frequency range of 200 Hz to 2 kHz (see Characteristics of wind noise – page 3 and Signal Processing Step 1: Wind Noise Detection – page 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Walters in view of Liu low frequency range with Korhonen’s specific low frequency range of the wind noise frequency spectrum at the frequency range of 200 Hz to 2 kHz for the benefit of saving processing resource when reducing wind noise signal in output voice signal.
Regarding claim 19: the wind noise reduction system discussed in claim 6 also supports this corresponding method claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and the double patenting rejections addressed persuasively.
Conclusion
/DAVID L TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695