DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-6 and 11-14 in the reply filed on 05 October 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent # 5,647,184 to Davis.
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches in Figure 3, a modular decking component (20) (Column 4, Line 28), comprising: an enclosed support assembly (25-29) [reinforcing ribs (Column 4, Line 45)]; and a top surface (21) (Column 4, Line 44) integrated with the enclosed support assembly (25-29).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches in Figure 3, the enclosed support assembly (25-29) includes one or more vertical supports (25-29) integrated approximately perpendicular relative to the top surface (21).
Regarding claim 3, Davis teaches in Figure 3, an integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4) that is integrated with the enclosed support assembly (25-29) and the top surface (21).
Regarding claim 4, Davis teaches in Figure 3, the top surface (21), the enclosed support assembly (25-29), and the integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4) are formed as a monolithic structure [integral (Column 4, Lines 42-45)].
Regarding claim 5, Davis teaches in Figure 2, the integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4) includes a water channel (37) and a drip edge (35) configured to direct water into the water channel (37).
Regarding claim 6, Davis teaches in Figure 3, the top surface (21) includes an extended portion (24) [opposing side wall (Column 4, Line 45)] configured to cover the integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4) of an adjacent modular decking component [see Figure 13].
Regarding claim 11, Davis teaches in Figure 13, a modular decking system (10) (Column 4, Lines 25-27), comprising: modular decking components (20) (Column 5, Line 59) aligned to form a uniform decking top surface (Column 5, Lines 3-4), each of the modular decking components (20) including an enclosed support assembly (25-29) [reinforcing ribs (Column 4, Line 45)], a top surface (21) (Column 4, Line 44) integrated with the enclosed support assembly (25-29), and an integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 12, Davis teaches in Figure 13, the modular decking components (20) include a first modular decking component [the one on the left] adjacent to at least a second modular decking component [the one on the right]; and the top surface (21) of the first modular decking component extends to cover the integrated water diversion system (Column 5, Lines 1-4) of the second modular decking component.
Regarding claim 13, Davis teaches in Figure 15, an end cap (55) (Column 6, Lines 20-21) configured to cover exposed ends of the modular decking components (20) that are aligned to form the uniform decking top surface (Column 5, Lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Davis teaches in Figure 13, an interlocking key (35) configured to connect a first modular decking component [the one on the right] to a second modular decking component [the one on the left], wherein the first modular decking component [the one on the right] positioned adjacent to the second modular decking component [the one on the left] forms a key-lock joint (41) through which the interlocking key (35) is insertable.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635