DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2026 has been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 11 as set forth by the Examiner’s amendment made on Pages 2-4 of the Notice of Allowance mailed on 28 July 2026 are allowable, in particular for the reasons set forth at Pages 4-5 of that Office action.
The previously indicated allowability of claims 4-10 is withdrawn in view of an interpretation of these claims presented under the IDS submitted 18 September 2026. A rejection of claims 4-10, which are pending as set forth by the Examiner’s amendment made on Pages 2-4 of the Notice of Allowance mailed on 28 July 2026, is outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Rejection 1
Claims 4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Secor (US 4,050,643).
As to claim 4, Secor teaches a support core represented for example in the figs. I-IV, VII-XI embodiment(s) as comprising a central body with differently oriented mutually communicating cylinder bores realized as through bores respectively accommodated with pistons 40/40’/80/80’ (see in particular the fig. III, IV, VII, VIII, X, and XI cross-sections) which can be pressurized by fluid through a fluid connection of the central body (see the abstract application of fluid pressure, including for example that referenced at 6:21-32, 8:45-53, and see the remaining corresponding description of at least the above figures, as relevant), wherein differently oriented cylinder bores are offset from one another in an axial direction of the support core with cylinder bores of the different orientation not arranged in a common plane (see the fig. II representation including upward facing bores with pistons 80 offset with respect for example to a bores with piston 80 facing a viewer of this figure, see the fig. I provision of an upward facing central bore with piston 80 offset axially with respect to sideward/downward facing bores with pistons 40 that would correspond to the labeled holes 32 with screws 34, and/or see similar offsets depicted in fig. IX for upward facing bores with pistons 40’/80’ of a respective one of disks 110 with respect to sideward/downward facing bores with pistons 40’/80’ of another of disks 110). While the claim 4 support core is recited as being for use in the claim 1 method indicated as allowable as set forth above, it is noted that an intended manner of use thereof is not believed to distinguish over the prior art as set forth for example under MPEP § 2114(II).
Secor further teaches the claim 6 communication via axial channel 100, the claim 7 parallel orientation for at least two pairs of the bores as represented by one or more of the above-cited figures, and the claim 8 coupling via pressure plates 30 having the claim 10 domed or curved workpiece surface (see the fig. IX-X configuration in which a plurality of such plates 30 are utilized, and see also at least the 5:29 description of such plates as sleeves, shells, or leaves).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Secor as applied above, and further in view of either Pogonowski (US 3,795,035) or He et al. (CN 112895407, made of record via IDS on 18 September 2026).
Secor is not believed to be sufficiently specific enough to establish whether any of the above-cited pistons travel in opposite directions as recited by claim 5. However, each of Pogonowski and He teach a device utilized also for expansion (see the respective title and abstract of these references), whereby outwardly extendable pistons similarly actuated by fluid pressure may be disposed so as to travel in opposite directions (Pogonowski figs. 2, 3, 5, He figs. 1, 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate these teachings from either Pogonowski or He into Secor as providing an art-recognized suitable, interchangeable, or improved configuration whereby additional pistons may be provided at least some of which travel opposite one another, and/or whereby the pistons thereof are configured or reconfigured in this manner, so that pressure may be applied thereby to additional or alternative portions of an article being treated thereby, including for example to opposing portions thereof.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Secor as applied above, and further in view of Meiners et al. (US 2013/0125608).
Secor teaches a generally cylindrical configuration as set forth in at least the above-cited figures, and in turn is not believed to explicitly disclose the flat configuration for plates 30 as recited by claim 9. However, Meiners teaches a device utilized also for expansion (abstract, etc.), in particular which may be applied to a square or rectangular article in place of a round article (see at least the fig. 11 configuration). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate these teachings from Meiners into Secor as providing an art-recognized suitable and/or interchangeable configuration for the Secor plates, in particular one that may be utilized for shaping a square article in place of the round/cylindrical article disclosed explicitly thereby, by way of a correspondingly flat shape of plates 30 thereof.
Rejections 2-3
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by each of Pogonowski (US 3,795,035) and Hashikawa (US 5,803,399).
As to claim 4, each of Pogonowski and Hashikawa teaches a support core comprising the claimed central body with differently oriented, mutually communicating cylinder bores configured in the manner claimed and respectively accommodated with pistons which may be pressurized as claimed. See Pogonowski in at least figs. 3 and 5, noting that fig. 5 piston 28 is provided in a cylinder bore offset in an axial direction from bores 36-41 provided with a different orientation therefrom ant not arranged in a common plane therewith. See Hashikawa’s fig. 5A-B depictions and the corresponding description thereof, with fig. 5A in particular showing pistons 13 and corresponding bores thereof offset from one another in an axial direction of support core 11 with bores of different orientation not arranged in a common plane. While the claim 4 support core is recited as being for use in the claim 1 method indicated as allowable as set forth above, it is noted that an intended manner of use thereof is not believed to distinguish over the prior art as set forth for example under MPEP § 2114(II).
Each of Pogonowski and Hashikawa further teach the claim 5 and claim 7 configuration (Pogonowski figs. 1, 3, 5, Hashikawa fig. 5B), and the claim 6 channel (Pogonowski reservoir 18, Hashikawa fig. 5B and its corresponding description).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Pogonowski or Hashikawa as applied above, and further in view of Secor (US 4,050,643).
Neither Pogonowski nor Hashikawa is believed to disclose the claim 8 use of pressure plates to which more than one of the disclosed pistons are coupled. However, Secor teaches a device utilized also for expansion (abstract, etc.), in particular whereby as an alternative to a configuration such as that of Pogonowski and Hashikawa in which pistons interact directly with a material being shaped (see Secor’s fig. IV, VIII), an embodiment is also disclosed in which plates may be utilized for interfacing with such a material, in particular plates configured in the manner recited by claim 10 (see Secor’s fig. I, III, VII, IX-XI, and see the abstract description of such alternative embodiments, as relevant). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate these teachings from Secor into either Pogonowski or Hashikawa as providing an art-recognized interchangeable and/or improved configuration for pressing outward against a material being shaped.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Pogonowski or Hashikawa in view of Secor as applied above, and further in view of Meiners et al. (US 2013/0125608).
Secor teaches a generally cylindrical configuration as set forth in at least the above-cited figures, and in turn is not believed to explicitly disclose the flat configuration for plates 30 as recited by claim 9. However, Meiners teaches a device utilized also for expansion (abstract, etc.), in particular which may be applied to a square or rectangular article in place of a round article (see at least the fig. 11 configuration). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate these teachings from Meiners into (modified) Pogonowski or Hashikawa as providing an art-recognized suitable and/or interchangeable configuration for the Secor plates set forth above, in particular one that may be utilized for shaping a square article in place of the round/cylindrical article disclosed explicitly thereby, by way of a correspondingly flat shape of plates 30 thereof.
Interview Request
Applicant’s Representative is invited to contact the Examiner prior to a formal response being filed should there be any questions or outstanding issues arising from the instant Office action, particularly if it is believed that a discussion will help to advance prosecution.
Conclusion
/Atul P. Khare/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742