DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 12/06/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble recites “a method”. It is recommended that the preamble refers to the method as “a method for multi-modality diagnosis” or similar language resented in the specification to provide further context. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fried et al. (USP No. 9,980,644), hereinafter “Fried”, in view of Tafreshi et al. (USPG Pub No. 2026/0106036), hereinafter “Tafreshi”.
Regarding claim 1, Fried discloses a multi-modality diagnostic system (Col. 3, Lines 44-48), comprising: an optical system configured to measure an eye of a patient (Col. 3, Lines 47-48), the optical system comprising: a first optical path configured to measure the eye in a first mode (Col. 13, Lines 40-67, Col. 14, Lines 41-50 – teaches that the exam site is capable of comprising various examination equipment); and a second optical path configured to measure the eye in a second mode (Col. 13, Lines 40-67, Col. 14, Lines 41-50 – teaches that the exam site is capable of comprising various examination equipment); and a controller configured to: receive patient information from a database (Col. 9, Lines 28-31); determine one of the first optical path and the second optical path, based on the patient information (Col. 9, Lines 51-55, Col. 10, Lines 14-16 – teaches that the set of tasks for the examination process is determined based on the patient’s history); control the optical system to measure the eye using a determined optical path (Col. 10, Lines 14-19); and generate a report based on an analyzed image (Col. 4, Lines 18-22). Fried discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image. In the same field of endeavor, Tafreshi discloses analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image (Paragraphs 44, 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diagnostic system of Fried with analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image of Tafreshi for the purpose of providing an improved method for assisting with patient diagnosis and improved quality of referrals to specialists (Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3, Fried discloses wherein in determining the one of the first optical path and the second optical path (Col. 9, Lines 51-55), the controller is configured to: identify initial suspicious information from the patient information (Col. 3, Lines 51-56). Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 1, Tafreshi further discloses identify a set of disorders that are probable based on the initial suspicious information (step 904) (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95); and select the one of the first optical path and the second optical path (step 908), the one associated with at least one of the set of disorders (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 7, Tafreshi further discloses wherein the controller is configured to: receive an intermediate result in response to inputting the measured image to the ML model (Paragraph 95); receive suspicious information associated with the suspicious feature in the intermediate result (Paragraph 95); update the intermediate result based on the suspicious information (Paragraph 95); and input the updated intermediate result to the ML model (Paragraphs 53, 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 1, Tafreshi further discloses wherein the controller is configured to: send a request for referral based on the analyzed image (Paragraphs 45, 91). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Fried discloses a controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system (Col. 3, Lines 44-48), the controller configured to: receive patient information from a database (Col. 9, Lines 28-31); select, based on the patient information, one of a plurality of optical paths each of which is associated with a corresponding one of a plurality of measurement modes (Col. 9, Lines 51-55, Col. 10, Lines 14-16 – teaches that the set of tasks for the examination process is determined based on the patient’s history; Col. 13, Lines 40-67, Col. 14, Lines 41-50 – teaches that the exam site is capable of comprising various examination equipment); control the selected one of the plurality of optical paths to measure an eye of a patient (Col. 10, Lines 14-19); and generate a report based on an analyzed image (Col. 4, Lines 18-22). Fried discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image. In the same field of endeavor, Tafreshi discloses analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image (Paragraphs 44, 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with analyze a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning (ML) model to the measured image of Tafreshi for the purpose of providing an improved method for assisting with patient diagnosis and improved quality of referrals to specialists (Paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Fried further discloses wherein in receiving the patient information from the database (Col. 21, Lines 21-29), the controller is configured to: receive identification information of the patient (Col. 20, Lines 37-42, Col. 21, Lines 21-29); and identify the patient information related to the patient based on the identification information (Col. 20, Lines 37-42, Col. 21, Lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 13, Fried discloses wherein in selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths (Col. 9, Lines 51-55), the controller is configured to: identify initial suspicious information from the patient information (Col. 3, Lines 51-56). Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 11, Tafreshi further discloses identify a set of disorders that are probable based on the initial suspicious information (step 904) (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95); and select the one of the plurality of optical paths (step 908), the one associated with at least one of the set of disorders (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 11.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system and the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system set forth above for claims 1 and 11, Tafreshi further discloses wherein in analyzing the measured image of the eye by applying the ML model to the measured image (Paragraph 44), the controller is configured to: input the measured image to the ML model (Paragraph 44); and output an analyzed image including an indication of a suspicious feature (Paragraph 44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the multi-modality diagnostic system and the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 18, Fried discloses a method comprising: obtaining patient information of a patient (Col. 9, Lines 28-31); selecting one of a plurality of optical paths based on the patient information (Col. 9, Lines 51-55, Col. 10, Lines 14-16 – teaches that the set of tasks for the examination process is determined based on the patient’s history; Col. 13, Lines 40-67, Col. 14, Lines 41-50 – teaches that the exam site is capable of comprising various examination equipment), each of the plurality of optical paths configured to measure an eye of the patient (Col. 10, Lines 14-19); controlling the selected one of the plurality of paths to measure the eye of the patient (Col. 10, Lines 14-19); and generating a report based on the analyzed image (Col. 4, Lines 18-22). Fried discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify analyzing a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning model to the measured image. In the same field of endeavor, Tafreshi discloses analyzing a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning model to the measured image (Paragraphs 44, 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Fried with analyzing a measured image of the eye by applying a machine learning model to the measured image of Tafreshi for the purpose of providing an improved method for assisting with patient diagnosis and improved quality of referrals to specialists (Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 19, Fried further discloses wherein obtaining the patient information (Col. 21, Lines 21-29) includes: receiving identification information of the patient (Col. 20, Lines 37-42, Col. 21, Lines 21-29); and identifying the patient information related to the patient based on the identification information (Col. 20, Lines 37-42, Col. 21, Lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 20, Fried discloses wherein selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths (Col. 9, Lines 51-55) includes: identifying initial suspicious information from the patient information (Col. 3, Lines 51-56). Fried and Tafreshi teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 18, Tafreshi further discloses identifying a set of disorders that are probable based on the initial suspicious information (step 904) (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95); and selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths (step 908), the one associated with at least one of the set of disorders (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 95). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Fried with the teachings of Tafreshi for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 18.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fried (USP No. 9,980,644) in view of Tafreshi (USPG Pub No. 2026/0106036) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Durbin et al. (USPG Pub No. 2014/0276025), hereinafter “Durbin”.
Regarding claim 4, Fried and Tafreshi disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein in determining the one of the first optical path and the second optical path, the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method. In the same field of endeavor, Durbin discloses wherein in determining the one of the first optical path and the second optical path (Paragraph 47), the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method (Paragraphs 47, 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with wherein in determining the one of the first optical path and the second optical path, the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method of Durbin for the purpose of yielding important clues as to the diagnosis and prognosis of disease and its implications (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 5, Fried and Tafreshi disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path is the first optical path; and wherein the controller is configured to: control the optical system to measure the eye using the second optical path after controlling the optical system to measure the eye using the first optical path. In the same field of endeavor, Durbin discloses wherein the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path is the first optical path (Paragraph 47); and wherein the controller is configured to: control the optical system to measure the eye using the second optical path after controlling the optical system to measure the eye using the first optical path (Paragraph 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with wherein the determined one of the first optical path and the second optical path is the first optical path; and wherein the controller is configured to: control the optical system to measure the eye using the second optical path after controlling the optical system to measure the eye using the first optical path of Durbin for the purpose of yielding important clues as to the diagnosis and prognosis of disease and its implications (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 6, Fried, Tafreshi and Durbin teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 5, Durbin further discloses wherein the controller is configured to: receive, in response to measuring the eye using the first optical path, a result from the optical system (Paragraph 47); and update a parameter associated with the second optical path based on the result, prior to controlling the optical system to measure the eye using the second optical path (Paragraph 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with the teachings of Durbin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, Fried and Tafreshi disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein in selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths, the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the selected one of the plurality of optical paths, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method. In the same field of endeavor, Durbin discloses wherein in selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths (Paragraph 47), the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the selected one of the plurality of optical paths, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method (Paragraphs 47, 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with wherein in selecting the one of the plurality of optical paths, the controller is configured to: determine or adjust a parameter or a setting for the selected one of the plurality of optical paths, wherein the parameter or the setting includes one of an intensity of a diagnostic beam, a scan pattern, an imaging pattern, an imaging area, an image resolution, an imaging speed, and an image processing method of Durbin for the purpose of yielding important clues as to the diagnosis and prognosis of disease and its implications (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 15, Fried and Tafreshi disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the selected one of the plurality of optical paths is a first optical path; and wherein the controller is configured to: measure the eye using a second optical path after measuring the eye using the first optical path. In the same field of endeavor, Durbin discloses wherein the selected one of the plurality of optical paths is a first optical path (Paragraph 47); and wherein the controller is configured to: measure the eye using a second optical path after measuring the eye using the first optical path (Paragraph 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with wherein the selected one of the plurality of optical paths is a first optical path; and wherein the controller is configured to: measure the eye using a second optical path after measuring the eye using the first optical path of Durbin for the purpose of yielding important clues as to the diagnosis and prognosis of disease and its implications (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 16, Fried, Tafreshi and Durbin teach the diagnostic system set forth above for claim 15, Durbin further discloses further configured to: receive, in response to perform a first measurement using the first optical path, a result of the first measurement (Paragraph 47); and update a parameter associated with the second optical path based on the result, prior to measuring the eye using the second optical path (Paragraph 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the controller for a multi-modality diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with the teachings of Durbin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fried (USP No. 9,980,644) in view of Tafreshi (USPG Pub No. 2026/0106036) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peri et al. (USPG Pub No. 2026/0020764), hereinafter “Peri”.
Regarding claim 10, Fried and Tafreshi disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the controller is configured to: receive annotation data associated with the analyzed image; and train the ML model based on the analyzed image and the annotation data. In the same field of endeavor, Peri discloses wherein the controller is configured to: receive annotation data associated with the analyzed image (see Fig. 1A, Paragraph 158); and train the ML model based on the analyzed image and the annotation data (see Fig. 1A, Paragraph 468). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diagnostic system of Fried and Tafreshi with wherein the controller is configured to: receive annotation data associated with the analyzed image; and train the ML model based on the analyzed image and the annotation data of Peri for the purpose of providing an improved system and method for detecting eye conditions while predicting future conditions and progress of the condition along with treatment options (Paragraph 8).
Prior Art Citations
Katz et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0192492 – Figs. 5, 6, Paragraphs 79-80) is being cited herein to show a multi-modality diagnostic system relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 8/22/2026