DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 12/05/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12 and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9, recites “…between the fan and the inner housing…” but should recite “…between the fan and an inner housing…” due to antecedent basis.
Claim 9, lines 3, recites “…an inner housing coupled to the outer housing…” but should recite “…the inner housing coupled to the outer housing…”
Claim 12, line 7, recites “…between the fan and the inner housing…” but should recite “…between the fan and an inner housing…” due to antecedent basis.
Claim 19, line 3, recites “…an inner housing coupled to the outer housing…” but should recite “…the inner housing coupled to the outer housing…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “…further comprising a sensor block coupled to the control board that comprises a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and/or a humidity sensor” and depends on claim 4. However, it is unclear what control board claim 8 is referring to as neither claim 4 or claim 1 recites a control board. As best understood, for examination purposes, claim 8 will be amended as “…further comprising a sensor block coupled to an control board that comprises a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and/or a humidity sensor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A).
Regarding claim 1, Harvie teaches a breathing system (gas mask 21 and Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40, see Figs. 1-1A), comprising:
a breathing mask (gas mask 21, see Figs. 1-1A) comprising a coupler (intake valve 30, see Fig. 1A); and
a module (Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40, see Figs. 1-5) coupled to the coupler of the breathing mask (see Figs. 1-1A) and configured to provide heated gas to the breathing mask (Harvie teaches eight Reversible Thermoelectric Cooler (TEC) Modules (1) that are used to meet the user’s heating requirements and flexible electric heating strip 8 to generate additional heat to aid the Reversible TEC Modules as seen in [0095]-[0098]. Harvie further teaches the air temperature is changed by direct heat transfer to a warmer temperature depending on the needs of the user as the air is drawn into the center of the Temperature Exchange Module 11 and exits the portable pulmonary body core cooling and heating system 40 through a one way intake valve 30 into the lungs of the user as seen in [0100]), the module comprising:
a housing (housing 4 and filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) comprising an outer surface (filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) with at least one intake slot formed (intake air orifice 2, see Fig. 2A) therein (see Fig. 2A) and an output port (user interface 10, see Fig. 2) that is coupled to the coupler of the breathing mask (Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40 is coupled to intake valve 30 of gas mask 21 through user interface 10 as seen in Figs. 1-1A and [0093]), the housing defining an enclosed space therein and the output port defining a port cross-section (housing 4 and filter end plate 6 define an enclosed space therein as seen in Fig. 3, with user interface 10 defining a port cross-section as seen in Figs. 2-3);
a fan (cooling fan 13, see Fig. 2A) disposed in the enclosed space and configured to blow gas towards the output port (Harvie teaches cooling fan 13 disposed in the enclosed space as seen in Figs. 2-3. Harvie further teaches air to travel from intake air orifice 2 to user interface 10/intake valve 30 as seen in [0100] and for the cooling fans to aid in meeting the user’s cooling and/or heating requirements. As such, the cooling fans are to blow gas towards user interface 10 to the user); and
a heater (Electric Heating Strip 8, see Fig. 2A) disposed in the enclosed space (Harvie teaches Electric Heating Strip 8 to be disposed in the enclosed space as seen in Figs. 2-3), the heater comprising at least one heating element configured to heat gas (Harvie teaches flexible electric heating strip 8 to generate additional heat to aid the Reversible TEC Modules as seen in [0095]-[0098] and therefore heats the gas from intake air orifice 2 to user interface 10 as seen in [0100]), wherein the at least one intake slot overlaps with the port cross-section (the intake air orifice 2 overlaps with user interface 10 as seen in Fig. 3).
but does not teach the heater disposed between the fan and the inner housing,
the heater configured to heat blown gas from the fan towards the output port,
wherein the at least one intake slot, fan, and heater all overlap with the port cross-section.
With respect to Claim 1, Harvie does not explicitly teach the heater disposed between the fan and the inner housing. However, it has been held that the mere rearrangement of parts does not constitute a patentable improvement in the art when said rearrangement does not result in a non-obvious change in functionality (see MPEP § 2144.04. VI. C.). In this case, it is unclear why repositioning the heater to be disposed between the fan and inner housing would substantially change the functionality of the device in a non-obvious way. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Harvie to have the heater disposed between the cooling fan 13 and housing 4 since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts involves only routine skill in the art.
However, Gu teaches wherein the at least one intake slot (round metal gas filter screen 35, see Fig. 4), fan (fan 30, see Fig. 4), and heater (PTC heating block 26, see Fig. 4) all overlap with the port cross-section (the port cross-section is taken to be where reference number 31 is pointing towards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie to have the at least one intake slot, fan, and heater all overlap with the port cross-section as taught by Gu for a known rearrangement in the art to have the gas transition from the intake slot to the output port while going through temperature changes with ease. Harvie in view of Gu teaches the heater configured to heat blown gas from the fan towards the output port (Electric Heating Strip 8 will be heating blown gas from cooling fan 13 towards user interface 10 due to the arrangement of the structures).
Regarding claim 9, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the housing comprises:
an outer housing (filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) comprising the outer surface and the at least one intake slot (intake air orifice 2, see Fig. 2A) (filter end plate 6 comprises the outer surface and intake air orifice 2 as seen in Fig. 2A); and
an inner housing coupled to the outer housing to define the enclosed space and comprising the output port (housing 4 is coupled to filter end plate 6 to define the enclosed space and comprise of user interface 10 as seen in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Harvie teaches a module (Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40, see Figs. 1-1A) for forming a breathing system (gas mask 21 and Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40, see Figs. 1-1A), the module comprising:
a housing (housing 4 and filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) comprising an outer surface (filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) with at least one intake slot (intake air orifice 2, see Fig. 2A) formed therein (see Fig. 2A) and an output port (user interface 10, see Fig. 2) that is configured to couple to a coupler of a breathing mask (gas mask 21, see Figs. 1-1A) (Portable Pulmonary Body Core Cooling and Heating System 40 is coupled to intake valve 30 of gas mask 21 through user interface 10 as seen in Figs. 1-1A and [0093]), the housing defining an enclosed space therein and the output port defining a port cross-section (housing 4 and filter end plate 6 define an enclosed space therein as seen in Fig. 3, with user interface 10 defining a port cross-section as seen in Figs. 2-3);
a fan (cooling fan 13, see Fig. 2A) disposed in the enclosed space and configured to blow gas towards the output port (Harvie teaches cooling fan 13 disposed in the enclosed space as seen in Figs. 2-3. Harvie further teaches air to travel from intake air orifice 2 to user interface 10/intake valve 30 as seen in [0100] and for the cooling fans to aid in meeting the user’s cooling and/or heating requirements. As such, the cooling fans are to blow gas towards user interface 10 to the user); and
a heater (Electric Heating Strip 8, see Fig. 2A) disposed in the enclosed space (Harvie teaches Electric Heating Strip 8 to be disposed in the enclosed space as seen in Figs. 2-3), the heater comprising at least one heating element configured to heat gas (Harvie teaches flexible electric heating strip 8 to generate additional heat to aid the Reversible TEC Modules as seen in [0095]-[0098] and therefore heats the gas from intake air orifice 2 to user interface 10 as seen in [0100]), wherein the at least one intake slot overlaps with the port cross-section (the intake air orifice 2 overlaps with user interface 10 as seen in Fig. 3).
but does not teach the heater disposed between the fan and the inner housing,
the heater configured to heat blown gas from the fan towards the output port,
wherein the at least one intake slot, fan, and heater all overlap with the port cross-section.
With respect to Claim 1, Harvie does not explicitly teach the heater disposed between the fan and the inner housing. However, it has been held that the mere rearrangement of parts does not constitute a patentable improvement in the art when said rearrangement does not result in a non-obvious change in functionality (see MPEP § 2144.04. VI. C.). In this case, it is unclear why repositioning the heater to be disposed between the fan and inner housing would substantially change the functionality of the device in a non-obvious way. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Harvie to have the heater disposed between the cooling fan 13 and housing 4 since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts involves only routine skill in the art.
However, Gu teaches wherein the at least one intake slot (round metal gas filter screen 35, see Fig. 4), fan (fan 30, see Fig. 4), and heater (PTC heating block 26, see Fig. 4) all overlap with the port cross-section (the port cross-section is taken to be where reference number 31 is pointing towards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie to have the at least one intake slot, fan, and heater all overlap with the port cross-section as taught by Gu for a known rearrangement in the art to have the gas transition from the intake slot to the output port while going through temperature changes with ease. Harvie in view of Gu teaches the heater configured to heat blown gas from the fan towards the output port (Electric Heating Strip 8 will be heating blown gas from cooling fan 13 towards user interface 10 due to the arrangement of the structures).
Regarding claim 19, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the module of claim 12, and further teaches wherein the housing comprises:
an outer housing (filter end plate 6, see Figs. 2-2A) comprising the outer surface and the at least one intake slot (intake air orifice 2, see Fig. 2A) (filter end plate 6 comprises the outer surface and intake air orifice 2 as seen in Fig. 2A); and
an inner housing coupled to the outer housing to define the enclosed space and comprising the output port (housing 4 is coupled to filter end plate 6 to define the enclosed space and comprise of user interface 10 as seen in Figs. 2-3).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A), as applied to claim(s) 1/12 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 101623134 A).
Regarding claim 2, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the heater is configured to heat the blown gas from the fan to a temperature of at least 100 º F.
However, Chen teaches the temperature controller of control circuit board 7 to control the temperature of the electric heating device and a heating element 5 to be between 90°C and 100°C (194°F and 212°C) to kill bacteria and prevent toxic gases from being inhaled as seen in Fig. 3 and page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie in view of Gu to include the circuit board and replace the heating element with the heating element taught by Chen to have the heater heat gases to be between 90°C and 100°C to sterilize the air and kill bacteria (see page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Harvie in view of Gu and Chen teaches the system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the heater is configured to heat the blown gas from the fan to a temperature of at least 140 º F (Chen teaches having the heating element heat the temperature to be between 90°C and 100°C (194°F and 212°C) as seen in page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the module of claim 12, but does not teach wherein the heater is configured to heat the blown gas from the fan to a temperature of at least 100 º F.
However, Chen teaches the temperature controller of control circuit board 7 to control the temperature of the electric heating device and a heating element 5 to be between 90°C and 100°C (194°F and 212°C) to kill bacteria and prevent toxic gases from being inhaled as seen in Fig. 3 and page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie in view of Gu to include the circuit board and replace the heating element with the heating element taught by Chen to have the heater heat gases to be between 90°C and 100°C to sterilize the air and kill bacteria (see page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the module of claim 13, but does not teach wherein the heater is configured to heat the blown gas from the fan to a temperature of at least 140 º F (Chen teaches having the heating element heat the temperature to be between 90°C and 100°C (194°F and 212°C) as seen in page 2, third paragraph from the bottom to page 3, first paragraph and page 3, last paragraph to page 4, first paragraph).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cross (US 20050268911 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the heater comprises a plurality of surface mount resistors.
However, Cross teaches structure 72 to be a printed circuit control board which includes a plurality of holes 84 extending over most of the surface and further comprises heating elements 78 mounted on the surface of the circuit board within the plurality of hole area as seen in Figs. 6A-6B and [0051]-[0052]. Cross further teaches each row of holes 88 can be a narrow slot as seen in [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie in view of Gu to replace the heating element with the printed circuit board comprising heating elements mounted on the surface as taught by Cross to use resistors to minimize power dissipation and therefore maximize power delivered to the heating element (see [0061] and [0063]-[0064]) for energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, modified Harvie teaches the system of claim 4, and further teaches further comprising a control board (structure 72, see Figs. 6A-6B of Gu) disposed in the enclosed space between the fan and the inner housing (Harvie in view of Gu and Cross teaches structure/printed circuit control board 72 of Cross to be disposed in the enclosed space between cooling fan 13 and the housing 4 as seen in Figs. 2-3 of Harvie), the control board comprising a surface with a plurality of slots formed therein within a slot area that overlaps the port cross-section (Cross teaches structure 72 to comprise of a surface with a plurality of narrow slots to form a slot area formed as seen in [0053]. Harvie in view of Gu and Cross teaches the slot area to overlap with the user interface 10, especially as the plurality of slots extend over most of the surface of structure 72 (see [0052] of Cross)).
Regarding claim 6, modified Harvie teaches the system of claim 5, and Cross further teaches wherein the surface mount resistors are mounted to the surface of the control board within the slot area (Cross teaches plurality of electrically resistive heating elements 78 mounted on space 80 and soldered to interconnection lands 82 disposed on structure 72 within the slot area as seen in Fig. 6B and [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Harvie teaches the system of claim 5, and further teaches wherein the fan, the heater, and the control board are stacked within the enclosed space (Modified Harvie teaches cooling fan 13 of Harvie, structure 72 and the plurality of electrically resistive heating elements 78 of Cross to be stacked within the enclosed space).
Regarding claim 15, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the module of claim 12, but does not teach wherein the heater comprises a plurality of surface mount resistors.
However, Cross teaches structure 72 to be a printed circuit control board which includes a plurality of holes 84 extending over most of the surface and further comprises heating elements 78 mounted on the surface of the circuit board within the plurality of hole area as seen in Figs. 6A-6B and [0051]-[0052]. Cross further teaches each row of holes 88 can be a narrow slot as seen in [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie in view of Gu to replace the heating element with the printed circuit board comprising heating elements mounted on the surface as taught by Cross to use resistors to minimize power dissipation and therefore maximize power delivered to the heating element (see [0061] and [0063]-[0064]) for energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, modified Harvie teaches the module of claim 15, and further teaches further comprising a control board (structure 72, see Figs. 6A-6B of Gu) disposed in the enclosed space between the fan and the inner housing (Harvie in view of Gu and Cross teaches structure/printed circuit control board 72 of Cross to be disposed in the enclosed space between cooling fan 13 and the housing 4 as seen in Figs. 2-3 of Harvie), the control board comprising a surface with a plurality of slots formed therein within a slot area that overlaps the port cross-section (Cross teaches structure 72 to comprise of a surface with a plurality of narrow slots to form a slot area formed as seen in [0053]. Harvie in view of Gu and Cross teaches the slot area to overlap with the user interface 10, especially as the plurality of slots extend over most of the surface of structure 72 (see [0052] of Cross)).
Regarding claim 17, modified Harvie teaches the module of claim 16, and Cross further teaches wherein the surface mount resistors are mounted to the surface of the control board within the slot area (Cross teaches plurality of electrically resistive heating elements 78 mounted on space 80 and soldered to interconnection lands 82 disposed on structure 72 within the slot area as seen in Fig. 6B and [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Harvie teaches the module of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the fan, the heater, and the control board are stacked within the enclosed space (Modified Harvie teaches cooling fan 13 of Harvie, structure 72 and the plurality of electrically resistive heating elements 78 of Cross to be stacked within the enclosed space).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A) and Cross (US 20050268911 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Servidio (US 5598838 A).
Regarding claim 8, Harvie in view of Gu and Cross teaches the system of claim 4, but does not teach further comprising a sensor block coupled to the control board that comprises a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and/or a humidity sensor.
However, Servidio teaches comprising a sensor block (sensor board 80, see Fig. 3) coupled to the control board (control board 56, see Fig. 3) that comprises a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and/or a humidity sensor (sensor board 80 can detect pressure and flow data and therefore comprises of a pressure sensor as the control board 56 can compared the desired pressure with the actual pressure from sensor board 80 as seen in Col. 7, lines 16-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by modified Harvie to include a sensor board coupled to a control board as taught by Servidio to track pressure measurements as data points to assure the patient is using the device as intended.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Patterson (US 20090065006 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the system of claim 9, and further teaches wherein the outer housing comprises a base portion (Filter End Plate 6, see Figs. 2-3) coupled to the inner housing (see Figs. 2-3) and comprising the outer surface and the at least one intake slot (filter end plate 6 comprises the outer surface and intake air orifice 2 as seen in Fig. 2A).
But does not teach wherein the outer housing comprises a circular intake portion coupled to and extending from the base portion and comprising the outer surface and the at least one intake slot.
However, Patterson teaches wherein the outer housing (rotating member 137 and cover 139, see Figs. 1-3) comprises a circular intake portion (cover 139, see Figs. 1-3) coupled to and extending from the base portion (rotating member 137, see Figs. 1-3) (see Figs. 1-3) and comprising the outer surface and the at least one intake slot (inlet entry 132, see Figs. 1-3) (cover 139 comprises of an outer surface and the inlet entry 132 as seen in Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by modified Harvie to have to replace the outer housing with the outer housing taught by Patterson for a housing that allows for a replaceable filter as cover 139 can be removable since it is simply connected with a screw (see [0019] and [0024]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvie (US 20080202516 A1) in view of Gu (CN 107890616 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haddad (US 20060283453 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Harvie in view of Gu teaches the system of claim 1, and Harvie teach further comprising a filter (filter 19, see Fig. 1-1A) disposed in the enclosed space that overlaps the port cross-section (Harvie teaches air is drawn into the device through filter 19 by means of the intake air orifice 2 of the filter end plate 16 as seen in [0100] and therefore, filter 19 is disposed in the enclosed space).
But does not teach a filter cartridge.
However, Haddad teaches a refillable filter mask cartridge 10 with a canister 20 and cover 30 as seen in Figs. 1-3 and [0020]-[0022].
Harvie teaches a filter 19 as shown in Figs. 1-1A and further teaches a filter end plate 16 with intake air orifice 2 as seen in Figs. 2-3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Harvie in view of Gu to replace the filter with the filter cartridge taught by Haddad for a refillable filter that can be refilled with ease and is cost effective (see [0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Garafolo (US 20170259088 A1) and Reedy (US 20010052343 A1) teaches a mask with heating and cooling elements.
Stern (US 5372130 A) teaches a mask with a fan and replaceable filter.
/TINA ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785