DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wiring and installing the sensor system" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A sensor system is not mentioned anywhere else in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,730,696 to Moulin.
Regarding claim 1 Moulin discloses a rack operating device for a rack system for storage and retrieval, wherein the rack operating device has at least one mast extending in a vertical direction (see e.g., 703) and a lifting unit (103 etc. when engaged with track) movably arranged on the mast, wherein the mast is arranged directly on a rack upright of the rack system and/or is integrated into the rack upright (see figures 1, 6 and 12)).
Regarding claim 2 Moulin discloses the lifting unit is arranged on two masts so as to be movable in the vertical direction (see figures 1 and 10).
Regarding claim 3 Moulin discloses a drive device (103) configured to move the lifting unit via at least one suspension means (704) extending in the vertical direction on the mast.
Regarding claim 4 Moulin discloses the lifting unit is fixed to the mast with one degree of freedom in the vertical direction (when engaged with the track 103 can only move vertically).
Regarding claim 5 Moulin discloses the lifting unit carries at least one load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (205 and col. 8 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 6 Moulin discloses a racking system for storage and retrieval, comprising: a rack storage unit with at least one storage rack (see figure 1), wherein the at least one storage rack has one or more compartments for stored items in one rack level or in a plurality of rack levels arranged one above the other (see figure 1); and at least one rack operating device according to claim 1 (see above).
Regarding claim 7 Moulin discloses at least two masts are connected by at least one cross strut extending in the horizontal direction, wherein the cross strut simultaneously carries one or more rack uprights for one or more compartments of the racking system (see cross bars in figure 5).
Regarding claim 10 Moulin discloses a method for assembling a racking system according to claim 6, comprising: a) mounting of at least one mast when constructing the rack storage unit with at least one storage rack b) checking dimensional accuracy and/or maintenance of tolerances; c) mounting the lifting unit(s) of the racking system; and d) wiring and installing the sensor system (the construction and installation of the racks and system reads on the limitations of the claim).
Regarding claim 11 Moulin discloses mounting a drive device configured to move the lifting unit in a vertical direction (placing 704 and robots).
Regarding claim 12 Moulin discloses mounting a load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (205 and col. 8 lines 20-25).
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 12,497,239 to Ning.
Regarding claim 1 Ning discloses a rack operating device for a rack system for storage and retrieval, wherein the rack operating device has at least one mast (21) extending in a vertical direction and a lifting unit (1/13) movably arranged on the mast, wherein the mast is arranged directly on a rack upright of the rack system and/or is integrated into the rack upright (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2 Ning discloses the lifting unit is arranged on two masts so as to be movable in the vertical direction (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3 Ning discloses a drive device configured to move the lifting unit via at least one suspension means extending in the vertical direction on the mast (13 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 4 Ning discloses the lifting unit is fixed to the mast with one degree of freedom in the vertical direction (when engaged with track 1 can only travel in vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5 Ning discloses the lifting unit carries at least one load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (see 14 in figure 2).
Regarding claim 6 Ning discloses a racking system for storage and retrieval, comprising: a rack storage unit with at least one storage rack (figure 1), wherein the at least one storage rack has one or more compartments for stored items in one rack level or in a plurality of rack levels arranged one above the other; and at least one rack operating device according to claim 1 (see figure 1 and above).
Regarding claim 7 Ning discloses at least two masts are connected by at least one cross strut extending in the horizontal direction, wherein the cross strut simultaneously carries one or more rack uprights for one or more compartments of the racking system (see figure 1, horizontal members of rack).
Regarding claim 8 Ning discloses the mast heads of two masts arranged next to one another are connected to one another by a cross strut (see figure 1, uppermost horizontal member).
Regarding claim 10 Ning discloses a method for assembling a racking system according to claim 6, comprising: a) mounting of at least one mast when constructing the rack storage unit with at least one storage rack; b) checking dimensional accuracy and/or maintenance of tolerances; c) mounting the lifting unit(s) of the racking system; and d) wiring and installing the sensor system (the construction and installation of the racks and system reads on the limitations of the claim).
Regarding claim 11 Ning discloses mounting a drive device configured to move the lifting unit in a vertical direction (see 1 and 13).
Regarding claim 12 Ning discloses mounting a load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (see 1 and 14 in figure 2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 12,662,311 to Vandemergel.
Regarding claim 1 Vandemergel discloses a rack operating device for a rack system for storage and retrieval, wherein the rack operating device has at least one mast extending in a vertical direction (100) and a lifting unit (14-17) movably arranged on the mast, wherein the mast is arranged directly on a rack upright of the rack system and/or is integrated into the rack upright.
Regarding claim 2 Vandemergel discloses the lifting unit is arranged on two masts so as to be movable in the vertical direction (see figure 3b).
Regarding claim 4 Vandemergel discloses the lifting unit is fixed to the mast with one degree of freedom in the vertical direction (only vertical travel is possible when engaged with 100).
Regarding claim 5 Vandemergel discloses the lifting unit carries at least one load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 6 Vandemergel discloses a racking system for storage and retrieval, comprising: a rack storage unit with at least one storage rack (see figure 3b), wherein the at least one storage rack has one or more compartments for stored items in one rack level or in a plurality of rack levels arranged one above the other; and at least one rack operating device according to claim 1 (see figure 3b and above).
Regarding claim 9 Vandemergel discloses the rack storage unit has two opposing storage racks (see figure 3b), wherein a rack aisle is formed between the two opposing storage racks (see figure 3b), and wherein two masts of the two opposing storage racks opposite each other across the rack aisle are connected to each other by way of at least one bracing element (see figure 3b and 62).
Regarding claim 10 Vandemergel discloses a method for assembling a racking system according to claim 6, comprising: a) mounting of at least one mast when constructing the rack storage unit with at least one storage rack; b) checking dimensional accuracy and/or maintenance of tolerances; c) mounting the lifting unit(s) of the racking system; and d) wiring and installing the sensor system (the construction and installation of the racks and system reads on the limitations of the claim).
Regarding claim 11 Vandemergel discloses mounting a drive device configured to move the lifting unit in a vertical direction (providing vehicles 10).
Regarding claim 12 Vandemergel discloses mounting a load-handling device that is moveable in a horizontal direction in the lifting unit (providing vehicles 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other masts system where the mast and/or lifting arrangement are incorporated into the rack structure.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652