DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gantert (US 6,422,496) in view of Miller (US 6,702,586).
In re claim 1: Gantert discloses a packaging system (FIG.3 and FIG.5) comprising: a plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 formed of a packaging material (Col.5,ll.24-33), the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 include: a first interlockable unit 1IU having: a first mating feature 1MF being a first protrusion 1MF extending from a first side 1S of the first interlockable unit IU, and a second mating feature 2MF being a first recess 2MF formed into a second side 2S of the first interlockable unit 1IU; and a second interlockable unit 2IU having: a third mating feature 3MF being a second protrusion 3MF extending from a first side 1S of the second interlockable unit 2MU, the second protrusion 3MF operable to mate with the first recess 2MFof the first interlockable unit 1IU, and a fourth mating feature 4MF being a second recess 4MF formed into a second side 2S of the second interlockable unit 2IU, the second recess 4MF operable to mate with another protrusion 1MF/3MF of another interlockable unit 1IU/2IU of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
Gantert discloses the claimed limitations as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitations that are taught by Miller:
Miller teaches the provision a rounded first protrusion and a rounded first recess for mating units together (see figures 4-6 of Miller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the protrusion and recess shape of Gantert with a rounded protrusion and recess shape as taught by Miller as an equivalent working structure which will allow for easier mating (see figures 4-6 of Miller).
Furthermore, to modify the square shape with a rounded shape as claimed would entail a mere change in shape of the protrusion and recess and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
In re claim 2: the second side 2S of the first interlockable unit 1IU is an opposite side from the first side 1S of the first interlockable unit 1IU (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
In re claim 3: the first recess 2MF is an inverse of the first protrusion 1MF.
In re claim 4: individual interlockable units 1IU/2IU of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 have a same shape as one another, the same shape including a plurality of mating protrusions 1MF/3MF and a plurality of mating recesses 2MF/4MFshaped as inverses of the plurality of mating protrusions 1MF/3MF (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
In re claim 5:individual interlockable units 1IU/2IU of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 include: two protrusions 1MF/2P extending to form a 90° angle relative to each other; and two recesses 2MF/2R with opening planes oriented away from the two protrusions 1MF/2P (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
In re claim 6:the first protrusion 1MF of the first interlockable unit 1IU has a same shape as the second protrusion 3MFof the second interlockable unit 2IU (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
In re claim 21: the first mating feature 1MF and the second mating feature 2MF of the first interlockable unit are directed in a common plane (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
In re claim 22: the first protrusion 1MF and the first recess 2MF each have a constant cross-sectional profile along a height dimension extending from a top surface of the first interlockable unit to a bottom surface of the first interlockable unit (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
Claim(s) 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gantert (US 6,422,496) in view of Pezely Jr. (US 3,334,798) and Miller (US 6,702,586).
In re claim 8: Gantert discloses a packaging system comprising: a discrete unit 40 formed of a packaging material, the discrete unit 40 form a packaging layer; and
a container 14 including a bottom base 18 movably coupled to a lid 16 to define an interior space, the packaging layer (40 of base/lid) being disposed in the interior space of the container 14 (see figure 2 of Gantert).
Gantert discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by Pezely Jr.:
a plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 formed of a packaging material (Col.5,ll.24-33), individual interlockable units 1IU/2IU of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 having a same shape as each other, the same shape including one or more mating protrusions 1MF/3MF and one or more mating recesses 2MF/4MF shaped as inverses of the one or more mating protrusions 1MF/3MF, such that the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 form a customizable packaging layer 52 (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to replace the discrete unit 40 of Gantet with the discrete sheet unit 52 made of a plurality of discrete interlockable units 1IU/2IU as taught by Pezely Jr. in order to customize the shape of the item being stored (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.). Furthermore, customizing the shape of foam insets for protecting items in a case was notoriously well-known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, for additional evidence, see the applicant provided prior art of Hills (US 2025/0136345).
Gantert in view of Pezely Jr teach the claimed limitations as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitations that are taught by Miller:
Miller teaches the provision a rounded first protrusion and a rounded first recess for mating units together (see figures 4-6 of Miller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the protrusion and recess shape of Gantert in view of Pezely Jr with a rounded protrusion and recess shape as taught by Miller as an equivalent working structure which will allow for easier mating (see figures 4-6 of Miller).
Furthermore, to modify the square shape with a rounded shape as claimed would entail a mere change in shape of the protrusion and recess and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Gantet in view of Pezely Jr and Miller.as discussed above further discloses:
In re claim 9: the customizable packaging layer 52 is a first customizable packaging layer 52 (replacing 40 of base as discussed above); and the packaging system includes a second customizable packaging layer 52 formed of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52, the second customizable packaging layer 52 (replacing 40 of lid as discussed above) being positioned over the first customizable packaging layer 52 in the container 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr.and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
In re claim 10: a bottom packaging layer 30 disposed below the first customizable packaging layer 52 (replacing 40 of base as discussed above) and the second customizable packaging layer 52 (replacing 40 of lid as discussed above), the bottom packaging layer 30 formed of foam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr.and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
Gantet in view of Pezely Jr and Miller teaches the claimed invention except for specifically teaching beaded foam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use a beaded foam in order to reduce cost and provide a light weight material. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 11: a top packaging layer 30 affixed to an interior surface of the lid 16, the top packaging layer 30 formed of open cell compression foam (see col.3, ll.24-37 of Gantet).
In re claim 12: the container 14 is configured as a firearms case or a sporting goods case (see Figs.1-6 of Gantet).
In re claim 13: the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 (1IU/2IU) form a tessellation pattern (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr. and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
In re claim 14: the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 (1IU/2IU) are removable and interchangeable (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr. and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
In re claim 15: the customizable packaging layer 52 includes an outer perimeter formed of the packaging material having: an outer edge shaped to align with an interior surface of the container 14, and one or more mating features 1MF/3MF oriented towards a center of the container 14 ( Gantet and Pezely Jr. both disclose an edge of the foam unit corresponds with the inside wall shape of the container they are stored within).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr. and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
In re claim 16: the individual interlockable units 1IU/2IU of the plurality of discrete interlockable units 52 have a puzzle-piece shape (see figures 3 and 5 above of Pezely Jr.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to modify Gantet in view of Pezely Jr.and Miller for the same reason discussed above in claim 8.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezely Jr. (US 3,334,798) in view of Miller (US 6,702,586) in view of Hills (US 2025/0136345). Pezely Jr discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by Hills:
In re claim 7: the packaging material includes a polyethylene foam (see [0060] of Hills).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the polystyrene foam of Pezely Jr. in view of Miller with the polyethylene foam as taught by Hill as an equivalent product protection means and for its desired properties (see [0060] of Hills).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A GRANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735