Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 9,944,464).
Interpretative note 1. "Wherein" in line 1 of claim 1 has been interpreted as the transitional phrase.
With respect to claim 1, Ueda discloses-
a rack operating device has two masts 14a, 14b extending in a vertical direction and a lifting unit 10a, 10b movably arranged on respective masts 14a, 14b,
wherein a lifting unit carries two load-handling devices 11a, 11b that are moveable in a horizontal direction in a lifting unit.
With respect to claim 2, Ueda discloses that two masts are arranged offset from one another in a horizontal z-direction, while both masts are arranged essentially identically in an x-direction. (See annotated FIG. 3 reproduced below shows first and second masts arranged diagonally from each other, e.g. offset in a Z direction.)
[AltContent: textbox (2nd mast)][AltContent: textbox (1st mast)]
With respect to claim 3, Ueda discloses that two lifting units 10a, 10b arranged next to each other on left and right share a mast arranged between them.
With respect to claim 4, Ueda discloses that a lifting unit is fixed to a mast with one degree of freedom in a vertical direction, e.g. lifting unit can move vertically only.
With respect to claim 5, Ueda discloses that two load-handling devices 11a, 11b are aligned in opposite orientations in a horizontal direction, e.g. extend horizontally in opposite directions.
With respect to claims 6, 10 & 11, Ueda discloses-
a rack storage unit with two opposing storage racks 2, wherein two storage racks have one or more compartments (indicated generally as W in FIG. 3) for stored items in a plurality of rack levels arranged one above another; and
a rack operating device according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 7, Ueda discloses two masts are connected by a one cross strut 16 (or 15) extending in a horizontal direction.
With respect to claim 8, Ueda discloses that mast heads of two masts 17, 17, 17, 17 arranged next to one another are connected to one another by a crossbeam 15, 16, 18.
With respect to claim 9, Ueda discloses that rack aisle (FIG. 20) that is formed between two storage racks 2, 2, and wherein a mast arranged in a rack aisle is connected to two storage racks by way of one bracing element 23.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652