CTNF 18/970,536 CTNF 90183 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0001789 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” in view of Wang et al. (CN 112519621 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Wang,” and Xu et al. (CN 203447675 U, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Xu.” Regarding Claim 1: Kim teaches a centralized energy (CE) module (100) comprising: a compressor (110) mounted on a base plate (101, see Figure 2) of the CE module (100) and compressing a refrigerant (paragraph [0062]); a condenser (120) mounted on the base plate (101) to be spaced apart from the compressor (110), and condensing the compressed refrigerant (paragraph [0070]) supplied from the compressor (110) connected to the condenser (120); a receiver dryer (125) connected to the condenser (paragraph [0077]) and storing a liquid refrigerant (paragraph [0077]); an evaporator (130) mounted on the base plate (101) to be spaced apart from the condenser (120), and evaporating the refrigerant supplied from an expansion valve (140) connected to the evaporator (130) and the compressor (110); a cover housing (150) mounted on the base plate (101) to accommodate the compressor (110), the condenser, the receiver dryer (125), the expansion valve (140), and the evaporator in the cover housing (150). Kim fails to teach a fire extinguisher disposed on an outside of the cover housing, and including a fire extinguishing tank storing an extinguishing powder, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage. Wang teaches a fire extinguisher (501, 503) disposed on an outside of a cover housing (101), and including a fire extinguishing tank (503), and a fire extinguishing passage (504) connecting the fire extinguishing tank (504) with an interior of the cover housing (intended use, functional limitation, 504 is a tube). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fire extinguisher disposed on an outside of the cover housing, and including a fire extinguishing tank, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage to the structure of Kim as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Xu teaches a fire extinguisher (see Figure 1) including a fire extinguishing tank (1) storing an extinguishing powder (paragraph [0021]), a fire extinguishing passage (5) connecting the fire extinguishing tank (1) with an interior of a cover housing (intended use), and a fire extinguishing valve (6) selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage (paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fire extinguisher including a fire extinguishing tank storing an extinguishing powder, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Xu in order to advantageously direct the powder in a branch line based on temperature (Xu, paragraph [0023]). Regarding Claim 2 . Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on an upper surface of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing tank (503 is placed inside 501, see Figure 6) is disposed on an upper surface of a cover housing (101, 501 is placed on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on an upper surface of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 3: Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing passage (lines 504) includes: a first fire extinguishing passage (first 504) extending from a fire extinguishing tank (503) to a first upper side of a cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1), and a second fire extinguishing passage (second 504) extending from the fire extinguishing tank (503) to a second upper side of the cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 4 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on a side surface of the cover housing. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on a side surface of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the fire extinguishing tank. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 5: Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing passage (lines 504) includes: a first fire extinguishing passage (first 504) extending from a fire extinguishing tank (503) to a first upper side of a cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1), and a second fire extinguishing passage (second 504) extending from the fire extinguishing tank (503) to a second upper side of the cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 7: Kim teaches a vehicle (title) comprising: a cabin room where a passenger boards (interior of a vehicle, paragraphs [0027]-[0028]); and a centralized energy (CE) module (100) cooling or heating the cabin room (interior of a vehicle, paragraphs [0027]-[0028]), wherein the CE module (100) includes: a compressor (110) mounted on a base plate (101) of the CE module (paragraph [0064]) and compressing a refrigerant (paragraph [0066]), a condenser (120) mounted on the base plate (101) to be spaced apart from the compressor (see Figure 2), and condensing the compressed refrigerant (paragraph [0070]) supplied from the compressor (110) connected to the condenser (120), a receiver dryer (125) connected to the condenser (120) and storing a liquid refrigerant (paragraph [0077]), an evaporator (130) mounted on the base plate (101) to be spaced apart from the condenser (see Figure 2), and evaporating the refrigerant supplied from an expansion valve (140) connected to the evaporator (130) and the compressor (110), a cover housing (150) mounted on the base plate (101) to accommodate the compressor (110), the condenser (120), the receiver dryer (125), the expansion valve (140), and the evaporator (130) in the cover housing (150). Kim fails to teach a fire extinguisher disposed on an outside of the cover housing, and including a fire extinguishing tank storing an extinguishing powder, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage. Wang teaches a fire extinguisher (501, 503) disposed on an outside of a cover housing (101), and including a fire extinguishing tank (503), and a fire extinguishing passage (504) connecting the fire extinguishing tank (504) with an interior of the cover housing (intended use, functional limitation, 504 is a tube). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fire extinguisher disposed on an outside of the cover housing, and including a fire extinguishing tank, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage to the structure of Kim as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Xu teaches a fire extinguisher (see Figure 1) including a fire extinguishing tank (1) storing an extinguishing powder (paragraph [0021]), a fire extinguishing passage (5) connecting the fire extinguishing tank (1) with an interior of a cover housing (intended use), and a fire extinguishing valve (6) selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage (paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a fire extinguisher including a fire extinguishing tank storing an extinguishing powder, a fire extinguishing passage connecting the fire extinguishing tank with an interior of the cover housing, and a fire extinguishing valve selectively opening the fire extinguishing passage to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Xu in order to advantageously direct the powder in a branch line based on temperature (Xu, paragraph [0023]). Regarding Claim 8 . Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on an upper surface of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing tank (503 is placed inside 501, see Figure 6) is disposed on an upper surface of a cover housing (101, 501 is placed on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on an upper surface of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 9: Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing passage (lines 504) includes: a first fire extinguishing passage (first 504) extending from a fire extinguishing tank (503) to a first upper side of a cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1), and a second fire extinguishing passage (second 504) extending from the fire extinguishing tank (503) to a second upper side of the cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 10 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on a side surface of the cover housing. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing tank is disposed on a side surface of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the fire extinguishing tank. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 11: Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing. Wang teaches a fire extinguishing passage (lines 504) includes: a first fire extinguishing passage (first 504) extending from a fire extinguishing tank (503) to a first upper side of a cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1), and a second fire extinguishing passage (second 504) extending from the fire extinguishing tank (503) to a second upper side of the cover housing (504 extends from 501 on top of 101, see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the fire extinguishing passage includes: a first fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a first upper side of the cover housing, and a second fire extinguishing passage extending from the fire extinguishing tank to a second upper side of the cover housing to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Wang in order to advantageously provide a fire extinguisher on top of a box containing items that are flammable (see Wang, bottom of page 2 of the machine translation). Regarding Claim 12 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the CE module is provided at a rear of the vehicle based on a driving direction of the vehicle. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the CE module is provided at a rear of the vehicle based on a driving direction of the vehicle to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the CE module. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 13 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a rear of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a rear of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a rear of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 14 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein a center of gravity of the fire extinguishing tank is disposed between an extension line of a rear wheel of the vehicle and the cabin room. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a center of gravity of the fire extinguishing tank is disposed between an extension line of a rear wheel of the vehicle and the cabin room to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the fire extinguisher. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 15 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the CE module is provided at a front of the vehicle based on a driving direction of the vehicle. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the CE module is provided at a front of the vehicle based on a driving direction of the vehicle to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of the CE module. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 16 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a front of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a front of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of wherein the condenser and the receiver dryer of the CE module are disposed at a front of the cabin room to be adjacent to the cabin room. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C. Regarding Claim 17 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein a center of gravity of the fire extinguishing tank is disposed between an extension line of a front wheel of the vehicle and the cabin room. However, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to rearrange elements positioning of the structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a center of gravity of the fire extinguishing tank is disposed between an extension line of a front wheel of the vehicle and the cabin room to the structure of Kim modified supra in order to advantageously provide varying positioning of wherein a center of gravity of the fire extinguishing tank is disposed between an extension line of a front wheel of the vehicle and the cabin room. Furthermore, absent evidence of criticality, the rearrangement of parts is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI A. and C . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0001789 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim,” in view of Wang et al. (CN 112519621 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Wang,” and Xu et al. (CN 203447675 U, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “Xu,” as applied to claim s 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2019/0168578 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim ‘578.” Regarding Claim 6 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant. Kim ‘578 teaches a refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant (paragraph [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Kim ‘578 in order to advantageously provide a known refrigerant that is low cost and high performance (see Kim ‘578, paragraph [0051]). Regarding Claim 18 : Kim modified supra fails to teach wherein the refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant. Kim ‘578 teaches a refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant (paragraph [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the refrigerant is an R290 refrigerant to the structure of Kim modified supra as taught by Kim ‘578 in order to advantageously provide a known refrigerant that is low cost and high performance (see Kim ‘578, paragraph [0051]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. An et al. (US 20240270053 A1) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIRSTIN U OSWALD whose telephone number is (571)270-3557. The examiner can normally be reached 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at 571-272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 11 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 12 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 13 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 14 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 15 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 16 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 17 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 18 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/970,536 Page 19 Art Unit: 3763