DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the third beam combination" in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination “the third beam combination” will be interpreted as “the third beam combination component”. Claim 2 and all claims dependent therefrom are rejected as being indefinite.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second beam combination " in lines 5-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination this limitation will be interpreted as “the second beam combination component”. Claim 17 is rejected as being indefinite.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the third beam combination component" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination this limitation will be interpreted as “the second beam combination component”. Claim 17 is rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pettitt et al (US 2021/0255534; hereinafter referred to as Pettitt).
Regarding Claim 1, Pettitt teaches a light source apparatus (Figure 1),
a Light Emitting Diode (LED) source assembly (Figure 1; LED 104, 106, 108 and 134), at least comprising: a first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108), a second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106), a third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) and a fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134); wherein
the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) is configured to emit a beam (Figure 1; Path 126) of a first wavelength band (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm);
the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is configured to emit a beam (Figure 1; Path 122) of a second wavelength band (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system);
the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is configured to emit a beam (Figure 1; Path 110) of a third wavelength band (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers); and
a beam (Figure 1; Path 136) emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) is configured to be incident on a light emitting surface of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106), and irradiate and excite the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) to emit the beam of the second wavelength band (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from blue pump LED 134 illuminates the front side of green LED 106, which causes green LED 106 to emit more green light);
a laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138), configured to emit a laser beam of a fourth wavelength band (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm), wherein the first wavelength band covers the fourth wavelength band (see Paragraphs [0019] and [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm and that light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm); and
a first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) and a second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128); wherein
the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) are arranged in such a way that a light incident direction along which the beam (Figure 1; Path 126) emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) is incident on the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) and a light incident direction along which the laser beam (Figure 1; Path 140) is incident on the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) are perpendicular (see Figure 1);
the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) is configured to combine the beam (Figure 1; Path 126) emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser beam (Figure 1; Path 140) by reflecting one of the beam (Figure 1; Path 126) emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser beam (Figure 1; Path 140) and transmitting the other of the beam emitted from the first LED source and the laser beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the filter 128 is configured to reflect light at the wavelengths of light from red LED 108, and also configured to transmit light at the wavelengths of the light from red laser bank 138);
a light incident direction along which the beam (Figure 1; Path 126) emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser beam (Figure 1; Path 140) are incident on the first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) and a light incident direction along which the beam (Figure 1; Path 122) emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam (Figure 1; Path 110) emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) are incident on the first beam component (Figure 1; Filter 116) are perpendicular (see Figure 1); wherein the first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) is configured to reflect one of the two incident beams whose light incident directions are perpendicular and to transmit the other of the two incident beams two incident beams whose light incident directions are perpendicular (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a third beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112);
wherein a light incident direction along which the beam (Figure 1; Path 122) emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is incident on the third beam combination (Figure 1; Filter 112) and a light incident direction along which the beam (Figure 1; Path 110) emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is incident on the third beam combination (Figure 1; Filter 112) are perpendicular (see Figure 1);
the third beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112) is configured to combine the beam (Figure 1; Path 122) emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam (Figure 1; Path 110) emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) by reflecting one of the beam (Figure 1; Path 122) emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam (Figure 1; Path 110) emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) and transmitting the other of the beam (Figure 1; Path 122) emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam (Figure 1; Path 110) emitted from the third LED source (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 3, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the beam of the first wavelength band is red light (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm), the beam of the second wavelength band is green light (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system), the beam of the third wavelength band is blue light (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers), and the laser beam of the fourth wavelength band is the red light (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm);
the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) is a red LED (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm), the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is a green LED (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system), the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is a blue LED (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers), and the beam emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) has a wavelength smaller than a wavelength of the beam emitted from the second LED source (see Paragraphs [0018] and [0020]); and
the laser source (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) is a red laser (see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 4, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) is configured to reflect one of the beam of the fourth wavelength band and the beam of the first wavelength band and to transmit the other of the beam of the fourth wavelength band and the beam of the first wavelength band (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the filter 128 is configured to reflect light at the wavelengths of light from red LED 108, and also configured to transmit light at the wavelengths of the light from red laser bank 138).
Regarding Claim 6, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) is a dichroic mirror (see Paragraph [0025]), and is configured to reflect the beam of the fourth wavelength band and transmit the beam of the first wavelength band excluding rays of the fourth wavelength band (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the filter 128 is configured to reflect light at the wavelengths of light from red LED 108, and also configured to transmit light at the wavelengths of the light from red laser bank 138).
Regarding Claim 7, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a center of a light spot, on the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128), of the beam emitted from the laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) and a center of a light spot (see Figure 1), on the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128), of the beam emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) coincide (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) are arranged in such a way that a light incident direction along which the beam emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) is incident on the light emitting surface of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is opposite to a light emitting direction of the second LED source (see Figure 1); and
the third beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112) is configured to reflect one of green light and blue light and transmit the other of the green light and the blue light (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 9, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a beam homogenization component (Figure 1; Light Tunnel 120) at a light emitting side of the first beam combination component (see Figure 1; wherein the light tunnel 120 is on the light emitting side of the filter 116).
Regarding Claim 10, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the beam homogenization component (Figure 1; Light Tunnel 120) is a fly-eye lens group (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that a Fly's Eye Array optic could be useful at the location of lens 118 to perform a similar function to light tunnel 120).
Regarding Claim 11, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) comprises at least one laser source (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) and a beam homogenization component (Figure 1; Diffuser 146) at a light emitting side of the at least one laser source (see Figure 1); and
a beam emitted from the at least one laser source (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) is incident on the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 128) after passing through the beam homogenization component (Figure 1; Diffuser 146) for beam homogenization (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a first collimating lens group (Figure 1; Lenses 109A and 109B) at a light emitting side of the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108);
a second collimating lens group (Figure 1; Lenses 107A and 107B) at a light emitting side of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106);
a third collimating lens group (Figure 1; Lenses 105A and 105B) at a light emitting side of the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104); and
a fourth collimating lens group (Figure 1; Lenses 135A and 135B) at a light emitting side of the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134).
Regarding Claim 15, Pettitt teaches a light source apparatus (Figure 1), comprising:
a Light Emitting Diode (LED) source assembly (Figure 1; LED 104, 106, 108 and 134), at least comprising: a first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108), a second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106), a third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) and a fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134); wherein
the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) is configured to emit a beam of a first wavelength band (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm);
the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is configured to emit a beam of a second wavelength band (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system);
the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is configured to emit a beam of a third wavelength band (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers); and
a beam (Figure 1; Path 136) emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) is configured to be incident on a light emitting surface of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106), and irradiate and excite the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) to emit the beam of the second wavelength band (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from blue pump LED 134 illuminates the front side of green LED 106, which causes green LED 106 to emit more green light);
a laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138), configured to emit a laser beam of a fourth wavelength band (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm), wherein the first wavelength band covers the fourth wavelength band (see Paragraphs [0019] and [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm and that light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm);
a first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) and a second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112); wherein
the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112) is configured to obtain a combined beam, by reflecting one of the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) and transmitting the other of the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the beam emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104), toward the first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) along a first direction (see Figure 1);
the laser beam emitted from the laser source assembly (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) is reflected toward the first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) along a second direction (see Figure 1), wherein the second direction is a light emitting direction of the first LED source (see Figure 1); and
the first beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 116) is configured to reflect one part of the combined beam, the beam emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser beam and transmit the other part of the combined beam, the beam emitted from the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) and the laser beam (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 15 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the beam of the first wavelength band is red light (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm), the beam of the second wavelength band is green light (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system), the beam of the third wavelength band is blue light (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers), and the laser beam of the fourth wavelength band is the red light (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the light from red laser bank 138 is approximately 640 nm, above 635 nm in some examples, 638 nm, 642 nm, or in the range of 633 to 660 nm);
the first LED source (Figure 1; Red LED 108) is a red LED (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the red LED 108 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 600 to 640 nm), the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is a green LED (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that the green LED 106 emits light with a broad wavelength of light, but light having a wavelength between approximately 500 and 600 nm is used by the projection system), the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is a blue LED (see Paragraph [0017]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue LED 104 emits light with a wavelength of approximately 440 to 475 nanometers), and the beam emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) has a wavelength smaller than a wavelength of the beam emitted from the second LED source (see Paragraphs [0018] and [0020]); and
the laser source (Figure 1; Red Laser Bank 138) is a red laser (see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 17, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 15 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) and the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) are arranged in such a way that a light incident direction along which the beam emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 1; Blue Pump LED 134) is incident on the light emitting surface of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is opposite to a light emitting direction of the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106), and a light incident direction along which the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 1; Green LED 106) is incident on the second beam combination (Figure 1; Filter 112) and a light incident direction along which the beam emitted from the third LED source (Figure 1; Blue LED 104) is incident on the second beam combination (Figure 1; Filter 112) are perpendicular (see Figure 1);
the second beam combination component (Figure 1; Filter 112) is configured to reflect one of the green light and the blue light and transmit the other of the green light and the blue light (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 18, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a projection system (Figure 1; LED Illumination System 100), comprising:
the light source apparatus (Figure 1) according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above);
an illumination path component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system incorporates one or more prisms);
a light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system uses a SLM); and
a projection lens (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system uses an output lens);
wherein the illumination path component is located at a light emitting side of the light source apparatus (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]);
the light valve modulation component is located at a light emitting side of the illumination path component, and is configured to modulate and then reflect an incident beam (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]);
the projection lens is located on a reflection path of the light valve modulation component and is configured to image a beam emitted from the light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 20, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 15 as detailed above.
Pettitt further teaches a projection system (Figure 1; LED Illumination System 100), comprising:
the light source apparatus (Figure 1) according to claim 15 (see Claim 15 rejection above);
an illumination path component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system incorporates one or more prisms);
a light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system uses a SLM); and
a projection lens (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the system uses an output lens);
wherein the illumination path component is located at a light emitting side of the light source apparatus (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]);
the light valve modulation component is located at a light emitting side of the illumination path component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]), and is configured to modulate and then reflect an incident beam (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]);
the projection lens is located on a reflection path of the light valve modulation component and is configured to image a beam emitted from the light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong (US 2023/0408894).
Regarding Claim 13, Gong teaches a light source apparatus (Figure 2), comprising:
a Light Emitting Diode (LED) source assembly (Figure 2; Light Sources 10, 20, 30, 40 and 50), at least comprising: a first LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 40), a second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10), a third LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 20) and a fourth LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 50); wherein
the first LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 40) is configured to emit a beam of a first wavelength band (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that a wavelength range of the light with the fourth wavelength is within a wavelength range of the red light);
the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10) is configured to emit a beam of a second wavelength band (see Paragraph [0035]);
the third LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 20) is configured to emit a beam of a third wavelength band (see Paragraph [0035]); and
a beam emitted from the fourth LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 50) is configured to be incident on a light emitting surface of the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10), and irradiate and excite the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10) to emit the beam of the second wavelength band (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the excitation light source 50 emits a blue, excitation light, and the blue excitation light is emitted to the first light source 10);
a laser source assembly (Figure 2; Light Source 30), configured to emit a laser beam of a fourth wavelength band (see Paragraph [0035]), wherein the first wavelength band covers the fourth wavelength band (see Paragraph [0035]);
a first beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 710), a second beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 730) and a third beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 720); wherein
the third beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 720) is configured to obtain a first combined beam, by reflecting one of the beam emitted from the first LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 40) and the beam emitted from the third LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 20) and transmitting the other of the beam emitted from the first LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 40) and the beam emitted from the third LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 20), toward the first beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 710) along a first direction (see Figure 2);
the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10) is incident on the first beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 710) along a second direction (see Figure 2);
the first beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 710) is configured to obtain a second combined beam with a light emitting direction along the second direction by reflecting one of the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10) and the first combined beam and transmitting the other of the beam emitted from the second LED source (Figure 2; Light Source 10) and the first combined beam (see Figure 2); and
the second beam combination component (Figure 2; Beam Splitter 730) is configured to reflect one of the second combined beam and the laser beam and transmit the other of the second combined beam and the laser beam (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettitt et al (US 2021/0255534; hereinafter referred to as Pettitt) as applied to claim 4, in view of Hu (US 2016/0026076).
Regarding Claim 5, Pettitt teaches the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Pettitt does not expressly disclose that the second beam combination component is a beam combination mirror, comprising a reflection region and a transmission region; a part of a surface, facing away from the first LED source, of the beam combination mirror is provided with a reflection layer to form the reflection region, and the other part of the beam combination excluding the reflection region forms the transmission region.
Hu discloses a beam combination component (Figure 2; Light Guiding Device 4) is a beam combination mirror (see Figure 2), comprising a reflection region (Figure 2; Reflective Element 42) and a transmission region (Figure 2; First Filter Plate 41); a part of a surface, facing away from a first LED source (Figure 2; Supplemental Light Source 2), of the beam combination mirror (Figure 2; Light Guiding Device 4) is provided with a reflection layer (Figure 2; Reflective Element 42) to form the reflection region (see Figure 2), and the other part of the beam combination (Figure 2; Light Guiding Device 4) excluding the reflection region (Figure 2; Reflective Element 42) forms the transmission region (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second beam combination component of Pettitt such that the second beam combination component is a beam combination mirror, comprising a reflection region and a transmission region; a part of a surface, facing away from the first LED source, of the beam combination mirror is provided with a reflection layer to form the reflection region, and the other part of the beam combination excluding the reflection region forms the transmission region, as taught by Hu, because doing so would result in a simple structure capable of increasing light utilization efficiency.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2023/0408894) as applied to claim 13, in view of Hu (US 2016/0026076).
Regarding Claim 14, Gong teaches the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Gong does not expressly disclose that the second beam combination component comprises a reflection portion and a transmission portion; and the transmission is a through-hole, and a portion of the second beam combination component excluding the through-hole is the reflection portion.
Hu discloses a beam combination component (Figure 3; Light Guiding Device 4) is a beam combination mirror (see Figure 3), comprising a reflection portion (Figure 3; Filter Plate 41) and a transmission portion (Figure 3; Aperture 41a); and the transmission is a through-hole (Figure 3; Aperture 41a), and a portion of the beam combination component (Figure 3; Light Guiding Device 4) excluding the through-hole (Figure 3; Aperture 41a) is the reflection portion (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second beam combination component of Pettitt such that the second beam combination component comprises a reflection portion and a transmission portion; and the transmission is a through-hole, and a portion of the second beam combination component excluding the through-hole is the reflection portion, as taught by Hu, because doing so would result in a simple structure capable of increasing light utilization efficiency.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2023/0408894) as applied to claim 13, in view of Sakata (US 2022/0308432).
Regarding Claim 19, Gong discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Gong further discloses a projection system (Figure 2), comprising:
the light source apparatus according to claim 13 (see Claim 13 rejection above).
Gong does not expressly disclose an illumination path component; a light valve modulation component; and a projection lens; wherein the illumination path component is located at a light emitting side of the light source apparatus; the light valve modulation component is located at a light emitting side of the illumination path component, and is configured to modulate and then reflect an incident beam; the projection lens is located on a reflection path of the light valve modulation component and is configured to image a beam emitted from the light valve modulation component.
Sakata discloses a projection system (Figure 1; Projector 1), comprising:
a light source apparatus (Figure 1; Light Source Apparatus 2);
an illumination path component (Figure 1; Mirrors 7a, 7b, 8a, 8b and 8c);
a light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Modulators 4R, 4G and 4B); and
a projection lens (Figure 1; Projection Optical Apparatus 6); wherein the illumination path component (Figure 1; Mirrors 7a, 7b, 8a, 8b and 8c) is located at a light emitting side of the light source apparatus (see Figure 1);
the light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Modulators 4R, 4G and 4B) is located at a light emitting side of the illumination path component (see Figure 1), and is configured to modulate and then reflect an incident beam (see Paragraph [0022]); the projection lens (Figure 1; Projection Optical Apparatus 6) is located on a reflection path of the light valve modulation component (Figure 1; Modulators 4R, 4G and 4B) and is configured to image a beam emitted from the light valve modulation component (see Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection system of Gong to incorporate an illumination path component; a light valve modulation component; and a projection lens; wherein the illumination path component is located at a light emitting side of the light source apparatus; the light valve modulation component is located at a light emitting side of the illumination path component, and is configured to modulate and then reflect an incident beam; the projection lens is located on a reflection path of the light valve modulation component and is configured to image a beam emitted from the light valve modulation component, as taught by Sakata, because doing so would predictably allow for the projection of full color images on a projection surface.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882