DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,792,552 in view of Grajales et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0272362).
The patented claims substantially teach the limitations of claims 1-13, including “a disposal box”, “ a slit through which used playing cards are insertable into the disposal box”, “the disposal box is positioned on a game table”, “the slit is positioned at the same height as or higher than that of an upper surface of the game table”, “a viewing window for confirming an amount of used playing cards contained in the disposal box”, “a guide indication indicating a number of the used playing cards that are contained in the disposal box is further attached to the surface in which the viewing window is provided”, “a plurality of viewing windows for confirming an amount of used playing cards contained in the disposal box”, “the plurality of viewing windows form columns side by side in a plane direction of each used playing card accommodated in the disposal box”, “a viewing hole for viewing at least one of the used playing cards accommodated in the disposal box is formed on an upper surface of the disposal box”. The patented claims do not expressly teach wherein the disposal box is formed of paper or plastic as required by claims 1 and 13. However, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) per MPEP 2144.07. A person ordinary skill in the art, at time of applicant’s effective filing, would have found it obvious to use a paper material, as it is known to be suitable for low manufacturing costs, easy assembly, and easy disposal. Plastic is known for its ease of manufacture, and has good durability. These material features would have been obvious to use for the disposal box as the aforementioned properties are desirable for a disposal box. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the functionality of the disposal box will not be significantly impacted. In fact, the materials are easily disposed of, and therefore the modification comports with the functionality of the patented disposal box.
The patented claims do not expressly teach wherein the disposal box has six sides and is formed from one continuous sheet as claimed. However, reference Grajales teaches such features to be known in the art (Fig.’s 1-11; “blank 100”). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented disposal box by making it from a single sheet of material. This modification would have reduced manufacturing costs and ease assembly of the box. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the functionality of the disposal box will not be significantly impacted.
With respect to claim 12, the claimed language of “wherein the used playing cards are brought into a disposal facility in the casino and discarded” are recitations of intended use. Per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In this case, patented disposal box is capable of being brought into a disposal facility in the casino and discarded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US Pub. No. 2012/0318857).
With respect to claims 1-3, 7 and 11-12, Miller teaches a disposal box 100 for accommodating used playing cards for disposal, the disposal box comprising: six sides formed by one continuous paper or plastic material (paragraph [0074]; Fig. 2); and a slit 170 through which the used playing cards are insertable into the disposal box 100, wherein the disposal box is discardable together with the used playing cards in a state in which the used playing cards are contained in the disposal box 100, wherein, when the disposal box is positioned on a game table, the slit is positioned at a same height as or higher than that of an upper surface of the game table, wherein a viewing window 180 for confirming an amount of used playing cards contained in the disposal box is provided in at least one of a front surface, a back surface, a left surface, and a right surface of the disposal box; wherein a viewing hole 180 for viewing at least one of the used playing cards accommodated in the disposal box is formed on an upper surface of the disposal box (when the slit 170 and window 180 are upwardly facing, the window 180 is formed on the box’s upper surface); wherein the disposal box 100 can be cut with a cutter or incinerated as combustible waste (due to its paper or plastic material – paragraph [0074]), wherein the used playing cards are brought into a disposal facility in the casino and discarded. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114, In re Schreiber. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the claim. Here, Miller’s disposal box 100 is capable of being used as claimed by the intended use / functional language (i.e. “through which the used playing cards are insertable”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US Pub. No. 2012/0318857) in view of Japanese Patent No. JP 57-003627 (published in 1982)(copy provided by applicant in parent application 16/099923 dated 12/3/18).
With respect to claim 5, Miller teaches a single elongated viewing hole 180, as opposed to multiple viewing holes as claimed. However, the Japanese Patent No. (JP 57-003627) discloses a container 1 for carrying various contents, a plurality of viewing windows 2, Fig. 1 in the form of holes formed on the surface of the container, a plurality of lines 4 are arranged in a plane direction in which the contents are stacked in the container 1, wherein the contents in the container 1 can always be visually recognized from any one of the viewing windows 2. In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify Miller’s disposal box by incorporating viewing windows in the form of holes formed on the exterior surface of the disposal box. This modification would allow convenient viewing of the contents within Miller’s disposal box. Regarding the location of the viewing holes, one ordinary skill in the art would look to the teachings of the Japanese Patent to position the inspection holes on the non-top/bottom surfaces of Peron. In other words, examiner concedes that the Japanese Patent does not expressly teach wherein the viewing windows are on a front, back left or right surface, since it utilizes a circular “can” shape for the container. However, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it “obvious to try” to position the windows on a non-upper or lower surface. There are a finite number of available surfaces to position the windows. The top and bottom surfaces are manifestly poor choices. Positioning on the bottom of the box will not allow viewing without inconvenient moving (i.e., manipulating the box such that the bottom surface is visible). Positioning windows on the top limits the ascertainable information to the top card. With the windows on an upright surface, the cards can be conveniently viewed through the holes. The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success as both Miller and the Japanese Patent teach wherein the contents accumulate from bottom to top.
In regard to claim 6, the container 1 of the Japanese Patent further includes an embodiment having a plurality of viewing windows forming two columns side by side in a plane direction, Fig. 2. In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify Miller’s disposal box by incorporating a plurality of viewing windows forming two columns side by side. This modification would have allowed a more expanded and clearer view of the contents within the box.
7. Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peron (US Pat. No. 6,203,012) in view of Grajales et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0272362).
With respect to claims 1, Peron teaches a disposal box for accommodating used playing cards for disposal, the disposal box comprising: a slit 32 through which the used playing cards 12 (“discard”) are insertable into the disposal box, wherein the disposal box is formed of a paper or plastic material (column 4, lines 28-30). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114, In re Schreiber. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the claim. Here, Peron’s disposal box is capable of being used as claimed by the intended use / functional language (i.e. “through which the used playing cards are insertable”)
Peron further teaches wherein, in a “preferred embodiment”, the discard box comprises a protector 14 with five sides as there’s no bottom wall. Instead, the bottom wall of the box is formed by a separate holder 30 that nests with the protector 14 and is “frequently” secured to the game table. Admittedly, the preferred embodiment therefore does not expressly teach wherein the box has “six sides formed by one continuous paper or plastic material” and is “discardable together with the used playing cards in a state in which the used playing cards are contained in the disposal box”. However, secondary reference Grajales et al. teaches that it is known to provide a disposable box comprising six sides formed by one continuous paper or plastic material (Fig.’s 1-11; “blank 100”; paragraph [0049]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disposal box of Peron by making it a six sided box formed from a single continuous piece of paper or plastic . This modification would have reduced manufacturing costs and allow for convenient movement of the box as it will not need to be affixed to a permanent second piece on a game table. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the functionality of the disposal box will not be impacted. As alluded to above, Peron teaches a preferred embodiment comprising the nested pieces 14, 30 (which is frequently attached to table) but does not foreclose modifications as contemplated herein. By implication, Peron allows for other non-preferred embodiments wherein the protector can have a bottom wall, and further teaches that the discard holder is not attached to the game table (although infrequently). Moreover, the box of Grajales et al. will allow for the box to be opened for the dealer at the top to easily access the contents therein. Examiner notes that the combination would produce a disposable box wherein it is discardable together with the used playing cards in a state in which the used playing cards are contained in the disposal box.
With respect to claim 2, Peron teaches wherein, when the disposal box is positioned on a game table, the slit is positioned at a same height as or higher than that of an upper surface of the game table (Fig. 1).
With respect to claims 8-9, Peron does not expressly teach a slit cover as claimed. However, Grajales et al., directed to a discard storage box, teaches the following features to be known in the art: slit 196 configured to close slit cover 122 (Fig. 10; See also Fig. 14, paragraph [0054] – “closing flap 192 can cover the top slot 196”). At time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the slit cover as taught by Grajales into Peron. Per KSR, exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Here, the slit cover can conveniently reveal and close the slit opening, which will allow ease of use and proper closing of the slit. Such modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it can be easily incorporated without frustrating the intended purpose of Peron. Whether the closing of the slit by the slit cover of Grajales constitutes a sealing, is debatable. Notwithstanding, examiner cites to secondary reference Shigeta for its express teaching of a seal 19c for sealing an opening of disposal box 19c after a predetermined number of used playing cards have been inserted in to the disposal box 19c, paragraph [0057]. Shigeta further teaches an indication on the disposal box 19c “OK” or “NG” configured to indicate an ID corresponding to the one or more playing cards stored in the disposal box, see Fig. 11, paragraph [0058]. In view of such teaching, at the time of applicant’s effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Peron’s disposal box by incorporating a seal for sealing the slit after a predetermined number of used playing cards have been inserted into the disposal box since the slit is the only opening to the exterior of the disposable box. An indication on Peron’s disposal box of “OK” or “NG” would have been provided thereon to indicate an ID corresponding to the one or more playing cards stored in the disposal box. This modification would expectantly insure that a predetermined number of used playing cards have been inserted into the disposal box for security purposes (i.e. mitigate fraudulent game play).
With respect to claims 11-12, the claimed language of “wherein the disposal box can be cut with a cutter or incinerated as combustible waste” and “wherein the used playing cards are brought into a disposal facility in the casino and discarded” are recitations of intended use. Again, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114, In re Schreiber. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the claim. In this case, Peron’s disposal box is capable of being cut with a cutter or incinerated as combustible waste. Also, the used playing cards mentioned in Peron is capable of being brought into a disposal facility in the casino and discarded.
With respect to claim 13, Peron teaches an arrangement for disposal of used playing cards 14 for disposal, the arrangement comprising: a game table (Fig. 1); and a disposal box that includes a slit 32 through which the used playing cards are insertable into the disposal box (Fig.’s 2-3; column 3, lines 29-53), wherein the disposal box: is positioned on the game table such that the slit is at a same height as or higher than that of an upper surface of the game table (Fig. 1); is formed of a paper or plastic material (column 4, lines 28-30).
Peron further teaches wherein, in a “preferred embodiment”, the discard box comprises a protector 14 with five sides as there’s no bottom wall. Instead, the bottom wall of the box is formed by a separate holder 30 that nests with the protector 14 and is “frequently” secured to the game table. Admittedly, the preferred embodiment therefore does not expressly teach wherein the box has “six sides formed by one continuous paper or plastic material” and is “discardable together with the used playing cards in a state in which the used playing cards are contained in the disposal box”. However, secondary reference Grajales et al. teaches that it is known to provide a disposable box comprising six sides formed by one continuous paper or plastic material (Fig.’s 1-11; “blank 100”; paragraph [0049]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disposal box of Peron by making it a six sided box formed from a single continuous piece of paper or plastic. This modification would have reduced manufacturing costs and allow for convenient movement of the box as it will not need to be affixed to a permanent second piece on a game table. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the functionality of the disposal box will not be impacted. As alluded to above, Peron teaches a preferred embodiment comprising the nested pieces 14, 30 (which is frequently attached to table) but does not foreclose modifications as contemplated herein. By implication, Peron allows for other non-preferred embodiments wherein the protector can have a bottom wall, and further teaches that the discard holder is not attached to the game table (although infrequently). Moreover, the box of Grajales et al. will allow for the box to be opened for the dealer at the top to easily access the contents therein. Examiner notes that the combination would produce a disposable box wherein it is discardable together with the used playing cards in a state in which the used playing cards are contained in the disposal box.
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peron (US Pat. No. 6,203,012) in view of Grajales et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0272362) and further in view of Shigeta (US 2013/0307215).
With respect to claim 10, Peron does not expressly teach a printing or barcode as claimed. However, tertiary reference Shigeta, directed to the analogous art of card games with discard boxes, teaches the following to be known in the art: a printing or a barcode indicating a unique identification (ID) 102 is assigned to each set of the used playing cards (Fig. 3, paragraphs [0045]-[0046]). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Peron’s used playing cards by printing a different ID to each set of used playing cards in order to accurately identify each used playing card in order to prevent fraud. Such modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the cards are still playable in standard manner.
9. Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peron (US Pat. No. 6,203,012) in view of Grajales et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0272362) and further in view of Japanese Patent No. JP 57-003627 (published in 1982)(copy provided by applicant in parent application 16/099923 dated 12/3/18).
With respect to claims 3-5, Peron is silent as to viewing holes as claimed. However, the Japanese Patent No. (JP 57-003627) discloses a container 1 for carrying various contents, a plurality of viewing windows 2, Fig. 1 in the form of holes formed on the surface of the container, a plurality of lines 4 are arranged in a plane direction in which the contents are stacked in the container 1, wherein the contents in the container 1 can always be visually recognized from any one of the viewing windows 2. The numbers “5”, “10”, “15” next to the lines 4 are guide indications indicating the amount of content that is stacked in the container, Figs. 1 and 2. In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify Peron’s disposal box by incorporating viewing windows in the form of holes formed on the exterior surface of the disposal box. A plurality of lines and numbers next to the lines would have been attached to the surface of the disposal box next to the viewing windows. This modification would have allowed the viewing of the used playing cards disposed in Peron’s disposal box. The lines and numbers on the surface of Peron’s disposal box would have indicated the number of used playing cards in the disposal box. Regarding the location of the viewing holes, one ordinary skill in the art would look to the teachings of the Japanese Patent to position the inspection holes on the non-top/bottom surfaces of Peron. In other words, examiner concedes that the Japanese Patent does not expressly teach wherein the viewing windows are on a front, back left or right surface, since it utilizes a circular “can” shape for the container. However, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it “obvious to try” to position the windows on a non-upper or lower surface. There are a finite number of available surfaces to position the windows. The top and bottom surfaces are manifestly poor choices. Positioning on the bottom of the box will not allow viewing without inconvenient moving (i.e., manipulating the box such that the bottom surface is visible). Positioning windows on the top limits the ascertainable information to the top card. With the windows on an upright surface, the cards can be conveniently viewed through the holes. The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success as both Peron and the Japanese Patent teach wherein the contents accumulate from bottom to top.
In regard to claim 6, the container 1 of the Japanese Patent further includes an embodiment having a plurality of viewing windows forming two columns side by side in a plane direction, Fig. 2. In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify Peron’s disposal box by incorporating a plurality of viewing windows forming two columns side by side. This modification would have allowed a more expanded and clearer view of the used playing cards.
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peron (US Pat. No. 6,203,012) in view of Grajales et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0272362) and further in view of Nichols (US Pub. No. 2017/0050106)
With respect to claim 7, Peron does not expressly teach a viewing hole on the top as claimed. However, Nichols, directed to the analogous art a card holder box, teaches such features as a viewing hole 36 (“circular opening”) for viewing at least one playing card accommodated in the card holder box is formed on an upper surface of the box (Fig. 3; paragraph [0048]). Hence, at the time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an upper surface viewing of the discard box of Peron, for the expected purpose of visually inspecting the playing cards from a top surface, which is an easy angle for the dealer. This modification would have reduced manufacturing costs. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the functionality of the disposal box will not be significantly impacted.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711