DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIH et al. (US 20190349837 A1, hereinafter Shih)
Regarding Claim 1, Shih teaches
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories;
(Shih [0129] Memory 2328 may include computer-storage media in the form of volatile and/or non-volatile memory.)
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors
(Shih [0129, Line 5] As illustrated in FIG. 23, memory 2328 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 2332 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 2326 to perform various functions described herein.)
receive information that indicates a time location of when to monitor for a system information block one (SIB1);
(Shih[0052,Line 4] a UE 102 may receive a SIB1 130 (e.g., as part of the minimum SI) from a cell, which may belong to one of the cells controlled by an NR gNB 104.
[0102, Line 14] the UE 102 may monitor the start of the modification period within the broadcast delay time to start the system information acquisition.)
monitor for the SIB1 at the time location.
(Shih [0102]; also [0103] In some implementations, the NR gNB 104 may send a MAC CE including a field “B” to indicate a “broadcast monitoring duration” within an MSG4. FIG. 15 shows a MAC CE 1500 including a field “B” 150 for indicating the broadcast monitoring duration, according to an example implementation of the present application. In one implementation, the broadcast monitoring duration may be indicated by DCI. The broadcast monitoring duration may represent the number of SI-windows and/or the number of modification periods the UE 102 needs to monitor for the SI acquisition.)
Regarding Claim 2, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the information indicates one or more of a SIB1 periodicity or an offset for the SIB1 within the SIB1 periodicity.
(Shih [0049] A System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) may carry the scheduling information for the System Information (SI) messages. The scheduling information of an SI message may include the periodicity of the SI message and what kinds of system information blocks (SIBs) may be carried by the SI message.
[0049, line 9] Only the SIBs that have the same scheduling requirement (e.g., periodicity) may be mapped to the same SI message. Thus, the SIBs in the same SI message may be broadcast with the same periodicity. There may be multiple SI messages transmitted with the same periodicity.)
Regarding Claim 3, Shih teaches all of Claim1 and further teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive the information in system information, a dedicated radio resource control message, or a master information block of a same cell.
(Shih [0069] Once the NR gNB 104 receives the RRCSystemInfoRequest message, the NR gNB 104 may reply to the UE 102 with system information (e.g., system information message, system information blocks).
[0045, line 17] The UE may implicitly inform the base station of the requested system information (e.g., SIB, SI message) via the RA preamble and/or the PRACH occasion(s). The minimum SI may include the Master Information Block (MIB) and the SIB1.)
Regarding Claim 5, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to transmit a request for the information.
(Shih [0045, line 7] UE transmits (e.g., during MSG1 transmission in the 4-step Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure, or during MSGA transmission in the 2-step RACH procedure) may correspond to the system information (e.g., SIB, SI message) requested by the UE.)
Regarding Claim 11, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the information indicates a bitmap for one or more SIB1 transmission patterns.
(Shih [0053] In one implementation, the indicator in the first list 132 may be in the form of an index, a bitmap.)
Regarding Claim 12, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the information indicates that the information is common for a group of cells.
(Shih [0052, line 4] a UE 102 may receive a SIB1 130 (e.g., as part of the minimum SI) from a cell, which may belong to one of the cells controlled by an NR gNB 104.)
Regarding Claim 13, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the group of cells belongs to a same public land mobile network, a same frequency range or band, a same geographical area, collocated cells, or a same network entity.(Shih [0011] FIG. 4 shows an example of a PLMN identity, according to an example implementation of the present application.
[0124, line 6] Node 2300 may also include a Radio Frequency (RF) spectrum band module.
[0041] The base station is operable to provide radio coverage to a specific geographical area using a plurality of cells forming the radio access network.
[0050, line 8] UEs that select different PLMNs, but camp on the same cell, may share the same cell-specific system information.) Regarding Claim 14, Shih teachesAn apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: one or more memories;
(Shih [0129] Memory 2328 may include computer-storage media in the form of volatile and/or non-volatile memory.) one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors
(Shih [0129, Line 5] As illustrated in FIG. 23, memory 2328 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 2332 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 2326 to perform various functions described herein.)
transmit information that indicates a time location of when a user equipment (UE) is to monitor for a system information block one (SIB1);
(Shih [0047, line 5] an SI request may be sent using an MSG3-based approach. For example, the MSG3 transmitted by the UE may indicate the requested system information.)
transmit the SIB1 at the time location.
(Shih [0098, line 7] The UE 102 may send, to the NR gNB 104, the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) or a preamble corresponding to the SI request message after the timer expires.)
Regarding Claim 15, Shih teaches all of Claim 14 and further teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to transmit the information based at least in part on a request for the information.
(Shih [0045] In some of the present implementations, if the minimum SI includes information related to a Random Access (RA) preamble and/or a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) occasion specific to each SIB or set of SIBs (which the UE needs to acquire), the SI request may be indicated using an MSG1-based approach.)
Regarding Claim 16, Shih teaches all of Claim 14 and further teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to receive the information from another network entity.
(Shih [0040] A base station may include, but is not limited to, a node B (NB) as in the UMTS, an evolved node B (eNB) as in the LTE or LTE-A, a radio network controller (RNC) as in the UMTS, a base station controller (BSC) as in the GSM/GERAN, a ng-eNB as in an E-UTRA base station in connection with the 5GC, a next generation node B (gNB) as in the 5G-RAN, and any other apparatus capable of controlling radio communication and managing radio resources within a cell.)
Regarding Claim 20, Shih teaches
receiving information that indicates a time location of when to monitor for a system information block one (SIB1);
(Shih [0052, Line 4] a UE 102 may receive a SIB1 130 (e.g., as part of the minimum SI) from a cell, which may belong to one of the cells controlled by an NR gNB 104.
[0102, Line 14] the UE 102 may monitor the start of the modification period within the broadcast delay time to start the system information acquisition.)
monitor for the SIB1 at the time location.
(Shih [0103] In some implementations, the NR gNB 104 may send a MAC CE including a field “B” to indicate a “broadcast monitoring duration” within an MSG4. FIG. 15 shows a MAC CE 1500 including a field “B” 150 for indicating the broadcast monitoring duration, according to an example implementation of the present application. In one implementation, the broadcast monitoring duration may be indicated by DCI. The broadcast monitoring duration may represent the number of SI-windows and/or the number of modification periods the UE 102 needs to monitor for the SI acquisition.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US 20190349837 A1, hereinafter Shih) in view of ISHII (US 20190387456 A1, hereinafter Ishii)
Regarding Claim 4, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 but fails to teach
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive the information in a message of a neighboring cell or an assisting cell.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ishii teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive the information in a message of a neighboring cell or an assisting cell.
(Ishii [0064] Performs neighboring cell measurements and cell (re-)selection;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Ishii to have the UE to receive information about neighboring cell or an assisting cell.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the measurement process to be executed appropriately, maintaining the radio link quality.
Regarding Claim 6, Shih teaches all of Claim 5 but fails to teach
wherein the request includes a request to activate the SIB1 based at least in part on a transmission frequency of the SIB1.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ishii teaches
wherein the request includes a request to activate the SIB1 based at least in part on a transmission frequency of the SIB1.
(Ishii [0123, line 8] In the SI message acquisition the wireless terminal monitors signals from the access node (depicted by arrow 12-3 in FIG. 12) in the designated SI windows derived from the scheduling information (scheduleInfo) in the SIB1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Ishii to have the SIB1 be activated.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the measurement process to be executed appropriately, maintaining the radio link quality.
Regarding Claim 7, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 but fails to teach
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive updated information for when to monitor for SIB1s.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ishii teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive updated information for when to monitor for SIB1s.
(Ishii [0084] The technology disclosed herein concerns, e.g., apparatus, methods, and procedures for obtaining and/or updating SIBs including controlling timing of an SI message acquisition process.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Ishii to have the updated information to monitor SIB1s.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have an efficient system performance without any interruption or quality compromise.
Regarding Claim 18, Shih teaches all of Claim 14, but fails to teach
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to align the time location with a time location of a SIB1 transmission by another network entity or cell.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ishii teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to align the time location with a time location of a SIB1 transmission by another network entity or cell.
(Ishii [0128, line 6] In some configuration, the timer is configured by SIB1 (e.g. the timer configuration T#x in FIG. 13B))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Ishii to have the network entity to align the time location with the time location of a SIB1 transmission by another network.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have accurate transmission without delay or loss of signal.
Regarding Claim 19, Shih teaches all of Claim 14 but fails to teach
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to transmit a suggestion for a SIB1 time location change to another network entity.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ishii teaches
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to transmit a suggestion for a SIB1 time location change to another network entity.
(Ishii [0153] Furthermore, the counter configuration or the timer configuration for acquisition of periodic broadcast-based SI message(s) may be configured via system information (e.g. SIB1) separately from the configuration for acquisition of on-demand based SI message(s). In this case, SIB1 shown in FIG. 13C with two separate counter configurations (si-MaxAcqAttemptsOnDemand and si-MaxAcqAttemptsPeriodic) or FIG. 13D with two separate timer configurations (T#x for on-demand and T#y for periodic broadcast) may be used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Ishii to have the system to transmit a suggestion for a SIB1 time location change.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have accurate transmission without delay or loss of signal.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US 20190349837 A1, hereinafter Shih) in view of DAI et al. (US 20250374212 A1, hereinafter Dai)
Regarding Claim 8, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 but fails to teach
wherein the information indicates an irregular SIB1 transmission pattern.
However, in a similar endeavor, Dai teaches
wherein the information indicates an irregular SIB1 transmission pattern.
(Dai [0104, line 7] the base station may indicate the configured SSB transmission periodicities and/or beam patterns via SIB1 (i.e., RMSI), which may include a larger signaling overhead for the SIB1.
[0103, line 11] as shown at 1308, by configuring different SSB beams with different SSB transmission periodicities (or irregular SSB patterns) based on UE RACH probabilities, the base station may achieve energy saving.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Dai to have the information on an irregular SIB1 transmission pattern.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to understand the irregular SIB1 transmission pattern which can cause serious problems for UE cell acquisition and system operation. As such for an efficient acquisition and system operation understanding this pattern is crucial.
Regarding Claim 9, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 but fails to teach
wherein the information indicates a switch of a SIB1 transmission pattern.
However, in a similar endeavor, Dai teaches
wherein the information indicates a switch of a SIB1 transmission pattern.
(Dai [0104, line 16] For example, as shown by FIG. 12, the base station 1102 may indicate SSBs with a longer periodicity via SIB 1 (e.g., SSBs 1, 4 with 160 ms periodicity), and SSBs with a shorter periodicity via OSI (e.g., SSB 2 with 40 ms periodicity and/or SSB 3 with 80 ms periodicity))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Dai to have the information that indicates a switch of a SIB1 transmission pattern.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have an efficient acquisition and system operation understanding this pattern is crucial.
Regarding Claim 10, Shih teaches all of Claim 1 but fails to teach
wherein the information indicates one or more of a list of SIB1 transmission periodicities or offsets.
However, in a similar endeavor, Dai teaches
wherein the information indicates one or more of a list of SIB1 transmission periodicities or offsets.
(Dai [0104] Referring back to FIG. 11, in some examples, after the base station 1102 configures SSBs or SSB beams with their corresponding SSB transmission periodicities, at 1114, the base station 1102 may indicate (e.g., broadcast) the configured SSB transmission periodicities and/or beam patterns (e.g., configured SSB beam burst pattern) to UEs. In one aspect, the base station may indicate the configured SSB transmission periodicities and/or beam patterns via SIB1 (i.e., RMSI), which may include a larger signaling overhead for the SIB1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Dai to indicate one or more of a list of SIB1 transmission periodicities or offsets.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have SIB1 critical broadcast message that contains transmission periodicity and offsets which are important aspect to for all other SIBs since SIB1 is the primary scheduling block.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US 20190349837 A1, hereinafter Shih) in view of SAYED et al. (WO 2025171877 A1, hereinafter Sayed)
Regarding Claim 17, Shih teaches all of Claim 14, but fails to teach
wherein the network entity is a distributed unit, and wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to transmit the information to a central unit or receive the information from the central unit.
However, in a similar endeavor, Sayed teaches
wherein the network entity is a distributed unit, and wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to transmit the information to a central unit or receive the information from the central unit.
(Sayed [0061] In some embodiments, radio access node 120 may be a distributed radio access node. The components of the radio access node 120, and their associated functions, may be separated into two main units (or sub-radio network nodes) which may be referred to as the central unit (CU) and the distributed unit (DU))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Shih and by incorporating Sayed to cause the network entity to transmit the information to a central unit or receive the information from the central unit.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have an efficient operation.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644