Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura (US 2022/0255650) in view of Raman et al. (US 2017/0078195) (“Raman”) in view of Ilyadis et al. (US 2015/0135260) (“Ilyadis”) in view of Ansari et al. (US 2017/0208605) (“Ansari”) in view of Vrzic et al. (US 2009/0061778) (“Vrzic”).
For claim 1; Daoura discloses: configuring edge devices with chirp patterns, channels, and schedules derived from at least one orchestration source (paragraph 11, 74, 107, 111, 290: The system includes one or more radiobeacons having a sensor or sensor package, a clock, a processor with a memory for storing an instruction set, a radio emitter with antenna, such that the radio emitter operates at a first frequency and is configured to emit a broadcast signal in a low energy radio bandwidth. These radiobeacon signals include an identifier and a sensor data payload … “Nodal device”— for wireless communication with a broad area network portal or interface (i.e., communicating with an internetwork) and for wireless communication from and/or to a radiobeacon or other low energy radio device, where the two radio interfaces (a BAN interface and a low energy radiobeacon interface, sometimes termed a BLE interface) are operated on separate radiosets at different frequencies and power levels … Devices having established a master-slave relationship can be locked into that relationship by the BT master's access code. When paired, the slave becomes dependent on the clock and frequency hopping regime dictated by a particular master); forward chirp messages to cloud systems while preserving cryptic and minimalistic payloads (paragraph 107: Broadcasts are termed “messages” because they preferredly include a “data payload” having output from a sensor or sensor package associated with the radiobeacon. On receipt, a compatible nodal device will register the message and add a timestamp (and a geostamp when available)… the nodal device acquires capability to access a cloud host of the invention, and message policies will include instructions for processing and rebroadcasting third-party messages in background (but where the message contents remain anonymous, occult, and encoded so that the owner of the “proxy” device is not notified or permitted access to the message contents without special permissions). At the end of the upswitching process, no record of the contents of the message can be retrieved from the proxy nodal device and encryption may be used as known in the art to ensure privacy, whereby only the cloud host server will decrypt the message. The broadcast forward, however, includes the original data payload of the message, a timestamp as received, and a network address for the cloud host, so that it can be routed to the cloud host server).
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Raman from similar fields of endeavor teaches: utilizing propagator nodes to aggregate, filter, and forward chirp messages to cloud systems while preserving cryptic and minimalistic payloads (paragraph 15, 36, 39: A propagator gateway may receive sensor data packets, aggregate the sensor data packets based upon the sensor identifications and sensor classifications, and may forward the sensor data packets in sensor data packet streams to respective integrator gateways. In one example, a propagator gateway may temporarily store (e.g., for a predefined period of time) the sensor data packets before sending the sensor data packets that are aggregated in sensor data packet streams. An integrator gateway may collect the sensor data packets and further aggregate or segregate the sensor data packets for various purposes and based upon various criteria. An integrator gateway may also forward sensor data packets to one or more additional integrator gateways, or to one or more destination devices, such as a storage device…the collector device 261 may minimally receive sensor data from sensor 231, and may create a sensor data packet with a sensor ID, a sensor classification, and the sensor data for forwarding to the cellular/wireless access point…different propagator gateways in the set of propagator gateways 220 may be listening for sensor data packets that meet a certain criteria. For instance, propagator gateway 221 may be listening for sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature,” while propagator gateway 222 may be listening for data packets with a sensor classification of “humidity.” Thus, propagator gateway 221 may collect sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature” while discarding or ignoring sensor data packets that do not have this sensor classification). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the data routing as described by Raman in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ilyadis from similar fields of endeavor teaches: segmenting collision domains in time, frequency to ensure efficient and equitable use of shared communication resources (paragraph 30: management entity 102A may adjust the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 104A-C to minimize and/or prevent the interference. For example, the management entity 102A may adjust one or more of a transmission power level, a transmission frequency, and/or a transmission timeslot of the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 104A-C); adjusting chirp timing dynamically based on network conditions, and power constraints (paragraph 25, 49, 51: One or more of the devices 104A-L may be configured to transmit data, such as data generated from measured physical quantities, in different formats and/or at different times, such as at periodic intervals, e.g. every millisecond, every second, every minute, etc., on a periodic basis based at least on operating parameters/variables of one or more of the devices 104A-L, e.g. power constraints, at times determined based at least on fluctuations in measured physical quantities, at times determined based at least on network connection availability, such as transient network connection availability… If the primary management entity 202E determines that the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 204J,K, such as the device 204J, may cause the devices 204J,K to conflict, and/or the devices 204J,K are conflicting with, e.g. interfering with, the other devices 204A-I,L,M, the secondary management entity 202D receives an adjusted device operating policy for the device 204J from the primary management entity 202E (312)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ilyadis in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ansari from similar fields of endeavor teaches: adjusting chirp timing dynamically based on application relevance windows (paragraph 16: the control node may adapt the second time period of the second transmission window accordingly, e.g. it may decrease the size of the transmission window so that a communication device transmitting a data stream with a lower priority occupies the shared communication channel for a shorter period of time and that the realtime requirements of any emerging first data stream can be ensured). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ansari in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Vrzic from similar fields of endeavor teaches: segmenting collision domains in spatial dimensions to ensure efficient and equitable use of shared communication resources (paragraph 33: the base stations 14 and mobile terminals 16 may include multiple antennas to provide spatial diversity for communications). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the collision avoidance as described by Vrzic in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
For claim 2; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ilyadis from similar fields of endeavor teaches: nodes leverage multi-hop connectivity to route chirps (paragraph 21: one or more of the networks 101A-D may be, or may include, one or more of a relay network, a mesh network, a tree or hierarchical network… there may be multiple paths between one or more of the management entities 102A-E and the devices 104A-L. In one or more implementations, there may be multiple paths between one or more of the devices 104A-L and/or the management entities 102A-E, and the network 106); using RF channel segmentation to minimize interference and maximize throughput (paragraph 14, 35: the primary management entity has access to the device operating policies of the devices across the multiple networks and therefore can adjust one or more device operating policies from a universal network perspective, as necessary, e.g. to minimize interference across the networks and/or to ensure that the devices are transmitting over the shortest and/or highest quality transmission paths… The management entity 102E may determine whether the device operating policies of any of the devices 104A-K should be adjusted, e.g. to minimize interference and/or to optimize the transmission paths used by the devices). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ilyadis in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
For claim 4; Daoura discloses: low-power edge devices operate as passive relays for nearby chirp transmissions, extending network range without additional power consumption (paragraph 286: the radiotags also log and report radio contacts with other radiotags to the smart device. Thus radiocontact 2361 between device 2358 of a group 2354 and an outside BTLE radiotag 2360 will be reported to the smart device 2101 in a record that includes the identifiers of both devices and an RSSI value of the radio signal ping from radiotag 2360 as received by radiotag)
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzicas applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Miller et al. (US 2017/0134937) (“Miller”) in view of Drugge et al. (WO 2019/034524) (“Drugge”).
For claim 3; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 2 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Miller from similar fields of endeavor teaches: imprinting chirp devices at manufacturing or deployment with cryptographic signatures to ensure zero-trust secure communication (paragraph 84-86: cryptographic coprocessor 115 of each node 110 (e.g., autonomous device) is configured to implement various cryptographic processes including generating, managing, and storing cryptography keys and encrypting and decrypting cryptographically secured communications… The autonomous devices/nodes can be provisioned online or offline. In offline provisioning, it is possible to provision the devices at initialization or at a time of manufacturing). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the security as described by Miller in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve end to end security.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Drugge from similar fields of endeavor teaches: allowing edge devices to operate autonomously using pre-programmed patterns until dynamically updated by cloud systems (page 3-4: performing frequency hopping reception or transmission according to an initial hopping sequence which the electronic transceiver device uses until semi-static signalling assigns a specific primary hopping sequence… The initial hopping sequence may be pre-configured). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the default setup as described by Drugge in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve start-up efficiency.
For claim 14; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Miller from similar fields of endeavor teaches: imprinting chirp devices at manufacturing (paragraph 84-86: The autonomous devices/nodes can be provisioned online or offline. In offline provisioning, it is possible to provision the devices at initialization or at a time of manufacturing). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the security as described by Miller in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve end to end security.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Drugge from similar fields of endeavor teaches: pre-configured chirp patterns (page 3-4: performing frequency hopping reception or transmission according to an initial hopping sequence which the electronic transceiver device uses until semi-static signalling assigns a specific primary hopping sequence… The initial hopping sequence may be pre-configured). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the default setup as described by Drugge in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve start-up efficiency.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis.
For claim 5; Daoura discloses: A scalable and secure chirp messaging protocol for IoT networks, wherein: chirp messages are cryptic, terse, enabling receiver-oriented communication with innate security generated by devices at an edge of the IoT network (paragraph 11, 74, 107, 111, 290: The system includes one or more radiobeacons having a sensor or sensor package, a clock, a processor with a memory for storing an instruction set, a radio emitter with antenna, such that the radio emitter operates at a first frequency and is configured to emit a broadcast signal in a low energy radio bandwidth. These radiobeacon signals include an identifier and a sensor data payload … “Nodal device”— for wireless communication with a broad area network portal or interface (i.e., communicating with an internetwork) and for wireless communication from and/or to a radiobeacon or other low energy radio device, where the two radio interfaces (a BAN interface and a low energy radiobeacon interface, sometimes termed a BLE interface) are operated on separate radiosets at different frequencies and power levels … Devices having established a master-slave relationship can be locked into that relationship by the BT master's access code. When paired, the slave becomes dependent on the clock and frequency hopping regime dictated by a particular master) (paragraph 107: Broadcasts are termed “messages” because they preferredly include a “data payload” having output from a sensor or sensor package associated with the radiobeacon. On receipt, a compatible nodal device will register the message and add a timestamp (and a geostamp when available)… the nodal device acquires capability to access a cloud host of the invention, and message policies will include instructions for processing and rebroadcasting third-party messages in background (but where the message contents remain anonymous, occult, and encoded so that the owner of the “proxy” device is not notified or permitted access to the message contents without special permissions). At the end of the upswitching process, no record of the contents of the message can be retrieved from the proxy nodal device and encryption may be used as known in the art to ensure privacy, whereby only the cloud host server will decrypt the message. The broadcast forward, however, includes the original data payload of the message, a timestamp as received, and a network address for the cloud host, so that it can be routed to the cloud host server).
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Raman from similar fields of endeavor teaches: chirp messages are self-classifying (paragraph 13: a sensor data packet may include a sensor identification (sensor ID) and a sensor classification that may be used for aggregating and routing the sensor data packets); propagation through intermediate nodes incorporates tagging (paragraph 52: the processor appends the sensor data packet with additional data) and corroboration of chirp data (paragraph 51: the processor may confirm that the sensor ID and the sensor classification of the sensor data packet matches a sensor ID and sensor classification of the subscription). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the data routing as described by Raman in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ilyadis from similar fields of endeavor teaches: dynamic schedules are imposed to manage chirp transmission within intermittent connectivity frameworks, ensuring low-power operation at the edge (paragraph 25, 49, 51: One or more of the devices 104A-L may be configured to transmit data, such as data generated from measured physical quantities, in different formats and/or at different times, such as at periodic intervals, e.g. every millisecond, every second, every minute, etc., on a periodic basis based at least on operating parameters/variables of one or more of the devices 104A-L, e.g. power constraints, at times determined based at least on fluctuations in measured physical quantities, at times determined based at least on network connection availability, such as transient network connection availability… If the primary management entity 202E determines that the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 204J,K, such as the device 204J, may cause the devices 204J,K to conflict, and/or the devices 204J,K are conflicting with, e.g. interfering with, the other devices 204A-I,L,M, the secondary management entity 202D receives an adjusted device operating policy for the device 204J from the primary management entity 202E (312)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ilyadis in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari.
For claim 6; Daoura discloses: system for dynamically scheduling chirp transmissions in IoT networks, comprising: at least one orchestrator that assigns dynamic chirp transmission patterns and frequencies to edge devices (paragraph 11, 74, 107, 111, 290: The system includes one or more radiobeacons having a sensor or sensor package, a clock, a processor with a memory for storing an instruction set, a radio emitter with antenna, such that the radio emitter operates at a first frequency and is configured to emit a broadcast signal in a low energy radio bandwidth. These radiobeacon signals include an identifier and a sensor data payload … “Nodal device”— for wireless communication with a broad area network portal or interface (i.e., communicating with an internetwork) and for wireless communication from and/or to a radiobeacon or other low energy radio device, where the two radio interfaces (a BAN interface and a low energy radiobeacon interface, sometimes termed a BLE interface) are operated on separate radiosets at different frequencies and power levels … Devices having established a master-slave relationship can be locked into that relationship by the BT master's access code. When paired, the slave becomes dependent on the clock and frequency hopping regime dictated by a particular master).
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Raman from similar fields of endeavor teaches: propagator nodes operating as intermediaries to relay chirp messages (paragraph 15, 36, 39: A propagator gateway may receive sensor data packets, aggregate the sensor data packets based upon the sensor identifications and sensor classifications, and may forward the sensor data packets in sensor data packet streams to respective integrator gateways. In one example, a propagator gateway may temporarily store (e.g., for a predefined period of time) the sensor data packets before sending the sensor data packets that are aggregated in sensor data packet streams. An integrator gateway may collect the sensor data packets and further aggregate or segregate the sensor data packets for various purposes and based upon various criteria. An integrator gateway may also forward sensor data packets to one or more additional integrator gateways, or to one or more destination devices, such as a storage device…the collector device 261 may minimally receive sensor data from sensor 231, and may create a sensor data packet with a sensor ID, a sensor classification, and the sensor data for forwarding to the cellular/wireless access point…different propagator gateways in the set of propagator gateways 220 may be listening for sensor data packets that meet a certain criteria. For instance, propagator gateway 221 may be listening for sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature,” while propagator gateway 222 may be listening for data packets with a sensor classification of “humidity.” Thus, propagator gateway 221 may collect sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature” while discarding or ignoring sensor data packets that do not have this sensor classification). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the data routing as described by Raman in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ilyadis from similar fields of endeavor teaches: manage real-time channel occupancy and interference (paragraph 30: management entity 102A may adjust the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 104A-C to minimize and/or prevent the interference. For example, the management entity 102A may adjust one or more of a transmission power level, a transmission frequency, and/or a transmission timeslot of the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 104A-C); a mechanism to back-schedule chirp activities based on evolving network topology (paragraph 25, 49, 51: One or more of the devices 104A-L may be configured to transmit data, such as data generated from measured physical quantities, in different formats and/or at different times, such as at periodic intervals, e.g. every millisecond, every second, every minute, etc., on a periodic basis based at least on operating parameters/variables of one or more of the devices 104A-L, e.g. power constraints, at times determined based at least on fluctuations in measured physical quantities, at times determined based at least on network connection availability, such as transient network connection availability… If the primary management entity 202E determines that the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 204J,K, such as the device 204J, may cause the devices 204J,K to conflict, and/or the devices 204J,K are conflicting with, e.g. interfering with, the other devices 204A-I,L,M, the secondary management entity 202D receives an adjusted device operating policy for the device 204J from the primary management entity 202E (312)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ilyadis in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ansari from similar fields of endeavor teaches: a mechanism to back-schedule chirp activities based on subscriber-driven time windows of relevance (paragraph 16: the control node may adapt the second time period of the second transmission window accordingly, e.g. it may decrease the size of the transmission window so that a communication device transmitting a data stream with a lower priority occupies the shared communication channel for a shorter period of time and that the realtime requirements of any emerging first data stream can be ensured). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ansari in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2003/0131131) (“Yamada”).
For claim 7; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 6 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Yamada from similar fields of endeavor teaches: self-healing network properties wherein propagators detect and compensate for edge device failures by rerouting chirp transmissions; and a mechanism for load balancing and congestion mitigation through dynamic propagator reassignment (paragraph 49: traffic engineering unit …: load balancing (split traffic into a plurality of routes), path failover (change delivery paths in the event of failure), protection switching (switch from working path to protection path in the event of failure), and service-dependent forwarding (redirect traffic to different routes, depending on service types)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the path selection as described by Yamada in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve end to end reliability.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Byers et al. (US 2017/0244601) (“Byers”).
For claim 8; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 6 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Byers from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the cloud orchestrator uses feedback from edge propagators to optimize IOT configurations, adapting to real-time environmental and application needs (paragraph 19, 27: the Fog nodes 12(2) and 12(3) may retrieve the readings from the environment feedback elements 38, 44 of the Fog node 12(1), for example based on instructions received from the Fog node 12(1) or from the orchestration service 30, by way of example only, and then the Fog nodes 12(2) and 12(3) may determine the HPM decisions for the Fog node 12(1) based on the retrieved readings…The orchestration service 30 is operative to ensure that the HPM operations of the Fog nodes 12 are collectively optimized). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the optimization as described by Byers in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve IOT adaptation.
Claim(s) 9 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzic as as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guim Bernat et al. (US 2021/0004265) (“Guim Bernat”).
For claim 9; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: monitoring energy availability at each network endpoint (paragraph 101: Feedback (e.g., to an orchestrator, system manager, edge controller, or other centralized or aggregation device) may the used to adjust power usage at a particular edge device over time); dynamically adjusting energy routing patterns based on historical energy consumption data at the endpoints (paragraph 125-127, 134-135, 159: Training engine 1102 inputs historical information 1106 for historical power availability, generation, usage, dissipation, or the like, such as at an edge device, into feature determination engine 1108. Other historical information 1106 may include workload requirements, quality of service, service level agreements, weather, ambient temperature, or the like…determine an optimized timeframe among various timeframes for performing a task at the edge device based on the predicted power harvesting…Operation 1208 may include sending the indication to the edge device (e.g., from the orchestrator device)); and prioritizing energy allocation to low-power edge devices to ensure sustainability and scalability of the network (paragraph 102-104: operation of edge devices within a smart city may be controlled by a centralized orchestrator to leverage relative availability of power at each edge device…Responsively, other parts of the edge where power availability may be much limited, may request migration of a portion of their workload over to locations where surplus power is locally available). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the energy distribution as described by Guim Bernat in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve power usage.
For claim 18; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: an artificial intelligence system to implement node output (paragraph 49, 83: These tasks may include AI processing (including machine learning, training, inferencing, and classification operations), visual data processing, network data processing, object detection, rule analysis, or the like. These tasks also may include the specific edge computing tasks for service management and service operations discussed elsewhere in this document). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the machine learning as described by Guim Bernat in the propagator nodes as described by Raman. The motivation is to improve efficiency of routing information.
For claim 19; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 18 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ilyadis from similar fields of endeavor teaches: sends control messages to the chirp devices (paragraph 25, 49, 51: One or more of the devices 104A-L may be configured to transmit data, such as data generated from measured physical quantities, in different formats and/or at different times, such as at periodic intervals, e.g. every millisecond, every second, every minute, etc., on a periodic basis based at least on operating parameters/variables of one or more of the devices 104A-L, e.g. power constraints, at times determined based at least on fluctuations in measured physical quantities, at times determined based at least on network connection availability, such as transient network connection availability… If the primary management entity 202E determines that the device operating policies of one or more of the devices 204J,K, such as the device 204J, may cause the devices 204J,K to conflict, and/or the devices 204J,K are conflicting with, e.g. interfering with, the other devices 204A-I,L,M, the secondary management entity 202D receives an adjusted device operating policy for the device 204J from the primary management entity 202E (312)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the dynamic updating as described by Ilyadis in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: an artificial intelligence system to implement messaging (paragraph 49, 83: These tasks may include AI processing (including machine learning, training, inferencing, and classification operations), visual data processing, network data processing, object detection, rule analysis, or the like. These tasks also may include the specific edge computing tasks for service management and service operations discussed elsewhere in this document). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the machine learning as described by Guim Bernat in the messaging to the sensors as described by Ilyadis. The motivation is to improve efficiency of routing information.
For claim 20; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 19 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the artificial intelligence system (paragraph 125-127, 134-135, 159: Training engine 1102 inputs historical information 1106 for historical power availability, generation, usage, dissipation, or the like, such as at an edge device, into feature determination engine 1108. Other historical information 1106 may include workload requirements, quality of service, service level agreements, weather, ambient temperature, or the like…determine an optimized timeframe among various timeframes for performing a task at the edge device based on the predicted power harvesting…Operation 1208 may include sending the indication to the edge device (e.g., from the orchestrator device)); controls energy use by the devices (paragraph 102-104: operation of edge devices within a smart city may be controlled by a centralized orchestrator to leverage relative availability of power at each edge device…Responsively, other parts of the edge where power availability may be much limited, may request migration of a portion of their workload over to locations where surplus power is locally available). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the energy distribution as described by Guim Bernat in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve power usage.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Guim Bernat.
For claim 10; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 5 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: task scheduling based on the energy consumption profiles of participating devices (paragraph 19: Tasks that have a large power consumption may be scheduled when power availability is higher, offloaded, or scheduled in parts); routing patterns dynamically adapt to the energy availability of network nodes (paragraph 125-127, 134-135, 159: Training engine 1102 inputs historical information 1106 for historical power availability, generation, usage, dissipation, or the like, such as at an edge device, into feature determination engine 1108. Other historical information 1106 may include workload requirements, quality of service, service level agreements, weather, ambient temperature, or the like…determine an optimized timeframe among various timeframes for performing a task at the edge device based on the predicted power harvesting…Operation 1208 may include sending the indication to the edge device (e.g., from the orchestrator device)); tasks are distributed to minimize overall energy consumption while ensuring equitable access to resources (paragraph 102-104: operation of edge devices within a smart city may be controlled by a centralized orchestrator to leverage relative availability of power at each edge device…Responsively, other parts of the edge where power availability may be much limited, may request migration of a portion of their workload over to locations where surplus power is locally available). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the energy distribution as described by Guim Bernat in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve power usage.
For claim 11; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 10 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Raman from similar fields of endeavor teaches: task scheduling includes data concatenation for efficient event-based or scheduled data delivery; subscription and publication group management within shared information structures (paragraph 15, 36, 39: A propagator gateway may receive sensor data packets, aggregate the sensor data packets based upon the sensor identifications and sensor classifications, and may forward the sensor data packets in sensor data packet streams to respective integrator gateways. In one example, a propagator gateway may temporarily store (e.g., for a predefined period of time) the sensor data packets before sending the sensor data packets that are aggregated in sensor data packet streams. An integrator gateway may collect the sensor data packets and further aggregate or segregate the sensor data packets for various purposes and based upon various criteria. An integrator gateway may also forward sensor data packets to one or more additional integrator gateways, or to one or more destination devices, such as a storage device…the collector device 261 may minimally receive sensor data from sensor 231, and may create a sensor data packet with a sensor ID, a sensor classification, and the sensor data for forwarding to the cellular/wireless access point…different propagator gateways in the set of propagator gateways 220 may be listening for sensor data packets that meet a certain criteria. For instance, propagator gateway 221 may be listening for sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature,” while propagator gateway 222 may be listening for data packets with a sensor classification of “humidity.” Thus, propagator gateway 221 may collect sensor data packets with a sensor classification of “temperature” while discarding or ignoring sensor data packets that do not have this sensor classification). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the data routing as described by Raman in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve routing efficiency.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Guim Bernat from similar fields of endeavor teaches: energy usage optimization strategies based on historical and real-time consumption data (paragraph 19: Tasks that have a large power consumption may be scheduled when power availability is higher, offloaded, or scheduled in parts); (paragraph 125-127, 134-135, 159: Training engine 1102 inputs historical information 1106 for historical power availability, generation, usage, dissipation, or the like, such as at an edge device, into feature determination engine 1108. Other historical information 1106 may include workload requirements, quality of service, service level agreements, weather, ambient temperature, or the like…determine an optimized timeframe among various timeframes for performing a task at the edge device based on the predicted power harvesting…Operation 1208 may include sending the indication to the edge device (e.g., from the orchestrator device)); (paragraph 102-104: operation of edge devices within a smart city may be controlled by a centralized orchestrator to leverage relative availability of power at each edge device…Responsively, other parts of the edge where power availability may be much limited, may request migration of a portion of their workload over to locations where surplus power is locally available). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the energy distribution as described by Guim Bernat in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve power usage.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Verkruyse et al. (US 2025/0147957) (“Verkruyse”).
For claim 12; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 6 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Verkruyse from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the AI server collects and corroborates data from diverse sensor nodes; the system provides status verification via corroborative multi-sensor analysis; and the system reduces errors and inefficiencies, such as AI hallucinations, through a distributed network of sensor-equipped agents (paragraph 38-39: existing systems often rely on single-source or single-modality data, which can be prone to errors and hallucinations… holistic hallucination mitigation through cross-validation automates the validation process, reducing manual effort and the potential for errors… cross-validation across data sources ensures that the insights derived from one data source are corroborated by other independent sources. For example, in a healthcare application, patient health data from electronic health records can be cross validated with data from wearable devices and lab results. This multi-source validation helps to identify and mitigate any inconsistencies or anomalies that may arise from a single data source). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the AI validation as described by Verkruyse in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to reduce AI hallucinations.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzic as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Drugge.
For claim 13; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Drugge from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the server selects and imprints the chirp pattern (page 3-4: performing frequency hopping reception or transmission according to an initial hopping sequence which the electronic transceiver device uses until semi-static signalling assigns a specific primary hopping sequence… The initial hopping sequence may be pre-configured). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the default setup as described by Drugge in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve start-up efficiency.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzic as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Norris et al. (US 2007/0087758) (“Norris”).
For claim 15; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Norris from similar fields of endeavor teaches: a power level for the chirp messages is selected to minimize unauthorized detection (paragraph 34: By incrementally increasing the transmission power, the probability of detection by others is reduced, since the mobile node transmits at the minimum power level necessary to reach the nearest neighbor node). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the transmit power as described by Norris in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve power usage.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzic in view of Norris as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Blair et al. (US 2013/0013676) (“Blair”).
For claim 16; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 15 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Blair from similar fields of endeavor teaches: messages comprise terse topic-based addressed short messages (paragraph 95: topic-based addresses, respectively. A message that is sent to a topic-based address such as an interest-based list server will be delivered to the individual addresses of all members of the selected topic group. Thus, for example, the sender of the message can transmit a message to all destinations that have subscribed to the topic but does not have to know the individual destinations in advance). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the messaging as described by Blair in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve multi user distribution.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura in view of Raman in view of Ilyadis in view of Ansari in view of Vrzic as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghose et al. (US 2021/0369173) (“Ghose”).
For claim 17; Daoura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Daoura does not expressly disclose, but Ghose from similar fields of endeavor teaches: messages are sent by multipurpose sensor patches (paragraph 43-45: The transceiver may be compliant with IEEE-802.15, or be a Bluetooth transceiver, an ANT transceiver, or a LoPAN transceiver. The transceiver may be multi-protocol. The transceiver may communicate over an encrypted data communication channel). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the multi protocol as described by Ghose in the distributed sensor network as described by Daoura. The motivation is to improve compatibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakata et al. (US 2022/0276643); Sakata discloses the control system of the present invention is configured to receive the field data from the sensor and output a control command to the valve within a period time that is a real-time requirement.
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466