DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 16-17, in the reply filed on 7/9/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations which describe the material being worked upon by the apparatus do not impart patentability to the claims, see MPEP §2115. Therefore, limitations directed to the type of material or polymer film being worked upon by the apparatus are not considered to be patentably distinct from a similar structure in the art. Likewise, the intended use of the apparatus does not differentiate the apparatus from a similar apparatus in the prior art, see MPEP §2144(II).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“feed device” in claim 1, interpreted as being a roller, fan, suction device, pneumatic feed, or equivalents thereof as described in [0032] of the instant specification as published
“conveying device” in claim 8, interpreted as a pneumatic conveyor or equivalents thereof as described in [0058] of the instant specification as published
“bagging device” in claim 9 which has no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification
“metering device” in claim 10 which is interpreted as a scale or equivalents thereof as described in [0074] of the instant specification as published
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 invokes 112(f) for the term “bagging device” but does not describe a corresponding structure in the specification.
Claims 1-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). These limitations are interpreted as being optional. Claims 2-11 are rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 17, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation "between 0.5 mm, and the claim also recites "between 0.8 mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claims 6 and 17 each recite a broader range and narrower range for each of the rows spacing, screen openings spacing, and offset spacing. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim limitation “bagging device” in claim 9 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no corresponding structure for the bagging device disclosed in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 2007/0200016.)
Regarding claim 1, Johnson meets the claimed, System for reprocessing ultra-high molecular weight polymer film offcuts, in particular membrane films, such as battery separator films (BSF films), wherein the system comprises: a feed device; (Johnson [0059] describes a conveyor 52 /roller 62 device) and a comminution device, (Johnson [0054] describes a drum 12) wherein the feed device is configured to feed an ultra-high molecular weight polymer film offcut to the comminution device,(Johnson [0062] describes the conveyor 52 feeds to the drum) and wherein the comminution device comprises at least one cutting screen, wherein the cutting screen comprises a plurality of cutting openings (Johnson [0055] describe the surface of the drum 12 has holes) and a plurality of cutting projections, (Johnson [0054]-[0055] describe knife embossments 16) wherein at least one cutting projection spans a screen opening allocated to it, (Johnson [0054]-[0055] describe knife embossment 16 is a portion of the drum which has been cut into the hole) wherein the comminution device is configured to generate relative motion between the cutting screen and the fed polymer film offcut in order to comminute the polymer film offcut (Johnson [0058]-[0059] describe the drum 12 rotates while being fed axially.)
Regarding claim 2, Johnson meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the system furthermore comprises a control device, and wherein the control device is configured to control feed speed and/or feed amount of the feed device (Johnson [0061] describes a motor controller 38 which controls the speeds of the roller 62 to control the feed speed.)
Regarding claim 3, Johnson meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the comminution device is configured to move the polymer film offcuts relative to the cutting screen, and/or wherein the cutting screen is configured rotatably (Johnson [0058]-[0059] describe the drum 12 rotates while being fed axially.)
Regarding claim 4, Johnson meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the comminution device comprises at least one rotary cutter and optionally at least one stationary cutting tool (Johnson [0058]-[0059] describe the drum 12 rotates while being fed axially.)
Regarding claim 7, Johnson meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the cutting projections each comprise a cutting edge, and wherein the cutting projections are preferably punched cutting projections (Johnson [0055]-[0056] describes the knife embossment 16 is formed via pressing a whole and sharpening the edge so it can cut.)
Regarding claim 11, Johnson meets the claim, System according to claim 1, wherein the feed device is configured to automatically collect polymer film offcuts, in particular edge offcuts, and feed these to the comminution device (Johnson [0059]-[0060] describe the conveyors and Figures 1 and 2 show the conveyors. The conveyors will automatically collect any object that is dropped on them or placed along them.)
Regarding claim 16, System for reprocessing an ultra-high molecular weight polymer membrane film offcut, comprising: a feeder (Johnson [0059] describes a conveyor 52 /roller 62 device) configured to feed an ultra-high molecular weight polymer membrane film offcut to a comminution device; (Johnson [0062] describes the conveyor 52 feeds to the drum) and the comminution device comprising at least one cutting screen comprising a plurality of cutting openings (Johnson [0055] describe the surface of the drum 12 has holes) and a plurality of cutting projections, (Johnson [0054]-[0055] describe knife embossments 16) wherein one of the plurality of cutting projections spans one of the plurality of cutting opening allocated to it, (Johnson [0054]-[0055] describe knife embossment 16 is a portion of the drum which has been cut into the hole) the comminution device configured to generate relative motion between the cutting screen and the fed polymer film offcut to comminute the ultra-high molecular weight polymer membrane film offcut (Johnson [0058]-[0059] describe the drum 12 rotates while being fed axially.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5-6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Hernandez (US 2003/0173435.)
Regarding claim 5, Johnson does not disclose the size of the openings and does not meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the screen openings comprise an equivalent diameter that ranges between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm or ranges from 0.8 mm to 1 mm.
Analogous in the field of grating or shredding apparatus, Hernandez does not explicitly meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the screen openings comprise an equivalent diameter that ranges between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm or ranges from 0.8 mm to 1 mm, however, Hernandez [0009] discloses that the diameter and spacing of apertures 20 on a shredding disc are result effective variables which affect the consistency (texture) of the graded product.
Since Hernandez discloses the size of the apertures affects the texture of the graded product, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the size of the apertures through routine optimization and arrive at the claimed range in order to optimize the consistency and texture of the final grated product, see Hernandez [0009].
Regarding claim 6, Johnson does not disclose the spacing between the holes, rows, or offset of the holes and does not meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the screen openings are arranged in rows, wherein the rows comprise a spacing (v) that ranges from 1 mm to 3.6 mm or ranges from 1.5 mm to 2.4 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings within the rows comprise a spacing (ts) that ranges from 2 mm to 4.2 mm or ranges from 1.8 mm to 2.8 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings of neighbouring rows are arranged offset from each other by a spacing (tr) that ranges from 0.4 mm to 2.1 mm or ranges from 0.6 mm to 1.4 mm.
Analogous in the field of grating or shredding apparatus, Hernandez does not explicitly meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the screen openings are arranged in rows, wherein the rows comprise a spacing (v) that ranges from 1 mm to 3.6 mm or ranges from 1.5 mm to 2.4 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings within the rows comprise a spacing (ts) that ranges from 2 mm to 4.2 mm or ranges from 1.8 mm to 2.8 mm, however, Hernandez [0009] discloses that the diameter and spacing of apertures 20 on a shredding disc are result effective variables which affect the consistency (texture) of the graded product. Hernandez Figures 1 and 2 show the apertures 20 arranged in rows.
Since Hernandez discloses the spacing of the apertures affects the texture of the graded product, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the spacing between the apertures or rows through routine optimization and arrive at the claimed range in order to optimize the consistency and texture of the final grated product, see Hernandez [0009].
Regarding claim 17, Johnson does not disclose the spacing between the holes, rows, or offset of the holes and does not meet the claimed, System according to claim 16, wherein the screen openings are arranged in rows, wherein the rows comprise a spacing (v) that ranges from 1 mm to 3.6 mm or ranges from 1.5 mm to 2.4 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings within the rows comprise a spacing (ts) that ranges from 2 mm to 4.2 mm or ranges from 1.8 mm to 2.8 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings of neighbouring rows are arranged offset from each other by a spacing (tr) that ranges from 0.4 mm to 2.1 mm or ranges from 0.6 mm to 1.4 mm.
Analogous in the field of grating or shredding apparatus, Hernandez does not explicitly meet the claimed, System according to claim 16, wherein the screen openings are arranged in rows, wherein the rows comprise a spacing (v) that ranges from 1 mm to 3.6 mm or ranges from 1.5 mm to 2.4 mm, and/or wherein the screen openings within the rows comprise a spacing (ts) that ranges from 2 mm to 4.2 mm or ranges from 1.8 mm to 2.8 mm however, Hernandez [0009] discloses that the diameter and spacing of apertures 20 on a shredding disc are result effective variables which affect the consistency (texture) of the graded product. Hernandez Figures 1 and 2 show the apertures 20 arranged in rows.
Since Hernandez discloses the spacing of the apertures affects the texture of the graded product, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the spacing between the apertures or rows through routine optimization and arrive at the claimed range in order to optimize the consistency and texture of the final grated product, see Hernandez [0009].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Johnson (US 2007/0200016.)
Regarding claim 8, Johnson meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, wherein the system furthermore comprises a conveying device that is configured to remove comminuted polymer film offcuts from the comminution device, Johnson [0056] describe a conveyor belt 28 which removes gratings after being shredded in the drum 12. However, as interpreted under 112(f), “conveying device” should include a pneumatic conveyor or equivalents thereof. They conveyor belt 28 of Johnson does not disclose a pneumatic conveyor. However, the embodiment described in Johnson [0071] describes a conveyor may be replaced by a pneumatic cylinder.
The courts have held that substituting one known prior art element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the conveyor of Johnson for the pneumatic cylinder as disclosed in Johnson [0071] so that additional pushing force may be provided, see Johnson [0071].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Thies (US 2022/0007894.)
Regarding claim 9, Johnson does not disclose a bagging device and does not meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, comprising furthermore a bagging device that is configured to package comminuted polymer film offcuts for storage or interim storage.
Analogous in the field of cutting or grating apparatus, Thies also describes a grating apparatus where the object to be grated is fed into the apparatus, cut by a rotating member, then falls through the rotating member and meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, comprising furthermore a bagging device that is configured to package comminuted polymer film offcuts for storage or interim storage (Thies [0020] describes a vessel 20 for collecting the cut pieces. The vessel itself is the packaging.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the grating apparatus of Johnson with the vessel of Thies in order to collect the grated pieces together, see Thies [0010].
Regarding claim 10, Johnson does not describe a metering device and does not meet the claimed, System according to claim 1, further comprising a metering device that is configured to meter comminuted polymer film offcuts and feed them to an extruder.
Analogous in the field of cutting or grating apparatus, Thies also describes a grating apparatus where the object to be grated is fed into the apparatus, cut by a rotating member, then falls through the rotating member and meets the claimed, System according to claim 1, further comprising a metering device that is configured to meter comminuted polymer film offcuts and feed them to an extruder (Thies [0046] describes the vessel has a weight sensor. The vessel is detachable as per [0072] and is capable of delivering to an extruder.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the grating apparatus of Johnson with the weight sensor of Thies in order to measure the amount of the ingredients that have already been chopped, see Thies [0046].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2003/0094522: see Figures 1 and 4B describing a processor apparatus having a cutting disk 16. Per [0023] cutting disk 16 has a hole 48 with a raised cutting edge 50.
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744