DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an application filed on December 5, 2024, in which claims 1 through 20 are pending, and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Govindavajhala, et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0271863 (hereinafter referred to as Govindavajhala).
With regard to claim 1, Govindavajhala discloses identifying, by processing hardware, a set of potentially insecure data access controls from a library of access controls available to digital applications (Govindavajhala, [0027]; [0040]; [0046]-[0049]; [0379]-[0384]; [0391]; [0418]-[0419]); detecting, by the processing hardware, in response to an application scan of a digital application, a set of utilized access controls within the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0222]; [0381]-[0383]; [0417]-[0419]); generating, by the processing hardware, a set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls corresponding to the digital application by comparing the set of utilized access controls to the set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0028]; [0113]-[0115]; [0169]-[0171]; [0220]; [0391]; [0408]-[0409]); and providing, by the processing hardware, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device, the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls in relation to a scan report for the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0027]; [0035]; [0043]-[0044]; [0135]; [0222]; [0391]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 2, Govindavajhala further discloses parsing, by the processing hardware, a library of access controls available to digital applications to identify the set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0050]-[0052]; [0123]-[0128]; [0224]-[0229]; [0417]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 3, Govindavajhala further discloses determining, by the processing hardware, purpose type descriptors for the set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0025]; [0040]-[0043]; [0250]); and providing, by the processing hardware, for display within the graphical user interface of the client device, a set of purpose type descriptors corresponding to the set of set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0025]-[0027]; [0040]-[0043]; [0250]).
With regard to claim 4, Govindavajhala further discloses generating, by the processing hardware, the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls corresponding to the digital application by identifying one or more potentially deprecated or potentially compromised access controls, wherein in the access controls comprise digital application permissions (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0025]; [0046]-[0048]; [0408]-[0410]).
With regard to claim 5, Govindavajhala further discloses generating, by the processing hardware, an access control category from two or more utilized access controls from the set of utilized access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0025]; [0096]; [0396]-[0402]; [0419]); and providing, by the processing hardware, for display within the graphical user interface of the client device, the access control category and a corresponding potential insecurity for the access control category based on the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0027]; [0043]-[0046]; [0096]-[0101]; [0382]-[0387]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 6, Govindavajhala further discloses identifying, by processing hardware, an additional set of potentially insecure data access controls from the library of access controls available to digital applications based on version updates to the library of access controls (Govindavajhala, [0020]; [0027]; [0040]; [0048]-[0051]; [0221]-[0238]); and generating, by the processing hardware, an additional set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls corresponding to the digital application by comparing the set of utilized access controls to the additional set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0028]; [0113]-[0115]; [0169]-[0171]; [0220]; [0391]; [0408]-[0409]).
With regard to claim 7, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering, by the processing hardware, a digital action within a digital application scanning platform for the digital application based on the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0040]-[0041]; [0046]; [0381]-[0383]; [0388]).
With regard to claim 8, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering, by the processing hardware, the digital action to provide, for display within an additional graphical user interface of an additional client device (Govindavajhala, [0025]; [0035]; [0052]; [0200]; [0221]-[0237]; [0387]-[0392]; [0418]-[0419]), a selectable access control grant option to enable or reject a utilized potentially insecure data access control from the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls within the digital application operated on the additional client device (Govindavajhala, [0025]-[0027]; [0048]-[0049]; [0224]-[0237]; [0382]-[0393]; [0409]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 9, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering, by the processing hardware, the digital action to block an installation of the digital application corresponding to the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls within an additional client device communicating with the digital application scanning platform (Govindavajhala, [0419]; [0071]; [0387]-[0393]; [0408]-[0409]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 10, Govindavajhala discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations (Govindavajhala, [0418]-[0421]) comprising: detecting, in response to an application scan of a digital application, a set of utilized access controls within the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0222]; [0381]-[0383]; [0417]-[0419]); generating a set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls corresponding to the digital application by comparing the set of utilized access controls to a set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0028]; [0040]-[0049]; [0113]-[0115]; [0169]-[0171]; [0220]; [0391]; [0408]-[0409]) from a library of access controls available to digital applications (Govindavajhala, [0027]; [0040]; [0046]-[0049]; [0379]-[0384]; [0391]; [0418]-[0419]); and based on the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls, triggering a digital action within a digital application scanning platform for the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0040]-[0041]; [0046]; [0381]-[0383]; [0388]).
With regard to claim 11, Govindavajhala further discloses generating the set of potentially insecure data access controls by parsing the library of access controls available to digital applications to identify potentially deprecated or potentially compromised access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0025]; [0046]-[0052]; [0123]-[0128]; [0224]-[0229]; [0408]-[0410]; [0417]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 12, Govindavajhala further discloses detecting, in response to the application scan of the digital application, the set of utilized access controls within the digital application as application permissions enabling the digital application to utilize one or more components of a computing device operating the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0071]-[0072]; [0222]; [0354]-[0355]).
With regard to claim 13, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering the digital action to provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device (Govindavajhala, [0025]; [0035]; [0052]; [0200]; [0221]-[0237]; [0387]-[0392]; [0418]-[0419]), a selectable access control grant option to enable or reject a utilized potentially insecure data access control from the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls within the digital application operated on the client device (Govindavajhala, [0025]-[0027]; [0048]-[0049]; [0224]-[0237]; [0382]-[0393]; [0409]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 14, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering the digital action to block an installation of the digital application corresponding to the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls within a client device communicating with the digital application scanning platform (Govindavajhala, [0049]; [0071]; [0387]-[0393]; [0408]-[0409]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 15, Govindavajhala further discloses triggering the digital action to provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device, the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls in relation to a scan report for the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0027]; [0035]; [0043]-[0044]; [0135]; [0222]; [0391]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 16, Govindavajhala discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media (Govindavajhala, [0418]-[0421]); and processing hardware configured to cause the system to: parse a library of access controls available to digital applications to generate a set of potentially insecure data access controls comprising purpose type descriptors (Govindavajhala, [0025]; [0040]-[0043]; [0250]); generate a set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls corresponding to a digital application by comparing a set of utilized access controls in the digital application to the set of potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0028]; [0113]-[0115]; [0169]-[0171]; [0220]; [0391]; [0408]-[0409]); and provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device (Govindavajhala, [0027]; [0089]; [0224]-[0230]), the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls and a set of purpose type descriptors corresponding to the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0025]-[0027]; [0040]-[0043]; [0250]).
With regard to claim 17, Govindavajhala further discloses detect the set of utilized access controls within the digital application as application permissions enabling the digital application to utilize one or more components of a computing device operating the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0071]-[0072]; [0222]; [0354]-[0355]).
With regard to claim 18, Govindavajhala further discloses parse the library of access controls available to the digital applications to generate the set of potentially insecure data access controls by identifying one or more potentially deprecated or potentially compromised access controls within the digital application (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0025]; [0046]-[0052]; [0123]-[0128]; [0224]-[0229]; [0408]-[0410]; [0417]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 19, Govindavajhala further discloses generate an access control category from two or more utilized access controls from the set of utilized access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0025]; [0096]; [0396]-[0402]; [0419]); and providing, for display within the graphical user interface of the client device, the access control category and a corresponding potential insecurity based on the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0024]-[0027]; [0043]-[0046]; [0096]-[0101]; [0382]-[0387]; [0418]-[0419]).
With regard to claim 20, Govindavajhala further discloses trigger a digital action within a digital application scanning platform for the digital application based on the set of utilized potentially insecure data access controls (Govindavajhala, [0040]-[0041]; [0046]; [0381]-[0383]; [0388]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See PTO-892.
/J. BRANT MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435
June 13, 2026