Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63451455).
Referring to claim 1, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a STA (UE) in a wireless network, comprising:
A memory (not shown, but UE comprises a memory).
A processor (not shown, but UE comprises a processor to perform UE functions) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
Transmit (ST11), to a first AP (source eNB), a first frame (measurement report) that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP (target eNB), information associated with a QoS agreement (UE context including UE QoS). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response. ST14: source eNB starts data forwarding to target eNB.
Receive (ST15), from the first AP, a second frame (RB reconfiguration) that includes a response to the first frame. ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration.
Switch (ST16) to the second AP based on the second frame. ST16: UE synchronizes with target eNB and reports to target eNB that the handover to target eNB is complete in a RB reconfiguration complete.
Transmit (ST16), to the second AP, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the QoS agreement. ST16: After UE hands over to target eNB, UE communicates frames with target eNB according to the UE context, since target eNB allocated resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose … transmit, to a first AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement; … ; … ; transmit, to the second AP, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420 (claimed “transmit, to a first AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement”). The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355 (claimed “transmit, to the second AP, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement”). Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmit, to a first AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement; … ; … ; transmit, to the second AP, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 2, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the QoS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (UE context including UE QoS) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (not in reference, claim is in “or” form”). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38 wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B disclose SCS QoS mapping rules) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (Section 0264 and Figure 34B disclose that SCS QoS mapping rules comprises TCLAS). Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS and TCLAS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 6, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the second frame (RB reconfiguration) indicates that the information associated with the QoS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response. ST14: source eNB starts data forwarding to target eNB. ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration, wherein the RB reconfiguration indicates that the UE context has been successfully transferred to target eNB and UE can handover to target eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam (not in reference; claim in is “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 9, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a first AP (source eNB) in a wireless network, comprising:
A memory (not shown, but source eNB comprises a memory).
A processor (not shown, but source eNB comprises a processor to perform source eNB functions) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
Receive, from a STA (UE), a first frame (measurement report) that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP (target eNB), information associated with a QoS agreement (UE context including UE QoS). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination.
Transfer (ST12), to the second AP, the information associated with the QoS agreement. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response. ST14: source eNB starts data forwarding to target eNB.
Transmit (ST15), to the STA, a second frame the includes a response to the first frame. ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration. ST16: UE synchronizes with target eNB and reports to target eNB that the handover to target eNB is complete in a RB reconfiguration complete. After UE hands over to target eNB, UE communicates frames with target eNB according to the UE context, since target eNB allocated resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose … receive, from a STA, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement; transfer, to the second AP, the information associated with the SCS agreement …
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420 (claimed “receive, from a STA, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement”). The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365 (claimed “transfer, to the second AP, the information associated with the SCS agreement”). STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receive, from a STA, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the first AP to a second AP, information associated with a SCS agreement; transfer, to the second AP, the information associated with the SCS agreement … One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 10, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the QoS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (UE context including UE QoS) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (not in reference, claim is in “or” form”). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38 wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B disclose SCS QoS mapping rules) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (Section 0264 and Figure 34B disclose that SCS QoS mapping rules comprises TCLAS). Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS and TCLAS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 14, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the second frame (RB reconfiguration) indicates that the information associated with the QoS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response. ST14: source eNB starts data forwarding to target eNB. ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration, wherein the RB reconfiguration indicates that the UE context has been successfully transferred to target eNB and UE can handover to target eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has been transferred or that the information associated with the SCS agreement will be transferred upon roam (not in reference; claim in is “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 17, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a first AP (target eNB) in a wireless network, comprising:
A memory (not shown, but target eNB comprises a memory).
A processor (not shown, but target eNB comprises a processor to perform target eNB functions) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
Receive, from a second AP (source eNB), a first frame (measurement report) that causes a transfer, from the second AP to a first AP, information associated with a QoS agreement (UE context including UE QoS) between the second AP and a STA (UE). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB.
Transmit (ST13), to the second AP, a second frame (context transfer response) that includes a response to the first frame. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response. ST14: source eNB starts data forwarding to target eNB. ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration.
Receive (ST16), from the STA, one or more frames according to the transferring information associated with the QoS agreement. ST16: UE synchronizes with target eNB and reports to target eNB that the handover to target eNB is complete in a RB reconfiguration complete. After UE hands over to target eNB, UE communicates frames with target eNB according to the UE context, since target eNB allocated resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose … receive, from a second AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the second AP to the first AP, information associated with a SCS agreement between the second AP and a STA; … ; and receive, from the STA, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365 (claimed “receive, from a second AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the second AP to the first AP, information associated with a SCS agreement between the second AP and a STA”). STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355 (claimed “receive, from the STA, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement”). Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receive, from a second AP, a first frame that causes a transfer, from the second AP to the first AP, information associated with a SCS agreement between the second AP and a STA; … ; and receive, from the STA, one or more frames according to the transferred information associated with the SCS agreement. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 18, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the QoS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (UE context including UE QoS) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (not in reference, claim is in “or” form”). Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38 wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA (Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B disclose SCS QoS mapping rules) or one or more information items in a TCLAS element (Section 0264 and Figure 34B disclose that SCS QoS mapping rules comprises TCLAS). Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the SCS agreement includes QoS characteristics for traffic of the STA or one or more information items in a TCLAS element. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS and TCLAS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 20, Kanazawa et al et al disclose in Figures 1-5 wherein the second frame (ST13: context transfer response) accepts the transfer of the information associated with the QoS agreement. Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 discloses UE carrying out a handover from source eNB and target eNB. ST11: UE transmits, to source eNB, the received quality of the target eNB of each candidate cell in a measurement report. Then source eNB, having received the received quality of each target eNB, determines the target E-Node B to be the handover destination. ST12: source eNB transfers the UE context to the determined target eNB in an UE context transfer, which includes UE QoS. Target eNB allocates resources to UE according to the QoS information in the UE context transferred by the source eNB. ST13: target eNB reports to source eNB that the preparation for the handover is complete in a context transfer response, wherein the context transfer response indicates that target eNB successfully allocated resources to UE according to the QoS information included in the UE context. Refer to Sections 0002-0032 and 0044-0083.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the second frame accepts the transfer of the information associated with the SCS agreement.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the second frame accepts the transfer of the information associated with the SCS agreement. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250317824 to Zhao et al.
Kanazawa et al and Kneckt et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates a time during which the STA switches to the second AP. Kanazawa et al only disclose in Figure 1 and Sections 0005-0018 wherein ST15: source eNB commands UE to perform a handover to target eNB in a RB reconfiguration, wherein the RB reconfiguration indicates that the UE context has been successfully transferred to target eNB and UE can handover to target eNB.
Zhao et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0186, 0216, and 0226 wherein source network device of a source cell transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command indicates a first time window during which UE may switch from the source cell corresponding to the source network device to a target cell corresponding to a target network device. Refer to Sections 0030-0257. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates a time during which the STA switches to the second AP. One would have been motivated to do so that source AP can indicate to UE a time to perform handover to target AP, thereby facilitating handover.
Claims 4, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200322853 to Tang et al.
Referring to claim 4, Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the first AP, a frame indicating that the STA is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of information associated with the … agreement.
Tang et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0086-0092, 0105, 0116, 0132-0136, and 0170-0171 wherein UE can trigger target BS to acquire the UE context (claimed “agreement”) from source BS via an identifier, carried in the transmission indication message (claimed “frame”), of source BS. Upon the reception of a message of target BS for requesting to acquire the UE context, source BS transmits the UE context to target BS. UE transmits a transmission indication message to source BS indicating to source BS to transmit the UE context to target BS. So, UE can transmit a transmission indication message to indicate that UE is capable of setting up and initiating a transfer of UE context from source BS to target BS. Refer to Sections 0065-0303. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the first AP, a frame indicating that the STA is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of information associated with the … agreement. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can set up and initiate a transfer of UE context from source BS to target BS, thereby facilitating handover.
Kanazawa et al and Tang et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the first AP, a frame indicating that the STA is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of information associated with the SCS agreement.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the first AP, a frame indicating that the STA is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of information associated with the SCS agreement. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 5, Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the first frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement can be transferred or requests that the information associated with the … agreement be transferred to the second AP.
Tang et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0086-0092, 0105, 0116, 0132-0136, and 0170-0171 wherein UE can trigger target BS to acquire the UE context (claimed “agreement”) from source BS via an identifier, carried in the transmission indication message (claimed “first frame”), of source BS. Upon the reception of a message of target BS for requesting to acquire the UE context, source BS transmits the UE context to target BS. UE transmits a transmission indication message to source BS indicating to source BS to transmit the UE context to target BS. So, UE can transmit a transmission indication message to source BS indicating that that the UE context can be transferred to target BS, and to request source BS to transfer the UE context from source BS to target BS. Refer to Sections 0065-0303. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement can be transferred or requests that the information associated with the … agreement be transferred to the second AP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can request transfer of UE context from source BS to target BS, thereby facilitating handover.
Kanazawa et al and Tang et al do not disclose wherein the first frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement can be transferred or requests that the information associated with the SCS agreement be transferred to the second AP.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement can be transferred or requests that the information associated with the SCS agreement be transferred to the second AP. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 13, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al in view of U.S. Publication No. U.S. Publication No. 20240179726 to Wang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070287417 to Abramovich et al.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred …
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-26 and Sections 0027, 0143, 0144, 0175-0180, and 0218 wherein source BS transmits the UE context to target BS, and target BS determines to deny or reject the handover of UE based on the UE context. If target BS rejects the UE context, source BS indicates to UE that the UE context is rejected. Refer to Sections 0049-0252. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred … One would have been motivated to do so that source BS can indicate to UE that a handover is rejected, thereby facilitating handover to another target BS.
Kanazawa et al and Wang et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred, wherein the processor is further configured to establish a different … agreement with the second AP upon roam.
Abramovich et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0011, 0029, 0034, 0038, and 0045 wherein when UE roams from a first AP to a second AP, the UE context is updated so a different UE context is established, wherein the UE context indicates UE QoS. Refer to Sections 0028-0048. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred, wherein the processor is further configured to establish a different … agreement with the second AP upon roam. One would have been motivated to do so that when UE roams to another AP, the UE context can be updated accordingly.
Kanazawa et al, Wang et al, and Abramovich et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has not been transferred, wherein the processor is further configured to establish a different SCS agreement with the second AP upon roam.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has not been transferred, wherein the processor is further configured to establish a different SCS agreement with the second AP upon roam. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Claims 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al in view U.S. Publication No. 20240163737 to Hassan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230403627 to Akl et al.
Referring to claim 8, Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein … the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming.
Hassan et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0061-0073 wherein when UE roams from a AGF in a first network to a AGF in second network, the first AGF provides support to maintain a PDU session by transferring context from the AGF in the first network to the AGF in the second network. Refer to Sections 0030-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein … the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do so so that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al and Hassan et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the first AP, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming.
Akl et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0174, 0210, 0215, and 0219 wherein an AMF transmits capability signaling to one or more devices, such as UE’s, to indicate whether the AMF supports maintaining/retaining the context of an UE after a completed handover procedure after UE roams. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the first AP, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do to indicate to STA that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al, Hassan et al, and Akl et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the first AP, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the first AP, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 12, Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein … the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the … agreement.
Hassan et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0061-0073 wherein when UE roams from a AGF in a first network to a AGF in second network, the first AGF provides support to maintain a PDU session by transferring context from the AGF in the first network to the AGF in the second network. Refer to Sections 0030-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein … the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the … agreement. One would have been motivated to do so so that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al and Hassan et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the … agreement.
Akl et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0174, 0210, 0215, and 0219 wherein an AMF transmits capability signaling to one or more devices, such as UE’s, to indicate whether the AMF supports maintaining/retaining the context of an UE after a completed handover procedure after UE roams. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the … agreement. One would have been motivated to do to indicate to STA that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al, Hassan et al, and Akl et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the SCS agreement.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of setting up or initiating a transfer of the information associated with the SCS agreement. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Referring to claim 16, Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein … the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming.
Hassan et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0061-0073 wherein when UE roams from a AGF in a first network to a AGF in second network, the first AGF provides support to maintain a PDU session by transferring context from the AGF in the first network to the AGF in the second network. Refer to Sections 0030-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein … the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do so so that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al and Hassan et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming.
Akl et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0174, 0210, 0215, and 0219 wherein an AMF transmits capability signaling to one or more devices, such as UE’s, to indicate whether the AMF supports maintaining/retaining the context of an UE after a completed handover procedure after UE roams. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the … agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do to indicate to STA that AP can transfer the UE context upon roaming, thereby allowing UE to roam and maintain the UE context.
Kanazawa et al, Hassan et al, and Akl et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the SCS agreement as part of roaming.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the STA, a frame indicating that the first AP is capable of transferring the information associated with the SCS agreement as part of roaming. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110044290 to Kanazawa et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240305409 to Kneckt et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240179726 to Wang et al.
Kanazawa et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred.
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-26 and Sections 0027, 0143, 0144, 0175-0180, and 0218 wherein source BS transmits the UE context to target BS, and target BS determines to deny or reject the handover of UE based on the UE context. If target BS rejects the UE context, source BS indicates to UE that the UE context is rejected. Refer to Sections 0049-0252. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the … agreement has not been transferred. One would have been motivated to do so that source BS can indicate to UE that a handover is rejected, thereby facilitating handover to another target BS.
Kawazana et al and Wang et al do not disclose wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has not been transferred.
Kneckt et al disclose in Figures 1-38, specifically Sections 0247-0265 and Figures 34A-34B, a SCS QoS Mapping settings in AP-assisted AP transition. STA 3310/3410, with memory 285 and processor 265, initiates a transition from a first AP 3320/3420 to a second AP 3330 by transmitting SCS QoS mapping rules to the first AP 3320/3420. The first AP 3320/3420 then transmits the SCS QoS mapping rules applied between the first AP 3320/3420 and the STA 3310/3410 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3365. STA 3310/3410 switches from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, as shown by line 3355. After switching from the first AP 3320/3420 to the second AP 3330, STA 3310/3410 communicates with the second AP 3330 according to the SCS QoS mapping rules of the first AP 3320/3420, as shown by line 3355. Figure 33A shows that the first AP 3320/3420 has SCS QoS mapping rules and the second AP 3330 has a copy of the SCS QoS mapping rules. The “UE context including UE QoS” of Kanazawa et al is similar to the “SCS QoS mapping rules” of Kneckt et al since both indicate UE QoS and are transferring from a source AP to a destination AP during handover of STA. Refer to Sections 0054-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second frame indicates that the information associated with the SCS agreement has not been transferred. One would have been motivated to do so an SCS agreement allows a STA to request QoS parameters during handover of STA from source AP to destination AP.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20120243507 to Du et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0039-0051 and 0090-0097 wherein UE sends a measurement report to source BS, then source BS determines whether to switch UE, and then source BS selects one target BS for handoff; source BS sends a handoff request message to target BS, and the request message contains the terminal context saved at the source BS; source BS sends a handoff command message to UE to handoff to target BS. Refer to Sections 0035-0117.
U.S. Publication No. 20140087731 to Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-26 and Sections 0057-0059 and 0194-0197 wherein target BS receives a handover request from source BS for UE that needs to be handed over, where the handover request carries bearer context information of UE; when the negotiation between source BS and target BS succeeds, target BS returns a handover response to source BS to indicate that the handover is agreed to. Refer to Sections 0055-0268.
U.S. Publication No. 20260052571 to Shafin et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0093-0097 the STAs have established a SCS with the TWT shared AP, wherein the TWT shared AP agrees to the request from the TWT sharing AP for the coordination of the TWT SP that overlaps with the SCS service period for the high priority traffic. Refer to Sections 0044-0153.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
August 20, 2026