DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 12/5/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination, the rejection cited as stated below.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3, Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent 12192594 (hereafter “Patent’594”) in view of Chen (CN112579826, Google Patent translation is relied upon).
As to claim 1, Patent’594 discloses a method of generating videos, comprising:
displaying a material editing area based on a script structure, wherein the script structure comprises a plurality of script nodes, the plurality of script nodes correspond to a plurality of content paragraphs of a video to be generated, the material editing area comprises a plurality of sub-areas, and each of the plurality of sub-areas corresponds to a script node among the plurality of script nodes (Patent’594, Claim 1, “displaying, based on a first script structure, a material editing area for video editing, wherein the material editing area is divided into a plurality of sub-areas, each of a subset of the plurality of sub-areas corresponding to a script node among a plurality of script nodes in the first script structure, the first script structure is indicative of a content paragraph structure of a target video, and each of the plurality of script nodes is indicative of a content paragraph of the target video; displaying a target multimedia material according to a method further comprises: timeline in a target sub-area of the plurality of subareas, wherein the target multimedia material is selected for a target script node which is the script node corresponding to the target sub-area in the first script structure”); and
generating the video based on a plurality of multimedia materials displayed in the plurality of sub-areas (Patent’594, Claim 1, “generating the target video based on multimedia material displayed in the material editing area, wherein the target multimedia material is filled in a target content paragraph of the target video, and the target content paragraph is corresponding to the target script node”),
but does not expressly disclose wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node.
Chen discloses a multimedia material in each of a plurality of sub-areas is selected based on a corresponding script node (Page 12, paragraphs 8-12, “S1440. Acquire the multimedia material corresponding to the subtitle text. In some embodiments, S1440 may specifically include: determining the target material with the highest degree of matching with the subtitle text among the multiple preset materials, the multiple preset materials include materials obtained according to the original data, and the preset materials include at least one of images and videos; Use the target material as a multimedia material”. See page 7, last 4 paragraphs showing entering multimedia material in each sub-area of a plurality of sub-areas).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Patent’594 with Chen. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to solve the problem of relatively high time cost of video production (Chen, page 3, last five paragraphs).
As to claim 8 and 15, see similar rejection to claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 1, 8, 14 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 1 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 7, 7, 20 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 7 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 3, 10, 16 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 3 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 4, 11, 17 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 4 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 6, 13, 19 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 6 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected as being unpatenable over their respective claims of the patent’594 (claims 5 and 12 respectively) in view of Chen. Claim 5 of Patent’594 discloses the claimed invention substantially, except for wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node. Chen discloses this limitation as cited in rejection to claim 1 above. See similar obviousness analysis in rejection to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 5 recites “a second script node”, the scope of which cannot be definitely determined because it is unclear what is considered “a second script node”, when it is unclear what script node is considered “a first script node” in light of the preceding limitation(s) of this claim or the parent claim. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any script node. Claims 12 and 19 are similarly rejected.
b) Claim 5 recites “a second multimedia material”, the scope of which cannot be definitely determined because it is unclear what is considered “a second multimedia material”, when it is unclear what multimedia material is considered “a first multimedia material” in light of the preceding limitation(s) of this claim or the parent claim. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any multimedia material. Claims 12 and 19 are similarly rejected.
c) Claim 7 recites “a third multimedia material in the material editing area”, the scope of which cannot be definitely determined because it is unclear what is considered “a third multimedia material”, when it is unclear what multimedia material is considered “a first multimedia material”, and what multimedia material is considered “a second multimedia material”, in light of the preceding limitation(s) of this claim or the parent claim. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any multimedia material. Claim 14 is similarly rejected.
d) Claim 7 recites “a third script node”, the scope of which cannot be definitely determined because it is unclear what is considered “a third script node”, when it is unclear what script node is considered “a first script node” and what script node is considered “a second script node” in light of the preceding limitation(s) of this claim or the parent claim. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any script node. Claim 14 is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avid Technology, Inc (“Avid MediaCentral | UX User’s Guide Version 2.10“, hereafter “Avid”) in view of Chen (CN112579826-A, Google Patent translation is relied upon).
As to claim 1, Avid discloses a method of generating videos, comprising:
displaying a material editing area based on a script structure (page 94, the second figure, and paragraph 2, “You can use segments to time the text and integrate it with video, audio and production cues. See “Adding Media to a Story” on page 103. Multiple timed segments are combined to form the overall story. The following illustration shows the same story as the one in the previous example, but written as a segmented story”. See page 103, “If you want to add media to your story, you need to create a video sequence that is associated with the story. To create a sequence, click on … You also can use this button to open a sequence that you have already associated with a story. You then can edit the sequence in the Sequence pane. For more information, see “Using the Sequency Pane” on page 122 and “Editing a Sequence Associated with a Story” on page 147” and the Figure shown on page 104. See pages 147-152 for associating story/script segments with time blocks and media insertion to create a target video. Here, the segmented story/script formed by combining “multiple timed segments” constitutes a script structure which is based on to display a material editing area, as shown on page 94, the second figure, as well as the figures on page 104, wherein each story/script segment has its own subarea for editing, see also pages 147-148 wherein the time block corresponding to each story/script segment is synchronized to a video/media clip),
wherein the script structure comprises a plurality of script nodes (see citation above, wherein the story/script segments are a plurality of script nodes), the plurality of script nodes correspond to a plurality of content paragraphs of a video to be generated (see citation in rejection to the preceding limitation, e.g., pages 94, 103-104, and 147-152, wherein the plurality of story/script segments correspond to a plurality of media insertions (content paragraphs of a video to be generated), based on the corresponding time blocks in the video sequence synchronized to the story/script segments), the material editing area comprises a plurality of sub-areas, and each of the plurality of sub-areas corresponds to a script node among the plurality of script nodes (see citation in rejection to limitation 1 above, e.g., the figure on page 104, wherein the material editing areas comprises a plurality of sub-areas, e.g., a sub-area corresponding to a time block 0:11 / 0:11, and another sub-area corresponding to another time block 0:08 / 0:10, wherein each of the plurality of sub-areas corresponds to story/script segment among the plurality of story/script segments); and
generating the video based on a plurality of multimedia materials displayed in the plurality of sub-areas, (see citation in rejection to limitation 1, e.g., pages 147-152 and the figure on page 104, wherein the video is generated based on a plurality of multimedia materials displayed in the plurality of sub-areas, e.g., an area corresponding to a time block 0:11 / 0:11 is a sub-area, and an area corresponding to another time block 0:08 / 0:10, each sub-area corresponding to each story/script segment. See also page 496, section “Viewing Video Associated with a Script”; and “When sequences have been associated with stories in the MediaCentral UX Web application, you can preview the stories in the media viewer in MediaCentral UX…. When you associate video with a script, you use the Open Sequence button to open the viewer full screen and preview sequences”; and page 497, “The Play button plays the sequence so you can preview the video associated with the story…. To view video sequences associated with a script: 1. Tap Video at the bottom of the Script Editor, and then tap the Play button…. To regenerate the sequence video proxy for playback: 1. Tap the Actions button. 2. Tap Reload”),
but does not expressly disclose wherein a multimedia material in each of the plurality of sub-areas is selected based on the corresponding script node.
Chen discloses a multimedia material in each of a plurality of sub-areas is selected based on a corresponding script node (Page 12, paragraphs 8-12, “S1440. Acquire the multimedia material corresponding to the subtitle text. In some embodiments, S1440 may specifically include: determining the target material with the highest degree of matching with the subtitle text among the multiple preset materials, the multiple preset materials include materials obtained according to the original data, and the preset materials include at least one of images and videos; Use the target material as a multimedia material”. See page 7, last 4 paragraphs showing entering multimedia material in each sub-area of a plurality of sub-areas).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Avid with Chen. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to solve the problem of relatively high time cost of video production (Chen, page 3, last five paragraph).
As to claim 8, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating the video further comprises:
filling the plurality of multimedia materials into the plurality of content paragraphs based on a corresponding relationship between the plurality of multimedia materials in the plurality of sub-areas and the plurality of content paragraphs, wherein the corresponding relationship is established based on the plurality of script nodes (Avid, see citation in rejection to claim 1, wherein the filling of the plurality of multimedia materials into the corresponding video sequence to form content paragraphs of the video, is based on a corresponding relationship between the multimodal materials in the plurality of sub-areas and respective the time blocks defining content paragraphs, wherein the corresponding relationship is established based on the respective story/script segments. Also see Chen, as cited in rejection to claim 1 above); and
generating the video by splicing the plurality of content paragraphs based on the script structure (see citation in rejection to claim 1 above, Avid, e.g., page 94, pages 103-104, pages 147-152, wherein the video is generated by splicing the plurality of content paragraphs based on the segmented story/script structure, using the respective time blocks corresponding to the story/script segment, to assembly and form the completed sequence for the video. See also page 496, section “Viewing Video Associated with a Script”; and “When sequences have been associated with stories in the MediaCentral UX Web application, you can preview the stories in the media viewer in MediaCentral UX…. When you associate video with a script, you use the Open Sequence button to open the viewer full screen and preview sequences”; and page 497, “The Play button plays the sequence so you can preview the video associated with the story…. To view video sequences associated with a script: 1. Tap Video at the bottom of the Script Editor, and then tap the Play button…. To regenerate the sequence video proxy for playback”).
As to claim 9, see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 5, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an operation of adding a text content at a particular position of a second script node (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein. See Avid, page 149, paragraph 2, “For a current news story, you might start by drafting a script. As you write, you can break the script into segments, which creates associated timing blocks in the sequence. Later, you can fill in the timing blocks with media that comes in from the field, and use the timing displays to finetune the script and the sequence before recording a voice-over”; pages 91-96, “The Script Editor”; “Editing a Story”; see page 148, “As you create new story segments, new timing blocks are created. As you expand your script, or add media, the timing displays are updated. If you change the order of the story segments, the order of the timing blocks is also changed”);
determining a second multimedia material corresponding to the second script node, wherein the second multimedia material is among the plurality of multimedia materials (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein. See Avid, see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., page 94, pages 103-104 and pages 147-152, wherein the multimedia materials can be added after the script is completed, and a second multimedia material corresponding to the second story/script segment is determined to fill the respective story/script segment, the correspondence being that the second multimedia material and the second story/script segment are in the same time block. See page 147, “If you are a journalist working on a sequence associated with a story (a script sequence), you need to edit the clips in your sequence to match the script in your story. In MediaCentral UX, both the story segments and the Sequence pane include timing information to help you edit your script and your sequence”);
determining a timeline position in the second multimedia material that corresponds to the particular position in the second script node (Avid, see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., page 94, pages 103-104 and pages 147-152, the beginning of the corresponding time block for insertion/adding story/script segment. See page 147, “If you are a journalist working on a sequence associated with a story (a script sequence), you need to edit the clips in your sequence to match the script in your story. In MediaCentral UX, both the story segments and the Sequence pane include timing information to help you edit your script and your sequence”; page 148, “As you edit the text in your script and the media in your sequence, the story segments in the Story pane and the timing blocks in the Sequence pane remain synchronized to help you edit media to match your script”); and
adding a multimedia clip corresponding to the text content at the timeline position in the second multimedia material based on the operation of adding the text content in the second script node (Chen, Page 12, paragraphs 8-12, “S1440. Acquire the multimedia material corresponding to the subtitle text. In some embodiments, S1440 may specifically include: determining the target material with the highest degree of matching with the subtitle text among the multiple preset materials, the multiple preset materials include materials obtained according to the original data, and the preset materials include at least one of images and videos; Use the target material as a multimedia material”. See page 7, last 4 paragraphs showing entering multimedia material in each sub-area of a plurality of sub-areas. See Avid, page 147, “If you are a journalist working on a sequence associated with a story (a script sequence), you need to edit the clips in your sequence to match the script in your story. In MediaCentral UX, both the story segments and the Sequence pane include timing information to help you edit your script and your sequence”; page 148, “As you edit the text in your script and the media in your sequence, the story segments in the Story pane and the timing blocks in the Sequence pane remain synchronized to help you edit media to match your script”).
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 19, see similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 6, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an operation of adjusting an order of two script nodes in the script structure (page 4, “If you reorder story segments, the corresponding timing blocks are automatically reordered and media segments are moved with their timing blocks”, wherein the story segments to be reordered are the two script nodes in the segmented story/script structure); determining two sub-areas in the material editing area corresponding to the two script nodes in the script structure (see citation in rejection to claim 1, Avid, e.g., page 94, page 104, page 147-152, wherein the story/script segments are reflected the respective sub-areas in the material editing area); and
adjusting an order of two multimedia materials in the two sub-areas based on the operation of adjusting the order of the two script nodes in the script structure (Avid, page 4, “If you reorder story segments, the corresponding timing blocks are automatically reordered and media segments are moved with their timing blocks”).
As to claim 13, see similar rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 20, see similar rejection to claim 6.
11. Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avid in view of Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huber et al (US 2021/0304799).
As to claim 3, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a control element in the material editing area (Avid, pages 162-164, section “Performing an Overwrite Edit in an Advanced Sequence”, the “Overwrite button”; “If you are editing an advanced sequence, you can use the Overwrite feature to replace a portion of the sequence with a clip that is loaded in Asset mode. There are two ways to perform an overwrite edit: • Click the Overwrite button or press the B key”);
replacing one of the plurality of multimedia materials in the one of the plurality of subareas with at least one candidate multimedia material in response to a selection of the at least one candidate multimedia material (see citation above, wherein loading the clip and then clicking on the “overwrite button” is equivalent to selecting the clip to replace the current multimedia material. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific way to select the candidate multimedia material), but does not expressly disclose displaying the at least one candidate multimedia material in one of the plurality of sub-areas in response to receiving an input on the control element.
Huber discloses a concept of displaying at least one candidate multimedia material in one of a plurality of sub-areas in response to receiving an input on a control element ([0024], “For instance, the video editing application could update the text-based navigation section by highlighting the text "help others" and positioning a recommendation indicator, such as a query-generation button, near the highlighted text. If the video editing application receives a selection of a recommendation indicator, the video editing application generates a candidate video query having a query parameter that includes or is derived from a detected target term corresponding to the recommendation indicator. In this example, the video editing application could generate a query for secondary videos tagged with "help" or "help others. The video editing application retrieves candidate secondary videos by submitting the candidate video query to one or more data sources, such as online repositories of short video clips or other multimedia content. The video editing application displays, in the secondary video menu section, selectable visual representations (e.g., thumbnails) of the retrieved candidate secondary videos. One or more of the retrieved candidate secondary videos can then be inserted into a primary video using the process described above”; [0006], “The video editor also selects, from the candidate secondary videos, a secondary video corresponding to a video-selection input received at the secondary video menu section”; [0022], “the video application performs a playback operation in which frames of the primary video at which the “help others” audio is played are replaced with frames of a selected secondary video, such as a short video clip of a rescue worker assisting an accident victim. In this manner, the transcript of a primary video can be used as a guide for inserting secondary video content into a primary video being edited”; [0029], “The insertion engine 104 can also replace the target portion with a secondary video 120 that is selected via inputs to the secondary video menu section 116”)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Avid in view of Chen with Huber. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to enable displaying supplemental/secondary video information (Huber, [0022]).
As to claim 10, see similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 3.
12. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avid in view of Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fried (“Text-based Editing of Talking-head Video”).
As to claim 4, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an operation of adjusting a text content in a first script node among the plurality of script nodes (Avid, page 149, paragraph 2, “For a current news story, you might start by drafting a script. As you write, you can break the script into segments, which creates associated timing blocks in the sequence. Later, you can fill in the timing blocks with media that comes in from the field, and use the timing displays to finetune the script and the sequence before recording a voice-over”; pages 91-96, “The Script Editor”; “Editing a Story”);
determining a first multimedia material corresponding to the first script node, wherein the first multimedia material is among the plurality of multimedia materials (Avid, see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., page 94, pages 103-104 and pages 147-152, wherein the multimedia materials can be added after the script is completed, and a first multimedia material corresponding to the first story/script segment is determined to fill the respective story/script segment, the correspondence being that the first multimedia material and the first story/script segment are in the same time block. See page 147, “If you are a journalist working on a sequence associated with a story (a script sequence), you need to edit the clips in your sequence to match the script in your story. In MediaCentral UX, both the story segments and the Sequence pane include timing information to help you edit your script and your sequence”), but does not expressly disclose determining a multimedia clip in the first multimedia material that corresponds to the text content in the first script node; and editing the multimedia clip in the first multimedia material based on the operation of adjusting the text content in the first script node.
Fried discloses a concept of determining a multimedia clip in a first multimedia material that corresponds to a text content in a first script node; and editing the multimedia clip in the first multimedia material based on an operation of adjusting the text content in the first script node (abstract, “To edit a video, the user has to only edit the transcript, and an optimization strategy then chooses segments of the input corpus as base material. The annotated parameters corresponding to the selected segments are seamlessly stitched together and used to produce an intermediate video representation”. See also page 4, “Fig. 2. Method overview. Given an input talking-head video and a transcript, we perform text-based editing. We first align phonemes to the input audio and track each input frame to construct a parametric head model. Then, for a given edit operation (changing spider to fox), we find segments of the input video that have similar visemes to the new word. In the above case we use viper and ox to construct fox. We use blended head parameters from the corresponding video frames, together with a retimed background sequence, to generate a composite image, which is used to generate a photorealistic frame using our neural face rendering method. In the resulting video, the actress appears to be saying fox, even though that word was never spoken by her in the original recording”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Avid in view of Chen with Fried. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to enable editing video by editing texts (Fried, abstract).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 18, see similar rejection to claim 4.
13. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avid in view of Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garland (US 20130060572).
As to claim 7, Avid in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an operation of editing a multimedia clip in a third multimedia material in the material editing area (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein. See Avid, page 174, “if a video clip is associated with one or more audio tracks, and you add the video clip in the Sequence Timeline, you can add or remove its associated audio segments. For example, if a sequence contains a video segment and its associated NAT segment, you can add a SOT segment. If a sequence contains a video segment without audio, you can add a NAT segment, a SOT segment, or both. Similarly, you can remove a NAT segment, a SOT segment, or both”);
determining a third script node in the script structure corresponding to the third multimedia material in the material editing area (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein. See citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., Avid, pages 147-152, wherein a story/scription segment in the segmented story/script structure corresponding to a time block for a multimedia material in the material editing area is determined, see, e.g., the figure in page 104), but does not expressly disclose determining a text content in the third script node corresponding to the multimedia clip in the third multimedia material; and adjusting the text content in the third script node based on the operation of editing the multimedia clip in the material editing area.
Garland discloses determining a text content in a script node corresponding to a multimedia clip in a multimedia material; and adjusting the text content in the script node based on an operation of editing the multimedia clip in material editing area ([0022], “When a user of video editing software adds or removes portions of the video and corresponding audio recording(s), they often neglect to remove the corresponding section of the transcript”, implying that at least some users of video editing software at some time does not neglect to remove the corresponding section of the transcript when they adds or removes portions of the video and corresponding audio recordings).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Avid in view of Chen with Garland. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to synchronize the transcript with the video (Garland, [0022]).
As to claim 14, see similar rejection to claim 7.
Conclusion
/HUA FAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426