DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensing part” in claim 1.
The specification is devoid to provide any corresponding structure for the limitation “sensing part.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “sensing part” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid to provide any corresponding structure material, or acts for the limitation “sensing part.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected because of dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210069968 A) in view of Danehy (US 9,759,907 B2).
With regard to claim 1, Lee discloses a fluid supply device (100), comprising: a first nozzle that supplies a first fluid toward an object; a light sensor that comprises a light-emitting part (121) that emits light for detection, and a light-receiving part (122) that receives the light; and a sensing part (123) that detects displacement of the first nozzle based on a light reception amount of the light-receiving part (Fig. 3).
Lee does not disclose that a first light-blocking member capable of being positioned in a first non-light-blocking position that does not block the light and a first light-blocking position that blocks the light, the first light-blocking member is capable of switching between the first light-blocking position and the first non-light-blocking position by displacing in conjunction with the displacement of the first nozzle.
Danehy teaches a light sensor assembly comprising a light-emitting part (112) and a light-receiving part (130), a light-blocking member (120/140) capable of being positioned in a first non-light-blocking position (141a) that does not block the light and a first light-blocking position (141b) that blocks the light (Fig. 2), the first light-blocking member (120/140) is capable of switching between the first light-blocking position and the first non-light-blocking position by displacing in conjunction with the displacement of the device (120).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Danehy and the instant invention are directed to use of a light sensor assembly. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Danehy is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, by incorporating the light-blocking member (120/140) as taught by Danehy between the light-emitting part and the light-receiving part of Lee, doing it would block an incoming light beam from the detector when the incoming light beam is incident on the detector outside of a passable incident range and including an aperture opening configured to pass the incoming light beam to the detector when the incoming light beam is incident on the detector within a passable incident range (Abstract).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above, except a second nozzle that supplies a second fluid toward the object; and a second light-blocking member capable of being positioned in a second non-light-blocking position that does not block the light and a second light-blocking position that blocks the light, wherein the second light-blocking member is capable of switching between the second light-blocking position and the second non-light-blocking position by displacing in conjunction with a displacement of the second nozzle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lee, by incorporating a second nozzle and a second light-blocking member, since the modification is merely duplication of parts, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
With regard to claim 3, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Danehy further discloses that a first light-passing region (141a) through which the light passes is formed in the first light-blocking member (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Danehy further discloses that the first light-passing region is an opening or a transparent window (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Danehy further discloses that a second light-passing region (141a) through which the light passes is formed in the second light-blocking member (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 5 above. Danehy further discloses that the second light-passing region is an opening or a transparent window (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Lee further discloses that at least a part of the light sensor is positioned in a space between the first nozzle and the second nozzle (Claim 6 and 7).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lee further discloses that the light-emitting part emits the light in a direction away from the object (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Lee as modified by Danehy discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Danehy further discloses a cover (120) that covers at least a part of the first light-blocking member (520).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752