DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, while being enabling for operating a radar system in accordance with up to two modes simultaneously (as shown in Figure 5-3) does not reasonably provide enablement for operating a radar system in accordance with a very high number of modes (e.g., one hundred or one thousand modes) in a simultaneous or overlapping manner, as encompassed by the claims. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Specifically, the claims do not have an upper limit on the number of modes the radar system is configured to operate in accordance with, while the specification only appears to contemplate using no more than two modes simultaneously, causing there to be a large difference between the scope of the disclosed invention and the scope of the claims. Claims 10 and 19 are likewise rejected, and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “configuring a radar system to operate in accordance with one or more modes that satisfy the first and second radar-sensing performance requirements” which is indefinite, because it is unclear if: 1) all of the modes must satisfy both sets of performance requirements, or if different modes can satisfy different requirements, and 2) if all of the modes may happen simultaneously, sequentially, or in an overlapping manner. Claims 10 and 19 are likewise rejected, and dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 10 recites “to provide radar sensing for a set of the multiple applications that are in the active state” which is indefinite, because it requires providing radar sensing for applications that are in an active state without requiring, or providing antecedent basis for, a set of applications that are in the active state. In other words, the claim is presupposing or assuming that some of the applications will be active, without actually claiming it explicitly. Dependent claims 11-18 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giusti et al. (US 2020/0410072 A1), hereinafter Giusti.
Regarding claim 1, Giusti discloses a method performed by middleware (para. [0053], regarding applications and/or an operating system (not shown) implemented as computer-readable instructions on the computer-readable media 204 can be executed by the computer processors 202 to provide some or all of the functionalities described herein), the method comprising:
accepting a first request from a first application, the first request comprising first radar-sensing performance requirements for a first radar-sensing use case provided by the first application (para. [0067], regarding the power manager 320 can switch between utilizing the lower-power processor for low-level analysis (e.g., implementing the idle mode, detecting motion, determining a location of a user, or monitoring the environment) and the higher-power processor for situations in which high-fidelity or accurate radar data is requested by the awareness manager 106 (e.g., for implementing the aware mode, the engaged mode, or the active mode, gesture recognition or user orientation));
accepting a second request from a second application, the second request comprising second radar-sensing performance requirements for a second radar-sensing use case provided by the second application (para. [0045], regarding when the awareness manager 106 detects the action that indicates the intent to interact, the awareness manager 106 can prepare the authentication system 118 by causing the camera to enter a state in which it can capture an image (e.g., a camera “warm up” process that prepares the camera hardware and any associated software or other programs that are used to capture images)); and
configuring a radar system (radar system 104; fig. 1) to operate in accordance with one or more modes that satisfy the first and second radar-sensing performance requirements of the first and second requests (para. [0043], regarding awareness manager 106 may maintain the electronic device 102 in the aware mode for a selectable and adjustable time duration without such a user action (e.g., 60, 30, or 10 seconds) and then transition back to the dormant mode, even if the user remains in the recognition zone).
Regarding claim 2, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses the invention further comprising: receiving radar data from the radar system based on the radar system operating in accordance with the one or more modes (para. [0050], regarding assume that the user 112 walked up to the electronic device 102 and reached toward it, causing the electronic device 102 to transition from the dormant mode to the aware mode and then (optionally) to the engaged mode); passing at least a first portion of the radar data to the first application based on the first request (para. [0065], regarding the power manager 320 dynamically switches between different power modes such that response delay and power consumption are managed together based on the activity within the environment); and passing at least a second portion of the radar data to the second application based on the second request (para. [0067], regarding situations in which high-fidelity or accurate radar data is requested by the awareness manager 106 (e.g., for implementing the aware mode, the engaged mode, or the active mode, gesture recognition or user orientation)).
Regarding claim 3, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the first radar-sensing performance requirements differ from the second radar-sensing performance requirements (see again para. [0067]); and the method further comprises: determining a first mode of the one or more modes that satisfies the first and second radar-sensing performance requirements (see again para. [0067]); and configuring the radar system to operate in accordance with the first mode (see again para. [0066-0067], regarding both the power manager 320 and the awareness manager 106 requiring the active mode for gesture recognition).
Regarding claim 4, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the first radar-sensing performance requirements differ from the second radar-sensing performance requirements (see again para. [0067]); and the method further comprises: determining a first mode of the one or more modes that satisfies the first radar-sensing performance requirements (see again para. [0067]); determining a second mode of the one or more modes that satisfies the second radar-sensing performance requirements (see again para. [0067]); and configuring the radar system to operate in accordance with the first mode and the second mode (para. [0067], regarding the power manager 320 can switch between utilizing the lower-power processor for low-level analysis (e.g., implementing the idle mode, detecting motion, determining a location of a user, or monitoring the environment) and the higher-power processor for situations in which high-fidelity or accurate radar data is requested by the awareness manager 106).
Regarding claim 8, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses the invention further comprising: accepting a third request from a third application, the third request comprising third radar-sensing performance requirements for a third radar-sensing use case provided by the third application (see again para. [0067]); and configuring the radar system to operate in accordance with one or more other modes that satisfy the first, second, and third requests (see again para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the configuring of the radar system comprises configuring multiple radar systems to operate in accordance with the one or more of the modes to satisfy the first and second requests (para. [0055], regarding the radar system 104 may also cooperate with other radar systems 104 that are within an external environment to implement a bistatic radar, a multistatic radar, or a network radar).
Regarding claim 10, Giusti discloses a method performed by middleware that is coupled between a radar system and multiple applications (see again para. [0053]), the method comprising:
receiving multiple requests from the multiple applications, each application of the multiple applications capable of being in an active state or an inactive state with regard to utilizing radar sensing provided by the radar system (see again paras. [0045] and [0067]); and
dynamically configuring the radar system to operate in accordance with at least one mode to provide radar sensing for a set of the multiple applications that are in the active state, the at least one mode satisfying a set of the multiple requests that correspond with the set of the multiple applications (see again para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 18, Giusti discloses the invention in claim 10, and further discloses the invention further comprising: receiving a request of the multiple requests from an application of the multiple applications that is in the inactive state, the request indicating a condition for the application to transition to the active state (para. [0050], regarding assume that the user 112 walked up to the electronic device 102 and reached toward it, causing the electronic device 102 to transition from the dormant mode to the aware mode and then (optionally) to the engaged mode); receiving radar data from the radar system based on the radar system operating in accordance with the at least one mode (see again para. [0050]); and causing the application to transition from the inactive state to the active state responsive to the radar data indicating occurrence of the condition (see again para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Giusti discloses a computer-readable storage medium (see para. [0005]) comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processor, implement middleware configured to: accept a first request from a first application, the first request comprising first radar-sensing performance requirements for a first radar-sensing use case provided by the first application; accept a second request from a second application, the second request comprising second radar-sensing performance requirements for a second radar-sensing use case provided by the second application; and configure a radar system to operate in accordance with one or more modes that satisfy the first and second radar-sensing performance requirements of the first and second requests (see rejection of claim 1 detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 20, Giusi discloses the invention in claim 19, and further discloses wherein the middleware is configured to: determine a first mode of the one or more modes that satisfies the first and second radar-sensing performance requirements, the first radar-sensing performance requirements being different from the second radar-sensing performance requirements; and configure the radar system to operate in accordance with the first mode (see rejection of claim 3 detailed hereinabove).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 11-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, the prior art of record does not appear to teach the combined limitations of said dependent claims.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648