DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/2/2025 and 12/5/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the species differ only in the relative timing at which the second drive waveforms are applied” and therefore fall in the same technical field. This is not found persuasive because, as laid out in the Restriction Requirement dated 7/2/2026, at least the difference in timing creates a burden of search. For example, many disclosures which teach the application of a precursor pulse require the precursor pulse to be applied at a particular timing relative to an ejecting pulse.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-13, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Stockmar et al. (US 2021/0331464 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11:
Stockmar discloses a liquid ejection apparatus for ejecting a liquid onto a medium, the apparatus comprising:
a conveyor for conveying the medium (120: inherent to paragraph 20 & Fig. 1); and
a liquid ejection head comprising configured to eject the liquid onto the conveyed medium (paragraph 24 & Fig. 1), wherein the liquid ejection head includes:
a plurality of nozzles (21, 22) through which liquid is ejected (Fig. 2);
a plurality of pressure chambers (chamber 212) that respectively communicate with the nozzles (Fig. 2), volumes of the pressure chambers being varied to eject the liquid through the corresponding nozzles (paragraph 29);
an actuator (220) configured to vary the volumes of the pressure chambers independently according to drive waveforms respectively applied to the pressure chambers (paragraph 29 & Fig. 2);
a signal processing circuit (of controller 101) configured to:
upon receipt of an instruction to eject the liquid, acquire first waveform data (a first data set of basic print data 300) indicating first drive waveforms for the pressure chambers (paragraphs 29, & Fig. 3a) and second waveform data (a second data set of basic print data 403) indicating second drive waveforms for the pressure chambers (Fig. 3a), and
determine third waveforms (at least one of a pre-ejection data set 303 and a rest phase data set 304) for the pressure chambers based on differences between the first and second drive waveforms (paragraph 30-31), wherein the third drive waveforms are applied to the pressure chambers at a first timing (e.g. corresponding to one of the first pre-ejection data sets 303: Fig. 3b) and the second drive waveforms are applied to the pressure chambers at a second timing that is different from the first timing (e.g. corresponding to a later non-white data set 301: Fig. 3b); and
a drive circuit (printhead controllers 104) configured to output the drive waveforms generated by the signal processing circuit to the pressure chambers (paragraphs 35-36 & Fig. 1),
wherein one of the third drive waveforms is different from or identical to a corresponding one of the first drive waveforms depending on whether the one of the first drive waveforms and a corresponding one of the second drive waveforms match a predetermined pattern (paragraphs 29-32 & Figs. 3a-3b).
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Stockmar et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/11, and also that the first timing corresponds to a timing for ejecting the liquid next (Fig. 3b).
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Stockmar et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 2/12, and also that the second timing corresponds to a timing for ejecting the liquid immediately after the first timing (Fig. 3b).
Regarding claims 7 and 17:
Stockmar et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/11, and also that each of the first, second, and third waveforms corresponds to one of: a non-driving waveform, a one-drop driving waveform, a two-drop driving waveform, a three-drop driving waveform, and a precursor driving waveform (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 10:
Stockmar et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the signal processing circuit includes a receiving circuit through which the first and second waveform data are received (inherent to paragraph 26) and a transmission circuit through which the third drive waveforms are output to the drive circuit (inherent to paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 20:
Stockmar et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 11, and also that the liquid ejection apparatus includes a printer (Fig. 1), wherein the instruction is an instruction to print on the medium (paragraph 26), and wherein each of the first and second waveform data is print data of a single line on the medium (paragraph 31 & Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stockmar et al. (US 2021/0331464 A1) in view of Masui (US 2017/0253033 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18:
Stockmar et at disclose all the limitations of claims 1/11, but does not expressly disclose that the signal processing circuit includes a first buffer and a second buffer.
However, Masui discloses a signal processing circuit (38) that enables correction of driving waveform data (paragraph 20) by utilizing a first buffer (of data history holding unit 56) in which first waveform data is stored (Fig. 8) and a second buffer (of data history holding unit 56) in which second waveform data is stored (Fig. 8).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stockmar et al.’s liquid ejection head to include the buffers taught by Masui.
Regarding claims 9 and 19:
Stockmar et al.’s modified head comprises all the limitations of claims 8/18, but does not expressly disclose that the signal processing circuit and the drive circuit are integrated into a single integrated circuit.
However, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Because integrated circuits are widely known in the art as enabling small and efficient circuit packages, an artisan would have been well motivated to form the signal processing circuit and the drive circuit into a single integrated circuit.
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853