DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a communication dated 12/5/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/5/2025, 6/20/2025 and 12/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 (and elsewhere, where applicable), the claim does not describe how the server received an indication that an APR failed to activate the medical device. In order for the server to receive an indication, there has to be a device associated with a medical device that is in communication with the server. The claim does not make it clear if the medical device is in direct communication with the server. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen, US Patent Application No. 2014/0180711.
Regarding claim 1, Kamen discloses a method of programing a medical device, comprising, at a server:
receiving an indication that an automatic programming request (APR) failed to activate the medical device for delivery of a fluid ([0070], [0101], parameter, [0463], limit violation.. change the infusion intent (e.g., change the medication, care area, clinical use and/or concentration; [1269]);
in response to the indication:
obtaining one or more historical programming records associated with a drug library record and which include one or more historical parameters that have previously activated the medical device ([0070], [0486], parameter value, [0912]);
identifying a parameter associated with the APR that deviates from the one or more historical parameters that have previously activated the medical device ([0115], [0861]);
determining that the identified parameter should be updated based on a magnitude of a deviation between the identified parameters and the one or more historical parameters ([0546], new value, [0929] new parameter value);
updating, based on at least one of the historical parameters, the identified parameter to form an updated APR ([0546], [0929]), and
providing the updated APR to the medical device to activate the medical device for delivery of the fluid, wherein the medical device is activated responsive to the updated APR and the updated parameter to cause the medical device to deliver the fluid to a patient ([0070], [0092], [0101], [0405], [0422], [0546], [0929]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different disclosure of Kamen. The motivation for combining these references would have been to provide a fluid to the patient.
Regarding claim 2, Kamen discloses wherein determining that the identified parameter should be updated based on the magnitude of the deviation comprises a value of the identified parameter being outside a guardrail value include in the one or more historical programming records ([0311], [1139]).
Regarding claim 3, Kamen discloses before updating the APR parameter of the APR: determining a recommended parameter value for the APR parameter; providing the recommended APR parameter to a user interface for user review; receiving a confirmation of the recommended APR parameter; and updating the APR parameter of the APR with the recommended APR parameter responsive to receiving the confirmation ([0546], new values serve as recommended parameter, [0929]).
Regarding claim 4, Kamen discloses wherein receiving the indication that the APR failed to activate the medication device includes identifying a system generating the APR as a cause of the medical device failing to activate and a parameter value of the identified parameter of the APR as a cause of the medical device failing to activate (Fig. 6, [0101], [0463], [1269]).
Regarding claim 5, Kamen discloses wherein receiving the indication that the APR failed to activate the medication device includes identifying the drug library record as a cause of the medical device failing to activate and a parameter value of the identified parameter of the APR as a cause of the medical device failing to activate (Fig. 6, [0101], parameter, [0463], [1269]).
Regarding claim 6, Kamen discloses providing the updated parameter to a user for review; and updating the drug library record with the updated parameter, wherein the updated APR is updated based on the updated drug library record ([0546], [0912], [0929]).
Regarding claim 7, Kamen discloses wherein receiving the indication that the APR failed to activate the medication device includes identifying a device state as a cause of the medical device failing to activate (Fig. 6, [0101], [0463], [1269]).
Regarding claim 8, Kamen discloses wherein the updated APR parameter of the APR includes a drug type, fluid type, clinical advisory, therapy type, or drug concentration ([0463]).
Regarding claim 9, Kamen discloses wherein the updated parameter of the APR includes a rate, volume to be infused, or a duration ([0463]).
Claims 10-20 are substantially similar to claims 1-7 and hence rejected on similar grounds.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,766. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to a method for programming a medical device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed on the attached PTO -892.
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684