DETAILED ACTION
1. Claim 1-20 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The Examiner suggests a new title including the terms: a non cell defining synchronization signal, synchronization raster, step size, and/or frequency-domain.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:” The preamble recites an apparatus however the body of the claims recites method steps without reciting the structure for performing the method. Claim 10 should be amended to include a colon “:” which places the structure for the terminal/apparatus in the body of the claims. “A terminal, comprising: a processor and a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:”
Claim recites Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-11 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being discloses by Cui et al., US 2025/0071700 hereafter Cui.
As claim 1, Cui discloses:
An information determination method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, first information based on a non cell defining synchronization signal and PBCH block (NCD-SSB) detected on a first synchronization raster ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location [0051] the RedCap UE can traverse the reduced sync raster to identify a time/frequency location of an NCD-SSB.), wherein the first information comprises at least one piece of information in a master information block (MIB) in the NCD-SSB ([0040], a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) extracted from the PBCH of the CD-SSB can contain direct information locating corresponding NCD-SSB(s). [0074]), first resource information of the first synchronization raster, or a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the NCD-SSB; and
determining, by the terminal, target information based on the first information, wherein the target information ([0040], a RedCap UE to first obtain a CD-SSB from a serving cell or a non-serving sell, and to obtain from that CD-SSB timing information that identifies a location of a corresponding NCD-SSB broadcast within the same network and/or from the same cell. Thereafter, the RedCap UE can retune internal RF signal processing chains to thereafter monitor the NCD-SSB, which may be broadcast from either a serving cell or a non-serving cell at a greater periodicity than the CD-SSB. In some cases, a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) extracted from the PBCH of the CD-SSB can contain direct information locating corresponding NCD-SSB(s). In other cases, the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location, different from the CD-SSB.) comprises:
third resource information of a second frequency-domain resource on which no CD-SSB exists ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location, different from the CD-SSB.)
As claims 2, 11 and 20, Cui discloses:
wherein the first resource information of the first synchronization raster comprises at least one of the following:
a frequency band type of a frequency band where the first synchronization raster is located;
a frequency band position of the frequency band where the first synchronization raster is located ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location, different from the CD-SSB.); or
a frequency band number of the frequency band where the first synchronization raster is located.
As claims 7 and 16, Cui discloses:
wherein the first information is indicated through a bit in a first indication field in the MIB, and the first indication field is an indication field in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in the MIB ([0049], Each CD-SSB can include a PBCH that in turn includes a MIB or SIB, which attributes or other information that can be used by the RedCap UE 102 to locate an NCD-SSB, which may be in a different frequency band than the received CD-SSB.)
As claims 8 and 17, Cui discloses:
wherein the first indication field comprises at least one of the following: a system frame number indication field ([0081] system frame number (SFN) in which a particular received CD-SSB is received (either in the first half of the frame or the second half of the frame) can inform the RedCap UE of a corresponding location of an NCD-SSB.); a subcarrier spacing indication field ([0024], a UE in a 5G NR network must be capable to assign a symbol index, for a given subcarrier spacing, for candidate CD-SSBs according to the 5G NR specification.)
As claims 9 and 18, Cui discloses:
when the terminal determines, based on the first information, the first frequency-domain resource of the second synchronization raster on which a CD-SSB exists, performing, by the terminal, SSB detection on the first frequency-domain resource (Not required since claim 1 limitation includes the “second resource information of a first frequency-domain resource on which a second synchronization raster exists” as an optional in the “at least one of” limitation in claims 1 and 10 and “at least one of” recited in claims 9 and 18); or when the terminal determines, based on the first information, the second frequency-domain resource on which no CD-SSB exists, not performing, by the terminal, SSB detection on the second frequency-domain resource ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location, different from the CD-SSB. In yet other cases, the RedCap UE can be preconfigured by a network provider to monitor specific locations for NCD-SSB, foregoing any requirement to monitor for any CD-SSB.)
As claim 10, Cui discloses:
A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining, by a terminal, first information based on a non cell defining synchronization signal and PBCH block (NCD-SSB) detected on a first synchronization raster ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location), wherein the first information comprises at least one piece of information in a master information block (MIB) in the NCD-SSB ([0040], a master information block (MIB) and/or a system information block (SIB) extracted from the PBCH of the CD-SSB can contain direct information locating corresponding NCD-SSB(s)), first resource information of the first synchronization raster, or a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the NCD-SSB; and
determining, by the terminal, target information based on the first information, wherein the target information ([0040], the RedCap UE can retune internal RF signal processing chains to thereafter monitor the NCD-SSB, which may be broadcast from either a serving cell or a non-serving cell at a greater periodicity than the CD-SSB) comprises:
third resource information of a second frequency-domain resource on which no CD-SSB exists ([0040], the MIB or SIB can include a reference to a reduced synchronization raster that can be used by a RedCap UE to locate an NCD-SSB in another frequency location, different from the CD-SSB.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 3-6 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view of Kim et al., US 2024/0373330 hereafter Kim.
As for claims 3 and 12, Cui does not explicitly disclose the determining, by the terminal, the target information based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, a target step size based on the first information, wherein the target step size is used for indicating the second synchronization raster or used for indicating the second frequency-domain resource on which no CD-SSB exists; and
determining, by the terminal, target information based on the target step size and second information, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: a frequency-domain number or a frequency-domain position of the first synchronization raster or
a frequency-domain number offset parameter or a frequency-domain position offset parameter of the second synchronization raster relative to the first synchronization raster.
However, Kim discloses the determining, by the terminal, the target information based on the first information comprises: determining, by the terminal, a target step size based on the first information ([0094] In the FR1 and FR2-1 bands, the step size is determined as 1. In the FR2-2 band, the step size is determined as 3. Since FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2 are frequency bands in which the first SSB is capable of being detected, the step size is determined based on the frequency band in which the first SSB is detected.), wherein the target step size is used for indicating the second synchronization raster (Table 7 depicts the step size for a plurality of SS raster entries, page 5 Notes 2-7: The applicable SS raster entries are GSCN = {5032, 5043, 5054} NOTE 6: The applicable SS raster entries are GSCN = {4707, 4715, 4718, 4729, 4732, 4743, 4747, 4754, 4761, 4768, 4772, 4782, 4786, 4793}); and
determining, by the terminal, target information based on the target step size and second information, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: a frequency-domain number or a frequency-domain position of the first synchronization raster ([0093] Therefore, in step S503, the nearest GSCN may be determined based on (i) the GSCN of the first SSB, (ii) the step size, and (iii) the GSCN offset. [0094] In the FR1 and FR2-1 bands, the step size is determined as 1. In the FR2-2 band, the step size is determined as 3. Since FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2 are frequency bands in which the first SSB is capable of being detected, the step size is determined based on the frequency band in which the first SSB is detected. Tables 7-9, [0075], The step size may be defined for each SCS of the SSB according to Table 8); or
a frequency-domain number offset parameter or a frequency-domain position offset parameter of the second synchronization raster relative to the first synchronization raster (Kim [0048], [0050], Table 7, [0079], Table 17, Table 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui with the determining, by the terminal, the target information based on the first information comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a target step size based on the first information, wherein the target step size is used for indicating the second synchronization raster or used for indicating the second frequency-domain resource on which no CD-SSB exists; and determining, by the terminal, target information based on the target step size and second information, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: a frequency-domain number or a frequency-domain position of the first synchronization raster or a frequency-domain number offset parameter or a frequency-domain position offset parameter of the second synchronization raster relative to the first synchronization raster as taught by Kim so that signals may be transmitted and received more efficiently (Kim, [0011]).
As for claims 4 and 13, Kim discloses the determining, by the terminal, the target step size based on the first information comprises determining, by the terminal, the target step size based on the frequency band number of the frequency band where the first synchronization raster is located ([0048], Through the first SSB, the UE may receive signaling indicating the existence of a CD-SSB with a center frequency aligned to a synchronization raster closest to a GSCN to which the corresponding offset value is applied.), wherein different frequency band numbers correspond to different step sizes ([0093] Therefore, in step S503, the nearest GSCN may be determined based on (i) the GSCN of the first SSB, (ii) the step size, and (iii) the GSCN offset. [0094] In the FR1 and FR2-1 bands, the step size is determined as 1. In the FR2-2 band, the step size is determined as 3. Since FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2 are frequency bands in which the first SSB is capable of being detected, the step size is determined based on the frequency band in which the first SSB is detected. Tables 7-9, [0075], The step size may be defined for each SCS of the SSB according to Table 8).
As for claims 5 and 14, Kim discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal, the target information based on the target step size and second information comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a first product based on the target step size and the frequency-domain position offset parameter (claims 3-5, [0096], The GSCN range in the 120 kHz SCS is greater than 768, which is obtained by multiplying 256, which is the maximum GSCN offset in Table 6, by the step size of 3 (the GSCN range for the 480 kHz SCS is 768 from 24162 to 24930, which is the same as the maximum GSCN offset multiplied by the step size); and
determining, by the terminal, a frequency-domain position of the second synchronization raster based on a sum of the first product and the frequency-domain position of the first synchronization raster (Kim, Table 19, [0080]-[0083], claims 3-6, the nearest GSCN is determined to be a value obtained by adding a product of the step size and the GSCN offset to the GSCN of the first SSB.)
As for claims 6 and 15, Kim discloses wherein the frequency-domain number or the frequency-domain position of the first synchronization raster comprises a global synchronization channel number (GSCN) of the first synchronization raster ([0048], Through the first SSB, the UE may receive signaling indicating the existence of a CD-SSB with a center frequency aligned to a synchronization raster closest to a GSCN to which the corresponding offset value is applied.), and the determining, by the terminal, the target information based on the target step size and second information comprises: determining, by the terminal, a second product based on the target step size and the frequency-domain number offset parameter or the frequency-domain position offset parameter (claims 3-5, [0096], The GSCN range in the 120 kHz SCS is greater than 768, which is obtained by multiplying 256, which is the maximum GSCN offset in Table 6, by the step size of 3 (the GSCN range for the 480 kHz SCS is 768 from 24162 to 24930, which is the same as the maximum GSCN offset multiplied by the step size).); and determining, by the terminal, a GSCN of the second synchronization raster based on a sum of the second product and the GSCN of the first synchronization raster (Kim, Table 19, [0080]-[0083], claims 3-6, the nearest GSCN is determined to be a value obtained by adding a product of the step size and the GSCN offset to the GSCN of the first SSB.).
Conclusion
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469