DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,200,390 Geurts et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in this application are broader than in Geurts et al Patent 12,200,390.
Regarding claim 1 Geurts et al Patent 12,200,390 discloses of applicant’s A method, comprising: reading an image data signal out from a pixel to a sample and hold circuit; storing a first copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit; and storing a second copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit (claim 1, A method comprising: reading out a reset level signal from a pixel to a sample and hold circuit; storing the reset level signal to a first storage device of the sample and hold circuit; storing the reset level signal to a second storage device of the sample and hold circuit; reading out a signal level signal from the pixel to the sample and hold circuit; storing the signal level signal to a third storage device of the sample and hold circuit; and storing the signal level signal to a fourth storage device of the sample and hold circuit, wherein the first storage device, the second storage device, the third storage device, and the fourth storage device are different from one another, and wherein the reset level signal and the signal level signal correspond to a same correlated double sampling of an image data signal captured by the pixel).
Regarding claim 2 Geurts et al Patent 12,200,390 discloses of applicant’s reading the image data signal out from the pixel includes: reading a reset level signal out from the pixel, and reading a signal level signal out from the pixel; storing the first copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit includes: storing the reset level signal on a first storage device of the sample and hold circuit, and storing the signal level signal on a second storage device of the sample and hold circuit; and storing the second copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit includes: storing the reset level signal on a third storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the first storage device, and storing the signal level signal on a fourth storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the second storage device (claim 9, wherein: the reading of the reset level signal from the pixel, the storing of the reset level signal to the first and second storage devices, the reading of the signal level signal from the pixel, and the storing of the signal level signal to the third and fourth storage devices, each correspond to a first frame; and the method further comprises resetting only those of the first storage device, the second storage device, the third storage device, and the fourth storage device that are not used to read out the reset level signal or the signal level signal from the sample and hold circuit by an end of the first frame).
Regarding claim 3 Geurts et al Patent 12,200,390 discloses of applicant’s further comprising reading the first copy of the image data signal out from the sample and hold circuit to readout circuitry, wherein reading the first copy of the image data signal out from the sample and hold circuit to readout circuitry includes sequentially reading out (i) a reset level signal corresponding to the image data signal from the sample and hold circuit and (ii) a signal level signal corresponding to the image data signal from the sample and hold circuit (claim 2, further comprising: reading out the reset level signal from the first storage device to readout circuitry coupled to the sample and hold circuit; reading out the signal level signal from the third storage device to the readout circuitry; and recovering a first copy of the image data signal based at least in part on the reset level signal and the signal level signal readout from the first storage device and the third storage device, respectively).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al US Patent No. 5,374,953.
Regarding claim 1 Sasaki et al discloses of Fig. 1 – 31 of applicant’s a method (column 1, line 6, line 34 – 35 image signal processing apparatus 32 process the signal from the electronic endoscope 31, is a method, to obtain an observed image of the examined object) comprising: reading an image data signal out from a pixel to a sample and hold circuit (column 1, line 55 – 76 to column 2, line 1 – 24 CCD 2 is a line transfer type CCD where the pixel information for one scanning line transferred in each horizontal period from an imaging part 3 formed of a two-dimensional array of a photoelectric converting device is allotted to two horizontal registers 4 for each pixel and their outputs Vout1 and Vout2 are simultaneously read out through amplifiers 5 where the CCD reading signals of the two systems are input respectively into the first and second correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 9 such that the image data signal of each pixel and their outputs Vout1 and Vout2 is read out from a pixel to a sample and hold circuit CDS circuit 9);
Sasaki et al further discloses of applicant’s storing a first copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit; and storing a second copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit (column 1, line 55 – 76 to column 2, line 1 – 24 CCD 2 is a line transfer type CCD where the pixel information for one scanning line transferred in each horizontal period from an imaging part 3 formed of a two-dimensional array of a photoelectric converting device is allotted to two horizontal registers 4 for each pixel and their outputs Vout1 and Vout2 are simultaneously read out through amplifiers 5. Column 6, line 56 – 67 to column 7, line 1 – 25 charge coupled device (CCD) 53 as a solid state imaging device has two outputs and each output to two correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a and 57b. The respective output signals Vout1 and Vout2 of the CCD 53 are output, respectively, to the first and second correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a and 57b (represented by CDS circuits 57 in some cases). The above mentioned CDS circuits 57 correlatively doubly sample the signals by the timing of the later described CDS clock such that a first copy of the image data pixel signal is stored on the sample and hold circuit 57a and a second copy of the image data pixel signal is stored on the sample and hold 57b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al US Patent No. 5,374,953 in view of Mori et al US Publication No. 2019/0098232.
Regarding claim 2 Sasaki et al further discloses of applicant’s wherein: reading the image data signal out from the pixel includes: storing the first copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit includes: and storing the second copy of the image data signal on the sample and hold circuit includes (column 1, line 55 – 76 to column 2, line 1 – 24 CCD 2 is a line transfer type CCD where the pixel information for one scanning line transferred in each horizontal period from an imaging part 3 formed of a two-dimensional array of a photoelectric converting device is allotted to two horizontal registers 4 for each pixel and their outputs Vout1 and Vout2 are simultaneously read out through amplifiers 5. Column 6, line 56 – 67 to column 7, line 1 – 25 charge coupled device (CCD) 53 as a solid state imaging device has two outputs and each output to two correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a and 57b. The respective output signals Vout1 and Vout2 of the CCD 53 are output, respectively, to the first and second correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a and 57b (represented by CDS circuits 57 in some cases). The above mentioned CDS circuits 57 correlatively doubly sample the signals by the timing of the later described CDS clock such that the image data signal is read out from the pixel of CCD 2 where a first copy of the image data pixel signal is stored on the sample and hold circuit 57a and a second copy of the image data pixel signal is stored on the sample and hold 57b);
Sasaki et al discloses a imager readout method where pixel signals are readout to two shift registers and where each shift register output go to a sample and hold CDs circuit but does not expressively disclose reading a reset level signal out from the pixel, and reading a signal level signal out from the pixel; storing the reset level signal on a first storage device of the sample and hold circuit, and storing the signal level signal on a second storage device of the sample and hold circuit; storing the reset level signal on a third storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the first storage device, and storing the signal level signal on a fourth storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the second storage device;
Mori et al teaches a sample and hold circuit that stores reset and sample pixel signals. Mori et al teaches of Fig. 1 – 33 of applicant’s reading a reset level signal out from the pixel, and reading a signal level signal out from the pixel; storing the reset level signal on a first storage device of the sample and hold circuit, and storing the signal level signal on a second storage device of the sample and hold circuit; storing the reset level signal on a third storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the first storage device, and storing the signal level signal on a fourth storage device of the sample and hold circuit different from the second storage device (paragraph 0138 – 0139 the pixel signals VRST and VSIG of the pixels 200 are read out, in the signal holding part 220 the first read-out reset signal VRST1 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the first switching transistor SHR1-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the first signal holding capacitor CR21 is made to hold this read-out reset signal VRST1. The first read-out signal VSIG1 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the second switching transistor SHS1-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the second signal holding capacitor CS21 is made to hold this read-out signal VSIG1;
When the second read-out signal VSIG2 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the fourth switching transistor SHS2-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the fourth signal holding capacitor CS22 is made to hold this read-out signal VSIG2. The second read-out reset signal VRST2 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the third switching transistor SHR2-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the third signal holding capacitor CR22 is made to hold this read-out reset signal VRST2 such that reading a VRST1 reset level signal out from the pixel 200, and reading a VSIG1 signal level signal out from the pixel 200; storing the VRST1 reset level signal on a first storage device CR21 of the sample and hold circuit 220, and storing the VSIG1 signal level signal on a second storage device CS21 of the sample and hold circuit 220; storing the VRST2 reset level signal on a third storage device CR22 of the sample and hold circuit 220 different from the first storage device CR21, and storing the VSIG2 signal level signal on a fourth storage device CS22 of the sample and hold circuit 220 different from the second storage device CS21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the circuitry of Sasaki et al in a manner similar to Mori et al. Doing so would result improving Sasaki et al invention in a similar way as Mori et al - namely the ability to provide a sample and hold circuit that stores reset and sample pixel signals, in Mori et al invention, to the imager readout method where pixel signals are readout to two shift registers and where each shift register output go to a sample and hold CDs circuit in Sasaki et al invention.
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Sasaki et al in view of Mori et al further teach of applicant’s further comprising reading the first copy of the image data signal out from the sample and hold circuit to readout circuitry, wherein reading the first copy of the image data signal out from the sample and hold circuit to readout circuitry includes sequentially reading out (i) a reset level signal corresponding to the image data signal from the sample and hold circuit and (ii) a signal level signal corresponding to the image data signal from the sample and hold circuit (Sasaki et al in column 1, line 55 – 76 to column 2, line 1 – 24 CCD 2 is a line transfer type CCD where the pixel information for one scanning line transferred in each horizontal period from an imaging part 3 formed of a two-dimensional array of a photoelectric converting device is allotted to two horizontal registers 4 for each pixel with an outputs Vout1.Column 6, line 56 – 67 to column 7, line 1 – 25 charge coupled device (CCD) 53 as a solid state imaging device has two outputs and each output to two correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a and 57b. The respective output signals Vout1 of the CCD 53 are output, respectively, to the first correlated double sampling (CDS) circuits 57a;
Mori et in paragraph 0138 – 0139 the pixel signals VRST and VSIG of the pixels 200 are read out, in the signal holding part 220 the first read-out reset signal VRST1 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the first switching transistor SHR1-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the first signal holding capacitor CR21 is made to hold this read-out reset signal VRST1. The first read-out signal VSIG1 is read out as the pixel signal from the photoelectric converting and reading part 210, the second switching transistor SHS1-Tr of the signal holding part 220 is rendered conductive for a predetermined period, and the second signal holding capacitor CS21 is made to hold this read-out signal VSIG1. Paragraph 0058 conversion signals corresponding to the read-out signals held in the first to fourth signal holding capacitors are read out to a predetermined signal line, and conversion signals corresponding to the read-out reset signals are read out to a predetermined signal line simultaneously and in parallel and are supplied to the column read-out circuit 40 such that reading the first copy of the image data pixel signal, Sasaki et al output Vout1, out from the sample and hold circuit 220 to readout circuitry 40,in Mori et al, wherein reading the first copy of the image data signal, output Vout1, out from the sample and hold circuit 220 to readout circuitry 40 includes sequentially reading out first a reset level signal VRST1 corresponding to the image data pixel signal from the sample and hold circuit 220 and then reading out a signal level signal VSIG1 corresponding to the image data pixel signal from the sample and hold circuit 220).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 8 are objected to as being dependent upon or ultimately dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK T MONK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637