DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andy_libal (“Encycarpedia is the ultimate Car Specs Comparison!”) and Chuang et al (US 20230365063 A1), hereinafter Encycarpedia and Chuang respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Encycarpedia teaches a control apparatus comprising: a communication interface configured to communicate with a terminal apparatus of a user;
Andy_libal demonstrates using the Encycarpedia website server interface that a user can access using their browser/mobile device to input their vehicle type data or select from a library of cars. The user interacts with the website’s user interface buttons to input this data. See Timestamp 0:00-0:20.
Screenshot from YouTube video of Andy_libal (“Encycarpedia is the ultimate Car Specs Comparison!”).
Timestamp 0:09
NOTE: The web server which communicates with the user’s terminal apparatus, as demonstrated by Encycarpedia, functionally corresponds to a communication interface configured to interface with a terminal apparatus of a user. Encycarpedia must have some server system that responds to requests made by the user when interacting with the website.
and a controller configured to: acquire first vehicle type data indicating a type of a vehicle ordered by the user as a first vehicle type and second vehicle type data indicating a type of a vehicle used by the user as a second vehicle type;
Andy_libal demonstrates on the Encycarpedia website a method of inputting a first and second vehicle type. Any_libel selects two different types of cars of a different year, make, and model to compare their specifications. See Timestamp 0:09-0:20
Screenshot from YouTube video of Andy_libal (“Encycarpedia is the ultimate Car Specs Comparison!”).
Timestamp 0:20
NOTE: The Encycarpedia car comparison website server interface allows the user to add vehicles for side-by-side comparison by entering vehicle type data. This can be done by choosing cars of different model or make displayed on the webpage. The website also has a button to go directly to a compare tool where the user can manually enter the vehicle type data through dropdown list. However, this is not explicitly shown in Any_libal’s demonstration. See timestamp 0:08 for car comparison button. Andy_libal notes in the description box of the YouTube video, that a user can compare up to six cars at once. These features functionally corresponds to obtaining a first and second vehicle type data. The first vehicle the data referring to the ordered car and the second vehicle type data referring to the currently owned car is obvious since those labels do not affect the comparison of the first and second vehicle images.
The Encycarpedia website does not teach a controller configured to: generate a first image representing at least a part of a first field of view range visible in a vehicle of the first vehicle type indicated by the acquired first vehicle type data and a second image representing at least a part of a second field of view range visible in a vehicle of the second vehicle type indicated by the acquired second vehicle type data; and transmit both of the generated first image and second image to the terminal apparatus of the user via the communication interface. However, Chuang teaches a controller configured to: generate a first image representing at least a part of a first field of view range visible in a vehicle of the first vehicle type indicated by the acquired first vehicle type data and a second image representing at least a part of a second field of view range visible in a vehicle of the second vehicle type indicated by the acquired second vehicle type data;
“After the default relevant parameters are selected through the user interface 20, the integrated control unit 4 enters a stage of calibrating and splicing the images from the front side, the left side, the right side and the rear side of the bus. After the integrated control unit 4 completes the stage of calibrating and splicing the images from the front side, the left side, the right side and the rear side of the bus, the integrated control unit 4 can generate and store the calibrated relevant parameters of the bus in the storage unit 6 and generate the around view monitoring images of the bus on the multimedia device 7, such as the overlooked around view monitoring images from the front side, the left side, the right side
and the rear side of the bus shown in FIG. 3” – Par 31, Lines 1-13, and Fig 3-7
NOTE: Chuang discloses a user interface that allows the user to select “default relevant parameters”. It is defined in par 30 that default relevant parameters include the selected vehicle type such as a truck, boat, bus, semi-trailer. Then the Chaung’s system uses a plurality of cameras 2 and image processing unit 3 to generate views from the left, right, front and rear views and store the images in storage unit 6. It is not explicit in Chuang that the cameras are placed inside or outside the vehicle, but it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to try placing the cameras both inside and outside. This step may be repeated to teach obtaining a second field of view image in a second vehicle. After the combination, obtaining the field of view images from a user selected vehicle type as taught by Chuang can be added to Encycarpedia’s website for inputting a first and second vehicle.
and transmit both of the generated first image and second image to the terminal apparatus of the user via the communication interface.
“display unit configured to display, as a display image, a captured image captured by the image capturing unit or a generated image generated based on the captured image” - Abstract
NOTE: The Encycarpedia website must include a server component that handles responding to the user’s requests when the user inputs vehicle type data. After the combination, the displaying of a generated first and second image of the first and second vehicle as taught by Chuang can be added to the Encycarpedia website server interface. This combination would allow the Encycarpedia website to transmit the generated images obtained using the methods of Chuang to then be displayed to the user’s terminal apparatus (typically a browser/mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Encycarpedia website by incorporating the teachings of Chuang to generate a respective first and second image representing a field of view of a respective first and second vehicle type and transmit the first and second generated images of the first and second vehicles to the terminal apparatus of the user via communication interface. One would be motivated to make this combination as it would be an obvious step to display the generated images of the first and second vehicle to the user for comparison of the respective vehicle’s field of view when requested.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Encycarpedia, Chuang, and Seki et al (US 10919450 B2), hereinafter Seki.
Regarding claim 2, Encycarpedia in view of Chuang teaches the control apparatus of claim 1. Encycarpedia does not teach wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle of the second vehicle type. However, Seki teaches wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle of the second vehicle type.
“As illustrated in FIG. 3, the vehicle has a windshield 110, a front door glass 120, a side mirror 130, an instrument panel 140, a steering wheel 150, an A-pillar 160, a roof 170, a room mirror 180, and so on.” – Par 43 and Fig. 3
NOTE: Seki discloses generating an image of a user’s field of view inside a vehicle which is then displayed by a display unit configured to display a captured image captured by the image capturing unit, see Abstract. Seki also discloses that instrument panel 140 comprises a multifunction display 142 and a navigation device display 143, see par 54. This functionally corresponds to the field of view range containing a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art could repeat the same steps to generate an image of a similar field of view for a second vehicle. After the combination, the method of generating an image which includes a field of view range containing a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle as taught by Seki can modify Chuang’s method of obtaining a field of view image of the user selected vehicle. This modification can then be added to the Encycarpedia website server interface. One of ordinary skill in the art could then generate the first and second image that includes a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the first and second vehicle type’s field of view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Encycarpedia by incorporating the teachings of Seki to generate a respective first and second image which includes, as at least the part of the respective first and second field of view range, a screen to be displayed on a display mounted in the vehicle of the respective first and second vehicle type. One would be motivated to make this combination to allow the user to compare the location/position of the screen to be displayed on a display mounted location is by looking at each vehicle’s field of view.
Regarding claim 3, Encycarpedia in view of Chuang teaches the control apparatus of claim 1. Encycarpedia does not teach wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a physical object to be used for an operation in the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a physical object to be used for an operation in the vehicle of the second vehicle type. However, Seki teaches wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a physical object to be used for an operation in the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a physical object to be used for an operation in the vehicle of the second vehicle type.
“As illustrated in FIG. 3, the vehicle has a windshield 110, a front door glass 120, a side mirror 130, an instrument panel 140, a steering wheel 150, an A-pillar 160, a roof 170, a room mirror 180, and so on.” – Par 43
NOTE: As shown in Fig. 3 of Seki’s disclosure, steering wheel 150, a gear selector, and various dials/buttons are in the field of view captured by the image capturing unit. A steering wheel, a gear selector, and dials/buttons are examples of physical objects used for an operation in the vehicle. One of ordinary skill could repeat the steps for generating this image of a similar field of view for another vehicle. After the combination, the generation of an image comprising a field of view consisting of a physical object used for operation in the vehicle of both a first and second vehicle as taught by Seki can modify Chuang’s method of obtaining a field of view image of the user selected vehicle. This modification can then be added to the Encycarpedia website server interface. This would allow the Encycarpedia website to display to the user two different views of physical objects that are to be used for an operation in the vehicle based on the entered first and second vehicle type data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Encycarpedia by incorporating the teachings of Seki to generate a respective first and second image which includes, as at least the part of the respective first and second field of view range, a physical object to be used for an operation in the vehicle of the respective first and second vehicle type. One would be motivated to make this combination to visually compare the field of view containing the physical objects used for operation in the currently owned vehicle with the field of view of the ordered vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Encycarpedia in view of Chuang teaches the control apparatus of claim 1. Encycarpedia does not teach wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle of the second vehicle type. However, Seki teaches wherein the first image includes, as at least the part of the first field of view range, a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle of the first vehicle type, and the second image includes, as at least the part of the second field of view range, a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle of the second vehicle type.
“As illustrated in FIG. 3, the vehicle has a windshield 110, a front door glass 120, a side mirror 130, an instrument panel 140, a steering wheel 150, an A-pillar 160, a roof 170, a room mirror 180, and so on.” – Par 43 and Fig. 3.
NOTE: Fig. 3 in Seki’s disclosure discloses generating an image with a field of view that allows the user to see a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle (windshield and side windows). One of ordinary skill could repeat the steps for generating this image of a similar field of view for a second vehicle. After the combination, generating a first and second image of a view visible from a driver’s seat through a window in both the first and second vehicles respectively as taught by Seki can modify Chuang’s method of obtaining a field of view image of the user selected vehicle. This modification can then be added to the Encycarpedia website server interface. This would allow Encycarpedia’s car comparison tool to display the generated images of first and second vehicle’s view visible from a driver seat through a window based on the entered first and second vehicle type data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Encycarpedia by incorporating the teachings of Seki to generate a respective first and second image which includes, as at least the part of the respective first and second field of view range, a view visible from a driver seat through a window of the vehicle of the first vehicle type. One would be motivated to make this combination to visually compare the field of view containing a view visible from the driver seat through a window in the currently owned vehicle with the field of view of the ordered vehicle.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Encycarpedia, Chuang, and Lin (US 20240307771 A1), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 5, Encycarpedia in view of Chuang teaches the control apparatus of claim 1. Encycarpedia does not teach wherein the first image is an image included in a model of the vehicle of the first vehicle type reproduced in a virtual space, and the second image is an image included in a model of the vehicle of the second vehicle type reproduced in the virtual space. However, Lin teaches wherein the first image is an image included in a model of the vehicle of the first vehicle type reproduced in a virtual space, and the second image is an image included in a model of the vehicle of the second vehicle type reproduced in the virtual space.
“At block 302, the method 300 includes the metaverse module 142 generating a metaverse environment 250 with a metaverse application 106 at a client computer 104 of a user 220. The metaverse environment 250 includes a virtual user vehicle 132 that replicates the physical user vehicle 102 associated with the user 220.
NOTE: Lin discloses a metaverse model that replicates a physical car inside a metaverse environment by scanning the physical car to create the virtual car model. This step can be performed again for the second vehicle which would allow one of ordinary skill to generate a first and second image of the first and second vehicles in virtual space respectively. After the combination, the generated image of the first and second vehicles reproduced in virtual space as taught by Lin could be added to the Encycarpedia website server interface. This would allow Encycarpedia’s car comparison tool to display to the user’s terminal apparatus the generated virtual model of the first and second vehicles in virtual space using the methods of Lin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Encycarpedia by incorporating the teachings of Seki to generate a respective first and second image wherein the images include a model of the vehicle of the first vehicle type reproduced in a virtual space. One would be motivated to make this combination to visually compare the first and second vehicle in virtual space which allows the user to rotate, zoom, and move a virtual camera to better inspect the vehicles.
Conclusion
/DAVID VAN NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617